If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
98,025 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 23)

problem #443

May 312015


  • 129,800 miles


Relates to safety recall notice 14S05/NHTSA recall 14V-284, received in July 2014, with my car first inspected on 08/21/2014. My car had not had a power steering failure but I took it in as directed by the recall notice. About May 30, 2015, I experienced a power steering failure as I was about to turn left, from a stop at a traffic light. I almost hit the car in the outer turn lane and was almost hit by the car behind me. I called Ford customer service and explained the issue. She gave me a case # cas7268220T6F2P6 to give to the dealer service dept as a matter of priority. After a few days, they said on inspection it only needed to be reprogrammed to fix the issue. About 3 weeks later, the power steering failure happened again. I took it to the same Ford dealer on 06/22/2015 and on 06/25/2015 was told by the dealership that Ford did not approve them to address my power steering failure because my car had exceeded 12 months or 12,000 miles from the first date addressed. I called Ford to dispute their decision, stating that I thought the purpose of the recall was to fix an overwhelming failure of a part or system. I said that what if the reprogramming did not work, were they not obligated to replace the defective part if necessary. Will Ford now hide behind a 12 month/12,000 mile rule. The Ford rep said her hands were tied by company policy. I am passing this on to the NHTSA for fair resolution. This 2008 Ford Escape had another recall # 14S19 relating to electronic cooling pump failure. Ford sent notices out in May 2015. My cooling pump failure occurred in May 2013. I spent $747.31 to replace the defective part. The dealership said, with the part replaced, I only needed reprogramming. Ford agreed to reimburse me for the $747.31. Should Ford not now be responsible for replacing the defective steering column if reprogramming has failed (quoted at $1135+tax).

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #442

Jul 132015


  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving at an unknown speed, the contact heard an abnormal noise coming from the steering column and the power steering failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering torque sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was previously repaired under a manufacturer's recall for the steering where the dealer reprogrammed the steering column. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #441

Jun 142011


  • 42,000 miles
I purchased a 2008 Ford Escape limited edition for my son in college, first, there were problems with the tires which sounded like the tires were going to explode. The noise was so loud and took it to my local dealership and they did nothing. I had the vehicle for approximately six months. The second issue pertained to the steering/suspension and that cost me $900. The dealership constantly states, "just keep your receipts." Today, I contacted sheehy Ford in springfield va regarding the new problem which is the throttle. The vehicle lost power and he could not shift the vehicle at all. The customer service representative looked up the VIN number and informed me my vehicle was not covered. I explained to the gentleman that I was on line and found information that Ford has issued an extended warranty for defective throttle body assemblies and sensors for 10 years or 150,000 miles based on an investigation by the national highway safety administration (NHTSA) for a defect investigation of alleged throttle body failures in 2005-2012 Ford Escapes (complaints from nc). I was informed my vehicle was not covered because only specific VIN numbers were included. I am a single parent and I have put too much money in this vehicle. After reading the comments on line, this vehicle appears to have numerous defects. What does it take for our government to take action, lost of lives" is the dollar more important than people lives" we need to start holding these companies accountable. There is clearly issues with this vehicle and I want Ford to pay for my repairs.

- Kingstowne, VA, USA

problem #440

Nov 122014


  • 75,000 miles


Took my car in for the recall for the torque senor told the gentlemen several times my steering locked up when I was driving and made a klucking noise, he said we will check it out will 10 minutes later my car was done another gentlemen said we reset your torque sensor this did nothing for my problem I have read the investagation about the prior recall on my Ford Escape and I do believe if they would of fixed the problem properly and change the torque senor or drove my car to see excatly how the steering was acting now they want 100:S of dollars to replace my steering colum ths is not right at all.please can you help me.

- Belle Vernon, PA, USA

problem #439

May 122011


  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 2 mph, the power steering failed without warning. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road where the engine was turned off. After restarting, the vehicle resumed normal operation. The failure recurred three times. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for repair. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #438

May 182015


  • 158,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) and the vehicle was repaired. While driving approximately 12 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning and caused the contact to lose control of the vehicle. The vehicle was turned off and back on and the steering returned to normal. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 158,000.

