Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,677 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 6 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #121

Aug 262013


  • 58,500 miles


I was driving approx 60 mph when my car jumped down to approx 25 mph and wrench light came on. I had to coast to side of road to get off highway. When I shut the car off and restarted it I was able to drive to saftey but then it happened again and car had to be towed to the Ford dealer for them to charge me $585 and replace the throttle body. I have read this has happened to many people and this really should be a recall.

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #120

Jun 152012


  • 12,000 miles
When slowing down engine would stall at any speed. Slowly progressed into a hesitation from a red light. Sparatic idle after stopping. Wrench light would come on every time. Now check engine light and wrench light on together.

- Townsend , TN, USA

problem #119

Aug 282013


  • 67,000 miles
I was on my way to work when suddenly my vehicle would not let me accelerate. I pulled over and turned on my hazards. A little wrench light popped up, which I later looked up and realized its the throttle body. I turned off my car and started it back up and it went away. I just purchased this vehicle in March and have had no other problems with it. There were no warnings prior to this incident. I have taken good care of this vehicle and there should be no reason for the throttle body to be failing already.

- Yorktown, VA, USA

problem #118

Jan 032012


  • 34,311 miles


First incident 1-3-12, took to Ford dealership, they replaced the throttle body. Then on 8-10-13 the car just died going up my drive way, but it cranked right back up. Then on 8-11-13 the engine quit again going about 10 mph. It cranked right back up. I took it in to Ford dealership on Tuesday 8-13-13 and they could not find anything wrong. I, then saw on the news a report about Ford Escapes stalling and the throttle body issue. This example on the news happened on an expressway. Fortunately they were not hurt. My question is how do I know for sure if the throttle body is bad again on my Escape.? it stalled 2 times while moving, but they could not find anything. I am afraid to drive in heavy traffic.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #117

Aug 232013


  • 95,000 miles
I was driving about 45 miles per hour, felt a jolt in the vehicle and acceleration began to decrease rapidly, no matter how hard I pressed on the gas. I luckily was at a low-traffic spot with a veer-off area nearby that I was able to coast over to with my four-ways on. I was able to avoid traffic. The throttle/powertrain light came on as the vehicle came to a stop. I was able to turn the vehicle off as it was lightly shaking, turn it back on with no issue, and slowly drive the vehicle about 3 miles to the nearest Ford dealership. They were able to (next day) verify my fears that it was the pending recall issue, the throttle body had gone bad. They replaced it for $620 (including labor) within 2 hours and told me to hold onto my receipt because there would most likely be a recall. They told me that they've replaced many of these lately. I'm very lucky that I wasn't on the highway with many vehicles moving at a high speed around me, or else I could have been injured if I couldn't find a place to pull off.

- Allentown, NJ, USA

problem #116

Aug 142013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
My wife owns a 2009 Ford Escape purchased new from a dealer and there have been so many issues with the vehicle I question if there wasn?T some type of flaw in the manufacturing process or at the very least, some type failure in the quality control process. Within weeks of purchasing this Ford Escape we had to take the vehicle back to the dealer for an oil leak and transmission problems. After 2 or 3 trips to the dealer, the oil leak was fixed but the transmission issues (2 overhauls and then replacement) continued for years. Thankfully, Ford covered and the dealer covered 2/3 of the cost of the second transmission overhaul and almost all of the cost for the transmission replacement. All of this work was completed at the Ford dealer ship in meter Georgia. Nice folks, we have no issue with the dealership. Approximately 6 months ago, due to low engine power and using oil, we had the vehicle worked on at a local shop. That total cost for repair was 1600 dollars. Last week due to a massive oil leak we had to have the vehicle towed in a local shop. The Ford Escape appears to have a cracked timing belt cover. Having never heard of a vehicle having a cracked timing belt cover, I decided to do some research; a cursory internet search reveals many, many complaints of 2009 Ford Escapes with cracked timing belt covers. For our vehicle this will make five major repairs and numerous minor issues in a vehicle not 4 years old!! there has to be some manufacturing process with these vehicles. VIN [xxx] 2009 Ford Escape XLS information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lyons, GA, USA

