8.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$5,200
Average Mileage:
92,500 miles
Total Complaints:
21 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace engine (20 reports)
  2. not sure (1 reports)
2012 Kia Optima engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Kia Optima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Kia Optima Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Jul 252019

Optima SX 2.0L Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 121,167 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have read all about the engine failures and recalls so I was relieved when I received my engine recall and was told that after inspection at about 150,000 km, I did not show signs of the engine failure problem. Figured if it hadn't happened by then, I was clear. However, yesterday at 195,000 km, the engine stalled while accelerating on the highway and it wouldn't even turn over again. Dead. That's when I remembered all the other stories of engine failure, costs of $10,000 to repair, warranty exceptions because owners didn't keep every oil change receipt, etc. I was stressed!

Towed it to Kia and the next day they confirmed my fear...engine was toast. However, then they told me it would cost nothing to repair and they would give me a rental car!

Okay, yes...Kia and Hyundai have a major problem here but they are finally stepping up and fixing it...with 195K! What other company would do that? And they will have it fixed in one week! Let's see how it goes...!

- Dale H., Devon, AB, Canada

problem #20

Jun 122019

Optima 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles

I was driving my 2012 Kia Optima (with approximately 94,000 miles which I purchased one year ago) when the engine just shut off. I coasted into a nearby parking lot and called a tow truck. I had the vehicle towed to a mechanic shop and was told by them that the engine locked up. I then had it towed to another shop and was told the same thing that the engine was locked up. so now I had it towed a third time to kia and I am waiting to see what they tell me.

I was told by Kia that they have had engine failure problems with these particular cars and that they will replace the engine at no cost and provide a rental car. I am hoping that is the problem and that Kia will take responsibility and fix the problem. I have owned this car for a year and have had nothing but problems with this vehicle.

I have contacted an attorney that has a Kia engine lawsuit pending. I really just want out from underneath from this car. I am not sure what is going to happen at this moment but I will keep you people updated. I am sorry to say that I will never ever buy a Kia again. I own 2 other Honda Accords , 1 with 340,000 miles and 1 with 147,000 miles and have never had any problems with these car. sorry Kia, you had your chance.

- Hector V., conroe, US

problem #19

Jun 032018

Optima SX 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles

June 3rd 2018, on back country roads with music blasting, a brief ticking sound is heard. Quickly lowered my volume and asked my hot blond mamacita gf if she heard it. She whispers, yes but I think your tires went over the side bumps on the road. Turned the volume back up, purred at her and kept driving. Two minutes later I turned onto the interstate as I was taking the mamacita out for the night and in no time I once again heard that previous sound but this time it was a much louder knocking sound. Lost power and had to get off the next exit. Pulled into a gas station and before I could even park it, the engine light came on and the whole car shut off on me. Had it towed to my house since it was a Sunday night. Next day called Kia told them my situation, towed it there, they had it checked and told me that the engine was done. It was a $9,000 fix but Kia was covering it. I have no complaints with them up til then. It's not their fault that the engine took a crap.

Present day, July 11, 2018, now I'm losing my cool. My car is still at the dealer ship. STILL WAITING ON AN ENGINE. My initial fix date was 6/20/2018, that didn't happen and engine fix date became 7/7/2018. Well that didn't happen either so now they told me 7/26/2018 and that's just an est date. It's been over 2 months without my car. I think Kia has a bigger problem than they are letting people know. This is ridiculous. I was thinking of upgraded to the Stinger at the end of this year but after this, I don't think i'll ever go Kia again.

- ijustmadethisup, Ocala, US

problem #18

Jun 142018

Optima EX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 123,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my 2012 Kia Optima in 2015 with 46,000 miles on the clock. I received the engine recall notice (Blocked oil passages leading to engine failure) when the car had just over 100,000 miles. I took it into the dealership and had it checked and was told that my engine passed the recall inspection. Some time later, when the car had 123,000 miles I was exiting off the interstate and started hearing some unusual grinding/tapping sounds. By the time I reached my house, the tapping sound had become very loud and white smoke was emitting from under the hood. The check engine light was on for a confirmed misfire in cylinder 4 and a pending misfire in cylinder 3.

