8.6

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
3,308 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2020 Toyota RAV4 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2020 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2020 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #51

Jul 282021

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car sat for 4 days while we here hiking. Battery went dead. We were 15 miles up a gravel road and thankfully someone came by who had jumper cables. Reported issue to Toyota today and will take to dealer. Apparently, Toyota has no current fix for the battery drain when vehicle is off. Searched online and found 100s of reports of this same issue from 2019, 2020 rav4 owners, both hybrid and non-hybrid.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #50

May 112021

RAV4

  • miles
My computer car shows these messages: 1. Pre-Collision System: A malfunction in the System has been detected. do not relay on this system. 2. Vehicle Stability Control System: A malfunction in the VSC, TRAC, or hill-start assist control system has been detected. Do not relay on these systems. I ask to another costumer who have the similar car and he said he has the same messages. My Toyota dealer could not detected in all the PM..!!!

- Manor, TX, USA

problem #49

May 302021

RAV4

  • miles
Went to start car and received warning that smart key was not working Unable to turn on car followed instructions in manual car would not turn on and all power lost Unable to open doors Called AAA and technician stated front battery was drained no power and that battery bad Took to dealer who stated it was computer problem that caused battery to be drained This is a safety issue as this appears to be a recurring problem Should not be occurring in new car

- Glenshaw , PA, USA

problem #48

May 262021

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2020 Hybrid Toyota RAV4 would not turn on, indicating "Smart Key System Malfunction" - has less than 7,000 miles on it, is driven daily, and no lights or other electrical components were left on in the vehicle between the last time it was driven and when it failed to start. Toyota Roadside Assistance was able to jump the 12V battery and get it started, but warned that it is not a long-term fix.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #47

Apr 202021

RAV4

  • miles
Toyota has a service builtin on a dcm firmware update that fixes an issue with remote start and will kill the 12V battery even but refuses to notify owners or even state publicly if they installed this during their inspection on my car. Have been into the dealership multiple times and had at least one battery replaced in a 1 year old car. Https://www.rav4world.com/threads/remote-start-sos-app.309804/

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #46

Apr 022021

RAV4

  • 10,009 miles
Got in the car and it wouldn't crank. Seemed like a dead battery although nothing was left on. Put jumper cables on it and it would not even jump off. It would act like it was going to turn over then would make a clicking noise. Car is not even a year old with 10,000 miles.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #45

Jul 162020

RAV4

  • 1,481 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2020 Rav4 hybrid: Battery keeps dying. Purchased 6/22/20, battery died multiple times 3 weeks later, battery replaced 7/16/20. Battery dying again 2/19/21 and again 3/5/21. Ongoing issue. Also head unit w/usb port had to be replaced 12/8/20 after found inoperable multiple times, the final being 11/9/20. Both stopped working after sitting 1-3 days. Main. Records not uploaded since file may be public domain, sensitive information on records. Toyota may contact me directly for records however, as I have kept all of them.

- Bend, OR, USA

problem #44

Feb 152021

RAV4

  • 5,000 miles
New vehicle brought in for it's 5K maintenance, to the service department of the dealership it was purchased from. I pointed out several issues with the gas tank range, bsm, camera shutting off, and that I have to keep the stearing wheel turned to the right in order to go straight. 5K maintenance is performed, they noticed the car needed to be realigned. Driving home, no difference from when first brought in. Bring it in to the dealership next day, the day after, I'am notified that the car is ready for pick up, I ask were if they were able to find what caused the aglinment to go out a second time. There response is that there was no indication of what caused it. Inform them that 1. I'am concerned for my safety and 2. the long term damage this is causing. They inform me that they will look into the process, and have management involved. Next day, manager informs me that the aglinment machine was out of calibration, he had to stop a technician from working on the car, had the machine calibrated, and that he personally performed the alginment. I pick up the car and the steering wheel has to be turned to the left to go straight on the highway at 35-45mph, slowing down/stopping & acclerating. Bring it in next day, manger has 3 alginments performed to see if there are any variations, tells me everything is in spec. It is so perfect they didnt even have to take a wrench to it. Reassures me numerous times that it is safe and in spec, hands me a paper "proving" so. Drive home, steering wheel is still to the left. I look at the paper and it clearly lists 3 values that are marked as not within spec, and that it may cause wear, handling and safety issues. Car is towed to a different dealership. During there test drive the tech noticed the wheel was jerking to the left without warning. Was informed that the stearing wheel needed a software update & the algiment is out of spec.

