Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,917 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 10 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #282

Aug 232013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 30,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was driving on the expressway at 70-75 mph. Suddenly lost power and car started to vibrate. Was able to pull over without incident but could have been a bad accident as I was in the passing lane. Once I pulled over I notice the wrench light was on which indicates a powertrain problem. The dealer states that it's the electronic throttle body. This vehicle had a similar problem about a year ago. The throttle control module had to be replaced. Fortunately at that time the car was still under warranty. With this incident the car is over warranty by 300 miles.

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #281

Aug 242013

Escape

  • 57,000 miles
Extremely dangerous, life threatening malfunction!!! deserves official recall. While traveling in the evening of Aug. 24, 2013, on a dark and lonely stretch of interstate 10, our 2010 Ford Escape uncontrollably decelerated from 60 to 0 in about 30 seconds. What, likely, saved our lives, was that we were in the right lane and were able to access the shoulder of this interstate quickly, without causing a collision. We coasted to an involuntary dead stop. After waiting about 15 minutes in the darkness on the shoulder with our emergency lights flashing, fearing for our safety, we restarted the car and made it back home about an hour away without further incident. This hour drive felt like forever due to the threat of this reoccurring. The warning light sign on the dashboard was a little wrench, which, according to our owner's manual is a "throttle control/power train" fault that required immediate attention by a Ford dealer. We were nowhere near a Ford dealer during this incident, and after careful consideration, think it best to stay away from Ford dealers, permanently, after an official recall is issued. This "fault" is very serious and dangerous, and tragically, some unsuspecting people, including children, will probably end up getting killed as a result. Ford needs to take immediate action to recall the affected Ford Escapes and fix this to prevent future loss of life.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #280

Aug 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 46,237 miles
While driving at approx 45mph, the vehicle's throttle dropped to idle speed. The accelerator would not allow the car's RPM's to increase despite pushing it to the floor. The car did not stall, but rather was in a sudden state of idle. After car's ignition was shut off, the car restarted without problem. However, the incident happened again the following day, nearly causing a serious accident as it happened in the midst of heavy traffic and there was nowhere to move the car. We took it to the dealer who could find nothing abnormal on the diagnostic computer. However based on the description of the problem, the dealer replaced the throttle body today and reprogrammed the power train control module at a cost of over $500.

- Canfield, OH, USA

problem #279

Aug 242013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 52,301 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving in heavy city traffic at 35-40 mph, engine lost power and died making it very hard to brake and steer. I was able to steer into a turn lane without incident but was lucky not to be hit in the rear. This could be especially dangerous at highway speeds if you are unable to get off of the road. Vehicle was able to be restarted after waiting about 5 minutes. This is the second time in as many days that this has occurred. Internet research shows that Ford has had numerous complaints regarding this issue and the NHTSA is investigating this problem.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #278

Aug 192013

Escape

  • 55,174 miles
Driving my car home and the car lost power, I could not get any power with the gas pedal, coasted down my street (about 3 mph) was able to get the car into my driveway. Called West herr garage the next morning, they ordered a flat bed tow truck to bring the car in ( the little wrench showed up on the dash board) the garage found it was the throttle. The serviceman told me that they were having trouble with the throttles in the Escapes and Fusion's and I asked if there was a re-call - he said no. So now I am asking you, is there a re-call" I take care of my vehicles and don't abuse them, so why did this throttle go bad and with no warning" on Aug.13th I had the oil changed and tires rotated, came home and parked the car in the driveway and found later that the car was leaking oil very bad. Had to take the car in and they said that something was not on tight they did send someone out to my house to clean the driveway.please let me know if there is a re-call. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Angola, NY, USA

problem #277

Aug 212013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 74,023 miles
I had just left work yesterday 0821/2013 and was driving maybe 40 mph. My 2010 Ford Escape just died on me. I had driven but a half mile. I coasted into a parking lot, turned it off. I checked under the hood and all looked ok so I tried starting it. After some hesitation, it did start. I drove it straight to my mechanic. He could not find anything wrong so I picked it back up. This morning 08/22/2013 it did it again when I was turning through an intersection, not a mile from my house. I was almost hit by an oncoming car. It did it again, on the highway, about 10 miles later. This time the check engine light came on. I drove it straight to my mechanic because I knew he should now be able to pull something up on the computer. He was able to confirm that the throttle needed to be replaced. He did tell me to call the Ford dealership to see if there was a recall but there wasn't. he felt bad and gave me a great deal, $410, to replace it. Ford needs to do something!!!

