10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
2,821 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2020 Toyota RAV4 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2020 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2020 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #63

Feb 112023

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

error code P1C80-49 because of Toyota terrible manufacturing defect

- Gasport, NY, USA

problem #62

Jan 102023

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
The original battery completely drains when the car is off and no electrical equipment is kept on. This has happened on at least four occasions and car is unable to be turned on or even jumped with another car. The dealer (Toyota Umansky - Charlottesville, VA) has been unable to fix the problem and it it reoccurs. Based on my reading of this issue in similar models of the 2020 Rav 4 Hybrid, the "parasitic battery" can cause other electric malfunctions that would affect safety. Also, the description of this defect is substantially similar to the problems I face with my vehicle. I would like to add my model/ vin to the known batch of defective models with this problem.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #61

Jan 042023

RAV4

  • miles
The battery in my hybrid Rav 4 repeatedly goes dead if I don't drive the vehicle for 2 days. I reported the issue to my dealership and they charged the battery but it didn't fix the problem. The next time I brought it in for the same issue they did a software update they said would fix it. However, I have had the same problem once more and they again claim it's just a software update to fix, even though there have been no technology changes to my vehicle since they last "fixed it". In consequence, my vehicle will not start reliably which has left my husband stranded after work on a cold January day, and left me stranded at home from getting to work two additional times. Every time I bring it to the dealership they dismiss the problem but none of their attempts have resolved the issue.

- Plymouth, MN, USA

problem #60

Dec 012022

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

when car is subject to rain or car washed, the headliner gets saturated at the "A" pillar and the "C" pillar. This water seems to be coming from under the roof rails. I have tested sunroof drain and they are open leaving the only other area to leak at the insertion of the roof rails. I have never had anything attached to them to add excess weight but have also hearing and finding many other reports of this happening. My concern is having the headliner ruined AND malfunction of the airbags. This has been reported to my Toyota dealer twice and I have been told that they are unaware of any issues with the seals on the roof rails.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #59

Sep 162022

RAV4

  • miles
On September 16, 2022, I discovered the vehicle battery died. I charged the battery through a jump start. The car worked normally, except the radio and infotainment system failed to work, constantly rebooting in an endless cycle while the car was powered on. On September 29, 2022, I brought the car for service at Star Toyota of Bayside, New York, to diagnose the issue. On September 30, 2022, the service advisor told me that the entire infotainment system had to be replaced at a cost of about $1,400. The car is out of warranty apparently due to its mileage even though it is from 2020. The fact that a simple, common issue such as a dead batter caused this catastrophic damage to the infotainment system is totally, absolutely unacceptable. I now question the electrical integrity of these cars and I hope that NHTSA will undertake an investigation. I also seek full reimbursement from Toyota for all costs associated with this repair. I have video of the system rebooting. The file is too large to upload to this website with its 10MB file size limit. I'd be happy to provide it by other means. Thank you for your consideration.

- Sunnyside, NY, USA

problem #58

Sep 212022

RAV4

  • miles
The infotainment system stopped working after the car was 2 years and 3 months old. The screen flashes on and off and the screen is not responsive. The dealership disconnected the battery to do a hard reset and this did not help the issue. Also they were not able to update the software and said the radio/infotainment system which controls my radio, Bluetooth, navigation, and apple car play would need to be replaced all together for $1700. I have kept up with my maintenance schedule in general and have not had or done anything to have the radio/infotainment system to completely stop working. This is also distracting when driving having the screen flash on and off, especially at night.

- New Brighton, PA, USA

problem #57

Apr 242022

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The electrical system has issues While driving at 25 mph the interior lights began flash on and off ( 10 pm and dark outside) rapidly and randomly The instrument cluster flashed the door open screen and indicated the rear hatch was open and rear hatch made at least ten attempts to open in the span of just one block Switches on the dash did not respond Key fob buttons did not respond I returned the one block I had traveled and parked the vehicle shut it off and restarted and the hatch had to be manually closed Shut off the vehicle locked it let it sit for ten minutes walked out of the house to the vehicle and without even touching the key fob the rear hatch opened the lights flashed several time not the standard twice and the hatch proceeded to half open close and open again three times with not input from me or the key fob This is the fourth or fifth issue that has arisen with the electrical system since we purchased the vehicle and no one can find the issues origins or solutions Prior to this the electrical system issues were only minor nuisances This was completely unsafe and is what has precipitated this filing

- San Francisco , CA, USA

problem #56

Feb 262022

RAV4

  • miles
Dash lights went out and windows stopped working (incident date is for dash lights). Clocks are often blank. Clearly there is an electrical/wiring issue. I have complained about it to the dealer at the 5k check, 10k check and the 15k check. At the 15k check they reset the radio! Also when turning right it feels like the front wheel is curling under the vehicle and makes a terrible sound (but not always). I made dealer aware of this at the 5k check, 10k check and 15k check. My warranty will be up soon so they just keep riding the clock out.

