CarComplaints.com Notes: There's no way around it, the Cherokee's transmission is junk. There's no other explanation for why a vehicle, usually with under 40,000 miles, would have so many complaints

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,775 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #121

Apr 092020

Cherokee

  • 3 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I fill up the tank it irks and shuts off. Very scary and dangerous.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #120

Jan 012020

Cherokee

  • 105,000 miles
I have had my vehicle almost two years. Within the last four months I began having issues when I would go to pump gas. The nozzle at the gas station began to shut off repeatedly. It acts as if the vehicle is full regardless of how much gas is in the tank. I have been to different gas stations and tried different ways of pumping my gas all with the same problem. I have taken my vehicle to two mechanics now who have identified the problem to be the fuel tank. I have done research and found a lot of fellow owners of 2014 Jeep Cherokee trailhawks to also have this problem. I am out of my manufacturer's warranty and the extended coverage I purchased for the vehicle covers every aspect of the fueling system except the tank. I find that to be quite odd. In fact, the company does not offer any type of coverage that would cover the fuel tank itself. It takes me around 20 minutes or so to fill my gas tank and that is a mere estimate because there is no way other than guessing at this point to know when the tank is full. Is this something Jeep owners are going to have to endure or will there be a solution offered? thank you for your time and consideration.

- Farmville, VA, USA

problem #119

Mar 242020

Cherokee

  • 59,114 miles
After filling the vehicle with gas it will hesitate and stall out while driving. It tells you to put the car in park and then you have to re crank it to shift back to drive. After the tank is about 3/4 full it stops stalling.

- Tuscumbia, AL, USA

problem #118

Mar 122020

Cherokee

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased the vehicle used with maybe 60,000 miles in August 2018 and within a few months of the purchase, on December 24 2018, the car jerked then stalled out while I was driving on a neighborhood street. The message board gave a transmission error and said to put the car in park and restart. After restarting, the vehicle did not drive well (hard to steer, accelerate). Had it towed to the dealership, where they did some work on the transmission. In November 2019, just after refueling, the vehicle lost power while I was at a busy traffic light during rush hour. I restarted the car and it did not have any issue after that. In January 2020, I refueled my car, drove maybe 10 miles and the car started losing power again at a busy stop light in a large highway intersection. This time the car jerked, then I got the same transmission error as the first time. I turned the car off then on, and I was able to limp to my job (same difficult steering and acceleration). Took it to the dealership where they addressed a recall issue (transmission software) and a check engine light (oil pressure sensor). In March 2020, just after refueling the vehicle, it started losing power at a red light. It didn't fully lose power before I made it to my house and had it towed. Now that I've made the connection between refueling and power loss, the dealership has realized that there is a faulty valve or sensor causing gas to leak into places it shouldn't. it looks like it's common issue, and it's honestly very unsafe since the vehicle loses power as you are driving!!!

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #117

Mar 012018

Cherokee

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds in 2nd and 3rd gear, the engine revved up and the vehicle shuddered and hesitated. The vehicle was taken to crown Chrysler Dodge located at (2120 chatman rd. Chattanooga tn.) who diagnosed that the transmission was defective and need to be reprogrammed. The transmission control module was reprogrammed however, the failure recurred. Additionally, after refueling the vehicle stalled on several occasions. The cause of the failure was not determined. Upon inspection, it was discovered that gear fluid leaked from the rear driver side differential axle bearings. The cause of the failure was not determined. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, but no assistance was offered. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Ringgold, GA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #116

Mar 082020

Cherokee

  • 12,000 miles
Every time gas is added to the tank the Jeep stalls out at stop lights. A message appears about putting it in park and then picking a gear. It is dangerous and should be recalled again. The happened on a busy road at a major intersection and at every stop sign and even while slowing to make a turn.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #115

Feb 282020

Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After refueling the vehicle, the engine stalls or shuts off without warning. No warning light or check engine light comes on. I almost crashed due to limited braking and loss of power steering. There are hundreds of reports of this issue with Chrysler products after researching it. There need to be a recall.

- Middleton, ID, USA

problem #114

Feb 132020

Cherokee

  • 55,839 miles
Car shuts off while driving. Leaving me stuck in middle of road and will not turn on for prolonged period of time.

