7.5

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$470
Average Mileage:
32,600 miles
Total Complaints:
29 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (21 reports)
  2. replace shifter park switch (3 reports)
  3. replaced shift control (2 reports)
  4. add on a harness/reinstall cable to bracket (1 reports)
  5. fix controller (1 reports)
  6. replaced shifter assembly unit (1 reports)
2017 GMC Acadia transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2017 GMC Acadia Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Jan 152018

Acadia SLT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2017 Arcadia SLT, when put in park, the dash information says it's not in park. We have been stuck some times for over 45 min because you can't leave the vehicle alone because you can't shut off power and walk away because horn sounds like keys are left in car. This happens about 5 to 6 times a week and I've been to dealer 3 times and still no one has a fix for this.

- Charles J., Valpararaiso, US

problem #28

Oct 012020

Acadia Danali V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,900 miles

I had the car 3-Years and 4-months when this issue came up. Sometimes my wife could not get the car turned off and it would take me 15-20 minutes of working with the gear shift to get the car turned off. The service manger told me the good news was that the cars these controllers were put in haven't had one come back, which indicates to me this could be a common problem with this vehicle.

- daokie, Goodyear, US

problem #27

Apr 012019

Acadia

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

I think it’s complete BS the GMC dealership was aware of the “shift to park” issue upon the purchase of my car, yet failed to make me aware. I cannot even begin to express how annoying and frustrating this error is. I HATE having to turn my car off knowing I must deal with the error. If I’m ever running late or in a hurry, I must stop and mess with the break and the shifting gear until error disappears. This should be a software issue that should have been fixed months ago, baffles me GMC has not yet figured their s*** out. I went from loving my car to flat out hating it.

- Perla H., Kuna, US

problem #26

Sep 152019

Acadia SL2 6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2017 GMC Acadia. It only has 16,000 miles on it. Recently it has begun showing a message of "shift to park." The gear shift says it is in park, but the message appears. All accessories keep running after the engine is off. The doors will not lock. We must start the car numerous times, shift to drive, reverse and back to Park. It sometimes takes as many as 9 to 10 times to get it to register off.

I have been reading messages from other owners of Acadias and many have this problem. I have an appointment with a dealer on Friday to get this fixed (if it can be fixed yet.) From what I have read at first there appeared to be no "fix" for this problem. Unbelievable. You build the car, but you can't fix the problem. Now it appears (hopefully) that there is a "fix." Hopefully, when I take this car in on Friday, it is the most updated fix and not the one that does nothing but put the same shift assembly back in that I now have, which will eventually have the same problem.

- Diana C., Belleville, US

problem #25

Dec 202019

Acadia ES 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,572 miles

This has happened numerous times. I go to shut off the vehicle and the shift to park alarm comes in and the car will not shut down. I have to move the vehicle back and forth to get the alarm to clear. This is a real pain as it could drain the battery down. I have seen other complaints on the same issue - this should be a recall event.

- Tom E., Oswego, US

problem #24

Dec 102017

Acadia LS 3.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

I have brought car in 4 times for the same problem. And it is still not fixed. Car did almost run me over. I went to a walk-in clinic for injury. One time I was away for weekend. I had to go under hood and manipulate manually to get in park. I am single and afraid to drive far now. I have asked salesman to change car out. However, they will still want me to pay lease off. I don't think that that is fair.

- Cynthia Mercy M., Pbg, US

problem #23

Oct 012019

Acadia SLT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car put into park and, when it shuts off, the alarm sounds that the vehicle is not in park. Multiple times this has happened. I played with boot on shifter, and eventually it will go away. It's getting more and more frequent.

- pt23350, Wakefield, US

problem #22

Jan 032022

Acadia All Terrain 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,598 miles

Seems to be a very common problem from the manufacturer, should be covered by GM.

- Christopher H., Shelton, CT, US

problem #21

Jan 272020

Acadia SLT 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

Because the vehicle went into service in November 2016, it was deemed out of warranty, even though it was under 36000 miles. They said that technically this wasn't a powertrain problem, so it wasn't covered under that category. I called GMC headquarters and opened a case. They called back in a day or so, but offered no relief.

It seems that since this is a common problem, it should be deemed a manufacturing defect, and a recall be issued - or at least relief to owners affected should be offered.

- Jim P., Henderson, NV, US

problem #20

Feb 072020

Acadia SLT-1 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,560 miles

This is a lease and the third significant problem that has occurred with this vehicle. Will not be interested in purchasing this vehicle or another GMC when the lease runs out in a few months. "Shift to Park" alert is annoying so far, since I can press the shifter forward and it goes away. But if it cannot reset, I foresee a very dangerous situation occurring. I have been a loyal GM customer since my father bought me my first 1962 Corvair, but the loyalty is ending. My last few GMs have been replaced because of significant mechanical problems.

