8.4

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,700
Average Mileage:
83,400 miles
Total Complaints:
77 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (23 reports)
  2. new engine installed (20 reports)
  3. replace (13 reports)
  4. needs new engine block (11 reports)
  5. engine rebuild (10 reports)
  6. replaced the mount (1 reports)
2007 Honda Civic engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #77

Jul 032021

Civic EX 1.8L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 145,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dealer wanted $5000 to replace the engine with used engine in a car with bluebook value of $4000. The engine would be the same one with potential for block to crack again. Many owners reporting the same problem with a known engine block defect from Honda. Technical Service Bulletin 10-048 extended the warranty for 10 years covering the replacement of a cracked engine block.

At the release of the TSB 10-048, my vehicle was inspected for this but found the engine block to be in satisfactory condition at the time of inspection. Subsequently, after this warranty was expired for four years but well within the life expectancy of a "normal" engine, the engine block cracked at only $145,000 miles. As the original owner and taking good maintenance precautions, I expected much longer life from this car. I paid $23,000+ new in 2007 for this car only to receive $475 from the junk car pickup. Not Happy Honda! (Won't even consider another one.) (EVER.)

- A F., Louisville, KY, US

problem #76

May 312021

Civic LX 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,400 miles

I bought this car in good faith from Honda of Seattle 3 years ago; one owner prior to me, clean Carfax and only 36100 miles on it. I changed oil in time and treat it nice at all time, as it was my daily commuter.

A few weeks ago, I was planning to go on a road trip from Seattle to California... when I noticed one morning that I have a pottle of coolant under my car... I took it in to Honda of Bellevue to have a clear diagnose about the problem and I learned that I don't have a car anymore.

I know now that this issue is common to this model and year, and that HONDA extended warranty for this to 10 years. However, my car is 13 years old now but, has ONLY 65500 miles on it!!! Technically, we're talking about a new engine here...

I already tried to get in touch with HONDA US and with Honda of Seattle. I couldn't get them on the phone but a case was opened with HONDA corporation and also, email to Honda of Seattle.

The results so far: NO ANSWER. I guess they're too busy selling cars and totally forgot about those that bought a car from them and now they have a huge problem with it.

A friend of mine managed to get on the phone with someone from HONDA and he was told that "we don't know how the car was maintained"... The fact is that a cracked engine block is a manufacturing defect, and HONDA already admitted it.

This is not acceptable to me. I feel that HONDA made a fool out of me and I'm not going to take it. I couldn't cancel my trip, so I had to rent a car for 10 days, also, now, I don't have a car to take my wife to work.

Next time when you thinking to buy a HONDA cause they last forever, think twice! My car would sell for $7-8000 no problem with the $65500 miles that I have on it, of course, if I wouldn't have a cracked engine block. No it worth's nothing!

Very disappointing and frustrating experience.

- rbalaceanu, Redmond, US

problem #75

Oct 142020

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

My 07 Civic engine block cracked as well and Honda did not want to fix it, I filed a complaint with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. If they receive enough complaints they can force Honda to recall the engines and fix it.

https://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/VehicleComplaint/

- Antonio G., Astoria, NY, US

problem #74

Nov 202019

Civic LX 1.8L Vtec

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The 2006-2008 Honda Civics had a terrible problem with a poor engine block design causing a fatigue failure. The problem manifests generally at 100k miles and was not discovered in initial testing until the cars hit the road. They never had a recall issued, but instead had an extended warranty to replace the engine free of cost upon failure for 10 years after the date of manufacture.

So unless the car has already had the problem and had the engine replaced, avoid purchasing this vehicle. Even if it had already clocked more than 100k without failure, it will still be a ticking time bomb that can go off any time. It cannot be fixed. It cannot be avoided. AVOID THIS VEHICLE.

- Adhiti R., Greenville, SC, US

problem #73

Aug 012020

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,613 miles

I have a 2007 Civic with a cracked engine block, coolant seeping out in area behind alternator. Bought new in 2007 and have 115,000 km on it. I've read a bunch of stuff on the net about this problem with these 2006 - 2009 Honda Civics.

I phoned the dealer and he said, sorry nothing I can do.

I emailed Honda Canada, so far no response.