- Endicott, NY, USA

problem #55

Aug 252021

RAV4

  • miles
On 8/25/21, Toyota Rav 4 Vehicle was parked in garage and caught fire burning down garage and house, minor injuries to occupants in house. Vehicle had recently 7/01/21 been repaired at dealership for battery discharge when parked by installation of new update to DCM Software according to TSB-0095-20 Rev2. The vehicle has been inspected by police, Hidalgo County, Texas Fire Marshall and Progressive Insurance Company Progressive. Origin of fire started in vehicle but cause of vehicle fire undetermined by Fire Marshall, Insurance Company related fire to charger plugged into dash of vehicle.

- Mcallen, TX, USA

problem #54

Apr 032021

RAV4

  • 9,000 miles
The contact owned a 2020 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph with the cruise control activated and while coming to a red light, the driver depressed the brake pedal and the braking system malfunctioned causing the vehicle to not stop. The vehicle drove through a red light causing a collision with a second vehicle. During the crash the driver sustained rib and torso injuries, the front passenger sustained injured ribs and fractured tailbone and the rear passenger side occupant sustained a fractured tailbone. No further information was available regarding the second vehicle. During the crash, the vehicle was destroyed. A police report was taken at the scene and the vehicle was towed away. The contact indicated that prior to the incident the vehicle had been examined at the dealer for a possible braking problem but no trouble was found. The manufacturer and local dealer were notified of the incident. In addition, the contact indicated that the backup camera audible alarm was inoperable. The failure mileage was 9,000.

- Wimauma, FL, USA

problem #53

Feb 012021

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In the sring of this year, i lightly drove through a water filled pothole in a parking lot when all of the displays went dark for a split second and then came back on like the car had just started. I called my dealership right away and was told that maybe some water had gotten into some wiring and caused the glitch but to call again ASAP if it happened again. On Dec 9, 2021 under dry and even surfaces while making a left turn the vehicle went dark again while driving but this time took a touch longer to re-engage. I called the dealership again to report this to be looked at during a maintenance appointment. They found nothing wrong, but suggested it was a feature the car does not have was turned on and they turned it off. I was then shown the button responsible for this... it was for automatic high beams, NOT some engine efficency button. On Sunday, 12 12 2021 i went to start the car to go to work and it was completely dead, just a small clicking sound to be heard within the cabin. i had to get the car jumped to get it started on the second turn of the key after i removed it from the first attempt. I drove it to the dealership that day and i am still waiting for results. This needs to be adressed ASAP because its a potentially dangerous if not deadly situation if it conks out at highway speeds in front of a semi.

- Leominster, MA, USA

problem #52

Nov 162021

RAV4

  • miles
This is regard to 2020 RAV4 XLE with 7,000 mileage battery dead issues twice due to software issue based on Toyota dealership reports. I do drive my car daily and car not sat in garage more than 2 days! On evening of July 24th I wan-t able to turn on the vehicle. It was totally dead. Had to request road assistance for jump then took the car to Toyota Sunnyvale for check. They mentioned the issue was the battery and then having hard time with them to replace it with a new one. They Assured and Confirmed with me couple of times on the phone and at the Service Center this issue will never ever happen again. I was told it was a software issue that was consuming the battery and company fixed the software and they updated on my car and it won-t happen again for sure. Morning of November 16th while was heading to work same story repeated again. Faced with a totally dead vehicle, called again for road assistance for a jump and car is now sitting at Toyota Sunnyvale Service Center for analysis. I cannot trust to Toyota Service Centers any more and now I cannot relay on my vehicle. I look forward for a reasonable response from Toyota Motor Corporation. Why customer has to face with dead battery, ask roadside assistance and visit the dealership to identify the problem" What if I was out of town or in situations that cannot get roadside assistance? Why if this software issue it was not software recall and customers was not informed? Why this issue happened twice? What guarantees this will never happen again"

