Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
92,151 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 3 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #158

Feb 172016

Escape

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact received a recall repair for NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering); however, the power steering failed. The failure occurred after the repair. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer who stated the failure was not related to the recall. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall for which it was previously repaired. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The VIN was invalid. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #157

Feb 182016

Escape

  • 111,258 miles
While driving my power steering locked, making it extremely difficult to steer the vehicle. I managed to pull over stop the vehicle and restart the vehicle at which time the symptoms went away but happened again when I stopped the vehicle and restarted to drive home.

- Fpo, AE, USA

problem #156

Feb 122016

Escape

  • 86,000 miles
Significant vibration in the steering wheel and intermittent loss of power steering. Although the vehicle was covered by recall 14S05, Ford is unwilling to replace the torque sensor because they "reprogrammed" it and closed out the recall in August 2014, which they claim fixed the problem. Obviously, it did not fix the problem.

- Elkhorn, NE, USA

problem #155

Dec 152015

Escape

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall notice number 14S05 involving the power steering, I took the car into brian motors in everett Washington on December 16, 2015. Recall was taken care. I had no problem prior taking it into the dealer. Approximately 2 weeks later I experienced problems with the steering. I returned the vehicle to brian motors in everett Washington and was told that the power steering column assembly needed to be replaced. This was one of the repair options listed in the recall. I was then informed that Ford had closed the recall and the price of the repair would be approximately 1500$. after calling Ford costumer service in dearborn and being told again that I would be responsible for the repair because the recall had been closed. I have since found out that many owners of this year and model Escape have experienced identical problems and received the same response from Ford. I believe that there is a defect in the power steering column on 2009 Ford Escapes and it is Ford responsibility to correct the problem. I believe that this could pose a risk of accident to anyone driving this car and that Ford needs to address this immediately.

- Everett, WA, USA

problem #154

Mar 092015

Escape

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while the driver was making a turn, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was serviced under the NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Berkley, MA, USA

problem #153

Jan 132016

Escape

  • 92,674 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated while driving approximately 30 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the failure was unable to be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact mentioned that prior to the failure, the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 92,674.

- Hillsboro, AL, USA

problem #152

Jan 292016

Escape

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2009 Ford Escape on Jan 29,2016 went to dealer for oil change service man turned key for mileage a message read power steering assist fault he said I wonder why this is showing" he fiddled with a few buttons and dismissed it. Left car for oil change returned picked up went to apt. For front brakes and tire rotation left driving about 10 miles per hour suddenly felt a shaking in steering wheel then loss of power steering nearly ran into a curb got control drove to near auto store looked for fluid stick was not one, went back to dealership told them my power steering just went out? they said we never heard of this before" another service man came listened said he had a truck in a month ago same thing cost customer $1500 I was shocked left went home my wife suggested I go to a auto mechanic a block from us I did he did research while I was there, he found a recall in 2014 for 2008-2011 Ford Escapes for power steering loss. I went back to dearlership took the print out of safety recall they did something on their computer found they had done a computer reprograming in Aug 2014 and sorry the recall for us was closed. I did not receive a letter but the service dept in Aug 2014 when having a regular oil change they performed this reprogramming for this recall which after now leaves me unable to get help. They recently explained since they did their duty at that time and found nothing than that closed the safety recall for our faulty power steering now gone. I asked them what if you had not done that reprograming in Aug 2014 and now my power steering gone would I now be able to get it fixed under the recall he said yes! this seems to me like a scam to all their customers, they knew exactly the problem and knew I may have a loss later on and covered their a ss ES. They have quoted me $1300 to replace steering column, rack, tierods. The owner of the dealership said to C

- Gridley, CA, USA

problem #151

Mar 192014

Escape

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. While driving 60 mph, the steering wheel began to shake violently and became inoperable while the power steering assist light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering torque sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Naples, TX, USA

problem #150

Feb 012016

Escape

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, there was a loss of power steering without warning. The steering wheel became extremely difficult to turn. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road where the engine was turned off. After the vehicle resumed in operation the failure continued. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the power steering control module was replaced. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 94,000.

- Oroville, CA, USA

problem #149

Jan 112016

Escape

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 25 mph, the vehicle shook severely while idling. The vehicle was restarted and the power assist fail warning light illuminated. The vehicle was driven to repair shop who diagnosed that the sensor module or steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The dealer indicated that the vehicle was previously serviced under the recall. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 102,000.

- Bozeman, MT, USA

problem #148

Jan 232016

Escape

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 30 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering); however, the remedy failed to prevent the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 150,000.

- Tusan, AZ, USA

problem #147

Jan 212016

Escape

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 55 mph, the contact felt the steering wheel becoming stiff. The contact was able to merge over to the shoulder and, when the vehicle slowed, the steering seized. The vehicle was diagnosed that the torque sensor needed to be replaced. The contact was able to exit the highway and had the vehicle towed to the dealer. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 88,000.

- Ft Washington, PA, USA

problem #146

Dec 312015

Escape

  • 102,402 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that three months after the vehicle was serviced for NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering), steering wheel seemed slightly detached and the steering was difficult when in reverse and attempting to turn the vehicle left or right. The contact mentioned that there was no failure experienced prior to the recall remedy being performed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who was unable to diagnose the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 102,402.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #145

Jan 102016

Escape

  • 92,477 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 40 mph, the power steering assist fault warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 92,477. Updated 04/20/16

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #144

Aug 102015

Escape

  • 136,400 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering), but the failure recurred. In addition, the vent controls failed to work after the dealer replaced a cylinder and the ignition switch. The vehicle also violently shook, which caused the steering wheel to become extremely unstable while driving. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the torque sensor was faulty and needed to be replaced as well as the steering column. The manufacturer was notified and refused to provide a good will option for the contact. The approximate failure mileage was 136,400.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #143

Jan 052016

Escape

  • 129,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. While driving 10 mph and making a turn, the steering wheel became difficult to turn and the steering failed without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the torque module in the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 129,000.

- Amelia Courthouse, VA, USA

problem #142

Nov 232015

Escape

  • 35,192 miles
Several times upon starting my 2009 Escape, the power steering would not work. It was like trying to steer the car when it was not started. After shutting the vehicle off and re-starting several times, the power steering would then work properly. A Ford dealer said that the only fix for this problem was to replace the steering column. Even though my vehicle had less than 36,000 miles on the odometer, Ford would not cover the cost. I decided to have the problem repaired for fear that the power steering would quit while driving. I had to pay $1137.07 out of pocket to fix the problem. I am the original owner of the Escape

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #141

Nov 012015

Escape

  • 129,000 miles
Steering wheel is extremely stiff and very difficult to turn, especially at slower speeds; error code B1342; suspect failed torque sensor

- Longwood, FL, USA

problem #140

Dec 052015

Escape

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the steering wheel was difficult to maneuver without warning. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the steering column failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 96,000.

- Reading, MA, USA

problem #139

Nov 032015

Escape

  • miles
Takata recall since I purchased my vehicle I had a problems with power steering I learn to cut the vehicle off and restart.my car was service at adamson Ford in birmingham Alabama for a power steering recall it is worst now I cannot cut it off it is hard than before to turn I return back the service advisor stated the problems with power steering has been performed already he stated a sensor harness pulled loose but I am return to adamson today 11/30/15 I called before thanksgiving the service advisor no tech. Available until Monday 11/30/15.my car I power steering is worst now before going to get recall..this is the third time 11/3/15 and 11/16/15 will return 11/30/15.I only have one car I need my car fits or like it was before I could turn off and restart.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?