Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
30,818 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 1 of 16)

problem #318

Aug 182016

Town & Country

  • 88,000 miles


I believe my issues started when my battery was dead after being shut off upon my arrival to work, within 3 1/2 hours. Battery was charged and started and made it home. 3 days later, without any notification of an issue through the onboard computer notification system, vehicle would not start. Tries to turn over, and did start after a lot of different efforts about 7-8 times(by fully depressing gas pedal when it would turn over to start and maintain rpms 3-4000 for a minimum of 5-10 seconds) and now will not start at all. After last attempts to start, and vehicle not running, you can still hear the fuel pump operating and smell of gasoline. Battery drain was noticed with 24 hours, and dead with in 2 days. When vehicle had started and able to drive a short distance, it would shut off while driving, or shut off upon stopping for a sign or red light. This is dangerous situation, as I am trying to take my 4 year old daughter and teen age son to school when this happened. I have been without a vehicle for over a month now, as this started 8/18/2016. Have lost work time and put my job in jeopardy, as I am in sales and need my transportation. I do not have the time to be running back and forth to dealers to only find out they know nothing to fix this recurring problem with their Chrysler vehicles, nor the thousands of dollars to spend on them trying to "guess" at what the issue is. Vehicles should be fixed if Chrysler actually knows what will fix it, or buyout the vehicle plus 5+% so people can replace this awful vehicle. In the meantime, GM financial still expects monthly payment on a vehicle that is worthless.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #317

Sep 192016

Town & Country

  • 101,127 miles
Faulty tipm led to fuel pump to not engage and car would not start. Had to have tipm replaced at cost of $1,341.15. At the time the car would not start it was in the driveway however we had previously had it shut down while driving on a city street.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #316

Sep 182016

Town & Country

  • 54,000 miles
Vehicles was parked in driveway went to start vehicle and it will not start, vehicle will turn over and act like it, is not getting fuel. If vehicle sits for some time eventually it will start 3-4 times and then issue will occur again. Vehicle started with no problem the previous day, problem occurred without any warning, no check engine light displayed on dash. When vehicle is off fuel pump can be heard still running with ignition off and battery has to be disconnected in order to stop fuel pump from running and not drain battery. Battery is brand new, fuses have been checked and are in good condition. In researching online I have found others to have the same issue but have not seen any recall. Was able to fiind possible temporary fix by using a fuel pump relay bypass but have not tried this option.. I have called and spoken to be Chrysler service department and have been told that it here is no recall and all I can do is have car towed to them and let them check it out. I would think with recall they have done on Jeep and Dodge protects there would be something they can tell. Same issue has occurred with the Dodge Caravan which is basically the Chrysler town N country. Please help!!!!!!!!!

- Land O Lakes, FL, USA

problem #315

Aug 012016

Town & Country

  • 76,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. While the vehicle was stationary, the power locks malfunctioned. The contact was not able to unlock the vehicle from the inside or the outside. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 76,000.

- Parkersburg, WV, USA

problem #314

May 012016

Town & Country

  • 104,000 miles
The vehicle at times will not start. You put the key in the ignition and turn to start and get nothing. It is not a battery problem. If the car sits, it will eventually start. Sometimes sitting 5 mins works, other times about an hour. We have tried replacing the battery, starter and Chrysler recommended a software update but it still happens. We will have it towed to dealership but by the time it gets there, it starts. It did duplicate the problem once at dealer but they have been unable to diagnose it. Previous Chrysler models have had recalls on ignition but they state this year does not. They have been unable to diagnosis problem but have seen problem does occur. Usually happens after driving the car on errands and then trying to start after sitting for about an hour. This has been going on for months and still can't diagnosis it.

- Mechanicville, NY, USA

problem #313

Aug 282016

Town & Country

  • 37,800 miles
I just started having problems with my electrical system. I can hear electrical crackling noises while the vehicle is running, I have also smelled overheating electrical wires. For months the tire pressure indicator keeps flashing that I have a low tire: Yet every time I have the tire pressure check, the air pressure is the same in each tire. I have taken it to the dealer twice for this problem but they can't find anything wrong: This occurs in both stationary and motion. Yesterday while driving my grandson to school, the dash lights and navigation system went completely black for no known reason, vehicle was in motion. I accidently discovered that if I quickly turn the windshield wipers on and then off the dash and navigation lights come on. Vehicle only has 37,000 miles and I feel this is the beginning of of some major safety issues in the future and the warranty is expired. I have had the rear stow and go seat replaced because the seat would not go into the standard position, nor would it go into the stowed position. The seat would just go up and down at will. Finally after calling Chrysler and 3 trips to the dealer, they replaced the entire seat. But it still acts up ocassionaly. At this point, I have not been out any money for repairs but I am beginning to fear driving the vehicle. I never know if the lights are going to suddenly decide to go dark with driving at night, or if the rear seats are going to start going up and down.