- Egg Harbor Twp, NJ, USA

problem #113

Feb 082020

Cherokee

  • 89,000 miles
Vehicle occasionally bogs down and sometimes stalls at various speeds and conditions. Sometimes this will occur several times in a row and sometimes it will go days, even weeks without reoccurring. The Jeep dealer kept car for several days said several test drives found no problem and the diagnostics and onboard computer codes were normal. This is a potentially vary dangerous problem if trying to pull out into traffic on the interstate or trying to pass someone. The problem is reported all throughout the internet but nothing in recalls. All recalls on this VIN have been completed.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #112

Jan 212020

Cherokee

  • 98,000 miles
I purchased my car on 10/1/19 with 98,000 miles. A few short days later my car started driving horrible. Shaking, bucking, jerking, hesitating to accelerate and shift and my engine light came on while driving, scanned it and was showing P0520 oil pressure sensor. That was replaced. Car was still driving the same and 3 days later while driving my engine light came on again, this time code P06dd. Brought my car to the mechanic where he had it 3 week. My oil pump was replaced with a new oem pump. The very next day while driving my engine light went on again, throwing the same code P06dd. Brought back to the dealer where my car was low 2 quarts of oil. Was told to bring it to Jeep for recall and diagnosis. Jeep has my car for 4 days, completed the recall but was unable to diagnose my car. Upon leaving the Jeep dealer my engine light came back on and now my car was stuck in safe mode and would not go over 60mph. I brought my car back to the dealer where I purchased it. They had my car for two weeks and replaced my engine. I picked my car up on 12/6/19 from the dealer I purchased from, who just replaced my engine. With a new engine, the car is still not driving right. It is still shaking, bucking, jerking, hesitating to accelerate, hesitating to shift out of all gears. I had my tires balanced 2 times.on 1/13/2020 my car while driving on the highway went into safe mode again. Not going over 60mph. This time no engine lights are on. I brought it back to the dealer I purchased from, they hooked up the computer..which showed no codes. It took my car out of safe mode but did not fix any of the problems I¿M having. Today, 1/21/20 my car went back into safe mode while driving. Will not go over 60mph and there are no lights on the dash showing there is a problem. This car is not safe. I am a single mom with 2 kids and I will not jeopardize mine or their lives in this vehicle.

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #111

Sep 012019

Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After filling gas tank, Jeep will unexpectedly lose power and shut off. This happens several times. Accelerating and pumping gas to keep it running will speed the process of returning to normal operation. Gas is never overfilled. Once pump shuts off no additional fuel is added at pump. Took to dealership. They charged over 900 to replace the ECM. Problem repeated on next fill up. This problem is widely reported on the internet even though dealership denies any knowledge of problem

- Indianland, SC, USA

problem #110

Jan 022020

Cherokee

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while attempting to refuel the vehicle there was an overflow of fuel. The contact was concerned that there was air in the fuel lines. The dealer baxter Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram la vista (7010 S 124th cir, la vista, ne 68128 (402) 800-1229) was contacted and was suggested that the entire fuel line be replaced at a cost of $2,000. The manufacturer stated there were no recalls and referred the contact to call NHTSA. The failure mileage was 74,000. The VIN was not valid.

- Glenwood, IA, USA

problem #109

Dec 192019

Cherokee

  • 1 miles
On 12/19/2019 my wife had an attendant fill up the gas tank at our local service station, less than a 1/2 mile from our house! around the block from our house the transmission started to slip, the car started to shake, then stalled! the car wouldn¿T start for awhile! when it finally did start, it was still shaking, but being so close to home, she was able to get it home and in the driveway.the sansone Jeep service center claimed that when they filled the tank, they overfilled it causing, and costing me, $839.62 worth of damage, which they decided¿,, was not their responsibility! well I beg to differ! the attendant may have rounded up to the nearest dollar, as they often do¿,, but how is that anything other than a design, and / or engineering failure? I think if 30 cents of fuel rounded up to the nearest dollar does that kind of damage¿,, that is an expensive and dangerous manufacturing defect, and should be recalled, and not become the consumers liability! if she just pulled on to an expressway¿,, there could have been a tragedy! I am enclosing photos of the work order and receipt¿,, because I¿M not even sure what the actual damage and repair was, not understanding their jargon! thank you!

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #108

Dec 062019

Cherokee

  • 36,500 miles
After refueling, my wife stopped at a stoplight and the engine just shutoff with out warning. The screen in the car said to put it in park and then in drive. The car then start with out pushing the start button. This happened four times in the same day so she drove to the local Jeep dealership. Jeep said it was a problem with the fuel pump module and it happens when the car is over filled. My wife always stops putting when the pump handle clicks off. They have had her car for over 30 days because there are no new pumps available. This is a major safety issue that can happen at anytime. Her car has only 36,500 miles on it. This is a known problem and Jeep is not doing anything to fix it.

