If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

9.2

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,319.00
Average Mileage:
100,188 miles
Total Complaints:
63 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace power steering column (23 reports)
  2. not sure (22 reports)
  3. shut down engine and restart (13 reports)
  4. replace torque sensor (5 reports)
2008 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #63

Mar 272015

Escape 2.3L I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 124,335 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I've been a Ford guy my whole life. However, due to my last two “NEW” purchases of a 02 F250 (problems, problems and more problems) and 08 Escape, that is changing my mind about Fords. The Escape has had two transmission put in it. Ford knows they have a problem with the CD4E tranny and the valve body but won't do anything about it. The straw that broke the Ford guys back was the power steering failure. Wife was coming home from checking on her mom when she stopped to fill up with gas. Restarted piece of sh*t (Escape) and no power steering.

I've searched the internet and found lots of similar problem and complaints... but no recall. Going to take to Ford today for repairs. I’m hoping to trade off another piece of sh*t soon for a Toyota. I’m disgusted with all three American auto makers and the governments handling of their bail outs. Toyota, please bail me out of American junk.

- , Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #62

Jul 082014

Escape Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles

The recall was a joke. My power steering just went out on me in Feb 2014. Recall came out in May, had to pay to tow my car to the Ford dealership but the recall didn't cover towing costs. Had to wait into July because "Ford is waiting on the company to tell them the fix". Once the "fix" was in, only certain codes displayed on their computer check, Ford would then pay. If your car didn't give the right code it was the "owners responsible". So I had to pay for a new steering column.

Ford totally screwed their customers.

- , Goldsboro, NC, USA

problem #61

Feb 022015

Escape ES 3.2lV6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,739 miles

Last September I took it to the dealer for the reprogram on the computer. In February the steering wheel started shaking back & forth. As time goes by, the problem is getting worse. The power steering fails now & then. You can hear noise coming from the steering wheel. Yesterday I drove it to the dealer with a very hard to turn steering wheel. I feel Ford should have a major RECALL on this problem.

- , Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

problem #60

Mar 032015

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought truck 10/2014. 1/16/15 power steering fails. Dealer reprograms sensor under recall. 2/27/15 it fails again. Dealer replaces sensor and has mercy on me and doesn't charge me, from what I've read, $1000. Tells me it's "not morally right" that Ford considers their "job done" if the code says it only needs to be reprogrammed and that the next fail is not their liability. And this wasn't even the dealer that I bought the vehicle from. Definitely my lucky day.

But this concept of reprogramming being considered a fix and that's that is not morally right. I do not consider this Class Action recall a win at all. Who settled this bogus case?!

- , Middlesex, NY, USA

problem #59

Feb 022015

Escape EXL V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles

My car is only 6 years old and Ford is not trying to realize this problem. I repeatedly go to Ford about the situation, their comment to me is " it's because it's a women driver". I couldn't believe it when they told me that, they left me speechless without words. I'm so done with Ford and their cars.

- , Jamaica, NY, USA

problem #58

Jan 152015

Escape XLT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles

Ford reprogrammed computer, was suppose to fix problem. Driving vehicle and power steering assist failure occurred. When this happened, jerked arms, caused pacemaker and defibrillator to pull and shift causing pain. Ford Company is refusing to fix. Sent a complaint to National Recall also.

- , Poca, WV, USA

problem #57

Jan 302015

Escape LX 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,625 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought used in July and immediately heard noise in front end. Had diagnosed coming from steering column. Told by dealer there was recall coming out to fix that problem and was safe to drive. Recall was done in August they just re-programed . 5 months later power steering went out. Had to replace steering column and we were responsible for the cost ($958.85). Told by Ford once it was reprogrammed their liability ended, even though it didn't prevent problem that recall was issued for! This is bull** in my opinion! Luckily the steering didn't go out while going down the highway.