I had every intention on keeping the car but what really bothers me is that this February (2020) the passenger side coil spring broke so I had to have both front suspension strut and coil spring assembly replaced. Total inc tax $ 1,244. In 2019 I had to replace the starter motor. Total inc tax $636

I spent all this money and now the car is worth nothing, I can't even sell it.

Honda should be made to pay for this. Look at VW they have already paid out tens of billions for that emission scandal. How many engines were replaced by Honda over the years and how much did it cost them? A few million? Honda should be held to account no matter how much time has passed.

- John B., Toronto, ON, Canada

problem #72

Jul 312019

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,100 miles

I BOUGHT A USED 2007 HONDA CIVIC IN JULY 2013 FOR MY SON'S FIRST CAR. THE CAR HAD 71,000 MILES. HE DROVE THE CAR TO FLORIDA IN JANUARY 2016 AND HAS HAD IT THERE EVER SINCE. HE LIVES ON CAMPUS AT HIS COLLEGE AND RARELY DRIVES THE CAR. IN JULY 2019, I HAD A NEW COMPRESSOR REPLACED 5 DAYS PRIOR TO MY SON TAKING AN 8 HOUR TRIP. HE DROVE THE CAR 4 HOURS AND IT OVERHEATED. THE CAR WAS TAKEN TO A HONDA DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY TOLD US THAT THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM AND THERE WAS A SILENT WARRANTY ON THIS CAR GOOD FOR TEN YEARS, BUT WE ARE OUT OF WARRANTY AND THE COST OF REPAIR WAS BETWEEN $4700 AND $5200. THEY REFUSED TO TAKE ANY RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE CRACKED ENGINE BLOCK LEAKING COOLANT. MY SON AND HIS CAR ARE ALONE IN FLORIDA AND I AM IN PENNSYLVANIA. STILL NOT SURE WHAT WE ARE GOING TO DO WITH THE CAR. MY SON HAD TO TAKE A BUS BACK TO HIS CAMPUS AND LEAVE THE CAR. THANKS HONDA...FOR NOTHING.

- Linda M., Willow Grove, PA, US

problem #71

Apr 152019

Civic EX 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,602 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

click to see larger images

cracked engine block cracked engine block

I don’t know much to say other than this is the first HondaIi’ve Owned and I wished I’d never thought about it. I bought it from a dealership in Cummings, GA named T & J Motors and I should’ve went with my gut to not buy this car from these people as they claim to be God Fearing. I bought a used 2007 Honda Civic Coupe with 102K for $6,000 from these people which looking at the car it looked to be a GREAT DEAL, due in part to the condition of the car the only qualm I had was the emblem was gone. Which I inquired about a Carfax and was told to get it online at their website. I NEVER found it or saw it posted. From the Dad to the Mom to the Son all have worked with me in completing this deal which as I stated should’ve been my RED FLAG but, also I thought they were as they claimed to be.

Well, I took it to the Honda Dealership and they told me it was a manufactures defect and it was extended to the original owners for 8-10 years. Well, I’m the 2nd owner and never knew anything about a recall. Let alone my 1st time purchasing a Honda, which Honda quoted me $3800 + tax to replace it. Not to add that when I bought the car I took it to the Honda Dealership to have the 100,000k up keep done on it which was $1415. I do not have $3800 to get the replacement done on my Honda so the cracked engine block will remain until i’m able to fork up that type of money or sell it to someone else, but I’m not a dishonest person so I more than likely will just leave it sitting as I have been. Oh! I did contact Honda of America and they had me on hold forever, all while my car was sitting at the Honda Dealership, the rep comes to the phone to say I’m Sorry we can’t do anything about your car because its’ out of the warranty period when it was sent out to be fixed. So I’m stuck with this lemon of a car not being able to move and not working so saving money for another car is my only means now.

I don’t usually complain or write complaints about anything because I totally believe in what goes around will come back around, and God will have the last say even if i’m not around to see it I believe he will fight this battle for me. So, my hopes is to make aware anyone that reads these complaints aware that fraudulent car selling is happening just so people can make a buck and claim to be “God Fearing” if they were God fearing people they would’ve at least offered some type of assistance in repairing this issue. I would’ve even been grateful if they said they’d pay half of the damages, they offered nothing all because I’ve had it 5 months and just contacting them about it, mind you I am on disability and don’t drive but in my area to appointments and home.