- Roger B., OVIEDO, FL, US

problem #19

Jul 222020

Acadia Denali V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Well, this same thing happened in Feb 2019 and the shifter was replaced at my cost. I couldn't shut my suv off because it detected it wasn't in park. I had to try putting in drive, neutral etc several times for it to shut off engine. At that time I had 43,409 miles on suv. Now I have 71,500 on suv and it is doing the same thing. It won't let me lock the doors either with the handle. I figured I would try key fob and it works that way to lock. I set emergency brake.

This is ridiculous to have two shifters replaced on same vehicle in 3 years. I have never had a shifter replaced in any vehicles I have ever owned, much less 2 in same vehicle. I will not buy any more GMC suv. My transmission my be going out also, I feel it slipping/shifting while driving. My 2008 Acadia had the transmission replaced at 50,000 miles and some other repairs but bought another Acadia thinking the 2008 was a lemon. But won't make a 3rd mistake. Its a shame to pay over $50,000 for a vehicle and have issues like this. I drive mostly highway miles and I don't drive everyday to put in drive and park constantly. Plus with COVID 19 I didn't go out often. I travel by myself a lot so I need a dependable vehicle.

Update from Aug 5, 2020: Well, the shifter wasn't replaced this time. GM said to add a harness to shifter. This was Wed. July 29,2020 when the harness was put on then Acadia. On Thursday I pulled into my garage and SHIFT TO PARK came on and engine and lights would not shut off, it was in park position. No lights on gear shift. I took right foot off brake to get out of suv and it rolled quickly forward. I was quick enough to apply right foot back on brake and set E brake. If I didn't think quick enough it would have gone thru my garage wall!! It went up against wall but boots cushioned suv from damage. So I had tow truck take it to dealer.

The driver of tow company got engine shut off and put it in neutral to be able to tow. The diagnosis found shifter cable came out of bracket so they reinstalled it. I don't think this was the problem. The tow truck driver may have pulled it to get it into Neutral to tow. I feel GM is putting cheap parts in these vehicles and charging high prices for them. My husband snow plows and has never replaced a shifter. He goes forward and backward all day and evening with his trucks to me that would be over use and may break. People should not be having this issue on normal use.

- Tammy C., Bellaire, US

problem #18

Jul 152020

Acadia Denali 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

All of a sudden when pulling up to park and putting the shifter in park and pushing the shut off switch a bell goes off and on the display get an error to put in park. The shifter is in park, so I had to pull in back and push it back again. Sometimes it takes a couple of times to get the light to go out, or the car won't shut down completely. If I would leave it like that, the battery would run down as the lights and gauges are still on.

- Jack K., Corvallis, OR, US

problem #17

Mar 062020

Acadia SLT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,456 miles

It happens almost every time I go somewhere. I can’t leave the vehicle or lock it. I have to restart it, wiggle the shifter, or just wait and it may eventually go off. I asked my dealership about it but they have no answers. It should be a recall. I really don’t know the exact time it started but it’s like no one knows what can be done about it so I live with it.

Good thing I’m retired. If I was still working it would be a big problem. My husband won’t take my car because he doesn’t want to have it happen to him. He is still working. WHERE IS THE RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM?

- Kathy H., Livingston, US

problem #16

Jul 222020

Acadia SLT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,500 miles

I got an oil change today and was told my car is out of warrantee. I have 15,900 miles on my car. Tech said I can have the gear shift replaced for a cost of $485.00! Doesn't seem fair to have so few miles and have to pay for a repair that may not work.

- Bob C., Smyrna, US

problem #15

Sep 262020

Acadia SLE 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,100 miles

I bought the 2017 Acadia about a whooping 1.5 weeks ago before the alert appeared for the first time. Not knowing of the problem, it surprised me and I restarted the engine, shifted in the D positions and back into P, turned the engine off and the error alert had disappeared.

3 days later, same issue again, but this time I had to shift several times in different positions before the car finally recognized it was shifted into the parking gear and would allow to shut completely down without displaying any alert message on my DCI.

After another 2 days, today 09/30/2020, the very same alert occurred again when I tried to park the car in my garage. Whatever I had tried, even driving around the block and shifting several times to D and back to P did not solve the problem this time. Dang! I should have bought another Durango after our old one had served us well for 18 years, is what first came to my mind.

