Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: With questionable safety ratings, a faulty power control module (PCM) and a rear subframe that can rust out, the first model year Escape is known for problems. But the worst one of all? A design flaw that carried through multiple model years and caused dangerous unintended acceleration.

A lack of clearance between the engine cover and the speed control cable connector meant the throttle could get stick open when the accelerator was fully depressed. Following a petition from the Center for Auto Safety, NHTSA opened an investigation and eventually issued a recall to fix the sticky throttles in the 2001–2004 model years.

Even with the throttles fixed, the 2001 model year could still have trouble stopping due to multiple problems with leaking brakes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 3
Average Mileage:
75,332 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Escape miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

May 202010

Escape

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Despite numerous calls to Ford, I still receive recall notices on this vehicle, however it was a cash for clunkers vehicle. I participated in this program and the vehicle was permanently disabled back in 2009/2010.

- Howard City, MI, USA

problem #31

Oct 102012

Escape

  • 100,000 miles
The two passenger side doors will not open from the outside. You can open the doors from the inside but the handles on the outside no longer function to open the doors. In addition the rear hatch has a mind of its own. Most of the time the hatch can be opened even when the car is locked and on occasion the hatch will not open for a couple of days. It is a mystery as to when it is going to do this. I could open the hatch and an hour later not be able to open it at all. Because of this anyone can gain access to my car at any time if they so chose. When I called Ford in 2015 they told me I am not part of any recall.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #30

Jul 052015

Escape

  • 265,000 miles
We opened the hatch window and the glass popped out into my husbands hands. The door ajar kept ringing because the glass wasn't in place. Since the same thing happened to my husbands 2001 Escape in May 2015 we knew that parts were available, however expensive. The body shop that we took the vehicle to advised us to check if there were any outstanding recalls for this since it seems strange for both vehicles to have the same problem. The window hatch isn't something that we generally use so it isn't from over use.

- Halifax, PA, USA

problem #29

May 122015

Escape

  • 55 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle make clunk noise when shift gear in drive/reverse vehicle steering shaken/making squeeky noise

- Wyandanch , NY, USA

problem #28

Jan 242015

Escape

  • miles
Crash

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #27

Jan 242015

Escape

  • miles
Crash

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #26

Jan 242015

Escape

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Crash

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #25

Jul 042014

Escape

  • 1,420,000 miles
On my 2001 Ford Escape my driver side rear door I put child safety on worked fine next day went to open door and would not open so we took door panel off tried doing everything possible even sprayed with WD40 did not work we think it the lock mechanism in between door and body.my name is [xxx] how do I go about fixing this I have 2 young children I need to be able to uses all the doors my contact number is [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Eden, VT, USA

problem #24

Sep 132013

Escape

  • 106,000 miles
I have a 2001 Ford Escape XLT and just recently my vehicle would not exceeded 20mph while driving on an even road and would not exceeded 5-10mph on a small hill. I had the vehicle taken in to be evaluated and am told that two of the catalytic converters are bad and need to be replaced. I did some research and have noticed that many 2001 Escape owners are experiencing the same issue. Is there anything that the Ford Motor Company can do to rectify this situation. I have had my vehicle since June 17, 2011 and till now have been very satisfied with the vehicle but I am not sure what I am going to do.

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #23

Mar 042008

Escape

  • 88,000 miles
This vehicle was involved in a fatal one-car crash on I-96 on March 4, 2008. The accident was reported as loss of control at a high speed, and at the time, there was no suspicion of a mechanical issue. Then in late July 2012, the recall notice for the Ford Escape with V-6 engines, model years 2001-2004, was made public (recall no. 12S37). We now have concern that this accident may have been precipitated by a vehicle malfunction. We have no evidence to this; however, the vehicle that was declared 'totaled' is still on the road and has since been in another accident. We feel obligated to bring this matter to the attention of the NHTSA, and ask that you look into this matter for the safety of others..

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #22

Mar 042008

Escape

  • 88,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This vehicle was involved in a fatal one-car crash on I-96 on March 4, 2008. The accident was reported as loss of control at a high speed, and at the time, there was no suspicion of a mechanical issue. Then in late July 2012, the recall notice for the Ford Escape with V-6 engines, model years 2001-2004, was made public (recall no. 12S37). We now have concern that this accident may have been precipitated by a vehicle malfunction. We have no evidence to this; however, the vehicle that was declared 'totaled' is still on the road and has since been in another accident. We feel obligated to bring this matter to the attention of the NHTSA, and ask that you look into this matter for the safety of others..