- skorepo, Cleveland, TN, US

problem #70

Nov 142018

Civic EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

I purchased my 2007 Honda Civic EX coupe in April 2007 and have been the sole owner since. I have always maintained repairs and regular maintenance (including using synthetic oil for all my oil changes and ONLY using premium gasoline through out its lifetime) on my car without any lapses.

In November 2018, with only 110,000 miles on my almost 12 year old car, it developed a cracked engine block. Engine blocks are NOT a common problem with cars and should not happen, especially on cars with such low mileage.

After much research, I found that Honda knew about this problem (Honda Bulletin 10-048) and only extended the warranty by one year, but not notifying the consumers. The repair cost I was quoted was $5400 at Keyes Honda in Van Nuys, California. American Honda would only pay $2000. The only recourse we have is to pay the fees, use a non-Honda repair facility (which I will do) or warn other potential Honda Civic purchasers from adopting this very expensive problem.

Update from Jan 2, 2019: If you have the same issue, contact classaction.org and file a complaint. Hopefully, we can get Honda to be accountable and get a class action lawsuit started against them.

- M W., North Hollywood, US

problem #69

Jul 152018

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 133,000 miles

I bought my 2007 Honda Civic used in 2009. It is in great condition, and I have done everything I could to take good care of it. Then out of nowhere, it stops working on the freeway. No gauges ever showed a problem or spiked, there was just a clicking sound and the engine stopped. We had the oil changed earlier that week and everything checked out fine - fluid levels and all.

We had the car towed to the local Honda dealership. The next day we were told it needed a new engine. The engine block cracked and all the coolant leaked and the engine was completely destroyed. The dealership actually told me that this was a problem with 2006-2009 Honda Civics, and there was an extended warranty for this very issue, but we missed the cut off. I had never received any indication of the problem or extended warranty...The service manager contacted Honda, and their offer was: if we replaced everything new (estimated $9k) they would cover $2k. So, we would be paying roughly $7k for a car that was worth about $5k. I was not okay with this deal, so I contacted Honda and put in a claim.

The rep said it is a case by case basis, and because it was no longer under warranty, they could only help with a percentage of the cost. They said it depended on my customer loyalty, maintenance records, and how often I had visited this particular dealership. They asked what I expected, and I said I was expecting them to at least cover the cost of the parts, since it was a known manufacturing defect. After a week of waiting and checking in, Honda said it was waiting to hear from the dealership to see what they would offer. Why was it up to the dealership? The dealership called and said Honda's offer was to pay $2k of $7,200 total. So- basically the same deal.

I spoke to another individual with this same problem, and he was able to get the dealership to cover the costs at 90%-10% and he had to pay about $500 out of pocket. He said it was the Honda dealership that worked out the deal because the service manager was friends with the manager at Honda Corporate.

We had the car towed to our house. It is just sitting in the driveway. I have no idea what to do. We are not really in a position to buy a new car, and I don't want to take a chance on another used vehicle. The dealership would not offer a trade in, so we are looking into selling it to someone interested in fixing it. But I am still hoping we can get it working.

I am completely discouraged by Honda and how they are handling this defect. The rep told me the warranty was extended because of a class action suit. So, Honda did not even take responsibility for this huge error in the first place. How is this legal? And how does an extended warranty cover such a safety risk? How can a company let people drive around with these cars that could blow an engine at any time? If I had known about this possible problem, was I supposed to sell my car once the warranty expired and let this happen to someone else?! I am looking into filing a small claims suit, contacting the National Transportation Safety Board, or possibly a class action suit. I just don't know how a company this big can put its customers lives at risk and not be held accountable. They have the means to correct their mistake, and I believe it is their responsibility to do so.

- Melissa P., Manteca, US

problem #68

Sep 252017

Civic DE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111,000 miles

I bought my car at a Hyundai Dealership for about $15,000 at the time of purchase there was only 42,000 miles on the car. I financed the car through Coasthills Credit Union. My car overheated. I put water in radiator which was bone dry. The next morning we looked under car to see that coolant was leaking from the engine.

