2008 GMC Acadia transmission problems: transmission has gone out a 2nd time

Transmission Has Gone Out A 2nd Time

2008 GMC Acadia

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your GMC dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ahh, the ole' sophomore slump. The 2008 Acadia suffers from widespread transmission failure around 75,000 miles.

9.5

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,120
Average Mileage:
119,650 miles
Total Complaints:
8 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (3 reports)
  2. rebuild transmission (3 reports)
  3. recall (1 reports)
  4. replaced ECM (1 reports)
2008 GMC Acadia transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 GMC Acadia Owner Comments

problem #8

May 152017

Acadia 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 157,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had 2 transmissions in this car one under warranty the next one I took to a transmissions shop. Now the dealership tells me I need another! No car should have to have 3 transmissions. This is ridiculous I have spent a fortune on this vehicle. It will shake and stumble between 3rd and 5th gear. First time the supposedly put a new one back in. The next one I had rebuilt. Stabilatrac and Traction Control is also another issue it comes on for everything. GM is aware of the transmission issues and will not recall them I'm going to check into a Lemon Law here in Oklahoma. I've had it. These cars are a piece of junk and GM should be doing something about it there are too many complaints about this.

- #1gigi, Shawnee, US

problem #7

Jan 092018

Acadia LT 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,000 miles

Transmission Wave plate failed for the second time. GMC Special warranty 14404 which doesn't expire till July 15, 2018 should have covered it but the dealership is not honoring it and GMC has been no help in resolving the problem. We are getting the transmission replaced by a reputable transmission shop and will be filing suit for reimbursement. Once again GMC has really lost my confidence. The Crown Buick dealership in Metairie Customer Service Rep. "Carol" was really rude and argumentative. She must be the tell the customer NO person. She lied about where the part was installed that failed and why it failed. I guess people that don't know much about automobiles fall for this tactic. After many attempts to contact others at the dealership and GMC no one wants to take the responsibility and fix the horrible transmission that are in these vehicles.

- Eugene S., New Orleans, LA, US

problem #6

Mar 032017

Acadia Limited 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 145,652 miles

ANOTHER 2008 ACADIA TRANSMISSION REPLACED FOR THE SECOND TIME Now the Traction Control Off Service Stabilatrack on. Losing power again and ramping the rpms. Throttle body replaced prior to this new transmission. I have to take it back in again. It is very dangerous to drive especially in traffic and the car just putts along. As I have seen over a hundred or more times everyone has this problem and many many more. This time its gone I would rather drive any vehicle but this one again. Its Bull gmc knows it

- baa, Evansville, US

problem #5

Dec 212016

Acadia SLT-2 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 137,648 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We bought our 2008 GMC Acadia new in August 2007. First transmission failure was on 12/31/15, with 122,793 miles, when we suddenly coasted to a stop. and the auto would barely move. Took to our dealer and the problem was diagnosed as a wave plate failure. Also a new torque converter was installed. Total bill on this repair, 3,748.39.

Fast forward almost 1 year to December 21, 2016. Auto was shifting very slow into drive position.At this point, auto had 137,648 miles. Made appointment with same dealer and problem was diagnosed as a value body and TCM failure. Total cost this time, 1,869.29. So, within one year, we have spent $5,617.68. After reading all the various transmission failures on this make and model, I just can't understand why GM has not issued a recall on this issue. I talked to the GMC Customer Assistance Center and they told me they would follow up with the dealership. As of now, I have not heard back from them and am not surprised I haven't. This is an issue that GM should address immediately! How sad that a once great company has now decided customer service means nothing to them.

- David S., Jacksonville, FL, US

problem #4

May 212016

Acadia

  • Automatic transmission
  • 128,000 miles

Transmission went out for the second time!! Called GM, told them it went out, they told me to bring it to a certified GM dealer so they can look at it. I asked them if the codes are the same as they were with last years special recall, if they would cover it, and they stated yes, if it points back to the same errors.

So brought it in, had them look it over, and sure sh*t, the same codes as the special recall last year. GM mechanic said everything points to the special recall that was from last year, only thing is my vehicle went over 8,000 miles from when the special recall went out, HOWEVER, it has only been a year since i just had my transmission rebuilt. I had mentioned to GM if I would have known there would have been a recall, I would have had the entire transmission REPLACED not REBUILT. They don't care. They said because my vehicle was already paid out for the transmission, I can't get it replaced by them. I would like to disagree! I had it rebuilt at half the price because I can't fork over $6,000 for a new transmission. If the recall would have came out before I had it fixed, I would have had a new transmission put it, and I would MOST LIKELY NOT be having this issue right now. Still won't fix it.

