Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007 Cobalt inherited most of the problems from the 2005 and 2006 model years, but toned them down (a bit). Sure, the power steering still fails and the car has a chance of going up in flames due to a cracked fuel tank, but it’s not as prevalent as the older models. At least not yet.

In 2012, the Cobalt was recalled for gas tank fires but only for owners in certain states.

Then in 2014, the 2007 Cobalt was part of a massive GM recall due to a defective ignition switch that could cause the airbags to not deploy during an accident. The problem led to 13 deaths, government investigations and multiple class-action lawsuits.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,736 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Nov 102008

Cobalt

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I can not remember the date or mileage of first occurrence. I bought this car in July 2006 new. The main annoyance with this car is the bushings. I have gotten them fixed 3 times since 06, and yet making the noise again when I break which indicates they need to be replaced again. Second annoyance is the radio, I have had my speakers replaced as only the back ones would work. Every winter my speakers go out, one day will be the left front, next day will be front right - they choose when they want to work and when they do not want to, and the other day none of the sound would work! third my RPM's will randomly shoot up while I'm driving, going at a constant speed. Not very happy with this car...

- Streamwood, IL, USA

problem #21

Dec 292010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated the front suspension caused the two front tires to be worn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed an alignment but the vehicle continued to pull to the left. The manufacturer was notified and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 15,000 and the current mileage was 26,000. Updated 03/23/12 the consumer stated the power steering, brakes and gas tank needed to replaced.updated 04/09/12

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #20

May 012007

Cobalt

  • 60,000 miles
Terrible clunking sound in the front end of my 2007 Cobalt. Dealer says its control arm bushings and sway bar links. Personal mechanic confirmed the sway bar links needed to be replaced, but also saw that the arm bushings were in perfect condition and perfectly tight. Replaced links, but noise persists. When trying to find out what to do next I went to the internet where I discovered this seems to be a widespread problem. Help please and investigate so GM can recall the faulty materials.

- Prescott, MN, USA

problem #19

Aug 272011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 68,280 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car would rattle over ever little bump in the road. It felt like my wheels would fall off any minute. I took it to fleet farm automotive to have them take a look at it. My mechanic told me that my 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt, bushings / control arm were damaged and that type of failure could be a very dangerous. They told me that I should look to see if there was a recall because this is not something that should be a concern for this young of a vehicle. I couldn't find one but I did find that a lot of people have the same problem as me. This is a costly repair and could be very dangerous so I wanted to bring it to your attention and would like other consumers to know. Chevy should fix this issue.

- New Richmond, WI, USA

problem #18

Jun 282007

Cobalt

  • 55,000 miles
I own a 2007 Chevy Cobalt. There is a problem with the front end making the car shimmy and shake upon braking...causes clunking noises and such. I have researched online whether or not other owners of said vehicle have been having this problem as well and it seems to me that this problem is occurring with many owners of this vehicle. Some have spent thousands on repairs and still the problem is there. I have been told by a certified Chevy mechanic that the problem lies in the steering column. Please examine this issue further as I feel it is recall worthy. Thank you for your time regarding this issue as owning a safe reliable vehicle is of utmost importance to me and those I share the road with. Helpful link to where others are making their voices heard on this matter: www.aboutautomobile.com/complaint/2007/Chevrolet/Cobalt/front+suspension again thank you.

- Logan, IA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

May 022011

Cobalt

  • miles
I have had to replace the sway bar links, control arm bushing and the shifter in order to get my car inspected this year. Another problem I have is the blinkers not making the clicking sound, they work but I was told I have to replace my front speaker. I feel like that is a lot to go wrong with a vehicle in one year. I also think that these problems shouldn't have happened this early. I only have 57,000 miles on my car. Something should be done with these vehicles seeing how there are many other people having the same problems with their cars.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #16

Apr 132011

Cobalt

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Chevy Cobalt, 60,000 miles. Bushing on driver side was completely missing, busing on passenger side was almost gone. Car would veer to the left, counter steering would cause the car to be very erratic. Was told by Chevy that only the bushing would be covered under warrant, however my mechanic would not replace just the busing as the control arm would be compromised. Replaced parts - only to have the car start acting the same way. On a recent trip upnorth for the holidays, when I reached 60 mph the steering wheel started vibrating and it felt like the wheel was not on securely. My son and I were bounced around inside of the car as if we were swaying back and forth. I was told by our local Chevy dealership that this problem with the bushings is not going to be recalled as it is not a safety issue. I really must disagree, I was very nervous being on the freeway driving 70 mph only to have the car start swaying back and forth. We immediately turned around and drove back home. I will be making an appointment with my local mechanic to see what the issue is, and then will be trading the car in to never own a Chevy again in this lifetime. This is unfortunate as I loved my Cobalt - great gas mileage, perfect size car.....I have noticed through my research that there are hundreds of people who are experiencing this problem. I have never owned a car where major equipment needed to be replaced within 4 years of driving. This is not simply wear and tear, however poor production on the part of Chevy.

