ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ahh, the ole' sophomore slump. The 2008 Acadia suffers from widespread transmission failure around 75,000 miles.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
81,182 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 GMC Acadia drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 GMC Acadia Owner Comments (Page 6 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #148

Apr 012014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving the transmission would not shift out of third gear. I am told that a wave plate has failed and the transmission needs to be replaced, cost $3000+.

- Springfield, GA, USA

problem #147

Apr 172014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 67,060 miles
Transmission failure @ 67070 miles. 35R wave plate. GMC dealer service rep. Said they had never heard of this problem. Personally talked to dealer mechanic, and he states that he has replace a number of these transmissions for wave plate failure. It's bad enough that this is a know problem and GM does nothing about it, but for the dealership to lie to me right off the bat, takes the cake. No more GM products for me, ever.....

- Airville, PA, USA

problem #146

Apr 112014

Acadia

  • 48,700 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that while attempting to accelerate from a traffic light, the vehicle failed to move. The contact stated that the check engine warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the technician diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 48,700.

- Alamo, TX, USA

problem #145

Apr 012014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 60 mph, the vehicle suddenly failed to respond to acceleration attempts. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. Also, the check engine light illuminated. Updated 06.19.14

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #144

Apr 012014

Acadia

  • 70,000 miles
Transmission wave plate issues....the car shifts into different gears and about caused an accident. Took it to a mechanic and it is a transmission wave plate that needs replaced. Going to cost us around $4000. Just spent 1000 dollars to fix the power seats that quit working also.

- Lincoln , NE, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #143

Apr 032014

Acadia

  • 120,000 miles
The transmission again is going out on it for the 3rd time. This last time there was snow on the road and when it kicks down because of the wave plate failing again this time I was going around a corner and it kicked down and made me slide off the road I was able to get out and almost hitting the guard rail

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #142

Apr 112013

Acadia

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased the GMC Acadia from a dealership in kaiserslautern germany in May 2012. By April 2013 the transmission completely stopped working. At first the SUV would jump gears 6-3 sometimes 6-1 while moving at speeds higher than 35 mph. I have 3 young children and the result of such sudden shifting could have caused whiplash and did cause fear. I took the vehicle to auto schneider in weiden germany who identified the speed sensor as the problem via the computer and replaced the part. By 10 May 2013 the vehicle was completely immobile. I conducted research and have found over 1000 entries specifying that people have had to replace the transmission around 70000 miles, and sometimes twice, with GMC covering 0 costs. As a us service member I believe that the NHTSA should monitor complaints on other sites and investigate poor mechanics especially when tax dollars were used to rehabilitate GMC in 2008. Anytime there is a mechanical failure in a vehicle's transmission it can cause incident.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #141

Dec 052013

Acadia

  • 75,000 miles
Transmission went out on turnpike. Causing family to miss a family members college graduation. Car was stuck on side of turnpike for 3 hours with little kids in car while high speed vehicles drive by. When I took car to mechanic for repair they had identical problems with another Acadia. This car is very dangerous and expensive for families.

- Drumright , OK, USA

problem #140

Aug 192013

Acadia

  • 78,000 miles
My GMC Acadia had the transmission fail and it will cost me $4000 to put a new one in. I am finding out that this is a common occurance in the Acadia at fairly low milage.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #139

Feb 192014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
While driving car bucked and shifted irregularly, transmission slipped, no power, no reverse.

- Aquebogue, NY, USA

problem #138

Sep 272013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2008 Acadia transmission failed as I exited a highway (70 mph) and was going up the exit ramp. It began bucking like a horse. Once I pulled over and parked, I could not go in reverse. The car had to be towed and a new transmission had to be put in it after only 56K miles. Also have had the sunroof / moon roof trays overflow because the drainage tubes are not large enough to drain all the water from the trays. The dealership stated it was a poor design and nothing could be done to replace it. Now water has entered my vehicle causing the electrical box to become wet causing the horn to blow randomly and the car to continue running after turning it off and removing the key.

- Greenville, NC, USA

problem #137

Feb 152014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 139,000 miles
Driving the vehicle that had 7 people. I turned onto a street in town and the vehicle started shaking like the transmission was slipping. So I turned to head to the nearest parking lot. Stopped at a stop sign and again the vehicle shook from a take off. Didn't even make it into the driveway before the transmission completely failed in the middle of the busy intersection and we had to push it into the parking lot.