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #312

Aug 082016

Town & Country

  • 42,000 miles


Van air bag light comes on and off, even after I paid $267 to fix it. Also van will not start, just makes a thud sound or cranks but does not start until 4-5 tries or after a few minutes.had to dealer 5 times.also cannot pass inspection because computer chip blank.and van died 8/8/2016 and was towed to shop and found battery completely drained and needed a new battery.was charged $385.20 for diagnostics and new battery. Something is not right. I have read of thousands of Chrysler owners with same problems and Chrysler will not acknowledge the problems.main cause, bad tipm.

- Wall, NJ, USA

problem #311

Jun 012015

Town & Country

  • 45,000 miles
Since buying van in 2011, windshield wipers turn on intermittently when there is no rain in sight. June 2015 bought a new battery after I was unable to start the car. Seemed to fix issue. April 2016 as I was driving through neighborhood going 25 mph car stalled. Went to the dealer after researching stalling issue (most posts indicated a tipm issue) but dealer didn't seem to know what I was talking about nor did they care. Within the last month the car has not started a handful of times. Battery was retested and it was fine. Two days ago I went out of town and when I tried to start car it would not start (it flashed lights and blinkers went off). Tried starting it remotely with key and that made the alarm go off for several minutes. Ended up having to turn off radio and A/C before van decided to start. I have 3 kids to tow around and no longer feel safe in my car!

- Dothan, AL, USA

problem #310

Mar 232015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #309

Jul 211016

Town & Country

  • 107,208 miles
It was running fine no warring lights nothing was coming up but out of no where it started stalling and would crank and it still will not crank but when it wants and I got it cracked up one day and took my kid to the doctor and it shut off on me wile driving but ya it has trouble cranking and it is stalling and shuts off wile driving very unsafe I am now scared to put my kids in it to ride. Please hlep

- Carrollton, GA, USA

problem #308

Jul 182016

Town & Country

  • 82,000 miles


Electrical system malfunction. The back up sensors do not work, the safety backup video does not work, it says my tires have 0 pressure, it will not start after being shut off. Tipm problem? way too many people have complaints about the vehicles electric system related to the fuel system and engine not starting. This is clearly enough evidence to warrant a tipm recall. If you know what the problem is exactly, could you let me know because we are trying to find a solution.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #307

Jul 212016

Town & Country

  • 53,000 miles
Sitting still car will not start, however when you remove key fob from dash and put back ini it may start, had to garage they replaced battery and starter still doing it Chrysler said they don't know whats wrong had to garage 4 times no codes just had it towed to Chrysler got back still wont start some times only 53000 miles

- Mc Kees Rocks, PA, USA

problem #306

Jul 212016

Town & Country

  • 71,000 miles
7/21/2016 car started fine this morning went into store and would not start. Tried turning key about 8 times and then gave up for a minute or two. I tried again and it started. This happened about 1 month before while in my driveway. Same thing, I tried about 8 / 9 times then it started. I decided to call dealership today and have it taken in since I have a extended warranty. I also, did some research where a lot of people are saying that it is the tipm. I now noticed some of the other problems I have had with it tie into tipm, my driver window sometimes wont go up or down. The car will just lock even while running locking my keys inside. I can hear electrical things moving and shutting down after the vehicle is turned off, and about 2 weeks ago I was in park with the car running and I heard a loud pop and the whole car shut down. My check engine light also comes on and turns off whenever it feels like it for no apparent reason, I have 71,000 miles. When I bought the car I had to have the left head gasket replaced after having it towed from the ide of the road. I really think I bought a lemon, but will soon find out what the dealership says Tuesday which is the soonest they can get me in, hopefully I don't break down with my kids in it before then

