Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,440 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 1 of 17)

problem #330

Nov 102016

Town & Country

  • 88,553 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Nov 10, 2016 our 2011 Town & Country had a fuel pump relay failure (relay is internal to the total integrated power module (tipm)). The vehicle was stationary, but if the vehicle had been moving when the relay failed the vehicle motor would have stalled causing a loss of power steering and power brakes. This problem is similar to NHTSA recall no. : 14V-530 and NHTSA recall no. : 15V-115. Please re-investigate Chrysler Town & Country fuel pump relay failures.

- Put In Bay, OH, USA

problem #329

Nov 052016

Town & Country

  • 79,050 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle seized. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the totally integrated power module and the fuel pump relay needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 79,050.

- South Elgin, IL, USA

problem #328

Sep 232016

Town & Country

  • 80,540 miles
Tipm, fuel relay stop working.(highway)

- West Orange, NJ, USA

problem #327

Oct 312016

Town & Country

  • 107,821 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We bought our certified used van in may of 2012. In June of 2012 the alternator had to be replaced, as the battery light came on while driving on the highway. Within the first year of ownership it started having weird quirks: The rear heating system would come on while driving with the temperature controls off, the previously closed windows would be rolled down, and sliding door would be open upon returning to the locked van. In November of 2015 the key fob had become so sensitive to the touch that just a slight bump would make the lock indicator honk sound. We took it into a Chrysler dealership in December of 2015 and a new key fob and and software update stopped the honking, the sliding doors opening and the windows rolling down. The heating system continued to turn on by itself. In July 2016 the van started being hard to start. We had it towed to a garage in Michigan, where we were visiting, and we were told the code was a security issue between the fob and the starter. We drove it to a dealer in Michigan who could not duplicate the problem. Difficulty starting the van started again in October 2016, especially after a cold night. On October 31, 2016, while the van was off in the driveway I heard a noise like a vacuum coming from under the van. When I went to unlock and start the van it was dead. After having the battery replaced, the mechanic friend who replaced it heard the noise and said it sounded like the fuel pump running (while the car was off). The garage we took it to found that we had a faulty totally integrated power module (tipm). Some research has show us that this is a common problem for Jeep/Dodge/Chrysler vehicles that causes airbags to not work because the fuel pump runs constantly. The heating system turning on is also a symptom of this. Why if some Jeep/Dodge/Chrysler vehicles have a recall for this part are they not for all models?

- Rosedale, MD, USA

problem #326

Oct 172016

Town & Country

  • 77,000 miles
The issue began with our van frequently requiring more than one attempt to start the engine. This progressed until we were unable to start the van at all. I feared it was a bad fuel pump and the local dealer came up with the same diagnosis. After a few days we were informed that our van was ready to be picked up. We arrived at the shop the next morning only to find that the car wouldn't even start. Apparently our Town and country had a bad tipm which caused the fuel pump to burn out. Total cost for the tipm, fuel pump, and labor was over $1600.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #325

Sep 252016

Town & Country

  • 91,000 miles
The car has a defective totally integrated power module (tipm). This module has caused the van not to start and the engine has stalled during driving. The module has a fuel pump relay on a ckt board that is defective. The relay also stuck closed and heated up the battery and drained it. The only way to start the vehicle, is to cycle the key multiple times until you here the fuel pump running. The vehicle has been to the dealer many times for the no start problem. This vehicle is an accident waiting to happen, with the engine stalling and the fuel pump shorting the battery. Also another defect is the power sliding doors, the wiring will burn and break. This causes the doors to become stuck open and will not close. When you are on the road with the doors stuck open, this is not safe. The doors need the wiring replaced with a heavy duty wire.

- Fairborn, OH, USA

problem #324

Oct 172016

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2011 Chrysler Town and country rear lift gate opens and closes at will when parked and key in not turned on. I have also noted a few times when the engine has also started up with out using the remote. And in one instance while driving the lcd screen in front of the driver kept jumping from on thing to another.

