2013 Ram 1500 accessories - interior problems: GPS/UConnect malfunction

GPS/UConnect Malfunction

2013 Ram 1500 (Page 1 of 2)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Ram dealer.

7.5

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
8,700 miles
Total Complaints:
26 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (21 reports)
  2. replacement part (4 reports)
  3. reflash with 13.19.0 (1 reports)
2013 Ram 1500 accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Mar 092019

1500 Sport 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2013 Ram 1500 SPORT. Uconnect screen stopped functioning.

It was raining heavily when I drove home from work (FCA Plant, go figure) I stopped to do some shopping on my way home, and used the remote start to warm up my truck. when I got into the truck the screen was on as it should be. However, once I placed my key into the ignition the Uconnect screen turned off completely (its not even being back light) and will not come back on.

Due to the Uconnect failure, I no longer have a functioning radio AM/FM/XM nothing! I can't access the heating features which is disheartening since I live in Michigan and its winter time. Im now paying extra for service's I cannot access due to the faulty screen.

Reading through the forums it appears as though MANY others have the same issue, and unfortunately for the ones who no longer have warranties, we are stuck paying for the dealer to repair ourselves regardless of whether or not they will do the same thing a week later.

Neither FCA or Uconnect pages say a damn word about the continuing malfunctions but you better believe they are still trying to sell sell sell.

I called Uconnect who walked me through a soft reset but that didn't work. then told me to schedule a service appointment with the RAM dealer and pay for the repairs myself.

I then called FCA who said the same thing. they wouldn't provide any information other than it looks like ill need to pay one of their RAM dealers to facilitate the needed repairs. but no guarantees that the issue wont repeat itself.

Moral of the story is that both FCA and Uconnect are aware of the continued issue, and have to plans to take responsibility for placing your trust and hard earned money into their vehicles.

- Steven S., New Baltimore, US

problem #25

Aug 082013

1500 Laramie 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles

This was the first of 4 problems with the 8.4N radio/navigation unit in 3 years.

- Russell S., Albuquerque, NM, US

problem #24

Jun 012016

1500 Laramie 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

The 8.4N radio has been nothing but problems. I have had it replaced once and reflashed twice. This time they had me reflash it. The reflash did not fix the problem. In September when I took it back they told me I need a new radio for $1000. I am not going to put a 3rd radio in the car on a 2013!

Update from Sep 14, 2016: The 8.4N radio has had a lot of problems. I have had it replaced once and reflashed twice. This time they had me reflash it. The reflash did not fix the problem. In September when I took it back they told me I need a new radio for $1000.

- Russell S., Albuquerque, NM, US

problem #23

Jan 122016

1500 Laramie 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased a Certified pre-owned 2013 Ram Laramie 1500 in Oct 2015 with only 26000 miles. This is a great truck and is in excellent condition. Still had 1 year of the 36month/36,000 miles warranty.

In Jan I started having a few issues with the U-Connect system. Pretty minor at first as the system screen would just go blank for about a minute, radio would go out, No-back up camera etc. I initially thought it might just be searching for a Satellite signal or something since the map screen would go blank. Happened 2 or 3 times over a 2 month period but at most only was out for about 5 minutes.

About two weeks ago it went out for about an hour or so. The steering wheel radio controls wouldn't change channels but the radio screen did stay on this time. Could not change to map/Nav screen as the on screen touch controls were not working. Now I knew I had some sort of malfunction going on and not just a bad satellite signal. That's when I found this site and saw all the other issues just like mine.

Took it to Dodge and they are ordering a new radio. Saw that others here are suppose to be getting a new radio also and I am wondering if anybody did get a new radio, how well that worked out for you? Let me know if you can. Don't know when this new radio will be in but just wanted to see how others made out.

I'm hoping that Dodge has come up with a new radio system that fixes the problem. Although I'm under warranty and have the problem documented, I'm not looking forward to an ongoing battle to get this fixed.

