2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee engine problems: check engine light on

Check Engine Light On

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee (Page 1 of 2)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Jeep dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee have a serious defect trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

7.2

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$750
Average Mileage:
16,750 miles
Total Complaints:
35 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (23 reports)
  2. requires new sensor....back ordered (4 reports)
  3. replace oil filter housing (3 reports)
  4. repair oil pump (1 reports)
  5. replace engine (1 reports)
  6. replace fuel injection pump (1 reports)
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #35

Jan 232019

Grand Cherokee Loredo Eco Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,450 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the 30th time my Jeep is in for the same reason. The ECO Deisel is a joke and No one knows what to do to fix it. I am now almost out of warranty (Extended) and they are just shaking their heads. I am reading all the things on the website and I think I have a LEMON. Who do I sue?

- howiesnyhs, Highland, US

problem #34

Feb 072017

Grand Cherokee Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles

The service engine soon light comes on and can only be reset by the dealership. They say that it is a software issue and that they can keep resetting it, but it will keep happening. When it is on, the remote start is disabled.

- melissablake0129, Hamlet, US

problem #33

May 252015

Grand Cherokee Limited 3.4L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles

Just a minor annoyance. I was told this is a regular occurrence so you would think the would just recall it.

- vintage_steeps, Nyc, NY, USA

problem #32

Dec 202016

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Failed just a few months after the warranty expired. Just great.

- brannigan, Dallas, TX, USA

problem #31

Feb 092017

Grand Cherokee Limited 3.4L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

Engine heads had to be replaced 5 months ago. Now my engine is misfiring. I brought it to mechanic and he says it's the head on cylinder 4.

My warranty is up.... I love the look and the feel of my Jeep but what a POS. I was in the waiting area of the dealer in Westchester NY and found 2 other people who had also had the heads changed in their Jeep Grand Cherokees.

- vintage_steeps, Nyc, NY, USA

problem #30

Apr 232016

Grand Cherokee Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,195 miles

The light goes on and I can't start my vehicle with the fob cause it turns off in case there is a big problem. It has been tested for everything and now they are going to start changing parts. This better not cost me anything cos the dealer can't fix it!

Update from May 10, 2016: The 3rd fix was a software update on the computer. It seems to be working. Fingers crossed. The dealership said they would start changing parts at the tune of $500 and hope that works. I think I would get a second opinion before I got a part change. No one seems to know what the problem is.

- Michelle C., Biggar, SK, Canada

problem #29

Mar 072016

Grand Cherokee Overland

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had the check engine light turn on at least five different times over the current course of the lease. It has become such a nuisance that I have purchased an OBD2 plug to start reading the codes myself before having to visit the dealership again. Fixes include replacing sensors, flashing, and completing recall notices. I will never lease another Grand Cherokee again.

- derekpa, Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #28

Feb 112016

Grand Cherokee Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,534 miles

The motor light comes on the dash and it worries me. It is not flashing, it is just there. It is ready for a oil and filter change. I have an appointment on Friday Feb 26... and it seems all of a sudden. When this happens my Key Fob deactivates and I start the Jeep with the Fob, and it runs for a few minutes then shuts off.. Why does it do this??

- cherylforgrave, Shellbrook, SK, Canada

problem #27

Oct 032014

Grand Cherokee Summit 3.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,006 miles

A $58,000 Diesel Summit Jeep And Dealer Doesn't Seem To Be Able To Fix The Mal Function Light Coming On. They Claim To Have Ordered An Oxygen Sensor But After More Than A Month Haven't Heard Anything. I Called And Was Told It's On Order. I Plan To Try A Different Dealer To See If This Can Be Fixed. The Light Has Been Re Programmed At Least 4 Times And Once Had The Sensors Cleaned. After They Were Cleaned The Light Stayed Off For Maybe A Month. Does Anyone Have This Problem And If So Was It Fixed And Who Fixed It? It Started Around 3,000 Miles And Now Have 9,400 Miles And Still Not Fixed.

- mbortner, York, PA, USA

problem #26

Sep 092015

Grand Cherokee Summit V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,400 miles

55 thousand bucks for a Jeep Summit with every bell an whistle the Germans had. It was perfect until Sept 9th 2015, when the engine light went on. I drove it for a week to get my turn to take back the Jeep into dealers shop......then!!!..They told me that the computer can't find a problem, an drive it an let them know if it happens again......sept 19th 2015, the engine light go's on again, so I call them an tell them how disgusted I am with this problem an wasting the day for them to check again.

I took it in an this time they said that the computer can see what that the engine light is on but can't find a problem......maybe it backfired or the gas was no good!....can you imagine????.....I said I want it fixed if the computer can see a problem. I was told that if it should do it again to let them know an they will check to see if the spark plug wires when changed to another cylinder makes that cylinder do the same thing, that way they know if its that. I said I don't believe this!!!, you want me to bring my Jeep back and you will try something, and if that don't work bring it back whenever it did it again until something breaks and they can see what's wrong.....well tonight Sat Sept 26th the light went on again......Monday, the war starts!!!!..............this is strike two!, one more strike an my attorney will step in with lemon law......I hate to do this, but for 55 thousand I will! SO HELP ME GOD I WILL!!!

- salekpa, West Wyoming, PA, USA

problem #25

Aug 252014

Grand Cherokee Limited Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This a great vehicle other than the check light on constantly, thereby disabling remote start, cruise control, other features I paid extra for.