problem #115

Aug 182013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 86,555 miles


Driving down the highway at 60mph when car slowed down to 10-15mph. Had to place my emergency lights on in order not to get hit by passing vehicles and move to the emergency lane. I had to turn off the car in order for the accelerator to work again. After the first incident the vehicle kept on stalling. Took the vehicle to the dealer and it turns out its the throttle body thats malfuctioning. The warranty I purchased does not cover this type of part, I dont even have a year with this vehicle. In doing my research I find out that there has been an investigation on this vehicle on foresaid problem around the time I purchased the vehicle. The investigation is still opened. Investigation number PE13-003. The Ford dealership is charging me close to $700 in order to get this part fixed. They did not provide this information to me I had to look it up myself. They also did not provide me with a renter car I had to purchase one on my own. Its just unfair.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #114

Aug 182013


  • 74,323 miles
Sunday August 18, 2013 9:30 pm driving back from store on highway 17 wrench showed up on dash and car slowed down and came to a complete stop. I pushed the gas but nothing happened. Traffic was behind me a I feared getting hit. I was able to get to the side of the road to avoid an accident. Turned car off and waited for a few seconds. Turned key in ignition and car started and ran just fine. 8/19/13, driving daughter to school on highway 80 vehicle did the same thing but sputtered twice. Needless to say sheer pandemonium! daughter screaming and crying because highway 80 is very congested and the speed is 55 to 60 mph. Managed to get to side of highway, repeated what I did the night before and car started just fine, was able to get daughter to school and myself to work. 8/20/13, it happened again. On highway 80, got to side of road and started car up again. Got daughter to school and on the way to work car stopped again. Started car again and got to work -- called Ford and took car to shop. Had to start car gain as it slowed down and would only go no more than 5 mph. Car is at shop right now. Waiting for Ford to call me. Car is under warranty as I purchased the extended warranty package.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #113

Aug 152013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 95,517 miles
While driving the engine lost power. I was able to pull over and restarted the engine. I took it to the Ford dealership today and had to have the throttle body replaced. From what I have read this is a common occurrence so why hasn't Ford done anything about it?

- Weatherford, TX, USA

problem #112

Aug 162013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 163,433 miles
I was driving my 2009 Ford Escape limited at 60 to 55 mph when there was a lurch and sudden loss of power. I then pulled of the highway and turned off the vehicle and did an inspection to troubleshoot the problem. After 15 minutes the vehicle started back up and I drove it to our local autoparts store to get the trouble code. The code came back as P2112 : throttle actuator control system closed; explanation ECM has detected the throttle plate is at a lower angle than commanded probable cause binding throttle stuck closed.

- Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #111

Aug 152013


  • 65,000 miles


Vehicle stuck in the intersection waiting for a red light. Engine light kicked on. Error code P2111, throttle stuck. Would been in an accident if on highway. Ford needs to address this issue.

- Victoria, TX, USA

problem #110

Aug 132013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 66,700 miles
While entering a main highway from an exit, during acceleration the vehicle began "spluttering" and stalled. Car was turned off and restarted successfully. Again, leaving a parking lot onto a main highway pulling out of median begin "spluttering" and stalled. Car was turned off and restarted successfully. Again, stopped at a red light, when light turned green and began accelerating, car stalled in the middle of the intersection. Car was restarted and took to local dealer for inspection. Found to need a new throttle body. Upon research, found that this has been a frequent complaint. This has the potential to result in fatalities.

- Hollywood, AL, USA

problem #109

Aug 132013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 71,570 miles
I was merging off of an exit ramp. I slowed down so I can enter traffic, and then when I accelerated, the car hesitated/lagged before surging me forward. This problem occurs often and has almost caused an accident. Sometimes it will happen when I'm completely stopped and then accelerate, or going up a hill.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #108