Update from Jul 23, 2016: I wanted to wait a few months before updating any progress on the Nav/U-Connect problem I reported in March. The dealership ordered a complete new radio/nav/U-Connect unit and had it replaced and up updated in about 2 hours. I've been very happy with the new system since it was installed and have had No malfunctions or issues what so ever. So, it appears that all is good again. Glad I didn't have a hassle with them.

- briany, Fort Myers, FL, US

problem #22

Jun 242015

1500 Sport 5.7L Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,500 miles

Bought a used 2013 Ram 1500 Sport Crew Cab with the 8.4" A/N. Had it for about a month when the screen would randomly blank out and kill the stereo and A/C. This was pretty annoying since it was 100+ degrees out. System would randomly come back on and then kick off again. Took it to the dealer to find that the previous owner had the same issue. The previous owner had their system replaced 3 times! I'm waiting to hear back from the dealer on how they are going to fix the issue.

Update from Aug 6, 2015: Here's a link to a video showing the issue with my truck.

https://youtu.be/p0jbd2-xx3Q

- Bryan W., Tulsa, OK, US

problem #21

Dec 252014

1500 Longhorn 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,987 miles

I've had my 2013 Dodge Laramie Longhorn since October of 2013 and I don't drive it much. It has less than 10k miles on it and last month the Uconnect stereo system started to act up. The channels would change without my control and it wouldn't stop. It just wasn't changing on Sirius, but on everything, even when the I had the Bluetooth synced up to play my songs on my iPhone, the song would change by itself. It seems like it would always go back one channel. I think it's a short in the steering wheel audio controls because I notice it happening when I signal, use the wipers, or when I'm turning.

- raldo_gtm, Farmington, NM, US

problem #20

Oct 252013

1500 Outdoorsman 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,542 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2013 Ram 8.4 Uconnect freezing up, first time happen at 3,542 miles on a trip Nav GPS froze, stopped working, complete screen lock, no response. I was lost and had a dangerous situation. Had to stop in a not so safe area and wait about 10 min. with truck turned off, it was cold and uncomfortable. Took it to the dealer and they said same story and standard line I have heard all over the internet. " Needs Software Update" Dealer updated with latest Software 3 weeks ago.

This morning driving listening to the radio and it dies, no radio, touch screen locks, nothing works, can't make any changes, no calls, no climate, or NAV. I will take it back to the dealer again. and most likely again and again.

DON'T PURCHASE A RAM TRUCK WITH 8.4 UCONNECT !!!!!!! I would say think about not purchasing RAM at all.

- A L., Bethlehem, PA, US

problem #19

Mar 152014

1500 Lone Star 5.7L Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,800 miles

Purchased 2013 Ram 1500 in June of 2013. Several times during the last week immediately after starting the truck the following message is displayed on the 8.4" touchscreen: "VEHICLE PHONE REQUIRES SERVICE, PLEASE CONTACT DEALER." Along with this message a red led is illuminated on the rearview mirror next to the 911 button. I completed an online service appointment request for my local dealership but have yet to hear back from them.