- Crooksville, OH, USA

problem #323

Sep 082016

Town & Country

  • 47,000 miles
The low tire indicator light keeps coming on. We've had tires checked at sears, where we bought new tires about 2 years ago. Total miles on vehicle is 47,168., so these tires only have @ 20,00. Miles on them. Sometimes the light just stays on, recently was flashing. Someone said it could be the electronic guage systems battery. It comes on shortly after starting the van. We just mostly use on city streets that are paved. A little driving on highways.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #322

Oct 102016

Town & Country

  • 84,000 miles
Car takes 20 minutes of on and off starting till it runs. Turns off while driveing for no apparent reason

- Ville Platte, LA, USA

problem #321

Sep 052016

Town & Country

  • 110,000 miles
Our van has died multiple times, leaving us stranded in multiple places. Finally we gave it to our mechanic two weeks ago and said, "keep it until you can figure out what's going on." This has been going on for two days shy of a full month, in and out of the shop, so it has definitely been a pain (not to mention the money for tows, "fixes" that didn't fix it, troubleshooting, etc.) now that they have finally diagnosed the problem as a defective totally integrated power module, I type it into google and am not even surprised this is something Chrysler town & countries are known for.

- Christiansburg, VA, USA

problem #320

Sep 302016

Town & Country

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start without warning. The contact mentioned that an abnormal sound emitted from the vehicle as if it were going to start. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the totally integrated power module needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000. The VIN was not available.

- Bosque Farms, NM, USA

problem #319

Oct 032016

Town & Country

  • 50,000 miles
Bought the van in 2011 and since then, the vehicle began to having problems starting in 2014. I pressed the start button, but the engine would not turn over. After several hundred tries, it would start. This happened 20 times since then and the dealer does not know why. Today, 4 Oct 16, the vehicle will not start at all. I'm a deployed service member and my wife and three children use this van. The faulty ignition system will leave my family stranded. I researched this and there is a recall for other models with the same tipm system, however, there is not one for the Town and country. There are hundreds of owners experiencing the same problem. Please have Chrysler admit there is a faulty tipm and that this needs to be recalled.

- Shalimar, FL, USA

problem #318

Aug 182016

Town & Country

  • 88,000 miles
I believe my issues started when my battery was dead after being shut off upon my arrival to work, within 3 1/2 hours. Battery was charged and started and made it home. 3 days later, without any notification of an issue through the onboard computer notification system, vehicle would not start. Tries to turn over, and did start after a lot of different efforts about 7-8 times(by fully depressing gas pedal when it would turn over to start and maintain rpms 3-4000 for a minimum of 5-10 seconds) and now will not start at all. After last attempts to start, and vehicle not running, you can still hear the fuel pump operating and smell of gasoline. Battery drain was noticed with 24 hours, and dead with in 2 days. When vehicle had started and able to drive a short distance, it would shut off while driving, or shut off upon stopping for a sign or red light. This is dangerous situation, as I am trying to take my 4 year old daughter and teen age son to school when this happened. I have been without a vehicle for over a month now, as this started 8/18/2016. Have lost work time and put my job in jeopardy, as I am in sales and need my transportation. I do not have the time to be running back and forth to dealers to only find out they know nothing to fix this recurring problem with their Chrysler vehicles, nor the thousands of dollars to spend on them trying to "guess" at what the issue is. Vehicles should be fixed if Chrysler actually knows what will fix it, or buyout the vehicle plus 5+% so people can replace this awful vehicle. In the meantime, GM financial still expects monthly payment on a vehicle that is worthless.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #317

Sep 192016

Town & Country

  • 101,127 miles
Faulty tipm led to fuel pump to not engage and car would not start. Had to have tipm replaced at cost of $1,341.15. At the time the car would not start it was in the driveway however we had previously had it shut down while driving on a city street.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #316

Sep 182016

Town & Country

  • 54,000 miles
Vehicles was parked in driveway went to start vehicle and it will not start, vehicle will turn over and act like it, is not getting fuel. If vehicle sits for some time eventually it will start 3-4 times and then issue will occur again. Vehicle started with no problem the previous day, problem occurred without any warning, no check engine light displayed on dash. When vehicle is off fuel pump can be heard still running with ignition off and battery has to be disconnected in order to stop fuel pump from running and not drain battery. Battery is brand new, fuses have been checked and are in good condition. In researching online I have found others to have the same issue but have not seen any recall. Was able to fiind possible temporary fix by using a fuel pump relay bypass but have not tried this option.. I have called and spoken to be Chrysler service department and have been told that it here is no recall and all I can do is have car towed to them and let them check it out. I would think with recall they have done on Jeep and Dodge protects there would be something they can tell. Same issue has occurred with the Dodge Caravan which is basically the Chrysler town N country. Please help!!!!!!!!!

