If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
98,072 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 19)

problem #374

Dec 032014

Escape

  • 79,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the power steering assist failed. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was repaired but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 79,000.

- Polland , OH, USA

problem #373

Nov 242014

Escape

  • 250,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician diagnosed that the power steering control module and instrument control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 250,000. The VIN was not available.

- Los Alamitos, CA, USA

problem #372

Nov 212014

Escape

  • 125,000 miles
Ford recall 14S05 / NHTSA recall 14V-284, concerning power steering failure software update, completed 4 August 2014. Software update alone was a failure. Vehicle re-exhibited steering wheel shimmy symptoms 20 November 2014, and completely failed 21 November 2014, without any accompanying visible/audible warnings, I.e. chime or lighted dash indicator. Dealer appointment is scheduled for 26 November 2014.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #371

Nov 172014

Escape

  • 150,732 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician diagnosed that the steering unit sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was made aware of recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). However, the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150,732.

- Summerville, GA, USA

problem #370

Nov 182014

Escape

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 25 mph, the power steering failed and no warning indicators illuminated. The failure had recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the torque system was faulty. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000. The VIN was not available. ## VIN failed ## 2008 Ford Escape ##

- Mentor, OH, USA

problem #369

Nov 152014

Escape

  • 101,000 miles
The power steering failed 2 month after the recall was done to fix the problem. There was a recall notice (14S05) from Ford advising me to take my car in to fix the sensor that causes loss of power steering. The only thing they did was a software upgrade to alert you when the sensor fails. This is not fixing the problem. Please contact me if you need additional details.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #368

Oct 012014

Escape

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving various speeds, the steering wheel seized and extreme force was required to maneuver the vehicle. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering), but the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who diagnosed that the torque sensor or steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 98,000.

- Wadsworth, TX, USA

problem #367

Nov 192014

Escape

  • 185,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 20 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they remedied the recall. However, the failure recurred. The dealer stated that the torque sensor failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 185,000.

- Pittsboro , IN, USA

problem #366

Nov 142014

Escape

  • 86,000 miles
Pursuant to the 2014 recall on my vehicle, I took my 2008 Escape to be serviced. Upon information and belief, the torque sensor module was reprogrammed to prevent the loss of steering. Said service was performed on October 1, 2014. On November 14, 2014, the vehicle lost complete control of steering while driving with my young child, three hours from home. After having the vehicle towed to the dealership that performed the work under the recall, I was told we were responsible for the repairs, despite the mechanic admitting and agreeing with us that it was an issue that should have been fixed under the recall. The mechanic's hands were tied as Ford would not authorize the work to be performed on the company's expense. The estimated price of repairs is $1600. The mechanic also told us had we not brought the vehicle in as instructed by the well publicized recall and the steering failed, it would have been covered under the recall. The recall states, "alternatively, the dealer may need to replace the torque sensor or the steering column. This service will be performed free of charge (parts and labor)". Ford indicated by phone that this only applies to the first visit. Any subsequent visit for a recall issue is the owner's expense. Ford's misrepresentations in its recall notice and subsequent actions are unfair and deceptive trade practices, not to mention an extreme safety issue and danger to consumers who believe not that their vehicle is safe to drive after being serviced by the recall.

- Milton, MA, USA

problem #365

Sep 142014

Escape

  • 184,097 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the torque sensor was faulty. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician did not replace the torque sensor. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 184,097.

- Hamilton , NJ, USA

problem #364

Sep 012014

Escape

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my Escape to the Ford dealership because it was having power steering problems. I was told there was a recall and they took my car for about 15 minutes. I received it back and was told that it was reprogrammed and fixed. A few days later the power steering went out completely while driving in southern Indiana.. I took it back and was told that nothing could do because it had already been reprogrammed.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #363

Nov 062014

Escape

  • 20,000 miles
10/8 per recall14S05/14V-284 brought vehicle into koerner Ford of syracuse where they updated the pscm. 11/6 while driving, car lost power steering. 11/11 brought car into mechanic who identified it as a B2278 steering shaft torque sensor malfunction. Called koerner as this should have been fixed under the recall. Koerner advised that they've already serviced it under the recall and we would have to pay for the vehicle to be fixed. Called Ford customer service rep twice (11/11 and 11/13) who said that the service manager from koerner advised that his recall notice states that if he updates the software and there is no other codes coming up when the car is brought in for the recall service, they do not need to fix it. Per my recall notice, that is not directly or indirectly stated. Also learned from Ford rep on 11/13 that the koerner service manager stated that this happened to another vehicle and they refused to fix it under the recall. To me, this appears to be shady business practice.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #362