- Bath, MI, USA

problem #136

Feb 152014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 88,300 miles
While traveling a busy highway going uphill, my transmission began to have what felt like slipping clutch issues, and finally failed - leaving me stranded on a very busy stretch of highway 80 East bound. It was very scary to be just barely off the roadway (was lucky to make it all the way off the road) with huge trucks whizzing by. I have had it diagnosed and the clutch waveplates on these Acadia gmcs have a well known and common failure issue. A $3500 bill is not what I need right now, it's going to really hurt. This transmission needs to be recalled before someone gets killed on a busy freeway. The problem is there was not much warning of an eminent failure before it basically left me dead in the water - I was just fortunate this time that I was traveling in the right lane. If I had been in the left lane or middle, I am not sure I would have been able to get over before it would just leave me in the middle of the road. It's definitely a safety issue. Who could make an argument that it is not unsafe?

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #135

Feb 122014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the clutch had failed. The vehicle was being repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 5/27/14

- Hamden, CT, USA

problem #134

Jan 102011

Acadia

  • 75,000 miles
Transmission originally started skipping around 75,900 miles. At 100,000 miles started system alert of " transmission running hot, idle to cool down". transmission serviced on 11/11/13. Transmission drained and refilled by GMC dealer in el paso, tx. Ran ok until 2/06/14. In GMC repair shop in richmond, ca. Transmission completely failed! $4000 repair.

- Hercules, CA, USA

problem #133

Jan 272014

Acadia

  • 94,000 miles
TL- the contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. While traveling about 30 mph, the contact stated that the vehicle failed to increase speed despite the accelerator pedal being depressed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for inspection. The contact was informed that the transmission needed to be rebuilt or replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000.-

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #132

Nov 302013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Engine light came on took it in to get checked the GMC dealer said it was purge valve and may be my timing chain belt! and my master cylinder was leaking into my booster, and they had to replace a sensor for the tire and service the track/stabilitrak! services came to $1000 now come 2 months later to Jan 2014 engine light is on service stabilitrak is on take it back, my timing chain needs replaced@ 74000 miles which is about a $2000 job and my transmission platelets need changed! transmission is now slipping we called GM and there is nothing they will do as I was informed these are "command problems " in these vehicles!! what!! I feel like I've been sold a lemon and no one are GM cares because these are command problems for them! never again will I buy a GM and I'm confused on how so many people have these same issues and GM is doing nothing about it! oh did I mention you can't park on a slant or an incline with a 1/4 tank of gas because your Acadia won't start! this car has been a nightmare!

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #131

Jan 312014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 49,139 miles
Wife driving along and transmission dropped out. Car is vary well taken care of. In 5 years and ten months of owning the vehicle the tranny goes? car only has 49000 miles, and apparently there is a none problem with the tranny. Vehicle repairs cost 4000, completely unacceptable. Code on vehicle wasp0776.00, just like every other complaint I have seen on the internet. Something must be done. Would not recommend this car to anyone. My father is a GM employee and he is disgusted with this.

- Niagara Falls, NY, USA

problem #130

Nov 192012

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
Warning indicators turn on for the system braking components such as ABS brake failure, traction control and loss of engine power while accelerating between 35 to 50 miles per hour. Engine power decrease and the car speed and power is decreased with the loss of engine power warning. The car would just stop at this point. I contacted onstar each time this issue occurred to a diagnostic scan and each report indicated that same warning reported on the console. After 10 minutes the vehicle would re-start and I was able to drive it. This issue has re-occurred within 2 years and the GMC service department was unable to diagnose the problem but during the latest incident the mechanic had ruled the issue as low brake fluid. I've investigated this issue online on various blog forums for the GMC Acadia with the same description of braking system failure and others report the failure as an internal braking malfunction in which the master cylinder leaks into the brake booster. I'm concerned that this problem could potential become fatal is it recurs. The GMC service department refuse to look into my concern and investigate the problem. There are no visible signs of a leak because the leak is internal.

- Pflugerville , TX, USA

problem #129

Jan 012013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
Transmission started failing and finally went out at 108,000 miles, sitting in our driveway and we had to have it towed to dealer. GM dealer replaced it under warranty but the labor cost us several thousand dollars. Now at 170,000 miles, this remanufactured transmission is now going out. It sticks in low speed and then overheats driving 65mph in 40deg weather. The dealer claims that a stretched timing chain has to be fixed first, before the transmission, at a cost of $1944. They also said the on board computer didn't store the numerous overheated transmission events that began occurring immediately after the remanufactured transmission was installed at 108,000 miles. The GM dealer is trying to tell me that the transmission is probably ok and that the overheating is due to some other reason, but he then couldn't even guess at what the other reasons might be! the fluid level is good, and the vehicle has a tow package with a cooler for the transmission fluid. GM dealer said the transmission will be covered by warranty, which will likely mean another several thousand dollar labor charge on top of the so called stretched timing chain cost of $1,900. The power steering pump has been whining for about a year and is getting loud. The navigation and dvd player system failed twice. Might be time to trade the vehicle for something more reliable. My wife is getting scared to drive it too far and end up being broken down in atlanta traffic...very dangerous.

- Milton, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?