- Land O Lakes, FL, USA

problem #315

Aug 012016

Town & Country

  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. While the vehicle was stationary, the power locks malfunctioned. The contact was not able to unlock the vehicle from the inside or the outside. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 76,000.

- Parkersburg, WV, USA

problem #314

May 012016

Town & Country

  • 104,000 miles
The vehicle at times will not start. You put the key in the ignition and turn to start and get nothing. It is not a battery problem. If the car sits, it will eventually start. Sometimes sitting 5 mins works, other times about an hour. We have tried replacing the battery, starter and Chrysler recommended a software update but it still happens. We will have it towed to dealership but by the time it gets there, it starts. It did duplicate the problem once at dealer but they have been unable to diagnose it. Previous Chrysler models have had recalls on ignition but they state this year does not. They have been unable to diagnosis problem but have seen problem does occur. Usually happens after driving the car on errands and then trying to start after sitting for about an hour. This has been going on for months and still can't diagnosis it.

- Mechanicville, NY, USA

problem #313

Aug 282016

Town & Country

  • 37,800 miles
I just started having problems with my electrical system. I can hear electrical crackling noises while the vehicle is running, I have also smelled overheating electrical wires. For months the tire pressure indicator keeps flashing that I have a low tire: Yet every time I have the tire pressure check, the air pressure is the same in each tire. I have taken it to the dealer twice for this problem but they can't find anything wrong: This occurs in both stationary and motion. Yesterday while driving my grandson to school, the dash lights and navigation system went completely black for no known reason, vehicle was in motion. I accidently discovered that if I quickly turn the windshield wipers on and then off the dash and navigation lights come on. Vehicle only has 37,000 miles and I feel this is the beginning of of some major safety issues in the future and the warranty is expired. I have had the rear stow and go seat replaced because the seat would not go into the standard position, nor would it go into the stowed position. The seat would just go up and down at will. Finally after calling Chrysler and 3 trips to the dealer, they replaced the entire seat. But it still acts up ocassionaly. At this point, I have not been out any money for repairs but I am beginning to fear driving the vehicle. I never know if the lights are going to suddenly decide to go dark with driving at night, or if the rear seats are going to start going up and down.

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #312

Aug 082016

Town & Country

  • 42,000 miles
Van air bag light comes on and off, even after I paid $267 to fix it. Also van will not start, just makes a thud sound or cranks but does not start until 4-5 tries or after a few minutes.had to dealer 5 times.also cannot pass inspection because computer chip blank.and van died 8/8/2016 and was towed to shop and found battery completely drained and needed a new battery.was charged $385.20 for diagnostics and new battery. Something is not right. I have read of thousands of Chrysler owners with same problems and Chrysler will not acknowledge the problems.main cause, bad tipm.

- Wall, NJ, USA

problem #311

Jun 012015

Town & Country

  • 45,000 miles
Since buying van in 2011, windshield wipers turn on intermittently when there is no rain in sight. June 2015 bought a new battery after I was unable to start the car. Seemed to fix issue. April 2016 as I was driving through neighborhood going 25 mph car stalled. Went to the dealer after researching stalling issue (most posts indicated a tipm issue) but dealer didn't seem to know what I was talking about nor did they care. Within the last month the car has not started a handful of times. Battery was retested and it was fine. Two days ago I went out of town and when I tried to start car it would not start (it flashed lights and blinkers went off). Tried starting it remotely with key and that made the alarm go off for several minutes. Ended up having to turn off radio and A/C before van decided to start. I have 3 kids to tow around and no longer feel safe in my car!

- Dothan, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?