Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007 Cobalt inherited most of the problems from the 2005 and 2006 model years, but toned them down (a bit). Sure, the power steering still fails and the car has a chance of going up in flames due to a cracked fuel tank, but it’s not as prevalent as the older models. At least not yet.

In 2012, the Cobalt was recalled for gas tank fires but only for owners in certain states.

Then in 2014, the 2007 Cobalt was part of a massive GM recall due to a defective ignition switch that could cause the airbags to not deploy during an accident. The problem led to 13 deaths, government investigations and multiple class-action lawsuits.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
55 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
46 / 3
Average Mileage:
56,550 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 9 of 28)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #397

Dec 112011

Cobalt

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving approximately 50 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated and the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The contact shut off and restarted the vehicle, and the power steering functioned normally. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostics or repairs. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- North Miami Beach, FL, USA

problem #396

Oct 292011

Cobalt

  • 111,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the power steering assist failed intermittently and caused the steering to become hard to turn. The power steering warning light illuminated while the failure occurred. The dealer performed a diagnostic but was unable to locate a failure code. The dealer also test drove the vehicle and was unable to duplicate the failure. The dealer replaced the power steering motor but the failure was not corrected. The VIN was not available. The failure and the current mileage was 111,000.

- Wendell , ID, USA

problem #395

May 012011

Cobalt

  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the vehicle would hesitate to start. Also, the vehicle would lunge forward when driving at any speed and the steering wheel would become stiff when attempting a turn. A local mechanic diagnosed that the fuel injector was defective. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 81,000 and the current mileage was 92,600.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #394

Oct 222011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My husband bought his car Nov.6, 2008 and since that we didn't have a problem anything but that one window on the right of the back seat won't move. Anyway, on Oct.22, 2011, my husband was coming home from work when the power steering went off, thank god he made it safe to our home. On Monday, he made the appointment to the dealer place for the recall we kept on putting off. So the following morning, Tuesday, the dealer replaced the electric power steering. The car was working fine that whole day. The next morning, the car won't do anything at all. The un/lock button won't work as if there's no power and the car won't start.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #393

Sep 212011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 52,200 miles
Purchased vehicle brand new in 2007 and no problems till now. 22 year old daughter driving vehicle, she is a college student. She drives in major city daily and driving home from school gauge cluster went crazy and power steering went out. Scaring her, she parked the car in a church lot and I sent the car to a dealer the next day. I had found on the internet that there was a recall on the power steering assist motor and informed the dealership of such when the work was to be done. They replaced the motor under the recall but also charged me $780 to replace the steering column which they said was bad. I have found 1000 + complaints on the internet of people saying their steering columns were supposedly bad as well with 1 person having theirs replaced 3 times now. She picked the car up and 2 weeks later the same thing occurs again. The dealership looks at it for 4 days and claim they can't find anything wrong so do nothing but investigate. They claim the codes were erased on the computer because we drove it after the fault but the car was parked and immediately hauled to the dealer on a flatbed truck. As I said before there are well over 1,000 complaints on the internet that I have found myself so I am sure there are a lot more. As soon as I can afford it this car will be put in town square with a big lemon sign on it and she will be driving something other than GM.

- Vevay, IN, USA

problem #392

Dec 292010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated the front suspension caused the two front tires to be worn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed an alignment but the vehicle continued to pull to the left. The manufacturer was notified and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 15,000 and the current mileage was 26,000. Updated 03/23/12 the consumer stated the power steering, brakes and gas tank needed to replaced.updated 04/09/12

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #391

Sep 182011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was driving interstate about 60mph when steering went out on the Cobalt. Beeping sound alarmed and power steering started to flash on the dash board.

- Hickory, NC, USA

problem #390

Sep 182011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
Was driving interstate about 60mph when a beep sounded and steering light went on then the power steering went out on the car.

- Hickory, NC, USA

problem #389

Jul 212011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
2007 Chevy Cobalt front control arm bushings. Started reading on internet all the people who has failures. This need to be looked into. Know stuff wears out. But think that GM may have a defective part. Many complaints fall into 20K to 40K miles product should last longer than that.