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #21

Mar 042008

Escape

  • 88,000 miles
This vehicle was involved in a fatal one-car crash on I-96 on March 4, 2008. The accident was reported as loss of control at a high speed, and at the time, there was no suspicion of a mechanical issue. Then in late July 2012, the recall notice for the Ford Escape with V-6 engines, model years 2001-2004, was made public (recall no. 12S37). We now have concern that this accident may have been precipitated by a vehicle malfunction. We have no evidence to this; however, the vehicle that was declared 'totaled' is still on the road and has since been in another accident. We feel obligated to bring this matter to the attention of the NHTSA, and ask that you look into this matter for the safety of others..

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #20

Jun 072012

Escape

  • 178,635 miles
On June 7, 2012, I was severely injured in a vehicle accident as a result of the gear shift malfunction in my 2001 Ford Escape. As I put my vehicle in reverse to back out of a parking space, then into drive, the gear shift broke off, completely separating from the steering column. I was in shock after realizing I was actually holding the gear shift in my hand and it wasn't attached to anything. I tried screwing the "stick" back in its place and putting the vehicle in park. Distraught, I got out of the vehicle to ask for help. But no one was around. While reentering the vehicle, it began to roll backward. My left foot slipped off the running board and I was dragged on the pavement until the vehicle hit the curb. Upon impact, I lost my grip on the steering wheel and fell on my back to the ground. The driver's side front tire rolled onto my left leg at the knee pinning me under the vehicle. Emergency teams were summoned after my cries for help were heard. The fire department used the "jaws of life" to free me from under the vehicle. A splint was applied to my left leg. I was transported by ambulance to the emergency room for treatment. Unable to walk, I was also given crutches upon leaving the hospital, treated by an orthopaedic surgeon and underwent physical therapy. On June 8, 2012, my Escape was accepted at the Ford dealership for repair. The service representative reported that the plastic part on the gear shift connecting a cable to the transmission had broken. In the past, I reported "popping noise in the steering" and "squeaking when turning wheel." At that time, the "gear assembly steering" was replaced. The popping noise in the steering column happened again shortly before the gear shift separated from the steering column on June 7, 2012.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #19

Jul 142005

Escape

  • miles
2005 gas pedal acceleration accident in 2001 Ford Escape. Upon starting car it accelerated by itself, and I could not get it to stop. It sped up to at least 40mph with a mind of its own. I crashed into a brick wall and it took the jaws of life to tear open the car to get me out. I am totally disabled now with a severely shattered foot and ankle. I have a metal plate in my leg now.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #18

Sep 152003

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
My wife's Escape has paint peeling off the hood. You are able to see stages of peel from small darken crack marks to exposed primer. I took it to the dealership where it was purchased and they said that since the warranty expired they will only pay 70 % of the cost to repair it. When the body shop manager evaluated the problem he stated that the the finish is coming off and it looks like it may be a factory problem. I do not think I should have to pay for something that is of no fault of ours.

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #17

Nov 152001

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,949 miles
I've only had this car for two years and it died twice while driving on the road. One time on October 19, 2002 and another time on September 12, 2003. This car has also have problems with the sensors and PCM module.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #16

Apr 082004

(reported on)

Escape

  • miles
Consumer's cousin is the owner of 2001 Ford Escape which has a recall. Since the cousin is in iraq, consumer requested an extension to have recall performed. (deneen leban on balf of cousin brian leban).

- Kenner, LA, USA

problem #15

Apr 052004

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On my 2001 Ford Escape the paint is coming off the roof racks in several places. Also the paint is bubbling on the hood in several places. The wiper arms don't seem to be holding the paint and it's starting to look faded and rusty. The car is kept in a garage except at work.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #14

Mar 292003

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving down a town street, we heard a pop on the left hand side of the vehicle. Within seconds steering became difficult, a strong vibration and loud reving sound persisted. Thinking we had a transmission problem we had the vehicle towed to the dealership where it sat for three days. They insisted there was no problem with the vehicle. My husband insisted they look harder and they found the motor mount had broken. While it is repaired under warranty, it is our third defect in a vehicle we have owned for a short time.

- Wind Gap, PA, USA

problem #13

Jul 082002

Escape

  • miles
Vehicle has on 2 occasions shut off while driving. Without warning, the engine, battery, and oil lights come on at the same time and vehicle immediatelty shuts itself off. Vehicle has been to the dealership after both occurrences. The iac, dpfe, and fuel pump relay were all replaced and my vehicle's PCM was reprogrammed. None of these "fixes" have solved the problem. Although the technician working on the vehicle and the shop foreman have made every effort to assist me with the problem, the cause of the problem has yet to be determined. The manufacturer is aware of this problem with this particular vehicle, but cannot explain what is wrong or how to repair it. I do not feel safe driving my Escape knowing that it could shut itself off at any time without warning in the middle of a busy road.

- Germantown, MD, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?