Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,344 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 55 of 55)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #12

Apr 282008

Town & Country

  • 20 miles


1. safety defect in the wireless ignition module (ignition) in 2008 Town & Country (touring model). Vehicle will run but most electrical components will not work, including turn signals, windows, remote mirrors, lights, horn seat, door locks, window locks, clock, ac radio and wipers. The result of the defect includes inability to safely operate the vehicle once in motion. Driver is not necessarily aware of the problem until they go to use the horn, lights, or turn signal. Chrysler denied the existence of the problem until I made them come to my home during an episode. 2. defective fuel pump. Vehicle idles extremely high and the entire vehicle vibrates violently. Chrysler replaced the fuel pump yet the safety defect continues. Chrysler denied rearing or feeling the vibration until a Chrysler factory rep was called to thomasville in response to a state of Georgia office of Consumer Affairs lemon law claim. Chrysler replace the pump yet the safety defect continues. 3. severe grinding/scraping noise coming from the rear tenter of the vehicle. To-date, Chrysler denies the noise and has not repaired the problem. I fee the issue os one of a possible fire hazard due to its proximity to the fuel system and unknown defect in the fuel pump.

- Thomasville, GA, USA

problem #11

Feb 062009

Town & Country

  • 9,750 miles
My new 2008 Chrysler Town & Country stalled out while cruising along (50-60mph) on the verazzanno bridge in New York. Resulting in vehicle damage.

- Huntington, NY, USA

problem #10

Jan 252009

Town & Country

  • 75 miles
2008 Chrysler Town & Country does not start. From Thursday 01/22/2009 to Monday 01/26/2009, this occurred on three occasions. It was verified the battery was holding a charge, the second time, the battery was replaced. We have owned this vehicle for 3 days and it is in the shop for the third time.

- Slinger, WI, USA

problem #9

May 292008

Town & Country

  • miles


My gig system, inclusive of radio, navigation, hands free (bluetooth) phone, rear back-up camera, and video system, continues to lock-up, re-boot itself, and generally creates unsafe driving conditions due to its inability to properly function. The system has been replaced twice, but the issues continue. There are several technical service bulletins regarding this problem. Chrysler agreed to a collateral exchange of the vehicle in August 2008, but is now refusing to follow through (many other problems also exist with the vehicle like the power sliding doors don't properly shut and open by themselves, transmission issues, radiator issues, etc.)

- San Clemente, CA, USA

problem #8

Apr 082008

Town & Country

  • 3,402 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town & Country. While driving various speeds, all of the warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. In addition, the headlights failed and the sliding door spontaneously opened. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer on several occasions and they replaced the entire wiring system, the totally integrated power module, and the win module. As of December 8, 2008, all of the remedies have been unsuccessful in repairing the failures. The failure mileage was 3,402 and current mileage was 8,700.

- Trinity, FL, USA

problem #7

Oct 102008

Town & Country

  • 16,785 miles
Keyless remote (peanut) would not open vehicle; needed to use 'emergency key' to access vehicle; was able to start vehicle with peanut key. Changed battery, still does not function properly. Within one week, second keyless remote had same problem. Dealer repaired one peanut and ordered one new peanut. Within 2 hours of "repair" remote has same problem, again. Returned to dealership, got new remote that had been ordered, and another new remote was ordered. At this time we are waiting for second new remote. Service manager has treated us very well and compensated us, at least partially, for well over 500 miles of trips to/from dealership.

- Crooked River Ranch, OR, USA

problem #6

May 012008

Town & Country

  • 82 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town & Country. The first day the vehicle was driven the instrumental panel failed. Thereafter, the instrumental panel works intermittently. On October 4, 2008, the power windows and doors failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer a total of three times for the failures. No parts were replaced. On October 21, 2008, while driving 55 mph, a vehicle suddenly merged into traffic without warning. The contact was unable to give warning because the horn failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The manufacturer took a report and stated that they would call the dealer. The failure mileage was 82 and current mileage was 7,000.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #5

Feb 182008

Town & Country

  • 190 miles
2008 Chrysler Town & Country touring van, bought in January of 2008. Since I bought the van the radio had to be replaced twice, the dvd player and monitors had to be replace, and the back shock or strut leaked all the fluid out on my garage floor. The sliding doors both operate when they want, they will start to close and then just reopen, if you try to close they don't want to, the back hatch has done the same thing. The driver's window had to be fix twice because it wouldn't open or close and they told me it was the sound barrier that had fallen off of the door and it need to be reattached. The drivers seat has a broken track on it and all of this has been happening since 190 miles and on, now have 10089 miles on the van and still having problems with the sliding doors.

- Portage, IN, USA

problem #4

Aug 132008

Town & Country

  • 5,028 miles
I purchased a 2008 Chrysler Town and country in may had no problems with the vehicle until August 13th 2008 while driving down the road the vehicle just shut down and lost all power steering and brakes (all control of the electrical abilities). I had it towed to the dealer ship it would not stay running. They said that the computer needed to be reset and I was good. Well I went to leave with my children and I had no fan for the A/C I took it back up to the mechanic and it just started working again, they said that sometimes it just has to register with the computer and I went to the store. Went to leave and the A/C wasn't working again went to the dealer couldn't figure out what went wrong ordered a part then it magically started working again. So I took my children home and the next time we left to go to the store I was driving on the interstate going 70 mph and the car just shut down again losing all control of the car electrical abilities. It is a very dangerous occurrence and the dealership doesn't seem to be a bit concerned that my family could have been in a serious accident due to the car failures.

- Rivesville, WV, USA

problem #3

Nov 242007

Town & Country

  • 350 miles
1. electrical failure and motor problems. 2.several times while driving. Doors, windows, seatbelts will not unlock.. doors open while vehicle is moving. Goes into reverse while driving down mountains. 3.taken to dealership nine (9) times for same problems not able to fix. 3. (related vehicle information: Model year=2008, make=Chrysler, model=Town and country).

- Tannersville, VA, USA

problem #2

May 012008

Town & Country

  • 25,000 miles
Electrical failure the car dealer cant find the problem it is a town country 2008 they have changed many modules wiring alternator starter and cant find what's the causing the problem basically the problem is sometimes it starts the engine and sometimes it just doesn't start. The chief tech at the dealer is everardo ramirez rodriguez please contact him in regards of detailed information.

- Piedras Negra, Coahuila, 00, USA

problem #1

Jun 082008

Town & Country

  • 11,000 miles
We have had nothing but problems since we bought this vehicle in September 2007. First, the doors reopen by themselves - that took 8 trips to the service department before it was finally fixed in May 2008. Another issue that has not been resolved is that the starter sticks when you start the vehicle. This is an occasional problem and difficult for the service department to duplicate. Yesterday, June 8, the van completely lost power while I was driving. I lost all power steering, brakes, lights - everything! I have taken it to the dealer and they can't figure it out and DaimlerChrysler has not been any help. In fact, when I called to inquire about a repurchase of the vehicle - I asked 4 times to speak to a supervisor and then the agent hung up on me when I insisted that I speak with a supervisor! I'm extremely worried about the safety of this vehicle. I will not allow my children to ride in this vehicle again.

- Ft. Hood, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?