8.0

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$190
Average Mileage:
5,750 miles
Total Complaints:
10 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (8 reports)
  2. jump battery or purchase new one (1 reports)
  3. replaced battery by aaa (1 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2021 Subaru Outback electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2021 Subaru Outback:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2021 Subaru Outback Owner Comments

problem #10

Jun 162022

Outback

  • CVT transmission
  • 13,373 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Subaru needs to fix this, as it's happened well over a dozen times in 1.5 years.

Update from Jul 19, 2022: Dealership replaced my battery. It's been running OK for a month now - no jumps. Dealer rep suggested Subaru used shoddy batteries, but I believe there's an electrical system leak and I'll see this again. Anyway, seems to be resolved...for now.

- Tom M., San Jose, CA, US

problem #9

Jun 022022

Outback Limited

  • CVT transmission
  • 2,500 miles

Bought a 2021 Subaru Outback Limited new from dealership. Only has 2,500 miles on it since leaving dealership. Tried to start the car one day and battery is dead. Had it jumped by AAA. Made it out of my garage not even a whole block down, and the battery died AGAIN... halfway in an intersection!! The cops pulled up to see what the hell was wrong. Called AAA again. They jumped it once more. This time smoke came out of the battery. They ran some diagnostics and saw the battery was not holding any charge and found that it was LEAKING ACID!!

Of course, I had to pay to replace the faulty Subaru battery on the spot so I could get out of the intersection and not get hit by a car. For a battery to die and leak acid on a brand new Subaru with very low miles is beyond disappointing!! Did some google research and found out that there is a class action lawsuit against Subaru for installing faulty batteries in previous models. Apparently, they either did not learn their lesson or don't give a sh*t and are still installing it in newer models too.

Had I known this I would not have bought a Subaru. This was my first Subaru, thinking they had a good reputation. But now I won't be getting another Subaru if they show such disregard for an apparent problem that they have known for years. I can see why their reputation has been slipping over the years. Subaru, get your act together!!

- Chris C., Chicago, US

problem #8

May 192022

Outback XT Turbo

  • CVT transmission
  • 10,000 miles

Shame on Subaru for not addressing what is obviously a flawed electrical system.

- skifirsttracks, Clevleand, US

problem #7

Mar 052022

Outback

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I've only had my car a little over a year. It has 15,000 miles and my battery has already died, with no warning. Batteries should last for at least a few years, not one year. Unacceptable.

- Amanda W., Newnan, US

problem #6

Jan 172022

Outback Onyx Edition Xt

  • Manual transmission
  • 9,300 miles

Purchased this 2021 Outback Dec 2020. After about 6 months the battery died about once a month. AAA tested the battery and said it was good. It now dies anytime we sit in the car with the door open for less than 5 minutes. It also dies if the car sits in the garage for more than a day.

Something is draining the battery. I do not see any lights on or doors ajar. I feel I can't go anywhere for fear my car won't start. I have used 6 of my AAA jumps and have jumped my car myself several times. What good is a new car if it's not dependable? I want my old 2011 Subaru back!

- Clare M., Whittier, CA, US

problem #5

Jul 282021

Outback ES

  • Automatic transmission
  • 900 miles

Bought a brand new Subaru Outback in March 2021. Just delivered! Within 4 months and only 900 miles I had a dead battery! Ugh... I had it jumped and took it back to dealer. Got a new battery. Next day same problem. Back to the dealer! Another new battery on Oct 23 2021.

Everything was going great until January 6th, 2022. Georgetown Texas Subaru has had my car since. They have called me only twice to say they are still working on the problem. They even ask me about my driving habits and what I thought the problem was.

Personally I think it is the Star link system. It has notified me via text and email several times that the car needs service. What? No dash lights are on! Is it the red or green star link light that always stays on! I called Star link and ask them what details is the car transmitting to you. "Oh we can't see that" is the reply.

Last I heard from Cory Jensen the "service manager" is that star link and the district manager are working on a solution. What solution? A new brain for the car? I see other Outbacks zooming around town. Is it one out of 100 Outback that have bad electrical issues. Reading all of the past complaints, I realize I didn't do my homework before buying an Outback! I fell in love with it on my first test drive and everybody said what a great car it would be. Ha! Thank goodness I have a loaner Outback until the executives and technicians truly figure out what are they doing wrong in the design and function of the electrical systems!!!

- Virginia H., Austin, US

problem #4

Oct 102021

Outback XT 2.4L H4

  • CVT transmission
  • 987 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car is 9 months old, and I'm on second battery that just goes flat in a day, won't hold a charge. I have been told by the Subaru service agent that you have to drive it often, and not on short trips!! Also told me categorically that if i leave it parked at the airport for a week's vacation, it wont start when I get back. How is that fit for this purpose?? This is my 4th Subaru and all the others were fine.

- rmcrob, Phoenix, US

problem #3

Apr 262021

Outback

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles

Subaru Outback brand new vehicle, and weeks old the battery is dead. Saleman drove out to my home (!) with a jump starter, said if problem persists 'may need to replace battery'! Replace battery just off the lot??? What the?? Few weeks, later dead again. Turns out I've joined the legions of suckers who bought this doggie!

Update from Aug 5, 2021: The no-start has happened three more times since earlier entry. I bought a jump-box to start the machine and awaiting a solar panel to keep battery charged. Dealer Service worse than useless as they won't acknowledge that the vehicle has an unfixable defect.

- Gary B. S., Santa Cruz, US

problem #2

Jun 112021

Outback PR 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,400 miles

We bought this 2021 Outback new in Dec. 2020. It has 4,000 miles on it. The other day, 6/11/2021, we got in to go someplace and the car went crazy. Beeps, rat-a-tat sounds, lights flashing, etc. Then nothing. The battery was DEAD. It took several tries to jump start it but we got it going, only to discover "idiot" lights on the dash. Check engine, flashing vehicle symbol, etc. It wiped out some functions too.

We called the dealer to get immediate service. We were told initially that they could get us in to look at it in a week and a half. (Said 6/23 was next appt.). I asked for a loaner, no loners available. After a period of time the service manager Paul Hall, called back and said to drive it down. (We live 40 miles away, some concern for driving distance with unknown problem).

They took it in to reset the program. (Approximately a 2hrs wait) but we were glad to have a "fix" for the moment.

NOW THE PROBLEM: This car will drain the battery if it is not started within 10-14 days!!! Subaru has had this problem since 2014 and has done nothing to my knowledge to remedy the situation. We are now going to resume travel as one example for periods of longer than these parameters. What am I to do at midnight in a parking lot with a dead battery? The service girl (Mindy) advised us to disconnect the battery while we are gone. NOT acceptable. HELP. I would NEVER have purchased this car if I had known about this issue.

- Martha S., Gray, ME, US

problem #1

May 272021

Outback Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 832 miles

I have owned the brand new car for 3 weeks - brand new and have had to get the battery jumped 3 times. I am concerned that this is not going to get better until either a better quality battery is installed or from doing some research Subaru fixes the "CAN" in the electrical system - which means the electrical system turns off when the car is off instead of what is possibly occurring which is it continuously is draining the battery.

Update from Jun 2, 2021: I filed a complaint with the US Dept of Transportation Vehicle Safety Hotline Information Center - they will file a formal complaint if they see a trend and file for recall - SO- PLEASE inform them if you are having any issues: https://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/vehiclecomplaint/

This is the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

or 888-327-4236

Update from Jun 2, 2021: Subaru Manufacturers Hotline number:

800-782-2783

- Catherine H., Moorestown, NJ, US

Not what you are looking for?