After that night, the car wouldn't stay running for longer than 30 seconds before starting to misfire and then shut off. The dealership (same one that did the inspection) had it towed in and found that a rod bearing had gone out. They were very apologetic and assured me that Kia would warranty the engine even though it was 3,000 miles outside of the recall warranty (120,000 miles) and I literally had zero maintenance records (I did all the oil changes and services myself). Sure enough, Kia approved the recall.

Currently, the car is at the dealership and they cannot give me an ETA of when I'll get my car back. The engines are apparently on back order and it might be a month or so before my new engine arrives. In the meantime, they have set me up in a rental car. It is very disappointing that this happened to my car, it has never needed a repair before now. But who am I to complain? The car is getting fixed at no cost to me and I was provided with another vehicle to drive in the meantime.

- joe729, Columbia, US

problem #17

Jul 262018

Optima LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles

I WAS ULTIMATELY VERY LUCKY I DIDN'T GET INTO AN ACCIDENT. THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NO WARNING! I WAS DRIVING AND WENT TO ACCELERATE ACROSS 3 LANES OF TRAFFIC. ALL MY LIGHTS, RADIO AND BLUETOOTH WERE STILL WORKING BUT MY FOOT WENT RIGHT TO THE FLOOR.

I HAD IT TOWED TO KIA..... THEY MADE ME FEEL LIKE I DID SOMETHING WRONG.... UNTIL I READ UP ON THE RECALL!! THEY WERE SUPPOSED TO CHECK MY CAR LAST YEAR FOR THE RECALL AND CHANGE MY OIL AT THE SAME TIME..... I GOT MY CAR BACK AND MY CAR WAS A QUART LOW ON OIL... (WHICH MEANS THEY DIDN'T CHECK FOR THE RECALL OR CHANGE MY OIL).... I AM STILL WAITING FOR MY CAR TO BE REPAIRED AS THE ENGINE IS ON BACK ORDER FOR THREE WEEKS.... SO I WILL BE WITH OUT MY CAR FOR ABOUT A MONTH.... NOT COOL KIA, NOT COOL

- Jessica W., Pompano Beach, US

problem #16

Mar 312018

Optima LX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 154,721 miles

I was driving my 2012 Kia Optima on they Highway and the engine started to knock and the engine and oil lights came on then the car just stopped and I coasted to the side of the highway. Had it towed to Kia Dartmouth as that is where I bought the car. After two days they told me the engine was shot and needed to be replaced, I asked about the recall and they said it was all taken care of . they gave me a car rental and now I just wait till the new engine arrives. The only thing is I almost caused an accident because where I stalled was a very busy entrance onto the Hwy, Just glad neither one of my kids were driving.

- Barry S., Halifax, NS, Canada

problem #15

Aug 272017

Optima SX 2.0L Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,225 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It started with a trip to Maryland down Interstate 68, I have drove 50 miles to get there and have taken this car on many trips. I got the letter about the extended warranty and if you hear something knocking or oil light comes on take to Kia dealer. Well,I was driving home on 68 in Maryland when I started to heard a slight ticking noise and it sounded like my turbo and it began to lose power, so I was going to drive to the first exit I came to, to pull over and see what it is. I get off the interstate car was knocking like crazy pulled into a gas station and it wasn’t until then the oil light came on.

This all happened in about 10 minutes because on the interstate I couldn’t go faster than 35 mph because it had no power and was over heating. Then I call Kia and it’s Sunday evening nothing is open and they tell me to wait until the morning. I had to pay for a hotel and call off work the next day, unpaid to deal with my car the next morning. The next morning was pretty painless called Kia. They towed it to the nearest Kia dealer and they gave me a rental and said it needed a new engine and was covered.

The bad part was I had to drive 4 hours back to pick my car up from where it broke down because they wouldn’t tow it to my closet dealer just the closest dealer they had, which was a pain have to take a day just to drive to pick up my car but not having to pay for the replacement or rental was a relief.

- teammopar422, Milton, US

problem #14

Jul 012016

Optima

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

TO whom it may concern , I MELANIE STEVENS financed a Kia Optima on 02/11/2014. On 07/01/2016 while traveling out of town my vehicle shuts off with no warning going 70 mph.

