7.4

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
22,100 miles
Total Complaints:
42 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (29 reports)
  2. download latest software patch (4 reports)
  3. replace transmission (3 reports)
  4. replaced transmission module (3 reports)
  5. repair coolant lines (1 reports)
  6. replace the transmission (1 reports)
2016 Jeep Cherokee transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

Apr 162018

Cherokee KLTM74 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,652 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

click to see larger images

transmission not working properly

I purchased the Jeep Latitude July 12, 2016 new. I had seen problems with the 2014 Jeep online but the dealer assured myself and husband that had been fixed with the new 2016 model or we would not have purchased it. I traded in a 2014 Sonata.

In Feb 2017 we noticed the trans shifting hard and the dealer showed a service history at 5950 miles servicing Transmission Control Module, and Powertrain module at 5,950 miles. In Dec. 2017 we mentioned issues of hard shifting and the auto service history shows a code form Transmission Control - and it was under warranty, the car had 13,162 miles.

On April 16 2018 I was on the Highway in heavy traffic going to work and suddenly the Transmission light came on with message service Transmission and the Jeep started loosing power on the highway. I was near an exit and the dealer was less than a mile away. The car was going slow but I was able to get to the shop. They said I had transmission issues and it should take a couple of weeks for them to get some type of harness they had to replace. The car only has 15,652 miles. They gave us a rental.

Two week later they did not have part. A month later we were told it was ready. We went to pick it up and were told someone misinformed us. They finally said on July 16 (?) to pick it up. It had been in the shop 90 days. When we got in the Jeep at the Dealer Service department the Trans Light came on and the car would not move. Mechanic said they forgot to program it. I took a picture of the screen showing Translight on. We drove about 2 miles home, turned it off and back on and the Jeep would not start.

Chrysler towing came and towed it out of our driveway. A few weeks later they said they replaced something on the transmission. My car was out of service for 90 days straight. My car still jerks

when changing from lower to higher gears. I would not recommend the Jeep or any car with the Z4 8 or 9 speed transmission to anyone. Having one's car go into Neutral on the Highway is a SAFETY ISSUE. There is no EXCUSE for this AUTO to not have been recalled. The National Safety Council should realize a transmission loosing power is a Safety Hazard. I feel we were lied to when we bought this Jeep. Chrysler knew there were major issues with the ZF 9 speed transmission that could eventually cause a major accident.

- HS H., Tulsa, OK, US

problem #41

Jun 152019

Cherokee Sport V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles

Transmission has started slipping since around 30k miles. It will slip from 1st to 2nd pretty much every day, all day long, if you are accelerating while going uphill even a little. Otherwise, its intermittent, but always 1st to 2nd. We have taken into the dealer where we purchased it (new) a total of 4x, and every time they say there's nothing wrong/cannot duplicate/yada yada. I'm pretty sure they are waiting for my extended warranty to expire and then they will suddenly discover it needs a new transmission.

- Julie J., Redding, CA, US

problem #40

Dec 122015

Cherokee Latitude 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,200 miles

The transmission is the worse I’ve ever experienced. It has a mind of its own. It hesitates, clunks, slips, jerks, suddenly downshifts and jumps randomly among gears. The dealership tells me to tolerate it and that it’s the best transmission in the world! The vehicle is not fun to drive and there should be a buy back program so I can get something that works properly. It’s to the point that I never want to buy another vehicle or drive anymore.

- Eugene D., Van Buren, US

problem #39

Dec 022019

Cherokee Latitude 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The transmission has been banging and jolting the car forward when shifting from 1st to 2nd or 2nd to 3rd. This has been occurring since day one of vehicle purchase. The dealer has flashed the software multiple times and there is no change. I am taking it back and hopefully they will replace this transmission as it's not functioning properly at all. The banging in the transmission is so hard at times, it feels like someone has rear-ended me.

- Peter B., Rockville Centre, NY, US

problem #38

Aug 182020

Cherokee 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,688 miles

Transmission causes my car to jerk and make noises in rear end. Especially on a decline when rpm come high or slowing down and then accelerating. Transmission will jerk when first taking off in morning the worst. I don't think paying a dealer 90 dollars a hour to check transmission for this issues that everyone is complaining about. It should be a recall.

