Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,792 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler Town & Country brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments

problem #20

Mar 012010

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


When purchased in 2009 the vehicle had a just under 36000 miles on it and needed the electronic lock/unlock mechanism replaced on the passenger rear door. At ~40000 we had to replace the rotors and brake pads. We bought ceramic brakes with life time warranty. Vehicle returned to the service station 4 times in the next 6 months for squealing/grinding brakes. Each time they had to shave the rotors because they were warped. We were told this was a default with T&cs. We again need new rotors. The awful grinding noise when braking is horrific. Late 2010 the air bag light started randomly going off and on when turning the wheel. Though I am registered at I never received recall information but have recently found there was a recall for this exact thing. Now, at just turned 64000 miles we need a new engine because of a rod. Yet again we were told by two different service stations that this was an issue with these vehicles. Frustrating does not even begin to describe what we are going through now. 1 parent out of work for a year and 4 children to support which requires a vehicle to drive to work since the area does not believe in mass public transit outside of riding a minimum of 4 buses to go 20 miles.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #19

Jun 142011

Town & Country 8-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
Loss of braking after driving through about 6 inches of water. Brakes must be pumped to temporarily restore braking. Dealer replaced master cylinder but problem continues after heavy snows or rain.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #18

Apr 152011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 99,600 miles
Chrysler Town and country touring van has 99,000 miles and ordered new grilled and slotted rotors along with ceramic brake pad for front brakes. This is the 5th time in five years I had to replace warped rotors and pads. Told by autozone rep that all Chrysler vans and Jeep have inferior brake design causing unusual and excessive wear.

- Ansonia, CT, USA

problem #17

Apr 082011

Town & Country

  • 45,300 miles


I bought my Chrysler tc new and within 2 years and only 20, 248 miles my brakes are gone. Chrysler said it was my heavy foot. Now 2 years later brakes are out again and I only have 45,300 miles on this car and it isn't my foot. Chrysler has a brake problem. Going down the highway I press the brakes and there is this growling noise.

- Ft. Worth, TX, USA

problem #16

May 232010

Town & Country

  • 20,000 miles
The front passenger brake failed at 20,000 miles. It suddenly started squealing and then like metal on metal when brakes were applied. On 5/23/10 we put two new brake pads (ceramic $58.56) on the front. After about 8 weeks the brakes started pulsing when I braked. On 9/3/10 I went to a Chrysler garage and on 9/10/10 they turned both front rotors for $ $125. Sensor light was on for ABS, at the same time they replaced both rear brake sensors $478.20. Also garage had a "silent" recall to replace 2 front airbag sensors wit "improved parts". if I had not gone back to a Chrysler garage I wouldn't have known about the airbag sensor recall. Total $562.04, for a van that had 21,698 miles at that time. My 36 month warranty was up July 2010 and wouldn't cover brakes anyway. This report is for documentation purposes and because two months earlier I would have still been under warranty for the brake sensors. Not happy.

- Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA

problem #15

Nov 092010

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
06 Town and country same problem with brakes! back brakes seize up take to dealer, they tried to get drum off for almost 3 hours put wheel back on sent us on way. Brakes pulse when applied...didn't do that before....replaced brake drums, and the broken brake cylinder... still throbs replaced all again....guess what still throbs...they didn't throb before I took it to dealer....see other people have same issue what has happened to customer service instead of excuses?

- Brunswick, OH, USA

problem #14

Dec 222010

Town & Country

  • miles


2006 towne & country. On 12/16/2010, came into the landmark Dodge & Chrysler dealership service dept. Afterwork for a routine oil change. I had a coupon which offered tire rotation and safety inspection. The next day while driving to work I noticed my car didn't seem to stop normally. The next few days it became more and more difficult to get the vehicle to stop and the safety of my family and me grew intensely. On the evening of 12/2210 driving home from the mall the vehicle would not stop. It kept moving forward even as I pumped the brake pedal to the floor. I had to drive home with flashers on at less than 10mph and then had the car towed into the dealership. Aaa driver said the van had no braking system. The car was too dangerous to drive. The dealership reported my 2006 towne & country van had oil in the brake system and the braking system had to be totally overhauled with a master cylinder, front and rear brake shoe pads, flush, and rotors due to containments. They quoted a cost of approximately $2700. I refused to pay a bill for a vehicle they messed up. I had no prior problems with my brakes or braking system before the oil change on 12/16/10. I have routinely had my van serviced consistently this year and since the purchase date. I want my vehicle fixed correctly and the matter resolved expeditiously.