My family and I were almost involved in a serious accident.I contacted Kia, and the car was towed to Lee Kia in Ft. Walton Fl. on 07/02/2016. On 07/05/2016 we were told by Kameron at Lee Kia that they had know idea who dropped the car off or why it was even there. I explained what had happened, and was told by Chris Beason that we would receive a rental car since we were so far from home. [500 miles]

We called Lee Kia the 6 and 7 of July only to be informed that our car would not be fixed by Friday July the 8th Our departure date to head back home. I said ok where is the rental car. Kevin Belt said you will be hearing from Kia Consumer Affairs. We got a call from Chris Beason on July the 8th that our car was not being covered because of bad maintenance records. I said take the motor apart and you will see that the engine has been maintained. We now are responsable for our own rental car cost and it is going to be 10,000 dollars to fix your car. After this call I drove my sisters car to Lee Kia and took the license plate off the vehicle and took pictures of the engine which was very clean for 56,000 miles. I then asked Kevin Belt why i was denied when the motor wasnt even diagnosed , and he said Chris Beason would not approve a tear down of the motor. I explained that was a very bad way to handle a horrible situation for a loyal Kia customer. Approx 4pm Central Time I recieved a call from Chris Beason that He would approve a tear down if I agreed to pay 586.00 if the motor was dirty I gladly agreed, because I maintained the car and at home In Vero Beach Fl I had a sevice campaign letter from Kia that covered the rod bearings in the motor, which by the way I was told by every Kia representative involved that there was no such letter. Approx 6 pm Central time I rent a car from Enterprise in Ft. Walton at a cost of 428.00, which I paid out of pocket. We arrived home in Vero Beach Fl. on July 9. On July 10 I found the service campaign letter. On July 11 I reported and emailed the service campaign letter to all parties involved. Received a call from Chris Beason that he received the letter, and he then stated he was aware of this service campaign letter when just a week before he and all involved said no letter existed. This was a bold faced lie. We then asked how is the tear down going and again about a rental from Kia. We were instructed from Chris Beason that they have not done the tear down because there busy. Meanwhile still no rental car from Kia. We were late the whole week to work because we had to get rides and pay 15 dollars a day for cabs. On July 12 was informed the tear down took place. They said it was the rod, but still would not tell us if it was approved. Still no rental from Kia. On July 14 receive a call from Chris Beason that Kia was going to fix the car at no cost to us. I explained this has already cost me more than a 1000.00 how is that no cost to us no response and still no rental car. I then explained to Mr. Beason that i was tired of the lies and the bs and i was taking my story to the media and social network. Chris Beason then explained that it would not be in my best interest to contact the media basically threatining me. On July 15 I was granted a rental car approval finally. Then come to find out it was actually approved on July 12 but know one ever called us to tell us we were approved. I was also told by Chris Beason that my case had been transferred to Richard Chacon in the expediting division. That was July the 15. Today is August the 3.The car was fixed on the 28 of July. I have heard from the expiditing division 2 times since July 15. My car still sits at Lee Kia with more lies about when they are shipping it to us. I was also informed that my new engine comes with a 12 month or 12,000 mile warranty. That warranty tells me that Kia doesnt even have confidence in there new motors. I have referred my friends and family to Kia before this incident. Now the 5 people that purchased Kias have seen the problems we have had and are not very confident in Kia or Kias ability to resolve problems. Whenever that Optima finally does arrive we will be looking to trade it in on a different vehicle, and I can assure you it will not be a Kia or Hyndai. I will be telling everyone I know that has a Kia or is talking about purchasing one BEWARE. This has been nothing short of a total failure of process and customer service on Kias behalf. We were going to trade our Optima in on a Kia Sorrento 7 months ago. I am so glad i didnt follow thru with that transaction. Here is the problem as I see it. Kia knows these motors from the Hyndai plant in Alabama have had nothing but problems and instead of making it right they put the consumer through things like we have been thru. We have been to hell and back and lied to by every Kia party involved. The only way I would ever do business again with Kia is if they offered me a real solution to the problems they have created. Until I get a formidable response to this letter I will be boycotting Kia and all of its products.