- , Jackson, MI, USA

problem #56

Jan 252015

Escape XLT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,813 miles

2008 Ford Escape with 110,472 and No prior Power Steering Assist problems, was taken to Century Ford Mt. Airy, MD for the Ford Recall 14S05. Dealer installed the Ford recommended software update. 200 miles later, the power steering failed while driving and almost hit another car while turning.

Took car to Ted Britt Ford for repair. They replaced power steering module but immediately the power steering would not work and pulled the car to the far right, locking it into that position. Ford would not pay for the repair and said this was not covered under the recall. Cost to fix was $1,500 for new steering column.

I've submitted a formal complaint to Ford, NHTSA, FTC, Dept. of Transportation. This recall does not fix the power steering issues and in many cases, causes cars like mine that had no prior steering issues, to fail AFTER Ford completed the so called recall work. Ford Corp. would not pay for the repair.

Update from Apr 11, 2015: Sent letter to Dept. of Transportation, FTC and Senator Warner in Feb. 2015:

Ms. Jennifer Timian Chief, Recall Management Division Office of Defects Investigations/Enforcement U.S. Dept. of Transportation / NHTSA 1200 New Jersey Avenue SE Washington, DC 20590

RE: NHTSA Campaign #14V-284 -- Ford Recall #14S05

Dear Ms. Timian,

I respectfully request that the NHTSA and the Department of Transportation revisit the Ford Recall 14S05 for the power steering safety issue.

In my case and in thousands of other similar cases, Ford completed the required “software” update for the power steering safety issue when I had no prior issues with my power steering. About 200 miles later, the system warned me of the pending power steering failure while I was driving my car and making a left turn. The steering system failed while turning about 30 seconds after the warning. Luckily I avoid hitting another car due the force I had to use to turn and straighten the vehicle.

The Ford recall only covered the software update and I was required to pay Ted Britt Ford approximately $1,500.00 to replace the power steering column, which is the vast majority of the cost to fix this safety issue. My 2008 Ford Escape VIN# is: 1FMCU03168KE77338 and my Ford Case numbers are: CAS5893995 & CAS5877050.

I believe it is clear that the power steering system involved with this recall was poorly designed and manufactured and is unsafe to drive. It appears that many of the models with this steering system begin to fail at 35,000-100,000 miles with many failing right after the “software” update was completed.

If only 10% of the Escape 2008-2011 owners covered under this recall like myself are required by Ford to pay for the replacement of the unsafe steering column system, this would equal $112,500,000.00 and at 50% would be half a Trillion dollars. Now that car manufactures are building more complex and self-contained systems, it is no longer a simple $50-$100 repair to replace one of the parts. The consumer must now pay to have an entire new self-contained system installed to the tune of thousands of dollars.

Therefore, the various governmental agencies involved should reevaluate the terms, conditions and validity of this recall to ensure the consumer is not unfairly paying to fix Ford’s power steering safety problem.

I hope this does not turn out to be a similar recall issue with unnecessary death and injury due to the delays in identifying the complete power steering assist defect and safety issues as General Motors and its owners have been going through with the defective ignition switches.

As part of the reevaluation of this recall, the following questions should be asked: 1) how many cars under this recall have been repaired and how many required the consumer to pay for all or part of the repairs associated with this recall?, 2) of the cars with no prior power steering fault codes or issues that then had the recall software “updates” completed, how many then shortly after had complete steering failure and, of this group, how many customers were forced to pay for all or some of the required repairs costing them thousands of dollar each?

I am hopeful that the NHTSA is not allowing automobile manufactures to build unsafe cars that have severe safety issues with the only stipulation or requirement being that the car must notify the driver prior to a critical safety system failure, putting the responsibility, burden and cost on the car owner to quickly pull off the road, if possible, call a tow truck and then write a check in the amount of $1,500.00+ to fix the defective and unsafe part(s).

Please let me know if the NHTSA will revisit and re-investigate this safety issue to insure the automobile owners are not being put at risk and being held responsible to fix this Ford safety issue at their cost.

