Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007 Cobalt inherited most of the problems from the 2005 and 2006 model years, but toned them down (a bit). Sure, the power steering still fails and the car has a chance of going up in flames due to a cracked fuel tank, but it’s not as prevalent as the older models. At least not yet.

In 2012, the Cobalt was recalled for gas tank fires but only for owners in certain states.

Then in 2014, the 2007 Cobalt was part of a massive GM recall due to a defective ignition switch that could cause the airbags to not deploy during an accident. The problem led to 13 deaths, government investigations and multiple class-action lawsuits.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,274 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Mar 092015

Cobalt

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving at approximately 70 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed and the speedometer remained on 0 mph. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to numerous dealers, who confirmed that the transmission control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 140,000.

- Titusville, FL, USA

problem #24

Mar 142012

Cobalt

  • miles
I few years back, my car headlights started to stay on even after cutting the car off. I started taking the fuses out in order for my lights to cut off. This problem still exists, the lights may work correctly and cut off automatically for about 3 months, but in still have to resort to taking my fuses in and out for my lights to work. I had problems with the ignition about 3 years ago, but they had a recall for that. After they fixed my ignition, about a couple months later I started having problems with my car starting to hesitate and cut off. Check engine light has been coming on, now there are problems with the transmission.

- Conyers, GA, USA

problem #23

Sep 012014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall issues. The consumer stated she had problems with starting and turning off the vehicle, as the key would not come out of the ignition. A problem also developed with the gear shift. The ignition switch was replaced. However, she experienced the same problem, again. There was a vibration, coming from the front on the vehicle. Updated 12/17/14.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #22

Dec 092008

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 17,940 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car has a hard yank after coming to a stop and starting off. Knocking noise coming from rear of car since day one of purchase. Vibration in accelerator and gear shifter. Lights on interior of car dashboard goes on and off. Problem still happening today and the tsm was replaced as well, as they always say they cannot duplicate the problem. Check engine light has never came on at anytime the problem happened. It happens after car is driven and heated up. Only happened when long trip over 50 miles, now since ignition has been changed on call back. Problems has worsened lights on and off, transmission hard shift when driving short trips as well as a constant vibration. Knocking coming from gas tank side of car was mainly during cooler weather now happened when day was above 90 degrees. Electrical problem with vehicle I think and has caused many problems and even deaths. Do not think it was keys ignition. I seriously think is in the entire electrical system. Problem should of been fixed when 1st reported, but they only reset the trans computer.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #21

Jun 112014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 63,881 miles
I take the car to camino real Chevrolet to do the recall for ignition key on 6/9/2014, I get back my car on the same day and go home. I feel that there is some problem on control of speed. On 6/11/2014, I went out with the car for a few mile, the car began lost power and slow down. So I called aaa to tow my car back to the dealer for investigate, they ask me for a checking fee of $300 and told me that they have changed the part, it will be other problem. So I searched the internet there is more recall on that model on the fuel pump and other, but they refuse to replace for me. So I called GM, they said there is no recall on my car, I don't know why" information I searched from the internet said that the wrong computer program, connection, coded keys anti-theft function will affect the car from starting. They never check that and told me to paid for changing the fuel pump. What should I do" I have no car to use over one week.

- San Gabriel, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #20

Jun 272014

Cobalt

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the vehicle stalled and the steering wheel seized with the illumination of the power steering warning. Additionally, the contact stated that the vehicle would fail to shift gears and the chrome covering on the door handle had deteriorated. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer, who diagnosed that the steering wheel column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The contact stated that the vehicle wasalso included in NHTSA campaign id numbers: 14E021000 (electrical system) 14V171000 (electrical system) and 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The contact stated that the dealer informed him that the parts were not available for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- San Ramone, CA, USA

problem #19

Apr 082014

Cobalt

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving 15 mph, the vehicle started going in reverse independently. The second time it had an opposite effect. The contact was in reverse and the vehicle went forward. The contact slightly crashed the side of the vehicle into the curb but did not sustain any injuries and a police report was not filed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 22,000. Kmj

- Verona, PA, USA

problem #18

May 102014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 142,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that there was an abnormal noise being emitted from the ignition when the key was removed. The vehicle was repaired by the dealer under NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system), however the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 142,000. Kmj updated 7/16/14 the consumer stated the vehicle stalled three years ago. At the time, she was informed the vehicle needed a new transmission. The consumer believed it was the ignition all along.