This vehicle has been to the deal at least 5 time for same issue and one time they had my Jeep for 3 days. They changed filter, computer updates and even replaced the factory catalytic converter with less than 7500 miles, problem still exist. I've lost time from work a ND the damn light is on again. Sometimes it goes off after by itself randomly, from 1 to 4 days or when dealer comes up with another fix that doesn't work. I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND BUYING ANOTHER CHRYSLER PRODUCT PERIOD!

- Stanley B., Los Angeles, USA

problem #24

Sep 022015

Grand Cherokee Limited Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles

Three times in the last 5 weeks, the check engine light has come on. The first time was July 25, then August 25, and lastly Sept 2, 2015! Telephone two dealers to get it in and fixed for the 3rd time! Response from both of them was apathy. The first dealer wanted me to wait 3 weeks, the 2nd one wants me to wait 2 weeks.

Frankly, I think Jeep built and sold me an inferior product.

- Catherine G., Roswell, NM, USA

problem #23

Jul 142015

Grand Cherokee Limited 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,800 miles

Very annoyed that a vehicle less than a year under 7,000 miles has an issue !!!

Dealer called and said diagnostics showed it's the oil pressure sensor. Once they get that, they'll have to drive it for a few miles to makes sure it's ok. If not, next step would be an oil pump which would take them 2 days to fix. Really ??

I hope this is NOT an indication as to how this truck will perform in the future :(

I had a 1994 Toyota 4 Runner and i think it was at 100,000 miles that I had a check engine light on.

- manj, East Hanover, NJ, USA

problem #22

May 102015

Grand Cherokee Limited Ecodiesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

We were excited about the Ecodiesel but as soon as we drove it home, we got an engine light. Took it in and a fix was made. This happened again 5 or so times over the course of a year. Then the engine blew. The number 4 crankshaft main bearing took out the bottom end of the motor. When this vehicle worked, it worked great but the problems over the past year have left a sour taste in our mouth. Now this. Catastrophic. The dealer will receive a new engine from the factory. I'm working with Customer Care to get a replacement vehicle all together because I foresee more issues after the engine is replaced. This Jeep is a total lemon!

- gappman, Vanvouver, WA, USA

problem #21

Jan 122015

Grand Cherokee Summit Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles

Bought the vehicle 26 Dec 2014. Approx 6 months in, I started experience rough driving attributed to the diesel system. Last month, after many visits to the service department, the service engine light came on and did not reset.

1st visit: Jeep updated the software. 2nd visit: (after just 30 min the light came back on) Jeep reset the counters on the error code. 3rd visit: (about a week later) replaced air filter although not visibly dirty. 4th visit: (after 1 day) unable to determine the cause of the issue. Local Jeep called corp for help and was authorized replacement on all fuel injectors, fuel injector tubing, and pressure valves.

Apparently I'm not the only one going through this since parts are on back order 5 weeks then work can begin. Jeep corp authorized 5 day rental car. Jeep local service opened a request for extension on the rental. Still waiting.

- rangtymo, Layton, UT, USA

problem #20

Jun 272015

Grand Cherokee Overland 3.0L Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,426 miles

The car is only 9 months old and in total this is about the 20th issue reported. Mind you the injector problem too at least 10 visits to the dealer over 5 months. Don't know if I'll even see the lease out, just want to get rid of it. Worst car choice ever. Car is sitting in the street, broke down on Saturday and can't be towed to the dealer until Monday, so it stays on the street.

Given the poor reliability of Jeeps they need a 24x7 workshop in each city. God knows they'd have plenty of work to keep them busy.

- jtrembath, Hallett Cove, Australia

problem #19

May 172015

Grand Cherokee Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,200 miles

Bought a 2014 Grand Cherokee (my first new car!) in August 2013. Since then, the car has been in the shop SEVEN TIMES (will be EIGHT TIMES tomorrow!) for check engine light issues. And I'm not even counting all the recalls! The first time it was in the shop was December 27, 2013. They reset the computer and sent me on my way. During 2014 it was in the shop January 10, January 24, January 31, February 19, May 16, June 17. We had a bit of a break before the light came back in April of this year. Now it's on again. Notes on the various service documents include:

* Reprogram instrument cluster (the first two times I went in, this is all they did)

* Evap system small leak, replace fuel filler tube, vapor canister

* Filler neck check valve not functioning properly

* Vehicle has code for evap leak detected, unable to duplicate problem <-- (check engine light had come on and gone off before my service appointment. Out of sheer laziness, I was brushed off. Later I found out that Jeep mechanics can go in to the computer system to see when the check engine light came on, the temp at the time, how fast I was going, etc. They were tired of seeing me at the shop I guess!)

* Customer told not to overfill gas tank <---- (Yes, I'm not kidding! Do you think they were getting tired of me?! At this point I gave up on the shop 2 miles away, and started driving 35 miles to Boulder)

* Replaced vapor canister and purged solenoid cleaned out lines

* Replaced oil pressure sensor (April 2015)

Frustration is exhausting. My first new car has been extremely disappointing. I previously owned a Pathfinder for 12 years and besides oil changes, it was in the shop twice. How I miss my old Nissy.......

- Katherine G., Denver, CO, USA

problem #18

Apr 082014

Grand Cherokee Limited 3.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,200 miles

Diesel particulate filter soot accumulation. Lost power during drive. The highest speed was under 40 mi.

- xl1614, Arlington, TX, USA

problem #17

Feb 022015

Grand Cherokee Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,828 miles

Code was checked out. Nothing significant. Reprogrammed pcm.

- quilting novice, Chatsworth, GA, USA

problem #16

Jul 192014

Grand Cherokee Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

Completely random as far as I can tell and it was supposed to be fixed in a previous update.

- David D., York, PA, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?