Sincerely, Charles E. Hunter, III

Update from Apr 11, 2015: Sent copies of this letter to: cc: - Anthony Foxx, Secretary of Transportation, US Department of Transportation, 1200 New Jersey Ave, SE Washington, DC 20590 - Consumer Reports, Marta Tellado, President, 101 Truman Ave, Yonkers, NY 10703-1057 - Nancy Lewis, Associate Administrator for Enforcement, U.S. Dept. of Transportation / NHTSA 1200 New Jersey Ave S.E., Room W45-306, Washington, D.C. 20590 - Jessica Rich, Director, Federal Trade Commission, Bureau of Consumer Protection, 600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20580 - The Honorable Mark R. Warner, 475 Russell Senate Office Bldg., Washington, DC 20510 - Steve Kenner, Global Director, Ford Automotive Safety Office, Fairlane Plaza South, Suite 400, 330 Town Center Drive, Dearborn, MI 48126-2738

Update from Apr 11, 2015: Contact your Congressman or Senator to have them push the NHTSA to make Ford pay to fix this defect. See update from NHTSA below on new petition filed under NHTSA Action#: DP15001:

Report Date : April 11, 2015 at 12:03 PM NHTSA Action Number : DP15001

NHTSA Action Number : DP15001 NHTSA Recall Campaign Number : N/A Vehicle Make / Model: Model Year(s): FORD / ESCAPE 2008-2011 FORD / ESCAPE HYBRID 2008-2011 MERCURY / MARINER 2008-2011 MERCURY / MARINER HYBRID 2008-2011 Manufacturer(s) : Ford Motor Company Component(s) : STEERING:ELECTRIC POWER ASSIST SYSTEM Date Investigation Opened : April 1, 2015 Date Investigation Closed : Open Summary: On May 27, 2014, amended June 2, 2014, Ford Motor Company (Ford) submitted a Defect Information Report (DIR) to NHTSA describing a safety defect that may result in a sudden loss of power steering assist while driving in approximately 740,878 model year (MY) 2008 through 2011 Ford Escape vehicles equipped with electric power assisted steering (NHTSA 14V-284, Ford 14S05). Ford's DIR describes the defect condition as "a poor signal to noise ratio in the torque sensor within the Electric Power Steering (EPS) system [which] does not allow the PSCM to determine the driver's steering input." When the system detects this fault condition, it transitions the EPS system to the fail-safe/manual steering mode. Ford's DIR indicates that loss of power steering assist while driving would require higher steering effort at lower vehicle speeds, which may result in an increased risk of a crash. Ford's remedy instructs dealers to check the Power Steering Control Module (PSCM) for Diagnostic Trouble Codes (DTCs) to determine the proper repair procedure. If no DTCs are present, dealers will update the PSCM and instrument cluster module software. The updated PSCM software changes the torque sensor fault strategy to no longer remove power steering assist while driving for a single torque sensor fault and provide audible and visual warnings to the driver if a torque sensor fault is detected. If certain loss of steering assist DTCs are present during the initial recall inspection, the dealer will either replace the torque sensor or the PSCM, depending on the DTC present. The Ford remedy is designed to reduce the possibility of a sudden loss of power steering while the vehicle is being driven. Subsequent failures of the EPS torque sensor of PCSM would not result in sudden loss of power steering assist while driving, but would provide audible and visual warnings to the driver that EPS service is required. If the system is not promptly serviced after warning symptoms appear, power assist may not be available upon subsequent key-"ON" vehicle start-up. Ford does not provide assistance for repairs in this circumstance under the safety recall. On February 5, 2015, ODI received a petition "for a Determination of Whether Ford Motor Company ("Ford") Reasonably Met its Obligation to Remedy Recall14S05 regarding certain 2008-[2011] Model Year Escape and Mariner Vehicles" from an owner of a vehicle that experience a torque sensor failure after receiving the remedy for 14V-284 (VOQ 10670665). The petitioner alleges that the software update provided by Ford's recall does not adequately remedy the safety defect and that "the software update itself may in fact cause further issues with the affected vehicle's power steering, causing it to fail, and ultimately requiring replacement of the torque sensor or entire steering column." ODI will evaluate the information provided by the petitioner and make a grant or deny decision.

- , Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #55

Jan 262015

Escape LX 2.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,900 miles

Ford sent a recall on the steering torque sensor in August 2014. I took the car to the dealer to perform the recall. The sensor did not have a bad code, so they did a software update. Five months later the sensor went out. I could not steer my car at all and had it towed to the dealer. I was told that since the software update was done, that Ford would not cover the cost of the repair!

- , Mission Viejo, CA, USA

problem #54

Aug 142014

Escape 3.0L Litre

  • Automatic transmission
  • 180,288 miles

I didn't think it was a major problem then but now it's arm-strong steering and I don't have the money to fix it. I thought it would be easy to fix but apparently there's more to it then that. Is my vehicle one of the recalls? And, can I get it fixed at no cost?

- , Wetaskiwin, Alberta, canada

problem #53

Jan 152015

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We took the vehicle in for the recall and told the guy our power steering had been going in and out and we know it will go out because the steering column "Shimmies". He told us we were not eligible for parts but were eligible for reprogramming of PSC and IC. We got home, turned the car off, went to leave about 5 minutes later, turned the car on and NO power steering and NOW we get a "fault". Before the recall we would be able to turn the car off and then on again and some of the time the power steering would come back. NOW, there is absolutely NO power steering, none of the dealerships nor the headquarters will do anything about it. I consider this negligent homicide. These service people KNOW what's happening, customer service at headquarters is SCRIPTED to deny owners, and the problem is WORSE!

Update from Apr 10, 2015: Since the manager at Royal Oak Ford was having the same problem with his vehicle he understood our problem and was very compassionate so we went there for our service. The Highway Safety Admin asked us to do a total diagnostics on the car. We had to replace the entire steering column due to a short that was in no way under our control. It cost us $1200. The HSA requested we put in a formal complaint.

- , Clinton Township, MI, USA

problem #52

Jan 112015

Escape 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 152,000 miles

Power steering stopped working half way turning through an intersection, almost hit another car but managed to go onto sidewalk and come to a stop. Dash displayed Power Steering Assist Fault. Ford had a recall on these 08 Escapes for this problem so I thought it was covered. When getting in touch with them they had stated they did an update when the recall happened and that it shouldn't have happened because they had updated the computer. This so called "fix" sadly has not fixed many of the Escapes according to what I have been reading. They still break anyways. Sad thing is THEY LEFT ME STUCK HOLDING THE BILL FOR THEIR PROBLEMS. A PROBLEM WHICH RECALLED OVER 914,000 VEHICLES. I WILL NEVER BUY A FORD AGAIN.

- , WARREN, MA, USA

problem #51

Jan 142015

Escape LX 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

Ford had a recall in July. We had it fixed in August but they didn't do a thing because it didn't give the computer a "code". 4 months later power steering went out while driving. Cost us $600. If we had NOT taken it for the recall notice, Ford would have paid to have it towed and fixed but because it was scanned they would not fix it. Ford needs to RECALL the RECALL and FIX the problem regardless what the little scanner says. A safety hazard is big bad business and needs to be fixed.

- , Louisville, KY - Kentucky, USA

problem #50

Nov 122014

Escape XL 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

I have had intermittent failures of the power steering on my 2008 Ford Escape. I learned of Fords recall, so I took the vehicle into Ford. They had it approximately ten minutes and they said the problem was fixed. Less than three weeks went by and I experienced another loss of power steering, so I called Ford and they said it's been fixed. Well about a week after that the power steering completely failed no power at all and it says power steering fault in the information center on the dash. I called Ford and they said the problem was fixed. Would anybody say they fixed the problem? Could anyone help me resolve this, who do I need to contact?

