8.5

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,230
Average Mileage:
86,600 miles
Total Complaints:
108 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace TIPM (42 reports)
  2. not sure (27 reports)
  3. replace faultly TIPM module (21 reports)
  4. replace tipm or fuse box (9 reports)
  5. by-pass wiring harness (8 reports)
  6. tipm was fixed at dealership for $1425 (2 reports)
2011 Dodge Ram 1500 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #88

Nov 292016

Ram 1500 4.7L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,681 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In Oct 2016 I purchased this vehicle used from a dealership. There was a TIPM issue with this vehicle right on the lot during test drive etc. I drove it home and immediately started having issues with the TIPM module making the vehicle not start, yet fuel pump ran continuously when key turned off draining all battery life. Only way to start would be to constantly boost the vehicle.

I contacted the dealership where I bought it and requested this issue be fixed and they refused. I went online, looked up issues with this vehicle and found this was a huge problem for this make and model and year of truck and that this part had been recalled. I printed out the info and took it to the dealership where I bought the truck. They still refused to honour the recall saying that this applied only to the USA. Now considering that many American vehicles end up in Canada this should have been covered by the recall since it was a huge ongoing issue already.

The only way I finally got this problem resolved after about 4 months was to threaten the dealership with letters to the President of the company as well as I would park my vehicle out on the street in front of their business with signs posted in my windows saying LEMON and TIPM issue seller refuses to resolve. At 80 yrs old I had get upset, harass the dealership and threaten to take action to finally get the issue resolved at no cost to myself.

I feel that since this problem was well documented and already part of an ongoing recall, the dealership should have fixed this issue before I even let the lot with the truck and should have not tried to give me the shaft by trying to avoid responsibility by using the recall only in USA excuse.

- doddt, Bancroft, ON, Canada

problem #87

Aug 022016

Ram 1500 XLT 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,205 miles

This tipm (Total Integrated Power Module) should have been on a recall. The Durango and Jeeps had a recall on this issue. Seems there is plenty of reports on this issue. At least it should be partially covered under any warranty. Steep cost for repair, I'm sure I'll never buy another Dodge. The Dealership handling the problem was very helpful. This is a complaint in workmanship, quality, and reliability of the Dodge Ram Pick-up.

- Jim B., Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #86

Mar 212017

Ram 1500 Laramie Longhorn 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

The TIPM went bad in my truck at 85,000 miles. Truck will not start at times, it will lock me out of my own vehicle (thank god my kids were never locked in). The fuel pump runs constantly even when the truck is turned off because the TIPM does not allow it to turn off. It affects all of my electrical stuff, including radio, power locks and power windows. My windows will roll down out of nowhere when the vehicle is turned off, and the windows will not roll back up. The backup camera will come on while I am driving forward, my radio will freeze up to where I can no do ANYTHING to it. My key gets stuck in the ignition and will not come out! The whole entire truck just locks up. When you're driving, and it decides to shut off out of nowhere, I lose ALL POWER!!! NO BRAKES OR STEERING!!! its uncontrollable!! There has been MANY MANY complaints of this problem with the TIPM in the 2011 Ram 1500 including people almost getting into accidents. My friend also had this same problem and totaled his truck because it locked up on him while driving! All of these complaints and well aware of the problem, Ram still decides not to recall it or even fix it!! If I was aware of this and known the danger I put myself in and others in everyday, I would have never purchased this vehicle!!

Update from Apr 11, 2017: correction....it was 83,000 miles! I brought my truck to dodge because of this problem! specifically stating to them that "its the TIPM, please check it" They told me it was fine and it just needed to be flashed! So I agreed and paid $200 for them to flash it. a few days later, it did it again! left me stranded at my house and late to work! It even stalled on me while driving at 60 mph. Thank god I was able to get it off of the road safely! Not to mention I am 7 months pregnant, driving a vehicle that shuts off while driving losing all control! I got it towed once again to the dodge dealership, and they finally said "yes its the TIPM" It cost me $1,5000 to replace!!!