- Ellenwood, GA, USA

problem #13

Feb 242010

Town & Country

  • 60,000 miles
2006 Chrysler Town and country 60,000 miles brake failure, air in the brake fluid, causing brakes to become inoperable. Front caliper rebuilt, brakes bled, good for a couple weeks then it happened again.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #12

May 072007

Town & Country

  • 36,100 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Town and country. While driving 5 mph the front brakes started to grind whenever the brakes were applied. The contact has taken the vehicle to the dealer four times in the past two years to have the front brakes replaced. The dealer informed the contact that the braking system was too small for the vehicle which caused the front brakes to wear faster. The dealer also replaced the clock spring in the air bag since the air bag light stayed on continuously. The contact is concerned about the risk safety risk. The failure mileage was 36,100.

- Villa Rica, GA, USA

problem #11

Aug 222008

Town & Country

  • 16,382 miles
I purchased a 2006 Chrysler T/C mini van since I have bought it I have had numerous problems with the brakes they even locked up on the highway once I took it to the dealer and there response was unable to reproduce problem had front brakes replaced, caliper, disc ect.had a cross bar that holds the wheel break off was told by dealer it was a design flaw since I've had this car I keep telling the dealer that I believe it to have problems with the front end including the brakes in Jan 2010 I took my car to midas to have the brakes done there I was told that it was the 3 car to be brought in for the same reason when they inspected the car they noticed that the front end or the rack and pinion is leaking and has been for some total since 11/2006 that I took delivery of the car I have paid close to if not over $3000 due to front end problems please check into this because as I said before the cars brakes locked up on the highway once before the sad thing is the warranty is gone and I believe this car to have been a lemon. But know that there have been so many problems with different cars maybe someone will listen and have this brand also checked.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #10

Dec 152009

Town & Country

  • 20,000 miles


The only events leading up to the failure is cold and wet weather. The failure is that after my van has set for maybe a day or two, and I get into it to drive, the rear wheels are locked up/frozen solid. This has occurred twice: In Jan of 07 with 20,000 miles and Dec. 09 with 63,000. The first time the wheels froze up the brakes were replaced. I was told there was a gap allowing water to get into the brakes and freezing them up. Luckily the warranty paid for this repair but the gap was not covered. This time the dealership wants us to cover all costs. They said that moisture got into the brake system through the same gap and rusted the brakes out again to cause it to freeze up this time. This is the exact same problem as before, the service department has informed me of this. But they refuse to help because it is now out of warranty.

- Canton, MO, USA

problem #9

May 232009

Town & Country

  • 37,000 miles
Funny that there's someone out there with same brake problem as us. Car started pulsating so we changed rotors and brakes. Rotors were warped changed brakes too even though there was a ton of brake pads left. About one month later driving down turnpike car started vibrating severely at first we thought it was the road, when we smelled burning we pulled over. Could find nothing wrong, we drove very slowly and as we went down exit brakes went to floor. Pumped brakes came back slowly, parked car for event we went to. After event checked master cylinder and it was fine had vehicle checked and it's fine now. No explanation, but there were 7 of us in car that included 4 of my grandkids, this could've been a disaster and no one would have known why because it corrected itself. Very scary! kids were very nervous had to put them and our daughter in another car. Almost missed great nieces baptism. If a member of my family were in an accident and died I might be suspicious that this could've happened to them.

