10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
98,395 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 31)

problem #603

Jan 042017

Escape

  • 65,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my car in when the recall 14S05/NHTSA recall 14V-284 was received and the dealership updated the appropriate modules to prevent loss of steering due to a torque sensor fault. At the time of the recall I was not having any steering problems, so I felt the module updates were to fix any steering problems. As of Jan 4, 2017, the steering wheel started vibrating while in idle. I does not do it all the time. I called the local Ford dealership and they ran the diagnostic test which showed the steering torque sensor was bad and they will be getting me an estimate for repairs. I was told the part itself is relatively inexpensive, but the labor is intense. I feel Ford has taken the easy way out of fixing a potentially hazardous problem. I have always driven Ford cars, but after this costly manufacturing defect I may switch to another make of car.

- Wray, CO, USA

problem #602

Jan 082017

Escape

  • miles
While starting the car the wheel started shaking, you can hear a clicking noise...while driving the vehicle the wheel shakes non stop and the noise continues, followed by a code saying (power steering assist fault). It's getting worse the more we drive it.

- Geneva, IL, USA

problem #601

Jan 092017

Escape

  • 127,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving, the steering wheel became difficult to operate. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the power steering sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 127,000.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #600

Jan 082017

Escape

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Electric power steering is out. Ford dealer initially fixed via original recall (Ford's number for this recall is 14S05.) by updating the computer code in 2014. The power steering has lost all power now. This is 2 years later, but the loss is directly related to the original recall issue.

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #599

Jan 062017

Escape

  • 102,000 miles
Steering shaft torque sensor went out when driving vehicle on highway which made it very hard to steer when slowing down and turning.im very strong and it took effort from me to steer. If my wife or daughter would have been driving they could have very easily had an accident!.this seems to be an issue with a lot of these but my VIN# is not on the recall according to our local Ford dealership

- Cherokee, IA, USA

problem #598

Jan 062017

Escape

  • 150,000 miles
While parked in a parking lot, dash warning indicated "power assist steering failure" when engine was started. Steering is now considerably harder, bordering on impossible while sitting still. Vehicle had recall 14S05 performed in Oct 2014. Since there was no physical problem at the time of the recall, a software update was performed (which will do nothing for a mechanical failure) and the recall for this particular vehicle was closed. Now with the apparent mechanical failure of the power steering motor, or steering position sensor, or both, Ford will not cover the repairs due to the recall being closed. So Ford closed the recall by performing it before the parts failed and now expects the owner to be responsible for the $1800 (quote from dealer) to perform the repair.

- Raymore, MO, USA

problem #597

Jan 052017

Escape

  • 157,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The electric power steering system failed on my vehicle. The system had the same issue before but was fixed following the 2014 recall for the issue. Less than 3 years after the fix, the power steering system failed again.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #596

Dec 262016

Escape

  • 143,000 miles
My Ford Escape's power steering suddenly went out in my while driving, it made the rest of the ride home from work extremely difficult and unsafe. I did my research and found there was in fact a Ford recall on this issue for my year and model car, however my VIN was not included in the recall, only the software update which I did handle in September 2014 at the dealership. The recall states the affected vehicles have a steering torque sensor that may not be able to properly detect steering input. As a result could remove the esp assist (electric power steering) we talked with Ford corporate and they said it was not part of recall but if the exact part that is included in the recall that will be replaced at no charge, they would work with us to have it replaced. When we brought it to local dealership, they confirmed after getting the error code the torque sensor did need to be replaced. They would not assist us in fixing it and after 2 calls to a supervisor we got them to escalate to Ford that still denied claim, and service manager even agreed that it should be added to the recall list when we picked it up that night. We called Ford again and talked with customer service and they said it had been too long since the software upgrade and nothing they could do. I will be reporting Ford to the BBB and still trying to escalate further as this car should be included in the recall due to the safety issue. All they said was to report it to the NHTSA site.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #595

Dec 202016

Escape

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 25 mph and making a right turn, the steering wheel seized and the wrench sensor indicator illuminated. In addition, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to restart after the first attempt. The vehicle was serviced per NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (electrical system, steering), but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 103,000.

- Linden, NJ, USA

problem #594

Jul 202015

Escape

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 35 mph and making a left turn, the steering wheel pulled abnormally. The failure was persistent. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the power steering system was updated. The vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering), but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the torque sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000.

- Moline, IL, USA

problem #593

Dec 272016

Escape

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Acute loss of power steering; on a city street at about 20 mph while turning. I was able to complete the turn. My daughter, who usually drives this car, would not have been able to turn the steering wheel in order to complete the turn and safely stop along the curb.