- , Ahoskie, NC, USA

problem #49

Jul 012014

Escape XLT

  • Automatic transmission
  • 129,000 miles

I RECEIVED A LETTER IN JULY FOR AN OPEN RECALL ON MY ESCAPE. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE IT FIXED. THE POWER STEERING AT THE TIME WOULD GO OFF AND ON WHERE IT WOULD WORK THEN GO OUT AS I AM DRIVING. I TOOK IT TO RUSTY ECK FORD TO HAVE THEM FIX IT THEY SAID EVERYTHING WAS GOOD. NOW FEW MONTHS LATER MY POWER STEERING GOES OUT AGAIN AND ITS SNOW AND ICE ON THE GROUND WHICH IS VERY UNSAFE ESPECIALLY WHEN I HAVE A TWO YEAR OLD DAUGHTER. I CALLED RUSTY ECK FORD AND THE FORD MOTOR COMPANY AND THEY BOTH SAID THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO, THE OPEN RECALL IS CLOSED BUT WHAT I WAS STATED WAS THE PROBLEM WAS FIXED AND CLEARLY ITS NOT. NOW THEY'RE SAYING I HAVE TO COME OUT OF POCKET. I DON'T HAVE OVER $1,000.00 TO GET A RECALL FIXED WHICH MEANS I HAVE TO GO THRU THE WINTER WITH A F#CKED UP CAR. I AM VERY UPSET I WILL NEVER PURCHASE A FORD EVER AND WILL TELL EVERYONE ELSE MY BAD EXPERIENCE. IF ANYONE CAN GIVE SOME ADVICE ON WHAT TO DO I WOULD APPRECIATE IT THANK YOU.

- , Wichita, KS, USA

problem #48

Aug 012013

Escape LX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles

I have a 2008 Ford Escape. I too have lost steering . I to took my SUV in for recall work. I too was told that the software update would fix the steering problem. I too believed them. One month out of getting the software update I have lost steering again. I called The national highway traffic safety admin., I called the federal trade commission, I called the Ohio Attorney General , I called Ford customer service dept. I called the general manager of the dealership and owner of the dealership. No one was able to help. I was told , now get this one, I was told that Ford did their part in repairing my steering by doing the software update that they don't have to do anything further. Even though the recall letter states they will update software , replace torque sensor or steering column. Now my last call I made today was to a lawyer. I feel that the recall letter that I received on July 2014 was a receipt from ford to repair the faulty steering that they put into this 2008 Escape. I feel we Escape owners need to have a class action lawsuit against Ford Motor company. I know I for one will not let this company walk all over me. They have put out a dangerous product and then they do a recall and in the recall state they will : Ford Motor Company has authorized your dealer to update the appropriate modules to prevent loss of steering assist while driving due to a torque sensor fault. In addition, the update provides increased driver awareness by sounding a chime and displaying the wrench light or warning in the message center when a fault is detected. Alternatively, the dealer may need to replace the torque sensor or the steering column. This service will be performed free of charge(parts and labor). This is what my recall letter states. The only thing my dealership did was do the software update. The dealer ship said I had to get approval from Ford to have anything else done. Or I could have the work done and I pay out of pocket for the work. When is it my responsibility to get approval for recall work to be done. Does not a recall mean that there is a defective part and that whether the car has the problem or not they are to replace the part? This people is not warranty work this is a recall for the fact that the escape loses steering without any notice at all. If you are interested in doing more than sitting on your butt and taking what this company thinks they can pull we as consumers can retaliate with a class action lawsuit to force them to honor the recall they themselves voluntarily put out. My e-mail address is lilith969@neo.rr.com if you are interested in joining me and taking on this dishonorable company.

