Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.8

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,689 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 12 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #191

Jun 062015

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hudson Falls, NY, USA

problem #190

Nov 272014

Town & Country

  • 69,500 miles
My family (including children) were driving on the interstate going through atlanta, ga on vacation heading to another family members house for thanksgiving and all of a sudden my van completely cut off. I lost steering, electrical, everything!!!! luckily I was able to glide over to the side and restart my engine and it seemed as though everything worked correctly for the rest of the vacation. I contacted Chrysler by email inquiring about the recall and of course just got the "I'm sorry we're working on it, but at this time we don't have the parts to fix it." That was only the first incident!!! it happened again around 03/15/15 - same exact problems happened! once again I contacted Chrysler, and I also contacted my dealer, but got the same exact run around!! not a happy person with Chrysler!!!

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #189

Jun 142011

Town & Country

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the ignition failed to shut off the vehicle and the gear shifter was required to be shifted in order to turn the vehicle off. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) however, the parts was unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 21,000.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #188

Jun 042015

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Vernon, CT, USA

problem #187

May 012014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a recall notification under NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). The contact stated that the recall letter was received in 2014. The dealer was immediately contacted and advised that the parts were not available but stated that they would contact her when the parts became available. The contact was never called and one year later, the contact received a second notification for the same recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #186

Jun 052015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed were unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Baldwin, WI, USA

problem #185

Jun 042015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts for the repair were available, but the manufacturer was only sending two repair kits at a time. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the lighting on the instrument panel intermittently failed to illuminate. The failure mileage was 33,000. Updated 7/21/15 the vehicle was repaired on 6/12/2015. Updated 9/22/2015

- St Clair, MI, USA

problem #184

Mar 152015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Dearborn, MI, USA

problem #183

Jun 102014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wadsworth, OH, USA

problem #182

Jun 302014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000(electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Festus, MO, USA

problem #181

May 032015

Town & Country

  • 118,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When exiting my vehicle Sunday, it would not shut off nor would the key come out. I was finally able to turn the engine off but not get the key out. This meant that the acc mode was allowing power to remain on. Because the dealership was closed on Sunday, the power remained on until I could call them Monday morning. I was told to jump the vehicle off and bring it in. When driving to the dealership, I realized the radio no longer was functioning because of the power failure caused by the ignition switch that was not working. They replaced the ignition switch free of charge but will not fix the radio. I am confident it was caused by the failure of the key and the subsequent power drain. All of this was caused by the failure of the ignition switch. I am not a mechanic but a teacher so I may not be using correct terminology. I hope you understand what I am trying to explain. Also, for over a year, I have been corresponding with Chrysler about an issue I have been having with the ignition switch. The same ignition switch that I am speaking of above will (numerous times) become disengaged and shut off. Because of this I never allowed my children to drive it. Chrysler on many occasions told me to "be very careful and take all precautions" because the parts were not available to complete this repair. I know that all of these problems are related.

- Wills Point, TX, USA

problem #180

Jul 142014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Corona, NY, USA

problem #179

Jun 042015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system, air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Grants Pass, OR, USA

problem #178

Jun 302014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number :14V373000(electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 8/10/15

- Garden City , MI, USA

problem #177

May 212015

Town & Country

  • 46,870 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. While driving at 65 mph, the contact noticed a burning odor coming from the rear passenger side of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the wiring harness for the sliding door needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired.the vehicle previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 10V235000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 46,870.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #176

Jun 032014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Carmel, IN, USA

problem #175

Jun 252014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Oxford, OH, USA

problem #174

Jun 022015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated that the parts were not available to schedule a recall repair within a reasonable timeframe. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 08/06/15 updated 8/14/15

- Byrdstown, TN, USA

problem #173

Dec 172014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/16/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired on 6-19-15/. updated 07/23/15

- Holly , MI, USA

problem #172

Jun 012015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system). The part was not available to schedule a recall repair within a reasonable timeframe. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?