I have never been so frustrated and disappointed in a product in my life! I will NEVER buy GM again! Worst vehicle out there!!

- jgarciawi, Green Bay, WI, US

problem #3

Mar 032014

Acadia

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,900 miles

I bought a 2008 GMC Acadia in 2011. I drove it for almost one year, and one day it would not shift gears until I reved engine to 3200 rpm, and wound not shift into high gear. I took it to Wilma’s. They replaced clutch plates under Warranty. This Spring I drove it to Phoenix. Same Exact Symptoms. I was informed my warranty was expired by 100 miles, and to fix it would cost $1200, for electronic control module. Of course I paid it.

Update from Sep 15, 2014: I bought a 2008 GMC Acadia in 2012. I drove it for almost one year, and one day it would not shift gears until I reved engine to 3200 rpm, and wound not shift into high gear. I took it to Wilma’s. They replaced clutch plates under Warranty. This Spring I drove it to Phoenix. Same Exact Symptoms. I was informed my warranty was expired by 100 miles, and to fix it would cost $1200, for electronic control module. Of course I paid it.

- Lee Y., Blair, OK, US

problem #2

Feb 152013

Acadia SLT

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles

The transmission failed twice. The first time at 41,000 miles and the second time at 81,000 miles. Basically, this transmission is only reliable for 40,000 miles at a time and then it needs to be rebuilt. GM is useless in getting this problem resolved. They will not admit that this is a misbegotten design that cannot stay together under normal use.

- dagger-six, Winnetka, CA, US

problem #1

May 052012

Acadia SLT 3.2L, V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles

I have been a loyal GMC customer since 1999. I leased an Oldsmobile Alero then purchased a new Oldsmobile Alero at the lease expiration. Then, in November 2007, I purchased a brand new, custom ordered GMC Acadia. Although I have loved my Acadia and highly promoted the vehicle when asked by many, I have had major issues with the vehicle, now to my financial detriment.

First of all, the sunroof always leaks when it rains. It drains into the floor board and soaks the carpet, and, if I’m in the vehicle, drips on my feet. It also leaks through the windshield. I’ve taken it by the dealership on numerous occasions, and they “clean/clear sunroof drains.” This never permanently fixes the problem. On September 10, 2010, at 78,811 miles, the transmission went out. Here’s what the invoice states: CUSTOMER STATES – NO REVERSE 3-5 REVERSE WAVE PLATE BROKEN. CLUTCHES BURNED. CASE COVER ASSEMBLY HEAVILY DAMAGED. METAL ALL THROUGH TRANS. NESS TO REPLACE 3-5 CLUTCHES CASE COVER SNAP RINGS. NESS TO COMPLETELY DISASSEMBLE TRANS TO REMOVE AND TO COMPLETELY RECONDITION ALL INTERNAL PARTS DUE TO HEAVY METAL CONTAMINANT. REPLACE FILTER ALL SEALS AND GASKET. Various plates, rings, pistons, seal kit, housing, springs, gears and cover were replaced. Two weeks ago, on May 5th, the transmission went out again. I was close enough to my local service shop, so I took it in. they ran some test which indicated problems with shift solenoid, excessive purge flow and random misfires. I called the dealership and was told that, because my vehicle is out of powertrain warranty, I will have to pay for the repairs out of my own pocket. I ended up having to tow the vehicle to a local, highly reputable transmission shop for evaluation. Turns out, it’s going to cost between $5,000-6,000 to repair the Acadia to running condition – which includes a brand new transmission.

GMC should have replaced the transmission in September 2010 instead of just replacing all those parts and merely “bandaiding” the vehicle simply to get me out of warranty and wipe their hands of me. I am a responsible citizen and paid this vehicle off 2 ½ years early, which is quite fortunate in my current financial situation. What makes this entire experience worse is that I recently had to quit my job to take care of a disabled parent full-time. This parent has multiple medical issues including a recent diagnosis of Parkinson’s. I am single, living off of savings, taking care of a disabled parent and currently, have no other source of income. Not only should GMC done the job right the first time, but I absolutely do not have $6,000 to sink into this vehicle, nor should I have to do so.

After 13 years of loyalty, I feel like I’m just a number to GMC, and my number was up in November 2007, when my bank and I cut you a $36,000 check for a brand new 2008 Acadia. You simply bandaided the problems of the GMC Acadia, which by now, I understand are well-known throughout the auto industry. It should not be a disabled vehicle or cost me $6,000 out of my own pocket at 112,000 miles. GM should fix this vehicle the right way, and it shouldn’t cost me anything.

I’ve been loyal to you. Where is your loyalty to me?

- mrrogozinski, Pelham, AL, US

Not what you are looking for?