8.3

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$300
Average Mileage:
74,550 miles
Total Complaints:
13 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. new engine (9 reports)
  2. not sure (4 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2017 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport Owner Comments

problem #13

Feb 252023

Santa Fe Sport LS

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,375 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In 2017, I bought a new Santa Fe Sport SUV. In 2022 and 2023, I began dealing with the motor burning excessive oil. My vehicle had about 90K miles on it at the time. I was put through 4 trips of taking my SUV to the Dealership which is over 100 miles away from home for a 1,000 mile oil testing(s) and then 1 extra trip for an oil combustion performed on the motor before finally leaving the vehicle with the Dealership on 2.25.23. This was mandatory procedures required by Hyundai Corporate before they would replace the motor due to excessive oil consumption and engine had a noted manufacturing defect on my model 2017 Santa Fe Sport. This should have been a RECALL situation from the get go!

I am a first time buyer of a Hyundai and because of what I have been through dealing with the SUV's motor's problems, this will be my last time to buy a Hyundai.

Hyundai Corporate should NEVER put a customer through numerous service testings before finally providing a new motor when there was a manufacturing defect in the motor to begin with. Plus, I did not receive a brand new motor - I received a refurbushed/remanufactured one vs. a brand new motor. I guess Corporate did not want to pay for a NEW motor. So, I had purchased a brand new $40k vehicle with a defective motor that was replaced with a refurbished/remanufactured motor instead of a new motor! I am not a happy customer and will never buy from Hyundai again. If you are looking to purchase a new vehicle - I do not recommend buying Hyundai's based on how they handle serious issues with their vehicles.

I am advised that Hyundai Corporate has a lawsuit against them regarding the motor problems. I feel Corporate should do a RECALL on ALL the vehicles affected by this and provide the customer with a NEW replacement motor not a refurbished/remanufactured one. Note to all new customers - don't buy a Hyundai when you can buy other brands. Signed / Unsatisfied Customer-Hyundai Owner

- Milissa D., Cedar Hill, US

problem #12

Jan 272023

Santa Fe Sport LX 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles

Santa Fe Sport 2017 2.4 liter engine, started consuming oil, now consumes one quart every 1000 miles, and it appears to be getting worse. Hyundai dealer states Hyundai is ok with this, and refuses to give me any relief or assistance. Working with Hyundai USA now, will keep this updated as their response comes to light. Mechanic informs me that this problem will lead to other serious problems, such as catalytic converter issues. Very unhappy with Hyundai at this point in time. Hopefully that will change, will advise this web site of their ultimate response.l

- campbelljames, Lilburn, US

problem #11

Mar 162023

Santa Fe Sport LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles

This is a 2017 car and the engine issue starts... consumes a lot of oil... when you buy a Hyundai car you have to learn/be trained on how to add oil.....or drive it till it stops....hopefully safely... and lucky if you get a free engine replacement. I'm on my way to the Hyundai dealership and waiting for what they going to say...

- Ning J., Jamaica, NY, US

problem #10

Jul 012022

Santa Fe Sport

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the 6th Hyundai to own in the family and I love Hyundai but its sad that they will not fix the issue they know the have at 75,000 miles it started using oil . It has been maintained on its scheduled maintenance since we bought it at like 15,000 miles never had a issue like most Hyundai with no oil consumption between oil changes at all. It decided all at once at 75000 miles to start using oil on its own. It now has 91000 miles and is using 4 quarts in-between oil changes that are on 5000 miles regiment.

Dealership states yep its all of them we can't warranty it unless you bring it in knocking or not running . I have a warranty until 100 thousand miles and a 25 year 250 that was added when I bought it but who knows if they would cover a known Hyundai issue . Its sad that the reputation Hyundai built and was dominating the market to only now start going backwards to were people will go back to Toyota. You know you have a issue dealerships can't get enough engines with all of them that's failing and warranty is no good when you have a known issue and you will not fix it. 5 quarts of oil in-between oil changes of 5000 miles is excessive usage, I am a ASE certified mechanic and I know you have engine issues. (Rings), California has a class action law suit on the issue but its only California it should be Hyundai saying we will fix our issue as they know its there. Its Very costly and aggerating to have to add a quart every 1000 miles that is not normal .

- Mike L., Mooreville, US

problem #9

Mar 112022

Santa Fe Sport Sport 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles

click to see larger images

excessive oil consumption excessive oil consumption excessive oil consumption excessive oil consumption

El Paso Hyundai Service department could care less about your Hyundai and just want to sell more, more and more services!

My 2017 Santa Fe (70,000 miles) drinks a quart of oil every 1000 miles! You have to do what they call an "Oil Consumption test in order to prove there is a problem, It starts with an $80.00 over fill oil change, then you have to get an appointment for them to check your oil level every 1000 miles...