- Champaign, IL, USA

problem #592

Dec 222015

Escape

  • 46,608 miles
I received a recall notification 14S05 from Ford about my 2008 Ford Escape. The recall was for a faulty torque sensor that would either be reprogrammed or replaced. Instead of replacing the torque sensor, Ford service decided to just reprogram it because it had not failed or produced a service code. Just recently the torque sensor failed and my steering lost power while driving through a parking lot. I did not have the strength to turn the wheel and had to just stop and leave the car in the lot until someone could come help me. I brought my car back to the same dealership that performed the original recall repair and am being told that the recall has been performed and now I must pay them to replace the torque sensor. After spending time researching the issue online I discovered that this is a widespread problem. It is apparent that Ford is only replacing the sensors if they have already failed when you bring your car in for the recall. If it has not failed then Ford only does a reprogramming that doesn't prevent them from failing but allows Ford to close out the recall on your vehicle and save money on a replacement part. I don't understand how this is legal for them to do. I talked to several of Ford's service managers and customer service representatives and they all give the standard rehearsed answer.

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #591

Dec 192016

Escape

  • 110,100 miles
While driving up a windy mountain road in lake Tahoe, ca, the power steering just quit working as we were making a left hand curve. From that point on, there was no power steering. It was like driving a car through quicksand. The slower the speed, the harder to turn. My husband did the research, and saw that a recall had been issued. We had no problems with the steering but had received the recall notice from Ford to take in for a "flash" software programming for the car. We took into Ford dealer in August 2015. Obviously, the recall is more serious than the fix that was applied and did not keep us from losing the power steering in a very dangerous situation. Ford claims that they did they recall, and they are not liable for any further repairs. I call foul! their temporary fix did not hold. I have been pouring over Ford forums and see many, many Ford Escapes are doing exact same thing, losing power steering while driving and Ford is refusing to acknowledge problem. How may I get a class action law suit started for this issue vs Ford?

- Phelan, CA, USA

problem #590

Dec 192016

Escape

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While backing out of the driveway at 5 mph and turning the steering wheel, the steering wheel felt very stiff. Eventually, the power steering assist indicator illuminated on several occasions. The vehicle was previously serviced in 2015 per NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 105,000.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #589

Dec 212016

Escape

  • 122,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 15 mph, the steering wheel shook vigorously without warning. The vehicle was serviced per NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering), but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The failure mileage was 122,000.

- Corpus Chrisiti, TX, USA

problem #588

Dec 072016

Escape

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving various speeds, the power steering seized and the power steering warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #587

Dec 052016

Escape

  • 101,000 miles
Torque sensor after the eps module/torque sensor software update is malfunctioning again, wheel moves on its own. While driving and stationary the wheel takes "phantom" movements with no operator encouragement. The update from the recall regarding the torque sensor did not effectively fix the problem, the part needs to be replaced in a recall. I have reviewed and read numerous accounts of this same problem and there is in fact a class action lawsuit in ca against Ford right now for compensation in regards to the failure. Ford is denying the recall because the cost is greater than separate lawsuits. NHTSA needs to do something about this!

- Fargo, ND, USA

problem #586

Dec 152016

Escape

  • 157,000 miles
2008 Ford Escape hybrid steering wheel vibration at idle for approx. 500 miles then all of a sudden while driving on a city street the power steering totally went out. Wrench light went on the dash, then power steering totally gone. I could hardly turn the steering wheel to get it home which was 7 miles away. 3 months before that the air conditioner quit working in August! I had a new air conditioner installed, then a week later 2 blender motors had to be replaced because ac was blowing hot air and heater blew cold air. This model must be a lemon. At this point I think this car is unsafe to drive! I have never had problems like this from Ford. I hope there is a recall on this model but after researching it sounds like Ford is unwilling to do anything about it.

- Brentwood, CA, USA

problem #585

Dec 132016

Escape

  • 143,091 miles
My car was parked in the garage on 12/13/2016 and upon going to get gas the steering tightened up while driving to the gas station. It be came very hard to turn and steer it in the right direction. I got the car home and kept it there til I called Ford and set up an appointment for it to be serviced. Now on Oct 4 2016 I had a recall done for the torque sensor. Sales code 58A016 parts code 02733. Today I picked up my car and had to pay $699.88 for the exact same thing that the recall was done for and I want to know why and why wasn't the recall gaurenteed?

- Blaine, MN, USA

problem #584

Dec 152016

Escape

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 65 mph, the power steering assist fault indicator illuminated and the steering ability seized. The vehicle was driven home. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 105,000.

- Levittown, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?