- Samantha G., Russellville, US

problem #37

Oct 232017

Cherokee Limited 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,121 miles

Transmission slipping and jerking causing a hard lunge forward when going over a hill while still accelerating at 10-20 mph. Sometimes moving from a complete stop from a 4 way to accelerate and slipping. I took the car to the dealership where it was purchased and had to argue with them for not paying for a courtesy car to get to and from work since I had to leave it there for repair. You know, some of us have to work to pay for our vehicle!!! Upon return to get my car they said they updated the computer and that should fix the problem. I said .. so an update will fix the problem?? They said yes that usually takes care of it. So since then I have had various and numerous times that my transmission has done this same thing and I am constantly wondering when its going to "hit me up" again. If I can ever get away from work long enough to do without having to "rent" one of the dealers vehicles!! It's a huge disadvantage to me because..well..hey..I'm required to make payments to Chrysler but it appears as if I'm "stuck" with an unreliable/expensive vehicle. Here it is 2 years into this nightmare and I honestly feel that I have been taken advantage of by some greedy xompany that honestly does not value a customer.

- Kelly H., Wilkinson, US

problem #36

May 012019

Cherokee Latitude

  • CVT transmission
  • 31,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Like many others, I started noticing really hard shifting and hesitation with my transmission around 30k miles. I had the CPU updates done a few weeks ago and it only made the problem worse. I now hear clunking noises with down shift, hesitation is greater, and I feel the harder shifting in several more gears than I had. It went back into the shop this week because it wouldn't start (Read battery issue complaint..) and they again checked the transmission. I, too, was told that is just the way it drives and it is fine.

I wish I had researched harder before purchasing this vehicle because now only a few thousand miles away from my 3/36 warranty ending and several issues are starting to arise. It baffles me that a car driving that poorly "is what it is". I will be looking for a new vehicle.

- Krystle G., Waterbury, US

problem #35

Jan 122019

Cherokee Limited 4-2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,500 miles

Driving home from work and as I accelerated the vehicle sounded like it didn't catch a gear. It began to grind loudly and would not accelerate. After a few more seconds it caught and off it went. Not sure why or what this was about. When I brought it to the shop I mentioned this along with the vehicle shutting off a different day and they said it was low oil.

- Stephanie H., Racine, US

problem #34

Feb 022017

Cherokee Latitude 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

I am sick of this Jeep. Been having problems since day one. Been telling the dealership and nothing happens. Every time it’s time for an oil change transmission tripping, electrical problem,or the alternator. Over it but stuck with it. So pissed off. Got stuck on the highway with my new baby recently and now they say needs computer update. Over this sh*t. DON'T GET A JEEP CHEROKEE!

- Lex T., Littleton, CO, US

problem #33

Sep 022018

Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles

I have a 2016 Jeep Cherokee that I am having Transmission issues with. The transmission light came on about a week ago and went right back off. Then it came on again about 2 days ago and my car stalled in the middle of a hwy. After about 10-15 seconds it started going again and the light went off. Well today the light came on once again and stalled on another road and finally after a few seconds started driving again. The car now is not shifting like it should, the car will rev up really fast but the car will only go about 10 MPH when it does and takes forever to go. I tried contacting the Chrysler/Jeep dealer in my area to get in under warranty but they said they will have to deny my request for at least 75 days.

- Mattie W., Denham Springs, LA, US

problem #32

Aug 302018

Cherokee Lattitude 2.4L 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Noticed that the transmission started to feel like it is slipping or rough shifting on the highway at 60-65 MPH, especially around 2000 RPMs up slight grades. This also occurs at lower speeds at around 2000 RPMs. I started noticing this around 84,000 miles, but it was very infrequent. It has gotten far worse at around 85,000 miles.

Took it to Dealer at 85,000 and they said they could not replicate the issue and there is nothing wrong with the transmission. They also said that these symptoms are just the "nature of the beast". I have an extended 100K drive train warranty and I just hope that they are not helping until the warranty runs out and I have to replace the transmission out of my own pocket.

- Rob P., Highland Mills, NY, US

problem #31

May 202016

Cherokee Trailhawk 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles

I have had transmission issues since buying the vehicle. I have been to the dealer about 3 or 4 times to have the issue fixed and it was never fixed. Low power, hesitations in acceleration, randomly dropping speed while acceleration, and complete loss of power. It all continues to this day and I have all but given up on getting Chrysler to take responsibility. I am sometimes even afraid to drive the vehicle when one or more of these symptoms happens. Chrysler needs to take responsibility. As a consumer I am entitled to get what I pay for!

- Nate C., Charleston, SC, US

problem #30

Aug 012017

Cherokee Latitude

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,120 miles

This piece of junk vehicle has done nothing but give me problems since the day I bought it!!! Starting within the first month the car not wanting to start at all, dealership ended up replacing the ignition. Now the hunk of junk slams into gear when driving. It feels like you get rear ended. It is very dangerous because you don't know when it is going to happen. I am worried it will happen when i do not want to go forward and get involved into an accident. It is usually at lower speeds but I don't want to allow it to become a problem. Oh and don't let me be going down a steep hill that I have to brake on, the rpm with ramp all the way into the red zone and never downshift until I slam the brakes as hard as I can. I am going to end up in a freaking wreak because of this lemon. Supposedly they fixed this problem in the 2016, well I am hear to tell you they have not!!! Oh and service department where I bought the lemon just looks at me like I am crazy.