- Melanie S., Vero Beach, FL, US

problem #13

May 252017

Optima EX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 119,247 miles

While driving approximately 55 mph on the highway, I heard an abnormal engine with no warning. My 2012 Optima stalled while being operated at a high speed. The entire indicator panel lit up while at the same time the car shut down and smoke started billowing out from under the hood. I was in the right hand lane. I had no way to get off the road in time and it stopped. I had to manually override to neutral to the push it to the side of road near a convenience store. This was at about 1 p.m. today, 05/25/2017. I could have potentially caused a serious car accident, or we could have seriously been injured. My 19 year old son was in the vehicle. The car would not restart. I lifted the hood and checked the oil due to the smoke coming from around the area, really bad oil smell was coming out of the stick area when I took the wand out. It still showed I had 2 quarts, but that was ridiculous. I’d never had go more than a ½ quart low between oil changes.

I pulled up oil issued online on my phone and saw the recall on Kia engines being investigated from a certain manufacturer. I called the Kia dealership I bought my car from, My VIN showed as being on the recall, I have not received the paperwork for this. I was told to call the number for Kia Roadside assistance to get car towed over an hour away to be looked at, to get all of my oil service receipts/proof together, it will take 2-3 months for the process to get the engine taken care of if deemed recall issue, and they would arrange for a car rental since no loaners available. I believe this incident is a direct result of an engine defect that has been concealed by Kia.

- Michele M., Montrose, CO, US

problem #12

Mar 152014

Optima LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

Was on way out of state to Kansas, very annoying. Had to pay out of pocket for rental until warranty was approved. Made me show all oil changes etc. Took 3 months to get new engine.

- Ada H., Irving, TX, US

problem #11

Mar 162017

Optima

  • Automatic transmission
  • 145,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Got a Kia Optima 2012 from the dealer. 6 months later the engine fails. Warranty that's included refuses to pay for it because they said it's a Kia make related problem. Looked it up and seen that there was a recall for it. Emailed them to see if they are willing to help with this problem. Still haven't heard back. Now stuck with a broken car that i still have payments on. Had all my oil changes, inspectors said they should have covered it. But here I am. Unacceptable Kia!!

- angelinacamargo, Lancaster, US

problem #10

Mar 222017

Optima SX 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,220 miles

Bought the 2012 Kia Optima SX in February 2015 and today I sit at a dealership to eat away the debt on the vehicle that I have to turn in now as the engine has failed due to a piston. Oil changes were performed regularly on the vehicle since I have had it and then Wednesday afternoon I get in the car to run to the store and bam----a loud knocking sound when I get close to 1.5/2 rpms. Drive to a mechanic (literally down the street) and they determine the engine is going and it is a bad piston - so now I have a car I owe $13K on that I literally can do nothing with as I can't afford to replace a motor. I will never buy a Kia again unfortunately. I loved my optima (the look, the sleekness, the sunroof, heated/cooled seats, turbo, etc.) but this is unfortunate that a car I have had just over 2 years is no longer functioning.

- Kelli C., Walled Lake, MI, US

problem #9

Feb 262017

Optima SX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,115 miles

WE PURCHASED OUR 2012 KIA OPTIMA ON FEBURARY 3, 2017 FROM BOYLES AUTO SALES IN JASPER, ALABAMA. ON FEBURARY 26, 2017 I WAS DRIVING AT A NORMAL RATE OF SPEED AND THE CAR SUDDENLY LOST POWER. I HAD TO HAVE MY CAR TOWED TO A MECHANIC ONLY TO FIND OUT THE MOTOR WAS LOCKED UP! I MEAN NO SIGNS OR PROBLEMS, NOTHING, IT JUST LOST POWER AND QUIT. I CONTACTED THE DEALER I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE FROM BUT SINCE I PAID CASH MONEY FOR THE CAR HE SAID TOO BAD HE WOULD NOT FIX THE CAR. SO NOW I AM HAVING TO REPLACE THE MOTOR IN A CAR THAT I'VE ONLY HAD 3 WEEKS! THIS HAS BEEN A HUGE INCONVIENCE!

- timsgirl20052017, Kennedy, US

problem #8

Jan 252017

Optima EX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,160 miles

Bought new (now miles 112,160) 2012 Optima EX- Driving on busy roadway changing lanes attempting to go around another vehicle and felt like losing power. Drove few miles maybe 1/4 and car shut off while driving no warning lights or anything. It did start back up so made it home. Few days later driving oil light came on.