- Elberta, AL, USA

problem #107

Dec 022019

Cherokee

  • 79,000 miles
When going to refill the gas tank, the fuel pump would stop after very little fuel had been pumped into the tank, as if it were vapor lock. I tried several different fuel pumps at several different gas stations, to rule out the pump being the problem. I took the Jeep into the dealer and have been told there are no blockages, but to fix the problem the fuel spout and the tank need to be replaced. After looking into this online, I was floored to see many other people have had this issue. My Jeep has less than 80,000 miles on it, and has been well taken care of and serviced correctly. For a 5 year old car with 80K miles on it, I find it inexcusable to have to replace a fuel tank and spout for a faulty in either design, or bad parts.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #106

Nov 232019

Cherokee

  • 123,000 miles
I was at the gas station filling up when the gas pump handle would not allow gas to flow into the tank unless it was at a greatly reduced flow. The auto stop feature of the gas pump handle did not work at low flow and the gas spilled all over the side of the vehicle and onto the concrete area creating a fire hazard. The dealership has since told me that the car may have a defective valve. This problem goes back to the year 2012 and has not been addressed. This is evidenced by a simple web search. The spillage of gas is a fire and environmental hazard.

- Payson, UT, USA

problem #105

Nov 282019

Cherokee

  • 12,550 miles
Filled up the gas tank and Jeep started stalling with in the first mile of driving, was thinking it might be the fuel cap so I tightened it and drove the Jeep for a few miles and everything went back to normal. Next time, after another fill up a month later, my car stalled when I stopped at a stop sign about a mile after fill up, I was able to pull over, and I checked the gas cap again to be sure it was tight and restart the engine, then while in motion going thru a turn at an intersection about 1/4 of mile down the road, it tried to stall again but luckily didn't completely shut off, and the transmission shifted to neutral, and the display said I needed to place Jeep in park then select drive. I was able to coast to the side of the road, and placed the shifter to neutral then back to drive. I proceeded down the road and the vehicle again shifted in to neutral and the display stated the same, to place in park then select drive. This all happened within two miles after filling up. I drove it anothe 60 miles or so after this with no problems. Had no real problems before this, other than the shifting lag everyone has complained about. All recalls have been addressed. Not sure if this is one problem causing the other or two separate problems.I will test it out on a back road and try to get a picture of the display if it happens again and plan a visit to the dealer for a service check after the holiday weekend.

- St. Marys, GA, USA

problem #104

Nov 222019

Cherokee

  • 95,122 miles
Further follow up from complaint 11280438. Complaint - vehicle stalls after filling up. After replacement of vapor canister, then 2 weeks later replacement of fuel tank, filled up again (to click on pump - did not top off) - car stalled again. Symptom's dissipate after ~15 miles of driving like before. Dealer now states I need to replace my fuel pump. Quote "this has to be it because we have replaced your complete fuel system with it". it is concerning that by filling up tank, car will stall. This past event was while I was trying to merge onto interstate and could not accelerate which left me in between two lanes where those lanes were at highway speed. Was able to limp to the shoulder to put in park and then back in drive (what the car information system was telling me to do). My vehicle has been in the shop 5 different times the month of November.2 fuel injector's, vapor canister and fuel tank - with potential fuel pump next. I am dissatisfied with this vehicle for this on top of many blind spots in vehicle.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #103

Nov 232019

Cherokee

  • miles
When I fill my gas tank all the way to the top my car will stall for the first couple miles. This only happens when the gas tank is filled all the way. Very unsafe as power steering also locks.

- Pineville, NC, USA

problem #102

Oct 172019

Cherokee

  • 94,455 miles
After filling the tank, car stalls or computer shuts down, during operation, after taking foot of accelerator, for approx 15 miles. Dealer initially said it was was vapor canister and replaced. Next fill up after replacement, continued to stall after fill up. Dealership said they called fca and was told there was problems with rollover vent valve causing it so stick open (causing fuel to get into vapor system. Only fix at this point was to replace the fuel tank. Stalling indications happen as soon as foot is removed from accelerator (whether coasting or while stopped. Battery light will come on and dash board will advise to put car in park and then back in gear. Sometimes, it requires turning the ignition again to get car moving again. If coasting on interstate, this makes for a dangerous situation of car not responding to pick up speed during stop and go traffic. Documentation is service tickets for both vapor canister replacement as well as fuel tank replacement.

- Antioch, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?