- Jason N., Waco, TX, US

problem #18

May 012013

1500 Laramie 5.7L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles

2013 Ram Laramie 4x4 crew cab 5.7L hemi 8 speed transmission, 8.4" uconnect with navigation. I have had several problems with the uconnect in this truck as well as 'memory not avialable not in part' and also the gauge lights flickering on/off when it's raining althouth the center cluster remains okay. We will start with the 'memory not avialable not in park'. This started happening shortly after buying the truck. I took this to Scheidemantle Motors in Hermitage, PA. They could not find the cause, they re-flashed the truck. A day later the problem was back. I searched online and found the TSB on this and told them about it, they took the truck back and done the TSB, it has not happened since. The uconnect was also having problems, hence the flash, it was loosing XM signal all the time and it was shutting down/blacking out. They flashed it once and the problem happened again. I ask them to replace the radio and told me (twice) that I didn't buy the car from them and I should take it back where I bought it. I spoke to the service manager and lot owner about this, informing them that they had lost all my (and anyone who will listen) business by not standing behind the factory warranty. So I took the truck back to where I bought it, Ron Lewis in Cranberry, PA. Good people to work with by the way. It's a 1.5-hour drive each way so I called them on the phone and told them what's been happening to which the account manager was demo'ing one of the Rams and had the same problem until they replaced his radio, he said they would have a new radio waiting for me. I showed up and no radio, they flashed the uconnect and sent me on my way. A week later it was blacking out again. I called them and they ordered a new radio for me, a few weeks later I went back (3 hour round trip) and they replaced the radio. The system worked fine for a couple months. The second week in October upon starting the truck the system blacked out again. It rebooted and said there was a problem with the phone and to contact a dealer, the red light on the rear view mirror came on as well. The system shut down again and upon rebooting the XM radio would not reconnect. This time I took the truck to Griffin Motors in Meadville, PA. On my way to drop it off it was raining and my gauge lights were flickering on/off while on the lowest brightness setting. Turning up the brightness they worked fine, but on low they would flicker and go completely off. They flashed the uconnect and told me they could not find an issue with the lights. They also gave me sh*t about not buying the truck from them! The person at the service counter was very rude as well. I got the truck back on a Saturday, Monday I called Chrysler Complaint center to get something done about this. They ask me to drop the truck back off at a dealer so they could have their level/tier 3 engineers work with the technicians over the phone to dig deeper and find a resolution. I happy complied but told them this was there last chance to make it right, this has been in four times for the same problem within six months and if I experienced another problem I would want my money back or a replacement. They took the truck for a couple days then told me I could come pick it up. Less than a week later the screen locked up and would not function. Also the gauge lights were flickering during another rain. I called Chrysler back and told them I experienced another problem, they said they would call me back a couple days later. I have since been working with them to get a replacement/money back. So, several of the same problems and three different dealerships with no fix. This is a big problem for Chrysler/Ram. These vehicles are not safe to drive because of the electrical and uconnect problems. They would be wise to exchange vehicles (repair and re-sell once they figure out the underlying issue, if they can!) instead of loosing lemon law suits to which they cannot re-sell the vehicles.

- hopepa, Cranberry, PA, US

problem #17

Sep 142013

1500 Sport, 4x4 5.7L Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,435 miles

Took our truck for a trip to rochester Ny last Week. Didnt see the need to take our older portable GPS as Our new Ram had 8 1/2" center screen with all the latest gadgets and updates ,But while we where there it would keep freezing up and would have to wait re-enter trip over and over again. Now I carry my TomTom for Back-up

- Ken W., Vanessa, Ontario, canada

problem #16

Sep 132013

1500 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

9/13 radio goes dead 9/14 go to dealer, they can't figure it out, will order new radio 9/16 dealer calls and asks me to bring in truck so they can disconnect battery for 30 minutes. 20 miles each way...no thanks. I do it under their advisement. No luck 9/18 dealer calls saying Chrysler has authorized new radio set for first week in October. 9/23 call dealer to ask status. they don't know. 9/23 dealer calls to say order has been pushed back a week 9/23 dealer calls to say October 7th at earliest 9/24 I call dealer to find out options...loaner truck perhaps 9/24 dealer can't get authorization for rental. tells me to call Chrysler to complain. 9/24 call Chrysler and waste 30 minutes. they will ESCALATE and call me back in 3-4 days. I ask for them to take radio out of truck on lot. They "can't" do that. "Why not?" We don't have authorization for that.

Update from Sep 24, 2013: The radio is a 5.0

- Mj W., Minneapolis, MN, US

problem #15

Jul 022013

1500 Longhorn 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles

Gps went crazy, was telling me i was driving off into a lake several times, screen would freeze when trying to change climate or radio station, There was also a recal on the head unit for turn signal malfunction. So I take it in to be updated, they say it will take one hour it has been 7 days and I'm still in a piece of crap rental car. waiting for a whole new head unit due to it locking up and the truck undriveable now.