Went immediately for oil change since close to my scheduled maintenance anyway technician saw no sign of oil leak anywhere and could not understand why oil was so low. I've always changed oil timely and never had this problem. Tech said oil must be burning inside since no leaks and now had engine damaged. Must be replaced. I have never had a problem before with oil light coming on or low on oil and now that it occurred, engine damaged. Since there is no leaks and I'm going by my scheduled time for oil change, how am I to know or would even suspect oil burning elsewhere, until light came on as in my case now too late .. What kind of engine is Kia using ?

I love my car and have done all I can to avoid engine damage by changing my oil timely and doing this has caused me to need a new engine anyway ??? Just not right. And in replacing, guess I have to check my oil weekly to make sure I have oil rather than depend on scheduled time. I feel Kia should investigate closely these engines for better performance and assist with repairs when this occur. My car is beautiful but not wonderfully made to have engine problems at such low miles. Need a recall on these engines !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Vivian T., Stone Mountain, GA, US

problem #7

Aug 312016

Optima 2.0L Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles

I purchased the car with 53,000 miles on December 2014. April 2015, I started to notice that the acceleration of the vehicle would sometimes not perform a 100% which I could feel when taking off from a complete stop. Within a year time of having the vehicle, which I did not put many miles on the car, I realized that the vehicle was eating the oil which caused me to do several oil changes. I called a Kia dealership to see about bringing the car in for a basic tuneup which they informed me that would be $800 or more. Having the car for a very short period and not knowing the true history of the previous owner, the car seemed to be in good condition by appearance but, the cost suggested for a tuneup really surprised me. Only driving the car basically from home to work which is 10 to 15 minutes away from my house and no more than 6 to 7 miles a day, I saw no reason for the engine to completely stop while driving on a 3 lane street approaching a stop light. The vehicle just stopped with no indication that anything major was wrong. Which almost cost a serious accident with my wife and I in the car. I had the car towed to a Kia dealership and I was informed that the engine was no more good. (gone) I was then informed to repair the vehicle would cost me between $6,000.00 to $10,000.00. Researching some information about the 2012 Optima, it was revealed that Kia is aware of having engine problems with the 2012 Optima and several other engines, this is seriously unacceptable and very dangerous and that they should do something to correct this to maintain their good reputation for those who believe in the Kia Optima as a reliable vehicle. Being this was my only transportation in order to maintain a normal way to work I have to drive a rental vehicle until some other solution is found.

- Rodney G., Alexandria, VA, US

problem #6

Aug 212016

Optima SX 2.0t

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles

8.21.16 - 65mph on highway. power loss. pull over. Won't start. Just prior at a stop, I heard a thump-thump-thump and thought it was grooves/bumps in road. Turns out it was a connecting rod (Warranty extension received.) Vehicle currently at dealership with a locked up engine.

Will update when I hear from the service department.

Update from Nov 10, 2016: There were 6 Optimas and 1 Sorento ahead of mine. They pulled valve cover to check for sludge. Looked brand new because I used Mobil1 full synthetic. Provided them copy of my personal maintenance log and the warranty was approved. 4 weeks later they installed a remanufactured engine. Brought it home with a significant oil leak. Took it back to dealer and they replaced turbo oil pipe. Since they pulled the entire front clip off the car it was no wonder the allignment is off on right headlight under hood. It is running ok but I have lost all faith in the brand because the 2017 loaner had connecting rod knock with only 1200 miles on it. As I understand it there are another 1/2 dozen at dealership now since mine. I'm done with Korean manufacturing.

- discgolfproace, Atlanta, GA, US

problem #5

Jun 072016

Optima

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,500 miles

Driving my car home last night, hit about 40 MPH and the oil pressure light, engine light, and batter light came on as my car rolled to stop. checked the oil, it was low but still had oil. Attempted to restart the car, which worked, drove home with no lights. the next day, today, 6-8-16, I drove to a garage for an oil change and an engine flush. left the garage, car drove fine until I merged onto the highway when I hit about 40 MPH again the same thing happened. I got towed back to the garage, after 3 hours of them looking at the car they told me I need a new engine. The car idles fine and still drives under that 40 MPH limit (for now), never had any indications of warning lights and never heard a knocking sound. Getting a quote for a new engine now, they said to expect 4500-5000 dollars.

