Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,299 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chrysler Town & Country steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Mar 092014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While slowing for a turn my van started making whining noises then the power steering stopped working. Got out and looked and found fluid leaking on the ground. Now theres no power steering.

- Wyoming , MI, USA

problem #22

Dec 062013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 122,000 miles
When I turned the car on the power steering did not work. It has happened before when it is raining outside. I waited a minute and the power steering came back. I drove for about 5 minutes in heavy rain and as I was pulling into the parking lot at about 20 mph my power steering stopped working. I was lucky that I was going so slowly and that I could just pull straight into two parking spots and wait for the power steering to come back. This was the first time the power steering has stopped working while I was driving the car. It was very scary and I am so happy that I was going so slowly. What if it had happened at 60 mph on the highway?

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #21

Sep 022013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 156,420 miles
Power steering hose keep breaking, fluid leaks out when hose breaks. Hard to turn steer wheel when hose broke.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #20

Jan 022012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 63,893 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

January 2nd 2012 replaced hose fluid and clamps by an ase certified mechanic. Van was leaking power steering fluid on the engine and smoking. Mileage 63,893 February 21st 2012 had to add more power steering fluid April 20th 2012 van hose busted again leaving fluid all under the vehicle. We replaced the power steering pump, hose and fluid by an ase certified mechanic. Mileage 66,091 today the van is doing the same thing with a whining of the power steering and sometimes stiffens up when driving and you can smell the fluid burning on the engine. Seems to be worse during colder weather. There is also a popping noise in the frontend when your turning. According to Chrysler my vehicle VIN number is not part of the national recall #04V386000. This vehicle is an ada compliant vehicle and is used to Transport our son who is permanantly in a wheel chair. I believe this van is a danger to our family and should be put on the registry of recalled vehicles for repair.

- Tunnel Hill, GA, USA

problem #19

Dec 132011

Town & Country

  • 92,840 miles
We noticed a noise and feeling like the power steering was binding, then went away. It came and went away, but start to do it more often. In March. When we took in for a oil change, we told them about it, but it would not do it for the service dept. They told us to bring it back when it was doing it. We did and they and they explained the same problems and repairs that was happening.to the 2003 models. I had them do the hose repair to the sum of $218.36. The power steering repair and upper strut bearing would be a total of $962.70. I told them I would get back to them on that problem.that's when I went to this site on the advice of someone, and found out that all these problems are the same as the 2003 town and county when I went back to the dealership and asked why the charged me for the service update. Which they told me about they gave me some vague stupid answer. What are my options for this steering problem. My wife and I are both on ssi., and she is disabled and we really can't afford these kind of repairs. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- West Bend, WI, USA

problem #18

Oct 012011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
When it is raining and below 45 degrees upon starting there is a loud screeching sound the smell of burnt electricity and the power steering does not work. The van must be turned off and restarted to reengage the power steering. On 2 occasions the steering stayed out for about 15 minutes. Have taken vehicle to Chrysler/Dodge/Jeep dealership and they can not re enact the problem. Have looked on forums and talked with other owners this is not just my issue. Fear one day I will be driving and loose it.

- Mayfield Village, OH, USA

problem #17

Dec 202010

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 147,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering fails when car is backed up and turned to the left. When pulling forward the power steering is not functioning. Placing the car in neutral and revving the engine seems to correct the problem. Car has 147000+ miles on it.

- Stt. George, UT, USA

problem #16

Jan 042009

Town & Country

  • 111,450 miles
I bought this 2002 mini-van in January from my sister. She took meticulous care of it. So when I found my steering failing, I never thought it was an issue with the steering. I thought it was the power steering. I blew a power steering hose one day after weeks of smelling something burning. Got that fixed and then found the steering column was still locking up, not letting me turn the car, running over the curb because I could not steer it. And I can still smell something out of the ordinary, it almost smells like anti-freeze. Not sure what it is. It usually happened when I first started the car and did not let it warm up for a long period of time. Now it will do it when I am driving.it has happened at least 10 times in the last month. I am getting annoyed with this. I have had it to the garage 2 times now and they can not replicate what happens and now I feel like they think I am a nut case because they say, there is nothing wrong. We can not find a problem with it. I carry 5-6 children in my car at any given time and I find this to be very dangerous.