- soldier13bravo, Freeman Spur, IL, US

problem #14

Jul 012013

1500

  • Automatic transmission
  • 800 miles

The truck currently has 900 miles on it--1. It intermittently won't start 2. The uconnect doesn't keep my bluetooth phone in it 3. The sirius radio presets have disappeared 4. It will not stay on surround sound--it goes to off by itself 4. The radio will jump from sirius to am mode after I restart my car. This is really frustrating. I have had it in to Larson Dodge in Puyallup twice in the past 2 business days (Friday and now Monday) with the same complaints. They seem to be clueless how to fix it. It may be a lemon. I was told if they could not duplicate the fact that it intermittently won't start then I would lose at "arbitration" regarding our states lemon law. Nice doing business with you!!! I will contact the attorney general of the state if this continues.

- Rick H., Lake Tapps, WA, US

problem #13

Jun 032013

1500 Laramie Longhorn 5.7L Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,260 miles

Radio and screen would just turn itself off at anytime, and the music that I had down loaded onto a thumb drive would not work unless I rebooted the complete system.

- Tim S., Mountain View, AR, US

problem #12

May 232013

1500 Sport 5.7L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,051 miles

1st occurrence was leaving the driveway after start-up. GPS/uconnect went blank, black screen no radio. It rebooted and continued to work until 2weeks later. 2nd occurrence was setting a location on GPS TO RETURN HOME. it didn't finalize the route home, the display map was of home address not current location. Also,radio was working but not properly. The sound was there but as if the GPS was talking to you(GPS was quite) volume on radio was not adjustable at this time. I did bring truck in for service after 1st problem and they said they updated the software. I also brought truck in after 2occurence and they informed me that the system crashed because all other dodge locations were updating this software at the same time????? They have informed me that Dodge is sending all service providers a CD with software update!!! During trip home of 2nd occurrence I pulled over, shut truck off restarted and didn't change the GPS problem. When I returned home I shot video of problem, turned truck off for 5 minutes-restarted and back to normal. I showed my video to service and now waiting for updates!!

- Derek D., London, Ontario, canada

problem #11

Jun 012013

1500 Big Horn 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,100 miles

My radio kept resetting back to factory defaults, weekly, daily. The dealer ordered a new radio stating that there is a loose connection inside the radio causing this issue and was on his Chrysler dealer page. Once replaced the new radio would not allow me to register with uconnect. the dealer opened a ticket with you uconnect and i was told it could be 5 days before they even look at it.. WOW ... Once uconnect contacted me they asked for me to return to the dealer for a tech to complete some simple programing. Now i still am having uconnect issues and have another ticket open and waiting another 5 days..

First and LAST DODGE

- speedbump, Chesapeake, VA, US

problem #10

Dec 272012

1500 Sport 5.7L Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 340 miles

ALL ELECTRICAL IS A MESS... Dealing with http://www.camvap.ca/ right now too have the Vehical bought back.. No LEMON laws in Canada but these people are helping even tho its a long process.. Southbank Dodge in Ottawa Ontario has no clue what is going on with my truck and they are putting the second stereo in it but really how can 2 be faulty in the same manner??? Come on Crysler Canada !! Customers should be number 1!!! Im going to Buy a Brand New Ford once Camvap finishes their work for me .... DONT BUY A NEW DODGE.

- firefighter7, Ottawa, Ontario, canada

problem #9

Dec 012012

1500 Crew Cab, Outdoorsman, 4x4 5.7L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6 miles

As soon as I drove off the dealer lot, 01 Dec 2012, in my 2013 Dodge Ram 1500 Crew Cab Outdoorsman 5.7L Hemi Auto Tranny, the radio / center dash touch screen started acting up. The UConnect 8.4A system in my truck seems to reboot on it's own, random and frequent. The center screen goes into reboot mode and sometimes resets but sometimes stays off until the truck is parked for a while and then restarted. When it is in this mode I do not have any radio controls, heat controls, my backup camera do not display, my phone access do not work, the dash display behind steering wheel tell me that the key is still in ignition when it's not, etc. etc.. At the same time the outside air temp reading is always about 4 degrees higher than what is being displayed,,,,, not sure if this is related to dash problems or not????