Aug 092013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
My 2009 Ford Escape XLT (this is my third Escape, and the only one that has ever caused me any problem) has never accelerated as it should, from the day I drove it new off of the lot. It has always hesitated, lurched, lunged, jerked; most frequently when accelerating from a full stop or a rolling stop. It had never "limped" until at approximately 50K miles, when the throttle body failed twice while traveling at approx. 50mph (wrench symbol lit up). After having the throttle body replaced by my dealer in late June-early July 2013, the lunging, jerking, hesitating continued. On 8/8/13, when accelerating from a rolling stop, the vehicle died while attempting a "Michigan left" onto a 4-lane highway (this time the battery light and service engine lights came on). If the traffic signal for oncoming traffic had not been green, I was at risk of being struck by several vehicles traveling at rates of speed up to 70mph. I was able to let the vehicle roll back into the turn lane; turned it off and then back on; but acceleration is still not operating as it should. The rpms are all over the place. I feel as though I am driving a "death trap". this is a very urgent issue and must be addressed and repaired by Ford swiftly and at no cost to the consumer. I had to pay almost $600 to have the throttle body replaced (including a rental vehicle). This is unacceptable and extremely dangerous. If this problem is not satisfactorily repaired at no cost to me when I attempt to take it to my dealer again (I'm considering having it towed because I'm so afraid to drive it), I will never purchase another Ford vehicle.

- Commerce Township, MI, USA

problem #107

Aug 082013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 121,534 miles
While driving on he interstate at 73 mph, the vehicle lost all power, warning lights came on, and although the engine appeared to be running, there was no action I could take other than to pull off the roadway, turn off the car and wait. Approximately 2 minutes, I attempted to restart, which it did, but ran rough at idle. I waited a few minutes longer, restarted and it performed normally for about ten miles. Then it did the exact same thing over again. Last year, in my wife's 2010 Ford Escape, the exact same problem occurred, we took it to the local Ford dealership and paid $541 (the requested factory assistance was refused). Both problems are dangerous because they problem occurs unexpectedly, at highway speed, at idle waiting for a light to change, or when pulling into traffic. No power, pull off the road, and wait to restart.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #106

Jul 172013


  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated while driving various speeds, there was a sudden loss of engine power with the illumination of the wrench symbol. Upon restarting, the vehicle it functioned normally but the failure recurred before reaching his destination. The failure was not diagnosed nor was the vehicle repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #105

Jul 082013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 132,000 miles
2009 Ford Escape has a very dangerous defect with its throttle body component. While driving during normal operation, the vehicle will go into limp mode without warning. A yellow wrench appears in the console indicating a maintenance problem. The engine will reduce to idle speed, the foot accelerator is inoperable during this incident. When in the idle mode, the vehicle speed is reduced to about 5 mph. The vehicle has to be turned off, then order to reboot the system. The first two incidents happened on consecutive days. A week later, it happened again. Today, it happened 4 times, once on the busy interstate highway. Ford claims this is a common problem, therefore the replacement part is on back-order. I ordered my part (express) thru the local Ford dealership about a month ago and top date the part has not arrived. Ford is unable to give N estimated arrival date of the replacement part.

- Lithia, FL, USA

problem #104

Mar 062012

Escape 6-cyl

  • miles
When the gas pedal is pushed there seems to be no gas going in there.the a motor actually goes from a normal sounding engine and it sounds like it drops down to a lower gear when this happens and I have to coast to park safely. Then I have to wait a half hour to start the vehicle up again and sometimes it will just conked out again. Now what its doing its getting it got worse and now I can only go maybe 5 minutes and it conk out again.

- Manchester, NJ, USA

problem #103

Aug 032013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
While driving the wrench light and check engine light came on and the vehicle went into limp home mode and would not go faster than a couple of miles an hour. The engine was surging during this time. I could turn the vehicle off and restart it but it would immediately do the same thing again. The codes that were read from the vehicle were P2111 and P2112 and said the throttle stuck open and throttle stuck closed.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #102

Jul 132013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 79,680 miles
I was on the highway going around 60 mph. The vehicle seemed to die.I pulled over and realized it was still running, but would only idle and did not respond to pressing the gas pedal. I restarted the engine and drove about 50 miles without further incident, but engine warning light remained on. The next day, the engine warning light was on when I started the vehicle, and it lost power immediately. I restarted it and within driving 5 miles it " died" over 15 times. I attempted to drive it one more time and it repeated the same problem 3 times before I made it to the end of my block..I haven't driven it since.

- College Station, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?