- Darek R., Minneapolis, MN, US

problem #4

May 302016

Optima ES

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111,000 miles

click to see larger images

engine failure

I was driving home on Memorial Day weekend from a nice visit with my family and when I was almost home I could hear clicking/tapping sound and the engine stalled on a major interstate. I was able to quickly restart and get to the shoulder. Started up again and took off but when I tried to accelerate to the flow of traffic, the car would not accelerate and was losing power. I was close to a KIA dealership and was able to milk it to the service garage. Upon inspection, they found metal shavings paired with a ton of copper on the valve timing solenoid. Crankshaft bearings are shot, causing low oil pressure, stalling and erratic behavior. Engine is TOAST!

KIA wants 6,000 to replace with a new engine. I need to call them again tomorrow to find out exactly where that engine was made and what year. They will only issue a 12,000 mile warranty on the engine or 1 year whatever comes first. I think that is total BS for a NEW engine!!?? Give me a break. If KIA stood behind their vehicles--they would offer something more than that. Their engines are junk for the 2011 and 2012 models so that's why!!

After doing some research I came across this: http://www.hyundaiproblems.com/trends/theta-ii-engine/ same engine, same problems and Hyundai stands behind their product. Had I known this when I purchased my Optima, I would have went with the Sorento instead!!

I realize my vehicle has 111k miles on it, but the reason I bought the Kia is because all the research I read prior to purchase was that these engines are good for 200K-3000K miles. Now, I have a vehicle that I still owe 7 months on and $6,000 to fix it. I am beyond livid!! I take great pride in my vehicle. I take it in for regular maintenance and oil changes. I am NOT at fault.

I will be escalating this to the National team at KIA Corporate office and Kia Consumer Affairs to get a case number as I feel they need to be held liable to pay for the engine.This is obviously a known issue and it's sad that KIA is putting the blame on the customers instead of taking responsibility for a factory defect. No car with 111K miles on it with proper maintenance should have the engine just blow! KIA not only put my life in danger but they also put my daughter's life in danger!!

I will also be contacting the NAC, NHTSA, Attorney General's office, BBB. Kia needs to make this right. I know it's wrong, everyone who reads this will know its wrong, so they obviously know it's wrong!!

- Shawna B., Burnsville, MN, US

problem #3

Feb 172016

Optima EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,500 miles

I was driving on the overpass and merging onto another highway when I tried to accelerate to the flow of traffic and the car would not accelerate. The check engine light came on and luckily I was able to veer off the freeway to the emergency lane at which point the car started smoking and smelling like an electrical fire. I opened the hood and white smoke was pouring out. The vehicle was then towed to KIA dealership where I was advised the engine blew due to metal debris in the oil filter and oil pan. Since I am the 2nd owner of the vehicle my car was only under warranty for 60K miles. I am currently escalating this to National team at KIA Corporate office as I feel they need to be held liable to pay for the engine. After reading all these complaints I feel this is a factory defect just like 2011 and 2012 Hyundai Sonata's and KIA needs to take action! There is a class action lawsuit investigation for KIA engine failures as well! This is obviously a known issue and it's sad that KIA is putting the blame on the customers instead of taking responsibility for a factory defect. No car with 71K miles on it with proper maintenance should have the engine just blow! KIA not only put my life in danger but they also put my child's life in danger!!

- Colette C., Queen Creek, AZ, US

problem #2

Mar 192016

Optima SX 20t

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,152 miles

Driving my wife's 2012 Optima turbo with 16152 miles on it, yes 16152 miles! Cruising along 65mph in heavy traffic, TOTAL engine failure! I was able to traverse three lanes to shoulder of road.Towed to Revolution Kia Lindenhurst NY. Engine is toast they are attempting to find a crate engine seems none are available. What does that tell you? How many other engines have failed? If they cant find one They want to get a short block and use old parts in rebuilt. They say they found metal shavings in the pan why use any parts from a contaminated wrecked engine ? Totally unacceptable. This work is under warranty,so Iwait to see the outcome.I would like to add that the dealership was very professional and find no fault with them.When this is done I am dumping this vehicle.

- shady46ny, smithnytown, NY, US

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?