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #51

Jul 282021

RAV4

  • miles
Car sat for 4 days while we here hiking. Battery went dead. We were 15 miles up a gravel road and thankfully someone came by who had jumper cables. Reported issue to Toyota today and will take to dealer. Apparently, Toyota has no current fix for the battery drain when vehicle is off. Searched online and found 100s of reports of this same issue from 2019, 2020 rav4 owners, both hybrid and non-hybrid.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #50

May 112021

RAV4

  • miles
My computer car shows these messages: 1. Pre-Collision System: A malfunction in the System has been detected. do not relay on this system. 2. Vehicle Stability Control System: A malfunction in the VSC, TRAC, or hill-start assist control system has been detected. Do not relay on these systems. I ask to another costumer who have the similar car and he said he has the same messages. My Toyota dealer could not detected in all the PM..!!!

- Manor, TX, USA

problem #49

May 302021

RAV4

  • miles
Went to start car and received warning that smart key was not working Unable to turn on car followed instructions in manual car would not turn on and all power lost Unable to open doors Called AAA and technician stated front battery was drained no power and that battery bad Took to dealer who stated it was computer problem that caused battery to be drained This is a safety issue as this appears to be a recurring problem Should not be occurring in new car

- Glenshaw , PA, USA

problem #48

May 262021

RAV4

  • miles
2020 Hybrid Toyota RAV4 would not turn on, indicating "Smart Key System Malfunction" - has less than 7,000 miles on it, is driven daily, and no lights or other electrical components were left on in the vehicle between the last time it was driven and when it failed to start. Toyota Roadside Assistance was able to jump the 12V battery and get it started, but warned that it is not a long-term fix.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #47

Apr 202021

RAV4

  • miles
Toyota has a service builtin on a dcm firmware update that fixes an issue with remote start and will kill the 12V battery even but refuses to notify owners or even state publicly if they installed this during their inspection on my car. Have been into the dealership multiple times and had at least one battery replaced in a 1 year old car. Https://www.rav4world.com/threads/remote-start-sos-app.309804/

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #46

Apr 022021

RAV4

  • 10,009 miles
Got in the car and it wouldn't crank. Seemed like a dead battery although nothing was left on. Put jumper cables on it and it would not even jump off. It would act like it was going to turn over then would make a clicking noise. Car is not even a year old with 10,000 miles.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #45

Jul 162020

RAV4

  • 1,481 miles
2020 Rav4 hybrid: Battery keeps dying. Purchased 6/22/20, battery died multiple times 3 weeks later, battery replaced 7/16/20. Battery dying again 2/19/21 and again 3/5/21. Ongoing issue. Also head unit w/usb port had to be replaced 12/8/20 after found inoperable multiple times, the final being 11/9/20. Both stopped working after sitting 1-3 days. Main. Records not uploaded since file may be public domain, sensitive information on records. Toyota may contact me directly for records however, as I have kept all of them.

- Bend, OR, USA

problem #44

Feb 152021

RAV4

  • 5,000 miles
New vehicle brought in for it's 5K maintenance, to the service department of the dealership it was purchased from. I pointed out several issues with the gas tank range, bsm, camera shutting off, and that I have to keep the stearing wheel turned to the right in order to go straight. 5K maintenance is performed, they noticed the car needed to be realigned. Driving home, no difference from when first brought in. Bring it in to the dealership next day, the day after, I'am notified that the car is ready for pick up, I ask were if they were able to find what caused the aglinment to go out a second time. There response is that there was no indication of what caused it. Inform them that 1. I'am concerned for my safety and 2. the long term damage this is causing. They inform me that they will look into the process, and have management involved. Next day, manager informs me that the aglinment machine was out of calibration, he had to stop a technician from working on the car, had the machine calibrated, and that he personally performed the alginment. I pick up the car and the steering wheel has to be turned to the left to go straight on the highway at 35-45mph, slowing down/stopping & acclerating. Bring it in next day, manger has 3 alginments performed to see if there are any variations, tells me everything is in spec. It is so perfect they didnt even have to take a wrench to it. Reassures me numerous times that it is safe and in spec, hands me a paper "proving" so. Drive home, steering wheel is still to the left. I look at the paper and it clearly lists 3 values that are marked as not within spec, and that it may cause wear, handling and safety issues. Car is towed to a different dealership. During there test drive the tech noticed the wheel was jerking to the left without warning. Was informed that the stearing wheel needed a software update & the algiment is out of spec.

- Addison, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?