- Garden Prairie, IL, USA

problem #305

Sep 142015

Town & Country

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. While driving at high speeds, the vehicle independently surged forward without warning. In addition, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate intermittently. The contact also stated that the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the contact was informed that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred with additional electrical failures. The contact was informed by an independent mechanic that the tipm failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Ferris, TX, USA

problem #304

Jun 152016

Town & Country

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was coasted to the side of the road. After restarting, the vehicle resumed normally. The failure recurred seven times. The failure also occurred when accelerating from a complete stop. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing on four separate occasions. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure, but stated that the ignition key was faulty. The manufacturer issued NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) for certain 2008-2010 model vehicles. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Trenton, FL, USA

problem #303

Jan 052013

Town & Country

  • 45,000 miles
Blind spot indicator has stopped functioning around 45,500 miles. The cluster periodically chimes that the blind spot indicator system is not available and the indicator lights remain lit. So a safety feature has become a distraction and now is a safety risk. I called the dealer to inquire if this is a known problem and was told to call Chrysler since this failure is "happening left and right." He advised me the repair is roughly $2,800. Failure occurred when the vehicle was 28 months old. And was surprised it has not been recalled yet. I contacted Chrysler.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #302

Jun 112016

Town & Country

  • miles
Have had multiple issues with the electrical system on this van. Went through a stage where it would randomly not crank, seemed dead even though both the battery and alternator were tested by our mechanic and were fine. We finally tried replacing the starter relay in the tipm and that seemed to solve the problem. Now something in the electrical system is randomly draining the battery while the van is off and sitting, the seat belt sensor is not working correctly, constantly shows my seatbelt is unbuckled when it is and the airbag light is on even though all airbags show to be functional according to the dealership. We replaced the battery, as it was time anyway, and again had the alternator tested and it showed to be working perfectly but the issues prevail. We have taken it to multiple mechanics and the dealership and no one can give us a definitive answer. Everything will work fine for a day or two then I can go out to the van after it has been sitting for 2 hours and it will be completely dead, not even enough power for the doors to unlock, I have to pull out the key and manually unlock the door. It has been sitting at the shop for 4 days now, first night they had it hooked to the computer it drained in an hour and they didn't get any substantial data. They slow charged the battery all the way then hooked it back up and it hasn't drained at all since then. They have advised based on forums and contacts that have encountered similar issues that the tipm is the issue and needs to be replaced which is estimated to cost $1300. The mechanic has stated this is a known issue with the tipm and most of them have to be replaced.

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #301

Jun 262016

Town & Country

  • 107,000 miles
Experiencing intermittent electrical problems. The van will crank fine one time and not just a few minutes later. It acts like the battery is dead but it's a brand new battery replaced by the dealer. It has been doing this off and on. The symptoms are a perfect fit for the tipm issues that other Chrysler vehicles have experienced and have been recalled for. It has plenty of voltage and amperage to crank, it just won't. also when it does crank it will stall out, although, not every time. Sometimes it will crank normally and others you need to press the accelerator pedal. This also appears to fit the tipm symptoms exactly. The van has worked perfectly until this issue. This is a design defect that Chrysler should pay to correct in all affected vehicles. The most recent occurrence was the evening of 6/26/16. I drove the vehicle approximately 4 hours earlier and it cranked and operated normally, however, this time it would not crank. The interior lights and A/C fan all appear to operate normally, however, when I tried to crank the van all of the lights flickered but the van does not crank. I do not receive a low batter warning either, because the batter is brand new, replaced by the dealer at the beginning of June 2016. I attempted several more times but the van never did crank. That is why I am here. I am fed up with having to drive a van with an obvious design flaw. I am seeking resolution in the form of the the dealer correcting the defect at the their own cost.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #300

May 122016

Town & Country

  • 63,496 miles
5-12-16 ignition failed could not start car. Ignition replaced @ Chrysler dealership in richmond, va. Haley charged $985.22. Ignition failed again replaced @ Chrysler dealership in bath, NY simmons - rockwell charged $292.04.

- Bath, NY, USA

problem #299

Jun 132015

Town & Country

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town & Country. The contact stated that while driving at 70 mph, the tire pressure warning light indicated that one of the tires had 0 pressure. The failure recurred randomly. The vehicle was taken to dealer where it was diagnosed that the tire pressure monitor failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact also mentioned that on a different occasion the vehicle lost all power. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 92,000.

- Phenix City, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?