I got frustrated, shut off the engine, left the car and checked about 2 hours later after reading up on the internet about this very common problem, just to find out, the system had shut down finally. No error message on the DCI, all electronics were turned off. I even restarted the engine and shut it back down with no issue.

My research on the internet returned, GM is aware of this problem and a Class A action lawsuit has been filed in this matter in my home state Texas.

I will visit a GMC dealership for the first time as soon as I can get appointment and hope the service shop will be able to fix the problem. I am handicapped and have to rely on this car every single day.

I sure would not have expected, and it never happened to me before with any of the other cars that I ever have bought in my life, that I had to take a car back to the service shop within less than 2 weeks after I bought it and with less than 250 miles of me driving it.

The car is still under original warranty and I hope GMC will fix the problem for free AND for good. But, what will happen if the problem will occur again in a few months or a year down the road when the 3-year / 36,000 mile warranty will have expired? Does GMC expect their customers to pay for repairs for problems GM has been well aware of for several years as issued Tech Bulletins show, especially since the problem occurs with several GM models, like the Malibu, Traverse, Acadia or the Volt.

Wouldn't it be time for GM to come forward and start a voluntary recall in an effort to restore at least some of the lost customer trust again?

- Rico K., Spring, TX, US

problem #14

Oct 082020

Acadia Denali V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,550 miles

I see all of these complaints about this issue and GMC should be ashamed for not fixing this problem. This is a hazard. I love my truck but this is ridiculous. I called GMC to vent my concerns and the only thing she said was that my warranty has ended and that I would have to get this fixed. WOW.

- Erica W., Hampton, US

problem #13

Oct 232019

Acadia SLE 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,309 miles

Vehicle constantly pops up message “shift to park” even when the vehicle is in park. I took it in. The problem was identified immediately. All the work was covered under warranty. The annoying issue was they wouldn't even let me take the vehicle home as they had reports of the failure escalating into actually releasing the gear and the vehicle rolling. So for safety they wouldn’t let me take the vehicle. Rental was provided no problem. Fix took more than 2 weeks as the part was in higher demand.

- cluy0487, Calgary, AB, canada

problem #12

Nov 012019

Acadia Denali V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles

click to see larger images

My Denali was running like a dream until all of a sudden the message “shift to park” came on along with the chiming and would not let me lock my car. So I started it back up and reversed and parked again and thought this wasn’t going to be an issue because it went away. Little did I know that about once a month after that it happens and now at least 3 to five times a week.

It’s very annoying and last night my battery went dead because the safety feature that’s set up to prevent battery drainage has done it’s job and more I guess because it died. I never had a battery die on me in three years. There truly needs to be a recall and fix for us by GM because I pride myself on saying how well GMC and our Chevrolet’s we own drive but I don’t need this headache any longer without a fix.

Update from Dec 20, 2020: Just to update anyone who is jumping their vehicle you have to press the start and brake a couple of time like if you were turning a key. You can’t just hold the start button down once.

- Iris L., Newport, PA, US

problem #11

Feb 052020

Acadia SLT

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles

My biggest concern with this issue was that it left the vehicle in an on position, radio on, lights on, which meant that the battery was being drained. So I always had to work the control around enough to get it to register Park before I walked away from it.

- Keith C., Cannon Falls, MN, US

problem #10

May 012019

Acadia Denali V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles

This was an ongoing issue but I was able to jiggle the shifter and the "shift to park" light would turn off. Then it got worse.

Update from Jan 16, 2020: Fast forward to fall 2019 (just under 36,000 miles), shift to park became more and more of an issue. The windshield wiper motor died and I took it in for that so I had them check the shift to park. They fixed the motor, however stated that there was a "bulletin" about the shift to park not a recall. Because of the strike, they had to wait on the part, so I had to bring it back in later. In the mean time, my battery died! So, brought it back in to get the battery replaced mid Dec 2019 - yes, at 36,000 miles! Still waiting on the shift to park part. it arrived so I had to bring my car back in. I got it back and we found the notice still came on. Fast forward to last week, furniture shopping an hour away and shift to park wouldn't turn off leaving lights and radio on, so we had to leave the car running all day fearing the battery would die if we didn't. We get it home and have to disconnect the battery. Called again, complained and this time requesting a loaner because honestly, it is ridiculous. Waiting to hear back and see if GM would at least split the cost because I am now over 36,000 miles. meanwhile, have to reconnect battery to use. Needed it yesterday, had a meeting and left running and then ran some errands. It ended up LOCKING up in park and I couldn't get it out of park! Had to call GM roadside assistant to tow it back to the dealership. I have had GM's my whole adult life. It is safe say my next vehicle will not be a GM.

- JoAnn J., Lyons, US

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?