Update from Apr 9, 2015: Ford told me that they were going to replace my torque sensor free of cgharge back in DEC. 2014. I had to have my transmission replaced, yes I've had to replace the engine and now the tranmission on this peice of shyt, the tranny is now fixed and I called Ganley ford of nortion ohio to have the torque work done. Low and behold the work order has expired. So now I'm trying to get that work order re opened.

- , Wadsworth, OH, USA

problem #47

Oct 052014

Escape Limited 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,050 miles

I started having problems with the power steering about 50,000 miles. The power steering would go out for a couple of seconds and then "snap" back and work. I called the dealer 4 times about this problem and they said there were no recalls and you could tell they wanted no part of it. But, said I could bring in for a diagnostic and they could recommend repairs. After a year of problems, Ford finally "re-called" for this problem. I took my vehicle to another Ford dealership for the recall "fix". They said it was just a software update. Well, about a month or so later, I started having the same problem, except would make a loud screech noise before it happened. I called the dealership and they said they would need Ford Corporation to approve any repairs, so I called Ford Corporation and was talked to like a "dog" by a very condescending customer service person. She was down right rude. Well, now I just went for a short ride to the grocery store and my power steering has gone out completely - "Power Steering Assist Failure". Can anybody help me out there? I don't know what to do at this time and this is my only means of transportation. It's pretty bad when you take care of your vehicle and still have these problems.

- , Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #46

Oct 302014

Escape XLS 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles

IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT WITH MY 4 YEAR OLD IN THE CAR. CAME CLOSE TO CRASHING INTO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. I WAS JUST INFORMED TODAY THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS, AND NEVER RECEIVED ANY INFORMATION. I HAVE BEEN THE ORIGINAL OWNER SINCE DAY ONE (BUYING THE CAR BRAND NEW OFF THE LOT WITH 15 MILES ON THE ODOMETER)!

- , Arkansas City, KS, USA

problem #45

Sep 082014

Escape Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,812 miles

I WAS DRIVING MY CAR AND A LIGHT CAME ON THE DASHBOARD. IT STATED POWER STEERING ASSIST DEFAULT. I DID NOT KNOW WHAT THAT MEANT BECAUSE I STILL HAD THE POWER STEERING AT THAT TIME. I CONTINUED TO DRIVE AND RETURNED HOME. MY STEERING WENT OUT BEFORE I GOT HOMW. I HAD TO REALLY STRUGGLE TO TURN ONTO MY STREET AND INTO MY DRIVEWAY. I CONTACTED LIBERTY FORD (IT WAS LOCATED AROUND THE CORNER FROM ME) AND MADE AN APPOINTMENT TO HAVE MY CAR SERVICED. I ALSO CHECKED THE INTERNET ABOUT MY PROBLEM AND I FOUND THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE TORQUE SENSOR IN MAY OF 2014. LIBERTY FORD INFORMED ME THAT THERE WAS NOT A RECALL NOW ON THIS AND THAT I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR SERVICE. WHY DID I NOT RECEIVE NOTICE ABOUT THE RECALL EARLIER THIS YEAR AND WHY IS IT NO LONGER IN EFFECT?

- , Bedford, OH, USA

problem #44

Jun 212013

Escape 3.0L,L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,817 miles

Lost power assist while driving to work. Scared the bejesus out of me as it came out of the blue. By the time I stopped the car had traveled across the left lane into oncoming traffic and it forced the oncoming cars to stop.

Luckily this was on a two lane street and the speed limit was 50 klms. My dad had mentioned to me about a lot of complaints regarding this problem so I turned the ignition off and on and the power assist worked again so I drove to work.