- Brunswick, OH, USA

problem #8

Oct 082009

Town & Country

  • miles
We purchased our van new with 20 miles on it. I noticed shaking a little when braking. We took it back to the Chrysler dealer for them to tell us we needed new brakes and rotors. They did replace them at no cost because it was so new, but the only explanation was that sometimes this happens when shipping. They get warped we were told.a year later we had the same problem. I was told that these vans are known for this. I had to replace the brake pads, rotors resurfaced and the rear brakes cleaned and adjusted. It cost us $260. No explanation why at 22140 miles! we are now at 33421 miles and once again having the same problem not even a year later. This time the pads were gone it was metal on metal and we were told the brake line had collapsed and would have to be replaced. This is now going to cost $360. I'm afraid to ask what's next. This is a death trap. The only warning I had was a little bit of shaking when braking at high speeds. No other warning! I think I'll stick to the foreign cars we've bought in the past. That's why Chrysler is bankrupt. This is the second american car we've had with nothing, but problems. The other one we lemon law!

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #7

Aug 072009

Town & Country

  • 22,045 miles
I bought a 2006 Town and country LX in May 17, 2006. Shortly after a year I had to replace my brakes, not only my pads were gone but the rotor was damaged and I never even got a warning, than April 2008 I had to replace my power steering bracket. In May 2009 again my brakes and rotors were gone. June 1st 2009 my van died. I had to buy a new battery. July 29 my driver side mirror fell down. And now August 7 my front A/C wont work but the back does.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #6

Nov 122008

Town & Country

  • miles
Replaced my 2006 T&C front brakes with machine rotors at 29,400 miles(15 months). Now one year later at 44,000 miles I have a honing noise in left rear wheel. Took to dealer and service tech says front rotors warped need replacing and need new pads too. Also need rear brakes too! this appears to be a common defect in T&C minivans. My history of other cars I own shows normal 2-2/ 1/2 years before requiring new brakes.

- Ansonia, CT, USA

problem #5

Jun 152007

Town & Country

  • 18,000 miles
I was driving to work when I started noticing that my front brakes were grinding and squeaking very loudly. I took the vehicle to my usual mechanic to have it looked at and found that my pads were gone, metal to metal with the rotors. There was only 18, 000 miles on the car at the time and failure of the brakes was premature. My mechanic was shocked that a virtually new car had such severe brake erosion. I never had an indicator to let me know that the brakes were going bad. Front and rear brakes were replaced and the front rotors were replaced. A total of $600. About a year later at 38,000 miles the same thing happened all over again within six months of having the brakes checked by my mechanic and he said the brakes looked like new.

- Somerset, NJ, USA

problem #4

Jun 252008

Town & Country

  • 41,000 miles
Hoping brake pedal warped rotor, every ten thousand miles rotors need to be replaced or resurfaced. Resurfaced at 20,000, replaced at 30,000, resurface 41,000. I have owned 5 Chrysler vans and only needed brake service after 30,000 miles this van is two years old and has three brake jobs.

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #3

Mar 172008

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Town and country. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle suddenly swerved to the left and the contact could not control the vehicle. He applied the brakes, but the vehicle continued to swerve. The vehicle did not respond to the braking system. He slid off the paved road and into a dirt road, causing the vehicle to slow down and gradually stop. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they stated that the front control arm on the driver side wheel was detached. The vehicle is currently at the dealer, but has not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 24,000.

- League City, TX, USA

problem #2

Aug 222007

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15 miles
No ABS installed on my van. Chrysler says was optional. Didn't know to ask. Have been in one collision where I believe had I not hit another vehicle I would have ended up in a worse collision with a railroad track. Another incident occured at a stop sign. Thank god nothing was coming in the other directions.

- Kingsport, TN, USA

problem #1

Aug 172006

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,400 miles
: the contact stated the had excessive brake dust on all four wheel rims. There were no previous brake failures. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer who determined the brake dust on the rims was brake material that simply flaked off with normal wear. The manufacturer was alerted.

- Plymouth, MN, USA

Not what you are looking for?