If you go over your 1000 miles then you have to start with a new $80.00 oil change and another 1000 mile oil level reading...

Update from Dec 28, 2022 Hyundai asking for second oil consumption test! Said the test is needed to ensure that the first test was preformed right....

Hyundai America Claim # 19882175 and no help what so ever!!!

Update from Dec 28, 2022 Newest problem is nothing works on the steering wheel! Now everything on the steering wheel is DEAD and Hyundai of El Paso wants $875 to repair and said that the 100,000 warranty will not cover it!

Update from Feb 2, 2023: we are at 82,000 miles now and after Hyundai cleaning the top end of my motor ((Cleaning the Carbon build up) on my GDI motor, my oil consumption problem has lessoned a little as it is at 600 miles since and only down 1/4 guart...

So no they haven't fixed the problem!

- Richard W., El Paso, TX, US

problem #8

Aug 012021

Santa Fe Sport 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

I bought this car in 2018 with 40,000 miles. JD Powers had it highly rated. It was in perfect condition and I was so proud to finally have a practically new car after driving older cars my whole life. I've always been a Honda guy but the Santa Fe fit me better than the CRV. Around 60.000 miles I noticed it was low on oil every time I checked it. I was in the automotive business for 25 years so know my stuff. I started logging my oil consumption and went from 1 quart every 600 miles to 500 miles to 400 miles to 300 miles and now 200 miles. It now has 88,000 miles on it.

I took all of my records to Porter Hyundai in Newark De and they sent my records to corporate and it bounced back immediately saying "too bad" it's out of warranty, even though we all know it's a major problem and they have been replacing engines. Just because I'm the second owner there is no consideration. I'm in the process of joining the class action suit against Hyundai that proves that it is a wide spread problem.

I will never buy another Hyundai as my daughters 2015 Tucson is burning oil and my son-in-laws 2017 Tucson is having trans issues.

- Thomas K., Landenberg, US

problem #7

Mar 012022

Santa Fe Sport Ultimate 2.0t

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,909 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION AMOUNTS TO AT LEAST A QUART EVERY THOUSAND MILES.

THE DEALERSHIP WAIVED THE THREE 1000 MILE CHECKS AND DID A COMBUSTION CHAMBER CLEANING AND WAIVED THE FEE OF $450. MILEAGE IMPROVED IMMEDIATELY.

LESS THAN A 1000 MILES LATER, THE OIL CONSUMPTION BEGAN AGAIN. CONTACTING THE DEALESHIP, I WAS TOLD THAT IS COMMON FOR THE HYUNDAI TO USE A QUART OF OIL THAT OFTEN. ANOTHER DEALERSHIP GAVE ME THE SAME STORY AS DID CORPORATE CUSTOMER SERVICE.

NONSENSE! I HAVE OWNED CARS FOR OVER 50 YEARS AND NEVER HAD TO ADD OIL BETWEEN OIL CHANGES IN ANY CAR I OWNED, REGARDLESS OF THE BRAND. I FEEL THEY HOPE THAT I'LL EITHER TRADE THE CAR OR DIE SO THAT MY PROBLEM WILL GO AWAY. I'M LOOKING FOR AN OPEN LAWSUIT I CAN JOIN.

ANYONE KNOW OF ONE?

- David V., Lehigh Acres, US

problem #6

Sep 082021

Santa Fe Sport Sport

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles

2017 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport started using oil Sept 8, 2021. Reported to Paramount, Manager stated Hyundai manufacture said it was “NORMAL” for a car to use 1 quart of oil every 1000 miles. Paramount did an oil consumption test every 1000 miles x 4 and at each check they had to add oil each time. After this, on April 28, 2022, they flushed the engine and told me this would fix the oil consumption problem but it didn’t. July 1, 2022 the manager, Shawn Howard told me to just keep coming there every 1000 miles that they would keep checking it and add oil at no charge to me. August 4,2022 I ask manager, Shawn Howard to resubmit the continued oil consumption report back to Hyundai since my Hyundai was still using it. Shawn they told me my Hyundai was now out of warranty and they would not continue to help me.

September 7,2022 I had the oil checked @ Springs Road Car Care Center on Springs Road, Hickory NC and they had to add 2 quarts of oil to my Hyundai. I’m very upset with Paramount in Hickory, NC and with Hyundai. I want to be included in lawsuit against Hyundai!