- Wayne, NJ, USA

problem #17

Sep 172013

Cobalt

  • 84,000 miles
The floor shifter on my 2007 Cobalt will not lock out to prevent car from moving will ignition switch is off. The pin inside shifter works it's way out of shifter and prevents lock out mechanism from engaging. In order to start car, the ignition switch has to manually engaged by sticking finger underneath steering column and pushing the button to release ignition to start car. This is another defect that GM needs to address in recall notice with ignition switch problem. I have two small keys on ignition key ring...very light. This problem is more widespread than reported and the manufacturer needs to correct this flaw.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #16

Jan 152007

Cobalt

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the vehicle was purchased brand new and was a lemon since he owned it. While driving approximately 65 mph the pedal malfunctioned and he was unable to accelerate. The gauges on the instrument panel began to move up and down and the speedometer displayed 0 to 2 mph. The security warning light illuminated and he lost power steering. The vehicle was unsafe and the steering wheel was extremely difficult for him to turn to the right or left. The dealer advised him to call the manufacturer and stated there was no defect. Whenever he turned the key in the ignition, the mileage would increase by an additional 2,500 miles. When the odometer displayed the incorrect mileage it affected the warranty. The contact continued to take the vehicle back to the dealer who later stated that the manufacturer would diagnose the failure. The vehicle remained in the dealers possession for three months. The dealer advised the contact that he would no longer experience the failure after they cut out all of the wiring harness; however, the failure occurred within a week. The dealer advised the contact to leave the vehicle in their possession all night where they confirmed that the failure occurred. The dealer and manufacturer stated on more than one occasion that they would give him a new vehicle but later declined to do so. The manufacturer stated that they would no longer replace the vehicle and it could later result in a recall. The mileage also increased by 8,000 while the vehicle was in the dealers possession the failure continued to recur continuously. Another dealer stated that the failure was in the body control module would prevent the failure from occurring. The manufacturer had all related documents including a claim number regarding the failure. The contact was only able to accelerate up to 35 mph. When the failure occurred it was extremely difficult for him to turn the steering wheel. The current mileage was approximately 125,000. The failure mileage was 8,000.

- Slain , MI, USA

problem #15

May 062013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I would be driving down the highway and the car's dials would not work then start bouncing around. Then the power steering message would read out, I would loose power steering. If I slowed down it would take more of an effort to get the car up to speed and the car would jump in to gears hard. It wouldn't shift smooth. None of the gauges would work, and if the A/C was on it wouldn't work. When it started back working, the engine lock light would stay on. And the car wouldn't shift in and out of gear with out jerking.

- Scottsboro, AL, USA

problem #14

Feb 242014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
While accelerating moderately from a stop, the engine completely died while in first gear. I coasted to a stop on the side of the road and turned on the hazard lights to alert other motorists. Each time I tried to restart the engine, it sputtered and shook violently and then died. I kept trying for about five minutes and on one try the engine finally started and stayed running. The RPM gauge remained at zero even though I was able to accelerate and drive away from where I had initially pulled over. After about a minute, the RPM gauge started functioning normally. Please advise. Thank you.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #13

Mar 142013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
Was driving on city street approximately 20 mph when it felt as if I were driving on rocks. The T/C light went on. I stopped the car, turned the ignition off and looked under the hood. Found nothing. Turned on the ignition on again. Returned to origin I had left less than a block away from incident and parked and turned off the car. It had stopped by now. I turned on the car again and proceeded to attempt my drive on same road. The car began to do the same thing, this time it did not stop. The car would not accelerate and the engine made a rattling noise. I had to call a tow truck to take it to my mechanic. The car was diagnosed as the throttle body was the problem. I had a used body throttle installed and on 03/16/13 I took the car to a Chevrolet dealer, miami lakes automall to have a new throttle body installed. The dealer refused to give me warranty on it. On Wednesday 07/17/13 the T/C light came on and got message, service traction on the display window. I took the car to the same Chevrolet dealer where I had the new throttle body installed. When I turned off the car the light turned off. The car was checked and they claimed they didn't know what was wrong and couldn't help me.