NOW I am stuck in a Lemon that has negative equity in it and can't even trade out of it unless I want to pay out my butt.

- dtidwell, Batesville, US

problem #29

Dec 012016

Cherokee Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

I bought a 2016 Jeep Cherokee because I thought it would be a reliable vehicle. I have had my Jeep in to the shop 2 times now for transmission problems. This time the shop had my vehicle for 4 days. The transmission work was under warranty but the front end alignment and normal 15,000 mile check up cost me just under $400. Pick up my Jeep in the morning-I hope it makes the trip to Tahoe ok, or I will be very unhappy. Not that it matters to Jeep, but I thought I would let the world know to beware!

- Shari M., Sparks, US

problem #28

Nov 072017

Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,773 miles

not shifting into drive

Am seriously freaked out right now. I've had this vehicle 1.5 yrs and not had a single problem until now. Super stressed out.

- Denise C., Caldwell, US

problem #27

Dec 122017

Cherokee Limited 3.2 V6

  • CVT transmission
  • 28,000 miles

My wife is the primary driver of this 2016 Jeep Cherokee, and when we bought this, the salesman was pitching his whole "Jeep Reliability" speech! I had my doubts, but my wife really liked the vehicle, so we ended up getting it.

The whole Engine Shutoff when at a stop was some getting used to, but even after the two years we've had it (28,000 miles), it was still rather annoying.

On her way from work, she called me and said that the Cherokee just all of a sudden started to lunge, and that it felt like it wanted to stall. She turned off the engine shutoff feature, but said that didn't help. Shortly after that, she said that the Transmission indicator turned on and the "Service Transmission" displayed on the info screen.

Luckily Huffine's Dodge/Chrysler/Jeep of Plano, TX was close, so she was able to make it there! The service department was already closed, but yesterday (Dec 15, 2017) they called her and said that the entire transmission was shot! They would have to replace the whole thing - so new transmission supposedly coming in from Detroit (2 weeks) and another week to do the work!

I started to do some research on this vehicle and was alarmed at all the transmission related articles out there! It's rather scary and doesn't give us piece of mind that this vehicle is safe. Actually, we're rather upset and disappointed that Jeep hasn't had a recall! And, that we're in a $30K+ vehicle, that is not reliable.

I'm not sure what we can do about this, since it's "being fixed".

- Roberto A., McKinney, TX, US

problem #26

Dec 092017

Cherokee Latitude 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,500 miles

The vehicle slams into gear when driving. It feels like you get rear ended. It is very dangerous because you don't know when it is going to happen. I am worried it will happen when i do not want to go forward and get involved into an accident. It is usually at lower speeds but I don't want to allow it to become a problem. I have dropped it off at the dealer and hope they can resolve the problem. Orange coast Ram in Costa Mesa, CA. I have my fingers crossed because because everything I read with other people experience is that it is a common problem.

- Brett F., Huntington Beach, CA, US

problem #25

Feb 012016

Cherokee Latitude 3.2L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles

Took it to the dealership and they said it needed a oil change and it would fix it. One year later and the car is back at it and this time the service isn’t even 2k miles in and less than 2 months ago....

- Dangelo F., Lakeland, US

problem #24

Oct 092017

Cherokee Latitude 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,158 miles

While traveling on a 2 lane rd @ 55mph towing a small boat in moderate traffic the Jeep lost all power. I was lucky to find a place quickly to coast onto the narrow shoulder. The cars behind were alert and there was no accident. The potential was there though. It was still running at an idle (1000rpm) so I did retain brakes and steering. The engine light and a message of "service transmission" message coincided with the problem. I did manage to get it home and it's now at the dealership where I purchased it. I will update when I hear from them. I'm not filled with confidence as the dealership pretty much said this would be a rare event. I see plenty of this exact same complaint on several websites including NHTSA.

Update from Oct 11, 2017: Got the Jeep back from the dealer today (10/11/17) after they flashed both the PCM and the TCM with the latest software. It seems to be working fine after this procedure. I have a copy of the service order if it would be of any further help.

- William L., Grawn, US

problem #23

Sep 242017

Cherokee Sport 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,641 miles

This is a very common issue on the Jeep Cherokee. These transmissions are not working properly all the time.

- Nicholas B., Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?