- Batavia, IL, USA

problem #388

Jul 052011

Cobalt

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated while driving 5 mph and trying to make a left turn the steering column failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who informed her that they had to replace the steering column and there were no related recalls; therefore, she had to pay the repair cost. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #387

Jul 052011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was pulling out of a dairy queen when the car veered into the left lane. Out of my control. Was very difficult maneuvering turns. The power steering recall was replaced but now they are saying the steering column needs replaced. Another $800. I have a infant so I am terrified to drive it at all.

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #386

Jun 222011

Cobalt

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the power steering would fail and make it difficult to maneuver the steering wheel. Sporadically, the power steering warning light would illuminate. The vehicle was not inspected by the dealer nor repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000.

- Rusting, LA, USA

problem #385

Jun 282007

Cobalt

  • 55,000 miles
I own a 2007 Chevy Cobalt. There is a problem with the front end making the car shimmy and shake upon braking...causes clunking noises and such. I have researched online whether or not other owners of said vehicle have been having this problem as well and it seems to me that this problem is occurring with many owners of this vehicle. Some have spent thousands on repairs and still the problem is there. I have been told by a certified Chevy mechanic that the problem lies in the steering column. Please examine this issue further as I feel it is recall worthy. Thank you for your time regarding this issue as owning a safe reliable vehicle is of utmost importance to me and those I share the road with. Helpful link to where others are making their voices heard on this matter: www.aboutautomobile.com/complaint/2007/Chevrolet/Cobalt/front+suspension again thank you.

- Logan, IA, USA

problem #384

Dec 012010

Cobalt

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the steering wheel was either very stiff or very loose intermittently. The failure recurred at various speeds. The most recent failure resulted in the vehicle crashing into a curb. A police report was not filed and no injuries were reported. The recent failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact also stated the vehicle was repaired for the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 10V073000 (steering:electric power assist system). The failure mileage was 78,000 and the current mileage was 80,000.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #383

May 192011

Cobalt

  • 71,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that when driving, the steering wheel would lock abnormally. The contact had would turn the vehicle off to allow the steering to reset itself. The failure recurred at least twenty times. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired and the manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The current mileage was approximately 72,000. The failure mileage was approximately 71,500.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #382

Jan 212011

Cobalt

  • 61,000 miles
I received my first recall in Oct 2010. They never sent me an appointment to get it fixed. I was traveling 45 mph when there was a loss of power steering. The car spun out of control and hit a bridge. The car was totaled. Allstate claimed it was my fault and they are not paying any of my medical bills or lost wages, and nothing on the car. I had full coverage. Updated 05/12/11

- Murrells Inlet, SC, USA

problem #381

Mar 222011

Cobalt

  • 112,733 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired March 22, 2011 under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V073000 (steering:electric power assist system). After receiving the vehicle back from the dealer, the contact noticed that the steering wheel would not return to the original straight position after being turned and would have to manually turn the wheel. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who stated that the steering shaft would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not further repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The current mileage was 115,197 and the failure mileage was 112,733.

- Geneva, OH, USA

problem #380

Aug 132010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 31,900 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 to 15 mph and making a turn the power steering suddenly became difficult. Once the power steering failed he mentioned that the gauges on the instrumental panel would start to malfunction. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer at least 5 to 6 times and they advised him that the steering column, loose bolts, and brackets all needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired for the stated components listed above. Since his last visit in February of 2011 the failure had recurred. The failure mileage was approximately 31,900. Updated 4/25/11 the front lower control arm and bushings were replaced. Updated 08/03/11

- Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #379

Mar 092011

Cobalt

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph and above, the power steering would fail sporadically making it difficult to turn the steering wheel. She would pull over on a shoulder and restart the vehicle. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic and they advised her that they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 68,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Liverpool, NY, USA

problem #378

Mar 122011

Cobalt

  • 65,520 miles
Steering column is faulty. Causes your steering wheel to tighten or completely lock up when making turns.

- Columbus, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?