- Corning, IA, USA

problem #437

Dec 202014


  • 99,250 miles


Shortly after taking my 2008 Ford Escape back to the dealer to address a power steering recall in October 2014, the power steering failed. According to Ford, this was recall 14S05. This was not the first time the power steering failed, but in the previous instances the problem would resolve itself after restarting the vehicle. In December 2014 when the power steering failed, the problem persisted. Fortunately, it's a car my son drives when he is home for college break so we weren't using it that often and I held off taking it back to Ford dealer. I was able to take the Escape back to the dealer this month to report the steering problem. I was told the Escape now needs to replace the torque sensor for the power steering. (in October, the dealer reprogrammed the psm and made no other repairs to steering parts.) all of the news reports about the recall that I have read this spring mention that the torque sensor was one of three things that could have been addressed in the recall. The torque sensor in my Escape was not changed, and now the Ford dealer is quoting a price of $500 to $600 to do the repair. I believe this torque sensor should be replaced now as part of the recall Ford made for power steering problems. Thank you.

- Verona, NJ, USA

problem #436

Mar 292015


  • 148,922 miles
I was coming home from batavia and my steering wheel was sounding like a mixer hitting the side of the bowl and when I got near home it started seeming like I had no power steering. I got home but it has not worked properly since. It make no noise to inform me there was any problem. No check engine light came on. Nothing. I love my Ford but this is really not good. This could have been really bad. I got a recall last year. This part should have been replaced. This is really dangerous.

- Kankakee, IL, USA

problem #435

Jan 152015


  • 109,246 miles
I received NHTSA recall 14V-284 for the electrical power assist steering on my 2008 Ford Escape. I took the vehicle into the romeo mi Ford dealership for the recall work on 1/12/2015. The work that was performed under the recall was the replacement of the torque sensor. Following the work I noticed on the drive home (on 1/12/15) that the steering wheel was severely misaligned and that the vehicle was unsafe to drive. I called back the dealership on 1/12/15 and made a follow up appointment. Following the diagnostics run the vehicle showed a faulty power steering system. I was responsible for replacing the steering column. Because the recall work involved the steering column and they recall work left my vehicle inoperable I believe that Ford did not full perform the recall work that was required. I feel I should be reimbursed the work that should have been completed under the recall 14V-284.

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #434

Mar 102015


  • 86,000 miles
Daughter was driving and when parking the vehicle, the power steering failed and power steering assist fault message displayed. Was told by dealership that my vehicle was not covered by recall of 2014 (purchased vehicle Nov 2014). Seems the same issue as was covered in recall.

- Peoria Heights, IL, USA

problem #433

Jan 302015


  • 127,000 miles


Initially, the vehicle was taken to a dealership to investigate a pop in the steering column when turned to the left and an acceleration issue causing sputtering during climbs to higher speeds on the freeway. The acceleration issue was addressed and repaired at an out of pocket expense of $720. The steering issue was advised that it was caused from a defect that had prompted a recall that was not made known to the vehicle owner. The dealer ran diagnostics and determined that the vehicle steering programming was to be updated and that all issues would cease. Months later, first of the year, the vehicle was started at the owner's place of employment, proceeded out of parking space to the surprise of no power assisted steering, causing the current direction of the front wheels to guide the vehicle into a parking garage column and dislodging the front right bumper cover at the cover/fender seam. Owner returned vehicle to the park gear, disengaged the ignition, assessed the damage, and once again restarted the vehicle to the additional surprise of working power assisted steering. Owner has experienced this issue for a continuing four months, at random intervals, with seemingly increasingly frequency. Repair estimates are at the $1500. Range and once alerted to the similar experiences of same model owners, believes this is a defect of the recall solution for a defect.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #432

Jul 122013


  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 30 mph, the power steering seized without warning. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road where the engine was turned off. After restarting, the vehicle resumed normally. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering); however, the failure recurred seven months after the remedy was performed. The vehicle was repaired a second time by the dealer. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 48,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #431

Apr 142015


  • 144,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving at a low speed, the contact heard a beeping noise. The contact turned off and restarted the vehicle. After restarting the vehicle, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 144,000.

