8.4

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$900
Average Mileage:
90,900 miles
Total Complaints:
65 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. have dodge recall; they should fix the problem (31 reports)
  2. replace dashboard (15 reports)
  3. not sure (13 reports)
  4. get a coverlay or similar cheap and covers up everything (2 reports)
  5. start a class action law suit (2 reports)
  6. dash cover (1 reports)
2002 Dodge Ram 2500 accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Dodge Ram 2500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #65

Jan 012007

Ram 2500 Laramie Crew Cab 5.9L Cummins

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dodge has a major problem with their truck dashes cracking and falling apart.

- Randy P., Cedar Hill, TX, US

problem #64

Sep 012017

Ram 2500 V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles

Whole dash fell apart, nothing left of it. Dodge should replace it. Not right!!

- Christi A., Hanna, OK, US

problem #63

Mar 012018

Ram 2500 Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 190,000 miles

When I started to remove my dash I noticed the outer Basel clips (some of them stayed in the inner frame), because the tabs were broken. Then I noticed that my head light switch was falling out. I looked to see why and the frame that it screws to was complete broken out. Also the ash tray that fits into this piece is broken. Then I found more broken pieces laying in vents and inside of dash.

Update from Mar 28, 2018: The front grill screw tabs are broken on the right side, due to vibration, or bad quality material.

- John U., Citrus Heights, US

problem #62

Jul 012015

Ram 2500 5.9L Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 200,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

click to see larger images

cracked dashboard cracked dashboard cracked dashboard cracked dashboard

Don't want to rant and yell, just wanted to say that it's a shame that nothing is made to last. There are still cars from the 40 and 50s on the road and my dash from 2002 is dead. I would hope Dodge would at least make a reasonable priced replacement for those of us with this issue. Granted the vehicle is out of warranty but if that's the case next time, try and sell me a vehicle, and state that after the 6 years I pay for the vehicle, i should be prepared to have it fall to pieces. It will also make me think twice about spending close to $60,000 for my next truck that Dodge considers not made to last. In my case my Cummings diesel engine has just broken in at 300,000 miles, it's a shame the rest of the truck will probably fall apart around the engine.

- Jerome W., Charlotte, US

problem #61

Mar 202018

Ram 2500 59 Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 82,500 miles

I'm pissed. It's ugly.

- 7770, Wahkiacus Washington, US

problem #60

Oct 312004

Ram 2500 Sport 5.9L Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200,000 miles

These truck have a history of the dashes cracking in to sharp pieces. It appears to me to be a manufacturing defect since they all do it between the years of 1997 and 2003. Dodge claims it is sun damage and they are out of warranty, but Ford had to fix a lot of vans where the dashes were considered a safety hazzard.

Anyway these shards would go flying around the cabin in the event of an accident and would surely injure the passengers. Also the holes left from the broken out pieces can allow debris to fall inside the dash and cause a fire or electrical short.

- J D E., Walkertown, US

problem #59

Jul 062017

Ram 2500 XLT 5.9L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The truck stays in a garage out of the sun and it's still busted and starting to fall in. Everytime you turn the air on, pieces fly out of the vents.

- Chad P., Surgoinsville, US

problem #58

Sep 152015

Ram 2500 SLT Larramie 5.9L Cummins

  • Manual transmission
  • 83,000 miles

click to see larger images

cracked dashboard cracked dashboard

My truck is very well taken care of and the dash falling apart ruins the truck value and safety. Pieces of plastic sometimes are blown out of the defrost or ac vents. Went to trade it in on another Dodge but the first thing the dealer checked was the dashboard and said although the truck was in great shape and had low miles, they would not take it as a trade due to the dashboard. They went on to say that is a big problem particularly with 2002 & 2003 Ram. Dodge should either fix or replace it!

- Alex B., Berryville, VA, US

problem #57

Aug 012014

Ram 2500 Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,950 miles

I contacted the local Dodge dealer about fixing the dash and they said it is difficult to get replacements and that other plastic parts would most likely break during the installation of a new dash which would cost about $1K to install. You have got to be kidding me! I just happened across carcomplaints.com as I was looking for a fix and am shocked to hear how many Dodge trucks have this same problem. My truck has been garage kept for 10 of its 14 years - so there is no way that this should have happened to my truck. Further we have a 2002 Jeep Liberty whose dash is just fine and the vehicle was only garaged for 5 years! Dodge this is your problem and you should step up to the plate and offer amends and/or repair this defect free of cost.

- Chris R., Culpeper, VA, US

problem #56

Jul 012009

Ram 2500 Laramie SLT Plus 5.9L Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

This is ugly and dangerous. Pieces keep falling off and could be a hazard to wiring and a safety hazard if I was involved in an accident. Should be a class action lawsuit to make Dodge replace all dashes with a better quality dash, not just with the same old junk.