- Rochester, NH, USA

problem #15

Jun 222008

Town & Country

  • miles
My Town and country has been a lemon from day one. It has had a number of steering problems( is now undrivable as it is leaking and heat shield is down) dealer claims no recall. It has been rusting since before 30,000miles. It now has holes in it and undercarriage rusted out. Chrysler has done nothing for me. Power window mechanisms/motors were inoperational a year ago-at the same time. It shakes. I am afraid to drive it. Paid plenty. Has 68,000M.

- Falconer, NY, USA

problem #14

Oct 012007

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
On my 2002 Chrysler Town & Country with 38,000 miles, the rack and pinion began leaking in Oct 2007. The internal 'falling apart' of the rack caused a clog of the steering pumps screen filter which caused a loud whining noise when turning the wheel. In April 2008, both the rack & pinion and the power steering reservoir needed to be replaced to fix the leak and the whining noise: Parts - $320, labor - $900.

- Arnold, MD, USA

problem #13

Jan 102008

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My power steering is beginning to go out again after having to have the hoses replaced for a 2nd time. I believe the hoses are really defective and they haven't been corrected yet!

- Goldsboro, NC, USA

problem #12

Sep 112006

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
- the contact called regarding a 2002 Chrysler Town & Country. The contact stated he took the vehicle to a dealer for recall repairs on the power steering hoses. Once the recall work was done the vehicle started vibrating and making a humming noise. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer, and the vehicle was diagnosed as needing a new power steering rack. The contact informed the dealer that he did not have any problems with the vehicle until the recall work was performed. The dealer refused to replace the power steering rack at no charge. The failure mileage was 90000, and the current mileage was 97000. The power steering hose was replaced

- Richwood, NJ, USA

problem #11

Dec 022005

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
I am receiving the exact same issue as a complaint I found on your site #10065581, I am being forced to pay $300+ for the same repair. If I had known about this issue in 2002 when the tsb was issue I would have fixed it then while I was under warranty. Why do I have to pay for this repair, when it is a known design/manufacturing issue? I also found a investigation performed by the usdot, number PE 03-012, which looks like they were supposed to contact me. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks, ted make: Chrysler model: Town and country type: Multipurpose passenger vehicle year: 2002 complaint number: 10065581 summary: I just started having this steering problem/shuddering and I did some research and found the following: 5- 'technical service bulletins' on this website. If this has been a problem since Dec 2001, why was I not notified by Aug 2003 to have the issue fixed (while I was still within my 36,000 mile warranty). When I called the dealer, they said I would have to pay for service/fix. My question is the following: Why should I have to pay for a hose that is too short/long when it was manufactured this way. The bulletins all reflect the 'steering shudder. Thank you for a response. Sandra.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #10

Oct 142004

Town & Country

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The air bag light continued to stay on. The consumer was concerned that the air bag will not deploy upon impact. Please provide additional information. Sensor light comes on at any speed but mostly when turning the steering wheel.

- Calabash, NC, USA

problem #9

Oct 122004

Town & Country 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While steering the vehicle left or right a loud noise was heard coming from the front. The vehicle vibrated uncontrollably. The mechanic was unable to duplicate the problem.

- Sunnyside, NY, USA

problem #8

Aug 252003

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles
The power steering produced a grinding sound when turning to the left or the right. (power steering pump) three pumps had been installed in the vehicle, the rack and pinion was replaced once, the hoses had been replaced twice and the air bag light was a problem and was repaired.

- Sparta, GA, USA

problem #7

Apr 032004

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I just started having this steering problem/shuddering and I did some research and found the following: 5- 'technical service bulletins' on this website. If this has been a problem since Dec 2001, why was I not notified by Aug 2003 to have the issue fixed (while I was still within my 36,000 mile warranty). When I called the dealer, they said I would have to pay for service/fix. My question is the following: Why should I have to pay for a hose that is too short/long when it was manufactured this way. The bulletins all reflect the 'steering shudder.thank you for a response. Sandra.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #6

Apr 032003

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
Steering wheel has a very loud popping and whining sound even after power steering hoses were replaced it is worse since hoses were replaced.

- Bean Station, TN, USA

problem #5

Jul 012003

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,137 miles
My 2002 Town & Country has been in the shop 5/6 times for rear abnormal noise and excessive steering noise.

- Auburn, ME, USA

problem #4

Oct 222003

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,137 miles
Steering noise is abnormally loud. Authorized service (Chrysler ) has had 5 cracks at trying to fix the problem. Is still under warranty and I have tried to enact the lemon law.Chrysler had their final repair attempt and keep the vehicle for more repairs.

- Auburn, ME, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?