Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,709 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Chrysler Town & Country seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments

problem #15

Nov 022016

Town & Country

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My husband was driving down a straight road and all the air bags on the passenger side of the van deployed for no apparent reason. Police came to the scene and made an incident report which notes that there is no damage to the outside of the vehicle and did not find any reason why the air bags should have deployed.

- Suffern, NY, USA

problem #14

May 212016

Town & Country

  • 31,000 miles
While in motion on a highway everything shut down. No spedometer, no tv, no windows, no blinkers, no ac, no brake lights, no headlights. Everything that was electrical was off. The engine was still running. All warning lights were on the dash and it also said no bus,

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #13

May 142016

Town & Country

  • 36,800 miles
The seat belt warning light came while driving the car. I took it to a Chrysler service center and they told me a sensor had gone out and none of the air bags would operate if in an accident. The cost to replace this part will cost me $600

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #12

Feb 252016

Town & Country

  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler Town and country. While driving various speeds, the air bag warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. While driving at various speeds, the oil light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the oil pressure control switch failed. The switch, filter, and oil sending unit were repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V291000 (air bags). The air bag issue had not been diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 41,000.

- Crestview, FL, USA

problem #11

Jan 092016

Town & Country

  • 15,745 miles
Steering wheel controls including the horn and possibly the steering wheel air bag are intermittent. >>so far on three separate occasions while stopped & driving all electrical parts of the steering wheel have just quit for a day or two and then for no reason begin working again. Unfortunately every time it goes dead and we arrange to take it in for service it starts working and the dealer says they can't do anything unless it is completely broken and not intermittent. Since Chrysler minivans have been recalled in the past for this "clock spring" problem, Chrysler should authorize replacement of this known safety defect (no horn or airbag intermittently with out warning) without being required to do so by the government. I guess I could authorize the dealer to replace the known intermittent clock spring at my own expense and then hope that sooner or latter the recall is expanded to include the 2013 model year. Or I can hope it quits long enough to be taken to the dealer with dead electrical parts on the steering wheel before my 36 month/36,000 mile warranty runs out this June. I attempted to turn the wheel while stopped and while driving to both get it working again when not working and also to get it go go dead again at the dealer when it was working but the intermittent problem does no seem to have any pattern of be effected by steering wheel movement. The third time it quite was Saturday night 9 Jan 2016 and began working on Monday 11 Jan 2016 on the way to the dealer.

- Lafayette, LA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #10

Dec 222015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler Town and country. While driving 40 mph, the brake pedal was depressed and failed to stop the vehicle and a crash occurred. The air bags did not deploy and the seat belts did not restrain the contact and passenger. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries to the neck and spine. The passenger sustained injuries to the left shoulder, neck, and implants. Medical attention was required. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000....updated 06/22/16 * bf the consumer also stated he was unsuccessful at getting the recall regarding the rear window switch rectified. He was informed the parts were not available. Updated 06/28/16.

- Smyrna, DE, USA

problem #9

Jan 042016

Town & Country

  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, the air bag warning indicator flashed. The contact also stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer but the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred about twelve times. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 33,000.

- Cadiz, KY, USA

problem #8

Dec 222015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
The contact owned a 2013 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph, the contact crashed into a deer on the front driver side of the vehicle. The brake pedal was depressed but hesitated to stop the vehicle. The seat belt pretensioner failed. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The driver sustained injuries to lower back, neck and legs that required medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 34,000. Updated 02/23/16 the consumer stated there was a second person injured. Updated 02/24/16.

- Smyrna, DE, USA

problem #7

May 012015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,440 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 20 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V291000 (air bags). The vehicle was taken to the dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 56,440.

- Laredo, TX, USA

problem #6

Nov 252014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
Driver and front passenger air bags(seat headrests) exploded and smacked with significant force into the back of driver and front passenger heads causing severe headaches. No accident, no braking, just driving at 50 mph. We have only 18000 miles on our vehicle. When we took it to the local Chrysler dealer, and after they did some research for approximately an 1 1/2 hours, they had no idea what had caused both headrests to explode but they could not just be relocked because they were severely damaged and we could not drive the car. They told us that we would be without our vehicle for at least three weeks. Told us we would have to get a rental car. Please confirm other incidents of this nature and let us know what repairs will be done and if the car will be safe to drive following the repairs.

- Sebring, FL, USA

problem #5

May 302013

Town & Country

  • 17,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated the air bag indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the passenger seat air bag sensor mat needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure continued. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 17,000.

- Mansfield , OH, USA

problem #4

Aug 152014

Town & Country

  • 42,543 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated while driving various speeds, the driver side air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The problem recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken the dealer. The technician diagnosed that there were two wires touching which caused the seat belt and air bag warning light to malfunction. As a result, the wires needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 42,543.

- Mcveytown, PA, USA

problem #3

May 152014

Town & Country

  • 15,400 miles
Van was struck on the passenger's side front door and front of the vehicle (T-bone) by a sports car traveling more than 40mph, ant the side curtain air bags did not deploy.

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #2

Sep 202013

Town & Country

  • 8,700 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, another vehicle unexpectedly traveled into the same lane and crashed into the front end of the vehicle. The contact's vehicle swerved off the road, into a ditch and then went airborne. The vehicle landed on the roof of the second vehicle that was involved in crash. The air bags failed to deploy during the impact. A police report was filed. The contact and front seat passenger suffered from severe injuries to the knees, arms and spine. The vehicle was destroyed. The vehicle was towed to a collision center. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. There was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 13V291000 (air bags) and the contact's VIN was included in the recall, however the vehicle had not been previously serviced. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 8,700.

- Largo, FL, USA

problem #1

Jul 272013

Town & Country

  • 10,000 miles
Rented a minivan from avis at slc airport late July 2013. On the highway immediately after leaving the airport my knee bumped the mass of keyring objects and turned the engine off as I was just getting up to 60mph. I noticed the vehicle slowing down and determined I had accidentally shut it down. It would not start. I shifted to neutral and restarted the engine, shifted back to drive. Only one of the 5 passengers even noticed the slowdown. Under different circumstances this could have resulted in an accident. If it is the practice of rental companies to bind keys like this the problem could be widespread and may have resulted in an accident already, thus this report. Given my experience I believe the practice of binding all the keys and other plastic doo-dahs with a stiff wire cable to be an accident in the waiting. In my case the seat was a little forward and I moved it back a couple of inches to avoid having the keys dance on my knee as we drove. At a stop I cut the wire ring and put all the extras in the glove compartment and continued the trip with a single fob-key. The keys: I was given set of keys bound by a wire cable. Two fobs, two spare keys (normally inserted in the fobs), three plastic add-ons (one held a paper slip identifying the vehicle, one avis call number and one macys loyalty card) I have no issues with the vehicle as it worked fine, nor with the rental company as their service was also fine. I do take issue with the practice of binding the keys with a wire cable that must be cut (leather-man tool in my case) to drive safely. I suspect most renters will not have a tool handy nor risk the wrath of the renter in cutting the wire cable. Note I took a few pictures of the key ring and objects should it be useful. To avis credit they were happy to have all the keys returned and were not concerned I'd cut the cable.

- Dunedin, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?