- Colgate, WI, USA

problem #15

Oct 012010

Cobalt

  • miles
I own a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt, which I drive like an old lady. It only has 39,997 miles on it, and about 6 months ago, it started making a clunking/rattling noise underneath, by the wheels. We checked under it and nothing appeared loose. It is currently driving ok, but the noise/rattling metal noise is getting much louder, and I took it in to my dealer today. (4/27/11) they told me I need to have my front & rear bushings replaced. I do not drive this car out of town, because I cannot afford to have this repair done, right now. After reading the information on your website from other Cobalt owners, I know that I have the same problem, and am angry that this kind of repair needs to be done this early in my car ownership. This definitely should be a problem that should be investigated and should be a recall item for this Cobalt model. We do not live on bad roads, I do not drive hard, and everyone says this should not be happening on a car that is so new, and has so few miles.

- Waseca, MN, USA

problem #14

Apr 062011

Cobalt

  • 55,400 miles
2007 Chevy Cobalt owner, 55,000 miles, severe clunking noise when going over bumps or applying breaks, diagnosed as control arm bushings (like everyone else) dealership wont replace them saying they are not covered under warranty. Quoted 1200 to repair something that should be covered under warranty.

- Maple Grove, MN, USA

problem #13

Aug 132010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 31,900 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 to 15 mph and making a turn the power steering suddenly became difficult. Once the power steering failed he mentioned that the gauges on the instrumental panel would start to malfunction. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer at least 5 to 6 times and they advised him that the steering column, loose bolts, and brackets all needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired for the stated components listed above. Since his last visit in February of 2011 the failure had recurred. The failure mileage was approximately 31,900. Updated 4/25/11 the front lower control arm and bushings were replaced. Updated 08/03/11

- Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #12

Jan 102011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had control arm replaced about 8 months ago due to bushing needing to be replaced now it needs to be done again I am very worried about this and I dont know about anyone else but I do not have the money to continuously replace these parts there are several other complaint for the same make and model car I would like to know why GM has not been required to fix this problem it is very dangerous.

- Poplar Bluff, MO, USA

problem #11

Mar 012011

Cobalt

  • miles
Complaint against General Motors (GM) for not making necessary repairs on his 2007 Cobalt the consumer stated the lower control bushings need to be replaced.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #10

Feb 102011

Cobalt

  • 30,948 miles
2007 Cobalt Chevrolet. 30,948 milage. Feb 10, 2011. Control arm bushing on both right and left side broken, replaced control arm bushings.

- Rockford , MI, USA

problem #9

May 012010

Cobalt

  • 25,000 miles
Constant control arm bushing replacements in front end; constant swaybar arm linkage replacements - averages about every 6 months.

- Ulysses, PA, USA

problem #8

Oct 312006

Cobalt

  • 369 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact noticed many problems with the vehicle since the date of purchase in October 2006. The contact stated that the alignment was incorrect so the vehicle was taken back to the dealer for alignment immediately. Also, the check engine light, and the air bag light would illuminate intermittently so sensors were replaced by the dealer. The steering column and power steering motor, headliner. Catalytic converter, wheel bearings, struts, and the heating/cooling system were all replaced. The vehicle also stalled completely on an intermittent basis. The contact stated that the problems were consistent. The manufacturer had not been notified. The current mileage was approximately 104,000. The failure mileage was 369.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #7

Aug 272010

Cobalt

  • 51,000 miles
I would like to report a problem with my 2007 Chevy Cobalt lt. The front drivers side feels a very bad vibration when you apply the brakes.

- Summerfield, FL, USA

problem #6

Mar 192010

(reported on)

Cobalt

  • 18,000 miles
2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer states with brake system problems. The consumer stated every time she applied the brakes, the steering wheel would vibrate and there was hesitation when she braked from high to moderate speeds to slow down or to come to a complete stop. Also, aside from that, as she began to drive, the vehicle would pull to the left. The vehicle was inspected several times. All four tires were replaced and a front wheel alignment was performed, but the problem continued.

- Moneta, VA, USA

problem #5

Oct 012009

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 8,200 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the strong arm bushing rod broke twice and was repaired. The contact stated that while having the vehicle repaired for a recall that the arm broke on both sides. The current mileage was 8,200. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 04/01/10 the left and right lower control arm bushing separated and were laying on the frame. Updated 08/18/10

- Niagara Falls, NY, USA

problem #4

Feb 242010

Cobalt

  • 32,000 miles
Steering shakes alot on rough roads and sometimes when applying the break. We brought the car in to the dealer a dozen times. They said they do not know what the problem is. We brought it to different dealers and they said it might be the I-shaft we have not fixed this yet because we are still looking for a for sure answer what it is. My future mother in law has a similar car but different year and has the same problem. The started of the shaking both cars had 32000 miles on them. Since the start both cars has replaced struts, control arm and tie rods. And we are looking to replace them again. What is causing this shaking?

- Menomonie, WI, USA

problem #3

Dec 202009

Cobalt

  • miles
I have had my 2007 Cobalt back to the dealer so many times. One of which was for strut mounts, control arm bushings, intermediate steering shaft, sway bar links, alot water coming in through the center brake light. Those were replaced and very bad at 48K miles they told me it had reached the dangerous level and that they're glad I brought it back before somebody got hurt. Also the ac smelled terrible at 12K miles, it was in the dealer 7 times for that terrible smell. The last of which took them a week to put in an evaporator which only cured the issue for 3 weeks. It still smells awful when the A/C is running. As far as the car's suspension, since December it has been very hard to manage the car on the road. Its all over the place, I've almost side swiped a few semi's and I cross into other lanes almost every day I drive it. Its very hard to handle. Its is just about impossible to make the car go straight, its always drifting all over the road now.

- Black Lick, PA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?