- Payton C., Palm Coast, US

problem #85

Feb 282017

Ram 1500 Limited 5.7L Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 170,877 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Very significant problem, because it would only sporadically start. It would crank, but no start, would pull battery cable, then it would start, eventually within a week, that wouldn't work. It killed my battery as it eventually kept the fuel pump running - good think it didn't burn out my pump! My mechanic bypassed the TIPM by process of elimination, but had my truck for almost week. It would be nice if Dodge would pass along those issues to the dealerships so they wouldn't have to figure it out by process of elimination and therefore billable time. I also see that Dodge had recalls on several vehicles because of faulty TIPM's being put in, so it's not like they are unaware of it.

I love my truck, but issues like that are unacceptable when absolutely no codes show up, and there is no way of finding out the problem - knowing full well it had to be electrical. Dodge needs to step it up!

- Laurie M., Lac La Biche, AB, Canada

problem #84

Feb 152017

Ram 1500 Sport 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 148,000 miles

I first started to notice issues with my truck when I would lock my truck and start walking into the house and the truck would auto-start by itself. It did it again later on that evening when I looked outside and my truck was running and the keys were still hanging on the key hook in my house. Replaced the batteries in the key fob and the problem began to go away. Two days later I went to start my truck to head to work and it just cranked and cranked but wouldn't turn over. After appox six attempts it finally started up. On 9 Feb 2017 I went out to start my truck and the battery was so dead that I couldn't use my key fob to unlock the truck and had to use the actual key to unlock it. Called USAA roadside assistance and when they came out they tried to use their jump box to jump it with no luck. We had to hook up the jump box and jumper cables to his truck to get it to start. Was told that the battery had a dead cell and to go get a new one. Purchased a new battery at Autozone that day. The next morning I went to get in my truck and the same thing happened again.....Cranked it for 5-6 times before it would start. Finally on 15 Feb 2017, I left the truck overnight at the Firestone Auto on base ( I am a Marine and they can work on the truck without me missing work). This morning they went out and the truck wouldn't start for them either. They stated that " TIPM is not sending signal to the fuel pump" and that I need to get it into the dealer. Now I just wish I had a stack of hundreds laying around waiting to be spent at the dealership so this can get fixed. I can't believe this hasn't been addressed with a recall.

- Robert C., Stafford, VA, USA

problem #83

Dec 172016

Ram 1500 Sport 5.7L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

My 2001 Ram 1500 had a dead battery one so I replaced with a new one figuring it was 5 years old. Around 12/17/16 I was parked talking to someone with engine running. Decided to turn truck off , which I did but It still stayed running, I then turned keyfob back to on position than back to off and it shut off. Thought I was losing my mind. On 1/11/17 I started the truck up and it started but noticed the traction control lite was staying on the whole time I ran errands. As soon as I pulled into my driveway and turned truck off the keyfob stuck and would not release, husband play around with it let it sit and finally came out. 1/16/17 my husband drove truck came home and turned keyfob to off position only to be able to pull the key out and have the truck still running, had to pull the 10 amp # 27 fuse and battery cables to get it to shut off. Been at dealership for 4 days only to be told its my after market stereo that I had professionally installed when I paid cash for it brand new in 2011. I told them BS. Went to go pick it up tells me they need additional 4 hours to diagnose it for $600.00. I asked what they have ruled out like, fuel pump sensor, solenoid , TIPM,battery, plugs, coil, wiring harness, service manager didn't know what the tech did since tech wasn't there I asked for the paperwork and they would not give it to me. I told him to stop fixating on my stereo, I will be picking it up since they charge $150 per hour so now Im out 150.00. Manager mouth drooped when I showed him complaints I printed out this definetly needs to be a RECALL

- Sue N., Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #82

Nov 052016

Ram 1500 Sport 5.7L Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,583 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The truck began to struggle on startup which lead me to believe i had a fuel pump issue. Upon further investigation I noticed the problems i was dealing with match those of the owners on this site was able to replace the TIPM rather than a fuel pump that was not faulty. It would b my hope that moving forward that Dodge/Ram trucks re investigate this issue. I would have considered trading my current truck on another Ram until this and what appears to be a neglect of a fairly serious issue by the manufacturer.

- Mike C., Belleville, ON, Canada

problem #81

Dec 242016

Ram 1500 STX 4.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles

Daughter just called me to ask why her wipers will not turn off, blinkers will not work, and now high beams. Not sure what else isn't working yet. She is on the road at night and this happens! WTF Dodge???