- Addison, IL, USA

problem #43

Feb 112020

RAV4

  • 6,400 miles
Leased my 2030 rav 4 xle AWD in late Nov 2019 in July 2020 the engine stopping when breaking feature would not work. Message said battery charging. Brought it to the dealership they said they couldn't find anything wrong that didn't drive it enough. Took it home. A week later it happened again.dealer kept it overnight to check the full electric system. Found nothing wrong told you drive it more. Happens every once and awhile. Jump to February 2021. Driving it more parked car outside 30 degree night. Next morning went to take my son to work and the car was totally dead. Nothing worked. Didn't leave anything on, everything like it always was. Called Toyota service who sent someone to jumpstart it. That worked. I was told to let it run for 30 mins. I took it to the dealership Toyota of massapequa NY. They check the battery and found nothing wrong. They kept it overnight to preform a firmware update. I am just reading that the car battery shutting down is a problem with many other owners. I hope the firmware update works but knowing what I know now I'm not sure. Wish the update was down back in July. Toyota should recall all 2020 rav 4

- East Meadow, NY, USA

problem #42

Sep 022020

RAV4

  • 4,976 miles
Vehicle was parked at home, did not turn on at all.vehicle was only at about 5K tops. Called roadside & was given a jumpstart.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #41

Jan 252021

RAV4

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle parked for less than 24 hrs. 14 months old, approx 12,000mi. Battery totally drained. Left stranded without vehicle use. Indicates smart key problem, tried other keys. Battery is totally drained.

- Spring Grove, PA, USA

problem #40

Dec 262020

RAV4

  • 9,172 miles
Car battery completely drained after not being driven for 24 hours leaving me stranded. Car would not start and had to be jump started. There is an electrical issue causing quick and significant battery drain. Car was purchased in September 2020 and has less than 10,000 miles.

- Summersville, WV, USA

problem #39

Nov 142020

RAV4

  • miles
Battery died less than 24 hours after last use. Parked in enclosed garage.

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #38

Dec 072020

RAV4

  • 16,000 miles
The vehicle sat in the garage 3 days and when I tried to start there was no power to the entire vehicle. I tried to jumpstart the vehicle without avail. Call Toyota they sent service vehicle that jumpstart the vehicle and had it run for @ 10 minutes. Shut car off and it would not restart. Vehicle was towed to the Toyota dealership. Per the dealership they had to replace the battery. I refuse to believe that was the issue. The battery is being drained by some other issue. Toyota need to recall these vehicles and fix the issue properly.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #37

Dec 052020

RAV4

  • 4,600 miles
Our 2020rav4 hybrid has failed to start twice (5/5/2020 and 12/5/2020) after sitting only 1-2 days in our garage. It required jumping to be recharged. From the cargurus site, this seems to be a common problem with no definite solution yet, perhaps a bad batch of batteries, perhaps a sofrware update needed, or something else? Toyota needs to figure it out and fix it! we don't feel like a new, expensive vehicle can be depended on.

- Arvada, CO, USA

problem #36

Nov 262020

RAV4

  • 2,200 miles
Car would not start after sitting overnight in my garage. Only has 2,200 miles on it. Dashboard lights flickering saying parking brake malfunction and check engine/ other warning lights came on. Seems to be a huge issue from other reviews. Toyota needs a recall or we need to file a class action lawsuit! unacceptable. Looking into ca lemon law.

- Moorpark, CA, USA

problem #35

Nov 272020

RAV4

  • 2,000 miles
Car did not start after 2 days of not using it.

- Linden, NJ, USA

problem #34

Nov 112020

RAV4

  • 10,700 miles
Car would not start after sitting unused for a few days. Battery is fine; car completely dead.

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #33

Nov 022020

RAV4

  • 8,500 miles
Battery isn't holding a charge. Temps outside are getting colder but not that cold. Don't drive it on sundays, battery is dead dead on Monday mornings. Drive an average of 30 miles per day. Battery was replaced by dealership and still slow to start in the mornings. Now run it idling for 20 minutes Sunday evening to ensure it starts Monday morning

- Pagosa Springs, CO, USA

problem #32

Nov 162020

RAV4

  • 6,000 miles
Our car sat for 2 days without being used and the battery was dead. Read online many other Rav4 owners having similiar issues, something is draining the battery

- San Antonio, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?