- Hialeah, FL, USA

problem #12

Jun 182013

Cobalt

  • miles
The steering is to hard to turn...it have a power steering light on car, ,,and the check engine is on... the speedometer does not work either and doesn't wana shift to any gear...any inf. Or help to solve this problems..... made in usa...

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #11

Nov 192012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 137,000 miles
First off 10,000 miles after my warranty ended the clutch went on this car. Since then I have had to replace the clutch 3 more times, replace the transmission and then rebuild the transmission. Whoever at Chevy decided to use atf in a manual transmission care due to their own design flaw of a smaller whole thereby creating synchos which were not properly lubricated should be shot. So here we are again for annual transmission maintenance..ie: The clutch went out again. This time we changed it and since all the frame bolts were stripped out from the "licensed mechanic" who did it the last 3 times, we had to take it out the top. Next came the new starter that had to be put in and now it is all back together, all fuses checked out ok, the battery is ok, the starter checks out of, but....the car will not start. Dash lights indicate that there is a power steering issue and I am out of gas, both of which are incorrect so something is wrong and I am out of ideas as to what on this stupid car that I never should have purchased and will never purchase again because it is junk!!

- Palmyra, WI, USA

problem #10

Dec 072012

Cobalt

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the key became lodged in the ignition switch and she was unable to shift gears since the shifter failed to move. The contact mentioned that the failure prevented her from turning off the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 90,000.

- St Petersburg , FL, USA

problem #9

Mar 042012

Cobalt

  • miles
Car will not turn off, key goes to acc then wont turn any farther. I have to push the shifter button before it will release the key.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #8

Sep 282012

Cobalt

  • 151,000 miles
Battery died in car, had to jump the car. Car started fine, steering seemed to be a little tight. After a few minutes of driving the tightness in the steering went away. However upon arriving at home the key would not come out of the ignition, and the shifter would shift into any gear easily without having to press in the shifter button. Also in attempts to remove the key the steering wheel is now locked all the way to the right with the wheels locked in the right position. Was able to remove key from ignition by locating the emergency key release switch under the steering column but car will not start now as key wont turn all the way, and shifter still shifts into any gear without having to press the shifter button. Car was parked front first against building so I have no idea how I will get it towed out of there to a shop to fix it! I suspect the shifter cable assembly at the end of the shifter which is made out of plastic is broken. Will verify when its taken apart. I have seen at least 50 other cases on the internet where this piece breaks and causes the car not to register it being in park and will not release key from ignition. GM recalled certain years for shifter problems but not the 2007 unfortunately!

- Logansport, IN, USA

problem #7

Sep 212011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 52,200 miles
Purchased vehicle brand new in 2007 and no problems till now. 22 year old daughter driving vehicle, she is a college student. She drives in major city daily and driving home from school gauge cluster went crazy and power steering went out. Scaring her, she parked the car in a church lot and I sent the car to a dealer the next day. I had found on the internet that there was a recall on the power steering assist motor and informed the dealership of such when the work was to be done. They replaced the motor under the recall but also charged me $780 to replace the steering column which they said was bad. I have found 1000 + complaints on the internet of people saying their steering columns were supposedly bad as well with 1 person having theirs replaced 3 times now. She picked the car up and 2 weeks later the same thing occurs again. The dealership looks at it for 4 days and claim they can't find anything wrong so do nothing but investigate. They claim the codes were erased on the computer because we drove it after the fault but the car was parked and immediately hauled to the dealer on a flatbed truck. As I said before there are well over 1,000 complaints on the internet that I have found myself so I am sure there are a lot more. As soon as I can afford it this car will be put in town square with a big lemon sign on it and she will be driving something other than GM.

- Vevay, IN, USA

problem #6

Jul 122011

Cobalt

  • 100,000 miles
When coming to a stop, the car will accelerate on its own. It does this at random times, today at stop sign the car speedometer accelerated to 80 mph and car shut down while at a complete stop. No codes to read nor did check engine light come on.

- Woodsfield, OH, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?