- wcritter, Taylorsville, GA, US

problem #55

Jan 012005

Ram 2500 Cummins Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It is really disappointing that the manufacturer will not replace a well-documented issue with the dashes in these vehicles. We will be buying 2 new vehicles in the next year and although we love our Dodge truck, just due to the non-stand-behind their product response, we will not be buying from them. They could have spent the $$ to do the right thing and replace the dashes versus losing customers over this. Customer service sells and they have lost our purchases - why should we invest in them when do not reciprocate the investment! Typical greed unfortunately.

Thanks for listening!

- John W., Boise, ID, US

problem #54

Jun 142010

Ram 2500 SLT 5.9L Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles

It's sad to say that is the only complaint that I have with my truck. It is cosmetic ugly and the cracks just keep growing. I live in Washington state it would be hard to say that the sun was the reason the dashboard cracked. I have owned this vehicle since it was new and always lived here in Washington state.

- Jeff S., Poulsbo, WA, US

problem #53

Dec 032013

Ram 2500 Quadcab Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

click to see larger images

cracked dashboard

The disintegrating dash problem is unacceptable and Dodge needs to fix it.

- Robert U., Albany, CA, US

problem #52

Aug 142015

Ram 2500 SE Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 58,000 miles

Bought new, used little. This is obvious a makers defect

- Patrick W., SISTERSVILLE, WV, US

problem #51

Nov 202015

Ram 2500 LST 5.9L Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,213 miles

Small crack started at right side near windshield. Glued it. Crack is 4 inches long, not too bad, but well see what happens later.

- leech, Roseburg, OR, US

problem #50

Sep 102008

Ram 2500 Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

Was told years ago it was caused by the sun. There is no way that is true. Truck is in wonderful condition except for the dash. I worry that if we were in an accident what would happen. I know other dodge truck owners who have the same problem.

- Bradford P., Bushnell, FL, US

problem #49

Jan 012010

Ram 2500 SLT 5.9L Cummins

  • Manual transmission
  • 160,000 miles

The dashboard cracked on my 2002 Dodge Ram 2500 in early 2010 (unknown date). It started with 1 small crack, then another, then another, etc. In 2011, I got tired of seeing the cracks and bought a dash mat. 2 weeks ago (9-20-15), I looked under the dash mat and found that it was cracked really badly and now there were holes the size of my fist. I contacted my local Dodge dealer. They said it was very common and offered to sell me a new dash. I see online that this is a very common problem. This dashboard is garbage! I bought the truck brand new on June 6, 2002. As of 1-3-15, I have 247,000 miles on the truck. I have had a LOT of problems with this truck over the years, and despite this, it's still my baby. I pamper the truck and take good care of it and this problem seriously ticks me off.

- Scott E., Hayden, CO, US

problem #48

Jan 082015

Ram 2500 SLT 5.9L Cummings

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles

I live in Northern California and always keep my window shade in the truck protecting the dash when not in use. North Ca does not get that hot. I also have problem with the other interior parts made of the same material i.e.: A-Piller cracked, sunglasses pull down tray on header plastic latch broke off, plastic parts for pushing interior lights broke. These are not exposed to any sun ever.

Dodge cheeped out the truck so they can make more money by using recycled material known as regrind that does not hold up as well as virgin plastics or the temp when injected the mold was way to hot that made the plastic brittle. Either way I paid allot for the truck that I thought I was buying a quality American made truck only to find out it was a cheap truck built in Mexico. Only think great about the truck and will still be running when the rest of the truck falls to pieces is the Cummings Diesel Engine.

This is my 3rd Dodge Ram Truck and it will be my last, 3 strikes your out. I thinking about the new 2016 Toyota with the new Cummings diesel when it comes out next year. See you Dodge....

- buddman, Benicia, CA, US

problem #47

Mar 102015

Ram 2500 SLT 6.5L Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 85,000 miles

The truck has been kept under a car port when not in use and the dashboard should not have cracked due to heat. I am now finding out that this has been a Dodge problem with the 1997 through 2002 models due to using cheap molding. I paid an high price for this truck and Dodge should have used a better type of plastic molding. I am getting estimates on replacing the dashboard and it is going to be in the neighborhood of about $400.

- Sandra R., New Waverly, T, US

problem #46

Jul 262007

Ram 2500 4 X 4 SLT 5.9L Cummins

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,888 miles

Initially, I noticed a small crack the summer of 2007 (five years after purchasing the truck). Every once in a while I would hear a cracking sound and by the time the holes were large enough to place your hand in, I decided it needed to be fixed. I had a partial dash cover ($500 vs $1,000) installed because the front part of the dash seemed to be okay. Big mistake, the front portion of the dash is now starting to crack.

I happened to go online today to see if there was a way to repair the crack and arrest its progress. That's when I came across CarComplaints.com. I had no idea that so many Dodge Truck owners were having the same problem. I was strongly considering purchasing a new Dodge Ram. I think it's time to make a change. I didn't realize the potential hazard that existed if I had an accident.

- drmwd, Morgan, UT, US

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?