- kernelmike, Mech, MD, USA

problem #80

Nov 082016

Ram 1500 Outdoorsman V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles

My information and a short story follows:

If it were not for the quick thinking and fast reflexes of my Wife, when the Truck stopped running at 60 miles per hour on a  major freeway, we would have been in a catastrophic accident.

As it turned out she was able to steer the Truck to the emergency lane which was no simple feat considering there was no power steering and no power brakes.

I took my truck into my Dealer when we got home and it took them 6 days to diagnose the problem. After the diagnosis it took another 2 days to get the part and to install it.

All I want is to be reimbursed for the cost of the TIPM module and the installation fee.

- Charles F., Fort Knox, KY, USA

problem #79

Nov 292016

Ram 1500 4.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

This is a ridiculous issue, as soon as the outside air temp. Dropped under 40 degrees my 2011 Dodge Ram 1500 will crank until the battery dies. If I am lucky it will start up within an hour of trying. This is a problem that the manufacturer should be responsible for fixing. The amount of forums out there for this problem in this year of vehicle is absurd. The fact that people are spending thousands of dollars trying to fix the problem and not getting it taken care of the first time is irritating. For the amount of money people are paying for cars these days they should be reliable and they should stand behind in this case their garbage and fix the problem. I'm open to any information to fix the problem as cheap as possible thank you.

- holen, Salina, KS, USA

problem #78

Nov 192016

Ram 1500 SLT 4.7L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My truck left me stranded, would not start, was diagnosed as no power to the fuel pump relay. will be taking it to the dealership and see what they say.

- Myron M., Spring Branch, TX, USA

problem #77

Nov 282016

Ram 1500 Laramie 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles

Truck would turn over but not start. Would continue to crank even when key was turned from start cycle to on. Dealer stated fuel pump was bad and replaced ($500). Now they are saying its the TIPM ($1100) that needs to be replaced.

- Garth P., Chester, CT, USA

problem #76

Oct 102016

Ram 1500 Laramie 5.7L V8 Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

As many vehicles that seem to be affected by this problem, I do not understand why a wider recall has not been issued. It seems there is plenty of evidence that the TPIM is an issue in many models. Had I been aware of this issue before I bought the truck, I would have bought the Ford instead.

- Sara M., Comanche, TX, USA

problem #75

Nov 142016

Ram 1500 3.7L Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles

Started with the door locks acting possessed. They would just lock and unlock while driving. This happened a handful of times. Then they would sometimes not want to unlock. Again, a handful of times. Then the tire pressure system needs to be serviced message came on. Check the tire pressure and it was fine...one tire was not reading at all. The real problem started when the car would not start...it would crank but not turn over. I could start it with the remote, but when I put the key in, it would stall. This was an occasional thing that turned into a constant thing. Sometimes it could be juked into starting by going through a series of locking doors, using the remote while in the car, just barely turning the key to start...all kinds of ridiculousness. Usually if I could get it to start, it was good for the whole day. It got to the point recently where it was harder and harder to get it to start. Took it to the dealer. Said it needed two different software flashes...one for the theft deterrent system and I forget what the other one did. I have an extended warranty, so they replaced the tire sensor because it was covered also. The car sat there overnight waiting for the part for the tire sensor, and of course it did not start in the morning. Dealer says it needs a fuel pump. Now I had mentioned the TIPM issue when I dropped it off, but they just totally blew me off. So now I bring it up again. Oh, no...all of these things just "coincidentally" fall under that group of items...okay then. The truck has the fuel pump replaced...also covered by warranty. They call to say it is ready...but can it stay overnight just in case...that's confidence for ya! I say it can not because I am going out of town in the morning and need it. Next morning...does not start...can't juke it to start. Tried the "remove the negative battery thingy"...didn't work. The dealer says I need to get it to him...hmmm...shouldn't you be towing it for me? I arrange towing through my Emergency Roadside, which I should not have had to use for this...God forbid I need it in the future! So, long story short (or shorter)...they replaced the TIPM. I paid zero dollars thanks to my extended warranty. The cost was 1169.00. I drove it home. It had pep, the power steering even felt better. I am going to start it up in the morning, but I am uber confident that it is now fixed. And I resisted the urge to say "I told you so!" to the service manager. I thank this site and its users for these posts which led me straight to the problem. If only they would have listened to me!