Update from Jan 21, 2023: November. 28, 2022 Hyundai dealership employee recommended I file a complaint with Better Business Bureau re oil consumption issues. . December 12, 2022 I filed a claim against Hyundai re oil consumption issue to the Better Business Bureau and I faxed all the required paperwork (50 pages) to Better Business Bureau. Dec 20, 2022 @ 9am left vm for Mrs YA @ Better Business Bureau to call me re update Hyundai oil consumption claim, Mrs A. called, said she got all my info & said since my engine has not failed that she was sure my claim would be denied and said she will close my case d/t no engine failure. I told her the reason my engine hasn’t failed is because I put oil in it constantly. She advised me to stop having oil checked immediately and said eventually my motor will fail. Recommended I keep my cell phone fully charged with me at all times so I could call for help when my engine did stop. Then once my motor fails I’m to call Paramount Hyundai and if they refuse to fix my Hyundai again I’m to call her back and file another claim with BBB. *This recommendation is ridiculous….it puts me and other drivers at risk of becoming involved in an accident or worst being killed!!!

- Betty B., Hickory, NC, US

problem #5

Mar 082022

Santa Fe Sport

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,321 miles

My wife passed away and I inherited the vehicle. I refused to drive it for about 4 months, then decided I couldn't just let it sit and rot. Started driving the car prior to 100.000 miles (actually took photo) and then it started burning oil. I was constantly checking the oil and having it changed trying to fix the issue. My son in law works on cars so he was constantly working on the car (changing oil and filters).

I drove it to Florida to visit my family and on the way to Florida the vehicle made a popping sound and dropped to 65 mph on the interstate. I took the vehicle to OrangePark Hyundai (December) and they did an update to the computer system and changed the oil. Tod me the car was fine and I drove off. It drove fine for a few months then on another trip back from Florida the engine light came on and I stopped at an Auto Zone who put a computer diagnosis on it and the lady told me it had lost compression in cylinder 4.

I drove it home (another hour away) and parked it until I drove it to Myrtle Beach Hyundai, the man I talked to said that they were backed up due to Hyundai having recall issues and that my vehicle wouldn't be looked at for months. I then told him about the compression loss and the engine light, and then I told him I needed to go to Florida, he told me to drive it unless the engine light was flashing and then I needed to take it to a shop. So I drove it back to Florida and then to Orange Park Hyundai to get the light checked again. Sat there for 5 hours and then I had to ask about the car before anyone would tell me anything, during that 5 hour wait around hour 4, 2 salesmen came out to ask me if I wanted to sell the car. Which I found kind of strange since they did not ask anyone else to sell their cars.

I then had to ask another service person (female) about my car. 30 minutes later I was told that the engine was blown due to debris from the gasket going into the 4th cylinder. Two months later I am still trying to get an engine, Hyundai has denied my claim multiple times and the dealership is charging me 8100.00 for a rebuilt engine. Have to really wonder if it would be smarter to just buy a new car but considering it was the car of my deceased wife it hurts to much to think of letting it go. So I guess Hyundai wins by getting money for the car initially and then gets even more money by selling and inferior product.

- Pamela C., Loris, US

problem #4

Feb 022022

Santa Fe Sport Sport 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles

The car is using a quart of synthetic oil just over a 1000 miles, and the Hyundai dealer is just blowing me off and keeps wanting me to do Oil Consumption testing, even after reminding them that a service advisory and second Excessive Oil Consumption test is proving this point...

Car went in to limp mod and now has to be returned to the dealer for them to add oils again and reset system!

I received second recall (22v056000) for anti lock breaks and have been told yet again that no fix has been ordered for this car.

- Rick D., El Paso, TX, US

problem #3

Nov 302020

Santa Fe Sport AWD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought this car brand new from the dealership in November 2017. At the end of 2020, my oil lamp would illuminate while taking turns, this is less than 1000 miles after an oil change. The dipstick was completely dry.

I took it to the dealership (after adding 3.5 quarts of oil) and they suggested an oil consumption test. The car was consuming about 3.5-4 qts of oil every 1000 miles, The solution was to have the engine replaced. I am not happy with this car, but I am very happy with my Hyundai service department.

- Paisley D., Lockhart, TX, US

problem #2

Jul 012019

Santa Fe Sport LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

My 2017 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport has been consuming an enormous amount of oil for 18 months. Even after an oil change, I can travel 1000 miles and I will be 3 quarts of oil low. It's not a leak in the engine as it is clean. There is no oil on the ground where I park. This only tells me that it is burning up and not happy to be spending the money on a car that is so new to have those issues. That is a big engine failure.

- Leonel V., Santa Clara, CA, US

problem #1

Feb 262019

Santa Fe Sport Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,528 miles

click to see larger images

excessive oil consumption excessive oil consumption

I have a case number with Hyundai's home office and a case manager, who will get back to me with a settlement proposal. I have been told I will get a new engine. That is a problem since I have a 100,000 mile warranty and now there is more than 78,000 miles on the car, the engine warranty for the new engine will only be good for less than 22,000 miles. I have asked Hyundai to pay off my loan and take back the car.

- Jeffrey P., Fanwood, US

Not what you are looking for?