From a LOT of online forums it appears that this is a VERY COMMON problem (or at least very similar issues) to A LOT odf Dodge vehicles???

I have had my truck back to dealer for service but they have no FIX for these issues yet??

They SAY they are waiting for a possible software/computer fix BUT CANNOT SAY WHEN?????

This a very annoying problem and I'm pissed that Dodge have not yet come up with a solution to this problem!!!

These trucks are far from cheap and we have all paid a lot of cash for these units.... We should not have to tolerate these problems without Dodge getting their fingers out of their butt and getting to the bottom of these problems!!!!!

If you are, or know anyone who is experiencing these same problems PLEASE start bombarding Dodge with e-mails regarding the problem demanding they come up with a solution ASAP!!!!

Update from Nov 19, 2015: Here we are,,, 3 years later,,, and STILL having issues with U-Connect/Radio/Computer Systems??? Over the years have had truck back to Dealer Service numerous times for same issues. There have been times when they seem to have 'FIXED' the problems BUT within sometimes very short period/s they are back again?? Haven't had screen lock-ups or blackouts lately but latest reoccurring issue again now is it DROPS by phone Bluetooth connection mid call/s? Tells me 'NO PHONE CONNECTED' and I have to stop/shut-down truck for it to reboot... This is NOT a phone problem,,, I even changed my phone only to find it still happens?? I have still experienced outside temperature showing to be way off actual,,,, sometimes as much as +/- 30 degs C?? I have had my outside side mirrors replaced a couple of times due to led lights in mirror not working.. Imagine having to replace a $800-900 unit because of a $0.25 led bulb,,, VERY POOR DESIGN AGAIN!!! I've been very fortunate that I have managed to develop a VERY good relationship with my dealership, Hickman's Chrysler/Jeep, in St. John's who seem to really try to look after me the best they can.. If not for that I would have gotten rid of this truck long before now!!! Waiting for service appointment in couple weeks now to have these issues looked at AGAIN??? My BIGGEST question/concern now is What's going to happen about ALL these issues when my Warranty Runs Out??????? Chrysler ? Dodge SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF THESE TRUCKS WITH THESE ISSUES,,, WITH STILL NO PERMANENT FIS / SOLUTION???

- papabb, St. John's, NL, Canada

problem #8

Feb 042013

1500 Longhorn 5.7L Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,635 miles

I've had it in 4 times and every time they say its a new problem?? Never has it been FIXED! Same problems come back, some times more than before. Driving the truck the GPS screen shuts down and goes thru a boot up stag as if you just started the vehicle. Some times everything will come on, once the heated steering wheel was SO hot you couldn't hold onto it then shuts down?? BEST part about this is they still have no CLUE!! and are making their money on warranty! Thanks a lot Dodge. I've owned others before this one but this will be my last one and going to other manufacture for our company trucks also!

- Brad F., Red Deer, AB, canada

problem #7

Feb 252013

1500 Longhorn 5.6L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles

bought this truck in February traded my wrangler in on it. started having issues with the radio dropping signal and fading out then my screen froze sent my heater into overdrive could turn down the fan but couldn't do anything with the temp. just had it into the dealer that morning to check issues with the radio then took it back dropped it off and they called me the next day and said I could pick it up they were replacing the unit. dealer tried to tell me it would take over a month and a half to get a new one so I called Chrysler and complained and got it in less than a week. needless to say they replaced it and on my way home done the same thing. so I called the dealer and complained had it in now 2 times to be fixed and they have no clue they forwarded it on to engineering to try. im so over this they did updates yesterday now my phone wont pair with my uconnect. this is my first ram and probably my last if they don't figure it out.

- egg, Lonaconing, MD, US

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?