- Upland, CA, USA

problem #430

Apr 112015


  • 78,900 miles
While driving 2008 Ford Escape April 11, 2015 received a message light stating "power steering assist fault". now steering wheel shakes except when turning to the left. Steering wheel also randomly moves whiles driving. When driving over 35mph there is constant shake in steering wheel. In July 2014 the car was not having any power steering issues, but Ford recall notice Ford 14S05 was received and car was serviced by dealer for the recall on Sept 30, 2014 to change what the car does when the problem with the power steering assist occurs. I will need to take this a dealer to see if they will fix the root problem with power steering assist. In researching this problem, I see this is the most common problem on this vehicle. My complaint is that Ford did not fix the root problem with the power steering assist failure with their remedy for recall 14S05, but they only reprogrammed the car to report the problem differently. This is also same issue reported in official NHTSA investigation #DP15001

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #429

Mar 022015


  • 225,000 miles
Wife lost power steering and we took Escape to Ford dealer. There were no codes in the car's computer. Ford dealer updated software per Ford recall instructions. Approximately two months later, steering wheel was vibrating even while standing still and we received power steering warning from dashboard message center. Ford dealer said the car could lose steering entirely (not just power steering) if not repaired. We replaced steering column as described in recall. Again, there were no codes in the car's memory. Because there were no "codes" in the car's computer memory, Ford refused to pay for repairs as described in Ford's direction to dealers for the recall. I called Ford customer support multiple times to complain. Three calls to william Ford were unanswered. Ford made the process to obtain payment for the replacement of the recalled part very difficult. NHTSA should investigate Ford's process. How many steering columns were replaced", how many were paid for by Ford as part of the recall" they all should have been paid for by the recall!

- Stamford, CT, USA

problem #428

Apr 022015


  • 90,000 miles
I was driving from pa to NY when the car said "powere steering assist fault. The car drove fine while I was getting to my destination. Once there I parked it. Went out to start it again to go somewhere, and the steering was like driving a mac truck. I had to flat bed it back to pensylvania from New York. I got on line to see if there was a recall for the year make and model. There was, but not at the factory my car was assembled, so I wasn't notified on the recall. Speaking to my mechanic at wentworth auto sales in guys mills pa, he said that the factories were different, I feel that even though I have high mileage it should not have anything to do with the power steering. I found it disturbing that mine was not covered. This doesn't sound like a typical thing to happen to your car. The garage put a new steering angle torque sensor in. Parts and labor cost $347.71. They did not have to remove my steering wheel and do anything to the motor. I have my car back, but if something else happens to it, it may cost me up to $1,300. I called the Ford Motor Company and filed a formal complaint today, so they have record of the situation. I just would like to know if any other cars from the plant mine was assembled in have any issues. It was built in clay como Michigan. Some one suggested, I send out this complaint to you also. Sincerely, susan.

- Meadville, PA, USA

problem #427

Mar 172015


  • 97,001 miles
Total loss of power steering, wrench lamp came on dash, took to local Ford dealer, [ recall on reprogramming of this system was done within the last year] dealer had to replace electronic power steering assy[ steering column assy ] no warranty. $ $886.32 out of pocket. Note; seems to be a large problem on Ford side, 2008-2010 Escapes, they are not helping with costs, seems that every one who had the update [recall ] done, Ford Motor Company now will not even consider this issue. Need to be investigated, on line there are a lot of people who are in the same situation.

- Salem , MA, USA

problem #426

Mar 062015


  • 81,999 miles
What is your vehicle sales or service issue":we experienced a problem with our Ford Escape steering column. Our dealer is absolutely wonderful. This is not a complaint against them. Even though we had a copy of the recall, the dealer told us that it was not covered under the recall. I believe it should be. What action has your dealer taken to address the issue?:our dealer repaired the vehicle correctly and promptly. This is not a complaint against the dealer. I believe Ford should cover the repair under the recall and reimburse us for it. What assistance are you seeking from Ford Motor Company":refund of $1159.13 for steering column recall. Are you the owner of the vehicle :yes

- Bethpage, NY, USA

problem #425

Mar 252015


  • 131,000 miles
The steering wheel had been shaking and making a grinding noise for a few days. This occurred both while idling, and later while driving. Last night and this morning when the car was started, the message center said "power steering assist failure". I took the car to the dealership and was told that I would need my steering column replaced. I already had the recall that was issued last July (2014) completed at another dealership. I was hoping that since this was clearly an issue with the power steering that was included in the information from the recall that this would be also be covered by the recall. It was not and now costs $1.052.29 to repair.

- Grand Haven, MI, USA

problem #424

Mar 192015


  • 154,000 miles
Steering completely froze...unable to steer vehicle

- Newington, NH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?