- D C., Fishkill, NY, USA

problem #74

Nov 052016

Ram 1500

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

I can't believe Dodge isn't recalling these. There are so many people that these have gone out on. Truck stalled while driving.

- swurm, Gil, AZ, USA

problem #73

Oct 102016

Ram 1500 ST 5.7L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,302 miles

Stated having issues on a Monday with my truck not starting in the morning when I had to go to work. It started after about 5 to 10 minutes of turning the key. The problem continue for the next several days but by the end of the week truck would not start at all. I towed the truck to the dealership who told me the fuel pump wasn't working so they replaced that ($530), but the problem was still not fix. They called me a day later to tell me I had a faulty TIPM and needs to be replaced ($1,300).

I did some research and turns out I'm not the only one with the same problem, and also found out they recall the same part on Durangos. Dodge should definitely own up to the problem and take care of this issues for all the vehicles that have the same part, its a very expensive out of pocket cost and its clearly a manufactures defect.

- Rene M., Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #72

Oct 202016

Ram 1500 Sport 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 118,000 miles

Had problems 2 years after I bought the truck but didnt associate the symptoms with the TIPM. Horn blasting over and over, doors not unlocking. Random battery drain. Random warning lights. I took it in and they changed a sensor for $200. I had no issues for about 4 months then I got stranded yesterday. Had to tow the truck to the dealer and $1500 dollars later the TIPM was replaced. I wish I had know about this before and I would have got it done under warranty. I was budgeting for brakes and lower ball joints. This really hurts when you are on a budget.

- Jeff E., Dundas, ON, Canada

problem #71

Oct 072016

Ram 1500 4.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles

MY 2011 DODGE PICKUP STARTED WITH THE FUEL PUMP STAYING ON AFTER I TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND TOOK THE KEY OUT. THE NEXT MORNING THE TRUCK WOULD NOT START. IT TURNED OVER BUT ACTED LIKE NO FUEL. HAD CODES PULLED, NO DEFECTED. TOOK THE BATTERY CABLES OFF TO RESET COMPUTER AND THE TRUCK STARTED UP JUST FINE. NEXT DAY SAME THING. WENT ONLINE TO RESEARCH THE ISSUE AND FOUND THE TIPM WAS THE ISSUE. THE FUEL PUMP RELAY IS NOT ALLOWING THE FUEL PUMP TO GET POWER. MADE A WIRE TO BYPASS THE FUEL PUMP RELAY BY SUPPLYING POWER FROM THE CIGERETTE LIGHTER FUSE TO THE FUEL PUMP RELAY AND THE TRUCK STARTS JUST FINE.CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND TOLD THEM THE ISSUE AND THEY SAID IT WOULD COST $1600 DOLLARS TO REPLACE THE TIPM . DODGE IS A RIP OFF. I WILL NOT BUY ANOTHER CHRYSLER VEHICLE AGAIN. DODGE KNOWS THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE TIPM BUT STILL INSTALLS DEFECTIVE PARTS. WHAT A SCAM FROM DODGE.

- Dean B., Noble, OK, USA

problem #70

Oct 032016

Ram 1500

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles

This problem has been going on for about several months, our warranty stated the item is not covered, it would be an out of pocket expense of about $1,900, which is extremely expensive.

- Melissa M., Tallahassee, FL, US

problem #69

Sep 272016

Ram 1500 Larmie 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,789 miles

tipm problem : it started by not starting some times then would stall going around a corner which is dangerous because you lose power steering. After a week after of never knowing when it was going to start it just quit. I had it towed to a garage & the mechanic said the fuel pump was not pumping so he replaced it. It worked for one day and would not start again. He got online and read an article by Jason Bell who made a jumper wire to by pass the fuel pump relay, now it works fine except it wont start with the remote key (fob). This will be my last RAM, the tipm is 1500 dollars to replace when they know they have a problem and wont help you with it

- dicwic, Old Town, ME, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?