I took it to a mechanic friend of mine. At first he thought maybe it was the water pump, we got the water pump and he was proceeding to replace and figured out it wasn't the water pump. He called to say it was a crack in the block and that Honda had a warranty. Although it was 6 days past the expiration of that warranty. Of course my thought process was Honda will cover it as they have openly admitted it is a manufacturer defect. I had it towed to my local Honda dealer where they confirmed it was in fact a cracked block. They also said it was the exact spot where the warranty would have covered. They then proceeded to tell me that its past warranty and they could not fix it, but would be more than happy to put me into a different car.

I still owed $4500.00 at the time this crack in the block happened. Well, I was absolutely not going to buy another car from Honda as I feel they are not even backing their obvious defective engine. I end up having to get another car and financing that car while still paying for a car that does not run. My Honda is just sitting in the driveway until I can save money to fix the engine, while still paying the payments. I opened a claim with Honda Headquarters and they also told me it was past the warranty and they would not fix.

I am extremely angry that there is a limit to this..........Nobody could possibly know that this would happen and when.......I was not even notified of the warranty to begin with.......I had my car at the Honda dealership for 2 other warranty issues and was never notified of the engine problem. Honda should honor any defect that happens with their product with no time limit.........I would never buy or suggest anybody to buy one of their products!!!!!

- Julie W., Lompoc, CA, US

problem #67

Dec 252017

Civic EX Coupe

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2007 Honda Civic EX coupe with only 99k miles and due to a manufacturing defect now has a cracked engine block. Honda has a service bulletin #10-048 which states the 2007 Civic and other years have manufacturing defect. My Civic started over heating on Dec.25th 2017 on the way out to my families house for Christmas. I had to pull to the side of the road due to the overheating and smoke we saw coming from the engine.

After looking under the hood I saw there was no coolant in the reservoir and I couldn't detect a coolant leak. The next day Dec.26th 2017 I replaced the thermostat on my Civic presuming that the thermostat was sticking and coolant was not circulating. That was obviously not the case because yet again the next day Dec.27th 2017 it overheated and I had to pull to the side of the road and noticed a severe coolant leak coming from the engine block.

When I got the car home I did some research and noticed a Honda service bulletin (above) and saw we were not the only ones having this issue. We called American Honda and they started a case for us and recommended that we take it to our local Honda to be inspected further. We made a appointment for the inspection and after Honda inspected it they diagnosed it with a cracked engine block. This is do to their faulty defected product. Honda should stand behind their product and fix the issue.

This car was meticulously maintained by my local Honda and has been in the family. We were never notified of this bulletin or else we would had brought our Civic in sooner before there supposed extra 10 year warranty expired. It shouldn't matter how many years Honda knows this is a ongoing issue and it will continue to happen if it doesn't get taken care of the right way. This could potentially be a dangerous situation and I believe Honda needs to step up.

- rtrean, Manteca, US

problem #66

Aug 312017

Civic LX 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,300 miles

My car is a 2007 Honda Civic LX model. On August 31, 2017 while I was driving on the highway, the car stopped running and smoke came out of the hood suddenly. No warning lights came on the dashboard till the last moment. Fortunately I managed to pull over the car to a safe place immediately beside the highway otherwise I would have been in a fatal situation. I had the car towed to a Honda dealer at Pittsburgh where they performed the diagnosis to find the root cause of the problem. They identified that there was CRACK in the Engine Block which has caused the coolant to leak from the engine and hence overheating of the engine has happened and made it to malfunction. They told me that the whole Engine has to be replaced (used one) and few other parts as well (like spark plug etc.) to make the car running again which would cost me around $4000. It was devastating to hear this.

I did some research over the Internet regarding this issue and found that most of the 2006 to 2009 Civics had this engine crack issue and Honda is also aware of this. Despite this Honda has not called for the recall of such those engines and just did a warranty extension. TSB 10-048 was issued for this. But still a lot of 2006-2009 Honda Civics are facing this issue even at very low miles like mine. Mine has just 51400 miles. Still Honda does not want to do anything about this. I even had couple of Oil changes done at Honda dealerships and they did not even give a hint about this problem.