I had extended warranty on the vehicle and it was about to expire within the next two weeks so I wanted to get it checked out. The dealer refused to to do it unless I agreed to pay for it and I refused. Then I called the Ford customer complaints department who basically said take it to the dealer and they'll check the steering out. I didn't do it so I decided to keep driving it and hope that there would be a recall and limited my driving with that vehicle. I checked out the cost of the steering column about $1450.00 Canadian and found out there were 13 changeups for that model since 2008. My escape only had 85,000 kilometers on it.(June 2013) In the last two months I have lost the power assist three times and have received a 14S05 they call a notice from Ford Canada that a defect that relates to motor safety exists in your vehicle. So on thursday my dad took the vehicle to the ford dealership to have the safety issue repaired. The dealer said there was no codes and had updated the PSCM and Chime Module behind the dash cluster. My dad was furious and the service manager and him left each other in exchanging pleasantries and at the end my dad asked him for a kiss. My dad didn't believe that the few commands uploaded to the PSCM would eliminate this problem as he thinks these losses of signals should have registered a code. He knows it could have been other causes too such as heat, amperage draw on the steering motor,a worn wire rubbing, bad connector connection, bad gears in the rack and pinion, lose wiring and other things. but the dealership refused to deal with him but asked my daughter to make another appointment and I suggested she doesnt. The next day my dad called the Ford customer relationship line in Oakville Ontario (for Recalls and Safety) ( 1 800 563-3673) The rep said to take it to another dealer and the Ford Rep. opened a case file for me and suggests my dad to confirm the outcome with him. I suggested to the rep if they cant satisfy me that I will purchase a steering column and take Ford to court in small claims and his reply was you shouldnt have to go that far. Well my dad is too familiar with the system and hope he keeps his word. So I have an appointment with this other dealer on Friday Sept 19. They have already told my dad if there is no hard codes that they will only update the PSCM and Chime Module. Today my dad called Transport Canada (Road Safety-Defects and Recalls) (1 800 333-0510 Canada) and left a message which they will hopefully get back to my dad on Monday. It was closed for the day 8;00-4;30 pm. Ontario. My dad is adament that if the PSCM doesnt get the signal it cant send a command to the steering motor to do its job and that updating the PSCM wont correct the problem. Anyone want to comment as maybe my dad is barking up the wrong tree. I love my dad and he`s only been a Certified HD and Auto Mechanic for forty years but he always has a open mind and knows he may be wrong. Please comment

Update from Sep 20, 2014: Took 2008 escape to another dealer and they tried to make a hard code but failed. they reprogrammed the software and warranted for a year so if it loses assist they will look for another code again. Have not had time to confirm this with ford customer relations yet but the 2nd dealership did not charge to reprogram the 2nd time. They may have talked with ford customer relations. I couldn't talk with the ford dealership service manager about this as it was late Friday and he left for holidays and I my schedule won't allow me to talk to ford customer relations or service manager for another three weeks but my daughter will keep driving the vehicle. With the reprogramming of the computer (they extend the time of the signal to the steering motor to allow you time to get to the side of the road safely if the computer senses a problem that senses a CODE.) Also a check engine light (wrench and warning chime) should come on. Also called a soft landing by Transport Canada mechanic. They also claim that if you cycle the ignition over 20 times the hard code and check engine light may disappear. Hence should check for codes if concerned. Here is a eye opener as I (MAY) have understood from Transport Canada regarding Recall and Bulletins. I seem to understand that Transport Canada cannot force any Auto Corporations to pay for any repairs for recalls etc. This only applies to Canada but in the United States the law says they have to repair the vehicles. So the auto corporations only do this for Public Relations and if it involves a large number of vehicles. It seems that Transport Canada uses moral persuasion. WOW. So if this is true it bodes bad for the consumer. In Canada we have paid lobbyists to prevent the regulations from having any teeth. In the U.S. you seem to be luckier even thou your lobbyists try to do the same thing. I will continue to confirm my case file with the ford customer relations to try to bring some other kind of action and will update in time. For legalities this information (May) be true.

Remember that if your battery voltage is too low you will also lose power assist as this system relies on direct battery voltage to your ignition switch.

Will update on the final solution.

- , Victoria, BC, canada

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?