Jul 292014

Escape

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the steering wheel seized while attempting to exit a parking space. The contact stated that the failure occurred several months after having the vehicle serviced under NHTSA campaign id number: 14V284000 (steering). The dealer only updated the software for the power steering control module but did not indicate if the instrument cluster module and if the torque sensor signal needed to be replaced at the time of the recall repair. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, who stated that the steering column assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was not available.

- Salem, MA, USA

problem #361

Sep 032014

Escape

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the power steering warning light illuminated and the steering wheel was extremely difficult to turn. The contact mentioned that the failure was getting progressively worse. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 14V284000 (steering). The contact stated that a few weeks after the repairs were performed the power steering warning light illuminated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unavailable.

- Columbia, MS, USA

problem #360

Nov 022014

Escape

  • 127,441 miles
As I was driving, I attempted to make a left turn when I heard a rapid clicking noise. It was then I realized that steering was difficult. I turned into my driveway but it was extremely difficult to turn the wheel to complete my turn as my steering had converted to manual mode.

- Ashland, KY, USA

problem #359

May 012012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 45 mph, the engine revved and the wrench warning light illuminated. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000. The consumer stated the vehicle lost power steering while driving. She was able to pull over, and re-start the vehicle. The power steering failure occurred between may and November 2012. The consumer then received a recall letter in the mail, regarding an issue with the power steering. The dealer informed the consumer, she needed to get prior approval from Ford. Updated 12/15/14

- Wadsworth, OH, USA

problem #358

Oct 062014

Escape

  • 131,500 miles
In parking lot, power steering went away. Recently had dead battery, replaced battery and seemed to fix issue. Week later, stopped at stop light, heard click, then when pulling away from stop light no powering steering. Pulled into a parking lot, called spouse, came to parking lot, started car and powering steering working again. Drove car to dealer for repair. I see there is a recall for certain 2008 Escapes, but not for the one with this VIN. Issue sounds exactly like recall for certain 2008 Escapes. Why not his one?

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #357

Aug 082014

Escape

  • 86,433 miles
I have a 2008 Ford Escape which was payed off last January will right after it got payed off my transmission went which cost me 3320 now a year later I am having steering problems started with a kluncking noise will turning greased joints problem was fine for a while now again today I was making a left hand turn onto a bridge and the power steering went out for a second but came back this has been going on for about two months recevied the Ford recall for the torque sensor which I took it to the Ford dealer they did not replace any part and at the time I told the dealer ship I was having trouble with the steering hearing a kluncking noise said he would look at it but I was only there about 20 minutes which wan't long enough to change any part or do any type of repair please I am not stupid I read several complaints about this online this is very upsetting is Ford going to wait till someone gets hurt or killed and why does this have to be the case are our lives not as valueable to you as the all mitty dollar. Come on Ford get with it I work hard for my money and can't afford these repairs that are your problem and your product.

- Belle Vernon, PA, USA

problem #356

Oct 052014

Escape

  • 59,050 miles
I started having problems with the power steering about 50,000 miles. The power steering would go out for a couple of seconds and then "snap" back and work. I called the dealer 4 times about this problem and they said there were no recalls and you could tell they wanted no part of it. But, said I could bring in for a diagnostic and they could recommend repairs. After a year of problems, Ford finally "re-called" for this problem. I took my vehicle to another Ford dealership for the recall "fix". they said it was just a software update. Well, about a month or so later, I started having the same problem, except would make a loud screech noise before it happened. I called the dealership and they said they would need Ford corporation to approve any repairs, so I called Ford corporation and was talked to like a "dog" by a very condescending customer service person. She was down right rude. Well, now I just went for a short ride to the grocery store and my power steering has gone out completely - "power steering assist failure". can anybody help me out there? I don't know what to do at this time and this is my only means of transportation. It's pretty bad when you take care of your vehicle and still have these problems.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #355

Sep 232014

Escape

  • 220,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 5 mph, there was a complete loss of power steering as the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis and informed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The failure recurred three months after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign id number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired for the most recent failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 220,000.

- St. Cloud, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?