I checked with the Service consultant if this would be covered under the extended warranty. He did a VIN inquiry and said the Warrant has expired 10 days ago and this won’t be covered. (The original purchase date of the car was 22-Aug- 2007 and this incident happened to me on 31-Aug-2017). This is a again big blow to me. I raised this concern with Honda Corporate and they filed a case. Couple of days later (on 09/07/2017) the case manager (Ina) called me just to tell that Honda would not do anything about this issue with futile reasons like 1) the warranty has expired 10 days ago 2) Because I am the second owner and purchased this car only two years back 3) I did not purchase the car from a Honda dealership and purchase from a private party 4) My Loyalty to Honda was not sufficient ( that I had spent only $80 towards oil change service in a Honda dealership in my two years of owning the car). These reasons are just senseless to me and not even related to this cracked engine issue. She did not provide proper justification and just closed the case like that.

This is my first car in the US. I bought this car as the second owner in July 2015 with only 36000 miles on it and I have hardly driven 15000 miles over the past two years without any issues. The previous owner also never had any issues with it and that’s why I purchased it with confidence. I was neither aware of any letters sent to the Civic owners nor any letter was sent to me regarding this issue and the warranty extension.

CONSIDERING CUSTOMER'S SAFETY, THESE ENGINES NEEDS TO BE RECALLED BY HONDA AND REPLACED WITH NEW ONES OR AT LEAST THE WARRANTY OF THESE ENGINES NEEDS TO BE EXTENDED FURTHER (FOR AT LEAST FOR 5 MORE YEARS). I WAS LUCKY ENOUGH TO SURVIVE A FATAL ACCIDENT ON THE HIGHWAY.

- THIRUMURUGAN V., OAKDALE, PA, United States

problem #65

Aug 022017

Civic LX 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 124,000 miles

So where do I begin....the day after I received my title for the car, after paying it completely off in a year, my car began to run slightly hot (like barely over two bars over the middle gauge). So I immediately stopped and noticed antifreeze dripping. I then put more antifreeze in and took it across the street to a regular auto shop. They notified me the next day I had a cracked engine block and the entire engine needed to be replaced.

I was devastated considering my previous car was also a Honda and needed the engine to be replaced as well. I researched a little and found out there was an extended 10 year warranty for this exact problem, called my local Honda dealership and they said "yes, the problem will be 100% covered by the warranty". As I went to arrange the car to be towed there, they called back and told me "actually the warranty expired two months ago...sorry". So I called corporate, got a case manager and a case number etc. and she said I needed to get the car towed there and have a diagnostic, because although I was out of the warranty by two months, I had a very good chance of getting a percentage of the repair covered. So I got it towed there for a diagnostic.

A week passed and I heard NOTHING from anyone, not corporate not the shop, anyone. I called the dealership and all they could tell me was "it's getting worked on, all we know is that the short block is cracked". Well thanks guys, I knew that a week ago. I called my case manager for updates throughout the week only to get her voicemail and no call back every time. And finally, after 8 days the dealership called me and told me "sorry, you got denied for the Goodwill and Honda is offering zero help towards the repair of your engine because you are out of the warranty period by two months." And not to mention, the month the warranty expired, I was getting the car serviced at the dealership for a state inspection and an airbag recall. So now I am stuck with two Hondas that need an engine replaced.

So heads up to anyone interested in buying a Honda, save yourself the massive inconvenience/expensive bill and don't.

- Kristin S., Chester, US

problem #64

Mar 142016

Civic EX 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

The engine block on my 2007 Honda Civic was under recall unknown to me. In mid-March 2016 was driving to LA through the desert with my family to deliver the eulogy at my uncle's funeral a few hours later when the engine blew up leaving us stranded in the middle of the desert. Fortunately I had a cell signal and was able to have the car towed to the nearest shop where I had them take a look at it while I found a rental car to drive to the funeral.

After the funeral I was informed that the engine blew up and would need to be replaced. They failed to tell me that the engine was under recall. I was prepared to spend $5000 for a replacement. The tow and diagnosis cost me $170. Since the repair shop was 150 miles from my home, I decided it would be prudent to have the car towed home and worked on there. That ended up costing me another $300. Fortunately, my home mechanic found out that the engine had a factory defect, called the Honda dealership and made arrangements for the car to be towed and the engine replaced. Meanwhile, I need a car, so I rented an economy car from Enterprise. By the time my car was ready to be picked up the rental car cost was $661 so my total out of pocket costs for this event $1131.

