Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.8

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,689 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 1 of 21)

problem #411

Oct 132016

Town & Country

  • 135,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I went out and started my van, the wipers turned on automatically so I thought maybe I had turned the handle somehow... so I turned it off and that's when everything went wrong. All the dash lights started flashing and cycling through start up checks and then saying everything is off ABS, airbags etc. The seat was even repositioning itself. I took out my phone and started recording this weird episode that I have never seen before. I bought this van 5 months ago and don't know of its history, but this is not something anyone should have to deal with. 3 days later my wife was driving down the road when this started happening to her, the difference was that she sits closer to steering wheel then I do and the seat was jerking her back and forth while driving and scared her. Thanks dumbasses. I bought this van because I wanted the stow and go seats and side curtain safety along with everything else. My van is a loaded limited edition with most available options. After looking around the internet it seems like the tipm or a loose connection could be the problem and that dealerships are pretty much a waste of time for help on this. Chrysler knows of the issues because it happens across their vehicles and have only fixed certain models. The fact that a cracked shorting wire in the power door or a loose connector could cause all this is to go wrong is just poor engineering. Link to youtube video of incident- https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=cdcovnhrluw

- Wellington, OH, USA

problem #410

Jul 012015

Town & Country

  • miles
Received written notification of wireless ignition node module recall (R03/NHTSA 14V-373) in June 2015. I called freedom Chrysler/Toyota of harrisburg, pa on 7/1/15 to schedule the recall service. The part needed to be ordered. I have called again on 9/18/15, 3/26/16 and 10/10/16. The part is still not available from Chrysler. The dealer explains they are "at Chrysler's mercy." Why is this "important safety recall" taking over 16 months to resolve?

- Harrsiburg, PA, USA

problem #409

Sep 222016

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #408

Aug 012016

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system, ignition switch). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the dealer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Brookville, KY, USA

problem #407

Sep 062011

Town & Country

  • 30,000 miles
Various electrical systems fail while driving and then restore themselves. There are many occurrences of these problems date shown below is the earliest occurrence to the best of our recollection, year is correct): 1. blind spot detection system indicates it has failed as you are driving at highway speeds, then error clears. 2. tire pressure monitor system indicates that it has failed, then after a few minutes is restored and all tire alarms go away. 3. high beams come on when it is still daylight 4. rain sensing wipers are triggered when there is no precipitation

- State College, PA, USA

problem #406

Jul 312016

Town & Country

  • 100,000 miles
After several hours of driving on interstates at the various legal speed limits from Massachusetts to central Pennsylvania, the dashboard warning chime started, and the tire pressure monitor system said that it had failed and then recovered after five minutes. Eventually, the tpm system recovered. This problem has occurred many times over the last two years. The car dealer could not detect any problem.

- State College, PA, USA

problem #405

Jul 282016

Town & Country

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After several hours of driving on interstates at the various legal speed limits from central Pennsylvania to Massachusetts, the dashboard warning chime started, the information display showed that the blind spot detection system was inoperative and then the transmission down shifted to 3 resulting in excessive engine revs. Cruise control was engaged at the time, but the car was not going down a hill. The driver used the +/- shift control to return the car to gear 6. at the same time, the tire pressure monitor system said that it had failed and then recovered after five minutes. Eventually, the tpm system recovered as did the blind spot detection system. All of these problems have happened in the past individually, but on this trip they all happened at once. The car dealer could not detect any problem.

- State College, PA, USA

problem #404

Sep 072016

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #403

Apr 152015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Part distribution disconnect.

- Carl Junction, MO, USA

problem #402

Jun 152016

Town & Country

  • miles
Fuse for this circuit does not blow, the connectors could overheat and module the ABS control

- Carolina, PR, USA

problem #401

Apr 152016

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. After the vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) and while the vehicle was parked with the key out of the ignition, the engine continued to run. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Diboll, TX, USA

problem #400

May 012015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) was received in may of 2015. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Chaffee, MO, USA

problem #399

Jul 222016

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system, air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Lebanon, PA, USA

problem #398

Jun 222016

Town & Country

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. While the vehicle was stationary, the contact turned the ignition key and smoke began to pour out from under the hood. The vehicle would not start and had to be towed. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 90,000.

- Royal Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #397

Jun 152016

Town & Country

  • 8,112 miles
I parked my car in the driveway and turn of F the engine with the ignition key and left the car locked. 2hours later my son came and told me the car was running so I had to go out and unlocke the car and turn off the key again and the engine stopped running. The car was stationary and not moving. It happened on 06/15/2016

- Port Angeles, WA, USA

problem #396

Jun 102014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the dealer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Castle Rock, CO, USA

problem #395

Jun 082016

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #394

Jul 312015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Williston, ND, USA

problem #393

Nov 152015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #392

Nov 032015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect....updated 09/14/16 updated 09/20/16.

- Vineland, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?