I submitted a claim for reimbursement to Honda Customer Service in early April 2016 with all receipts. They told me that they would review and get back to me shortly.

I never heard back from them so called and left a message..no response. This went on for over a year. Whenver we spoke with someone they said they didn't have the paperwork, but would check and get back to us. No one got back to us until mid-April 2017 when they said they would not honor our claim of our out of pocket expenses of $1131, but would only pay the initial towing charge of $170.

I have been a loyal Honda customer most of my life and because of this abuse, I will NEVER purchase another Honda again.

I STRONGLY SUGGEST THAT IF YOU'RE LOOKING AT A HONDA...LOOK ELSEWHERE...THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS!!

- bergerhl, Las Vegas, US

problem #63

Jul 162016

Civic 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,778 miles

Dripping engine oil all over the place. Leaks are caused in the stupid design using an aluminum oil pan which will definitely crack at some point of time.

- ichibawa, Singapore, Singapore

problem #62

Oct 172016

Civic EX-NAV 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles

Leaking coolant from the engine block in the front area. I was told they would not fix the engine if the crack was in the front.I was informed the only way they would fix my engine is if the cracking was in the rear of the engine block. If anyone looks at the extended warranty - it has pictures of the cracking engine block in both areas front and rear parts of the engine. Honda continued to give me the run around until my warranty ran out. Now Honda says they won't fix the engine at all.

- Ron H., Orlando, US

problem #61

Jul 152015

Civic EX Coupe 1.8L I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

I bougth this car in february of 2015, and since then has been problem after problem: -Cracked engine block: $400 (cost) -Side engine mounts: $100 -Sun visors: $80 -Door Lock actuator: $100 -Rear upper control arms: $120 -Rear wheel bearings: $100 -Paint is pealing and cracking: I havent fixed it. -And most recently the belt tensioner. It is attached to the aluminium block with only one tiny bolt. When you try to replace the belt tensioner or water pump you will see the big problem, the bolt is going to stuck inside the block, and is going to be a huge problem to get it fixed. I was warned by my mechanic that those Civics built between 2006 and 2011 are plenty of manufacturating problems. I just think, Will be the main problem that they built this models in Canada instead of Japan like the old reliable models? My advice: Avoid these cars.

- Joe L., Calexico, CA, US

problem #60

Jun 272014

Civic ES

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles

My engine block cracked about 2014. Had to have a new engine installed.

- K M., San Diego, CA, US

problem #59

Dec 232016

Civic LX 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles

We have a 2007 Honda Civic with 58,000 miles and recently on December 23rd 2016 our daughter was driving to a friends house and noticed smoke coming from the engine and came home. After looking for the leak it was determined to be coming from the front of the block. After searching the internet we found that this is a common occurence and there is a warranty extension. So we had the car towed to our local Honda dealership where we purchased the vehicle and it was confirmed with the a pressure test that the block was cracked.

After contacting Corporate Honda they stated they would pay 70% and we would be responsible for 30% due to the fact that the vehicle was purchased in 09/2006 and is three month past the 10 year extended warranty. I don't feel that we should be responsible for 30% when clearly they have huge problem and are trying to keep this issue quiet. Has anyone had this issue ? Please contact me at Matthew.Stroub@gmail.com

- Matthew S., Bakersfield, CA, US

problem #58

Aug 292016

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,895 miles

Does anyone own Honda Civic 2006-2009. Are you having over heating issues, leaking coolant or, engine problems??? Has your stranded you or, caused accident as result of stopping while driving. Speak up then file complaint on biggest billion dollar 10 year extended warranty for American Honda. This should be safety recall. Your complaints can get to recall for no expiration. Clearly Honda doesn't want to take accountability for selling cars with cracked engine blocks ! If your car is totaled but with no damage to engine area they are leaving you out to repair their mistakes. Speak up because the National Highway Safety Administration needs to know what danger this defect is one. Lawsuits can result if seriously injured. Please speak up for me, for you and for all the people affected.

- sol1212, San Diego, CA, US

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?