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #276

Aug 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 32,991 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle abruptly stalled with check engine light on, at highway speed. An accident was barely averted. Car was taken to dealership and diagnosed as a faulty throttle body. The defective throttle body was replaced. Vehicle only has 32K miles. Research shows that this is a common problem.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #275

Aug 202013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 100,010 miles
Ford Escape 2010 stalling. Wrench light turns on. I have to carefully get off the road and stop the vehicle completely. Turn off the engine and then turn back on. It will run ok until next time. Looks like every 3-5 miles. This is very dangerous and needs to be recalled asap.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #274

Aug 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
On 2 occasions my 2010 Ford Escape lost throttle power while driving. This has happened once while starting to accelerate and once while driving 45 mph. The yellow toolbar lights up on the instrument panel and the car essentially loses power and I'm unable to drive forward. After further investigation we need to replace the throttle body which cost $345 (not covered by warranty and no recall). In my opinion this should be a recalled part considering how common this problem appears to be and more importantly the extremely dangerous position it leaves you on the road when the throttle body fails.

- Schaumburg, IL, USA

problem #273

Jun 032013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 54,900 miles
Traveling on vacation on an Ohio highway when engine stalled and went into limp home mode and yellow wrench light came on. I was able to pull over and had to shut the vehicle completely off. After about 5 minutes I was able to get the car started again. This problem did not reoccur until August 20.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #272

Aug 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 58,430 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was coming to a stop light near work when engine suddenly shifted into limp home mode. Was in a construction zone with only one lane. The yellow wrench light came on. I was able to pull slightly over and after completely shutting off the vehicle, was able to get it restarted.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #271

Aug 052013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
Vehicle begins to loose power/ stall. The "wrench" light illuminates on the dash. After pulling over and restarting, it will go another 5 - 10 miles and it does it again. After 2 - 3 times it will throw the "check engine" light (code P2112). We checked/ cleaned the throttle body and cleared the code. Car ran ok for about 3 days (50 miles), and it happened again. We are looking into hiring an attorney as Ford does not want to help cover the cost to repair this defect. I have two young children that ride in this car, and uncontrolled stalling and sputtering is dangerous on busy streets. Twice, this happened in the middle of an intersection, and at one time, it completely died going 40 mph, and the power steering quit, causing me to almost head into oncoming traffic. Please help us and others with this issue, before someone is seriously injured or loses their life.

- Sachse, TX, USA

problem #270

Sep 012011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
2010 Ford Escape. Acceleration from a stop and sluggish acceleration when entering the expressways was intermittent for about 18 months at approximately 58K miles. Car stalled at a stop light at 68K miles, was able to go after switching ignition off and then back on. Acceleration has been quite sluggish. Car is at the dealer now and I was just told it is the electronic throttle body. After research online I found that this is happening quite a bit to other Ford Escape owners-frightening that I let it go on this long.

- South Beloit, IL, USA

problem #269

Aug 012013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
The vehicle seems to be stalling out and has no throttle. The wrench light comes on, the cars seems to be sputtering, but there is no drive when you push on the gas pedal. So far I have been able to stop, put the car in park, shut it off and then on, and the wrench goes away and the car runs. It has happened now 4 or five times in the last 2 weeks.

- Boone, IA, USA

problem #268

Aug 182013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 36,750 miles
Driving in a parking lot 36K miles and then throttle pedal acted useless, engine idled down rough. Power train light came on (wrench). Turned off the ignition, restart the SUV it took longer to catch then normal. Drove fine for about 30 more miles till I got to the dealership. I was told it needed a new throttle body and it was a 670$ fix.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #267

Aug 172013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
The vehicle is a 2010 Ford Escape. Driving my 2010 Escape the engine stalled. The speed I was going was about 20 mph. With no prior warning the wrench light came on, the RPM's fluctuated and I could not accelerate the vehicle. The dealer said it could be a number of things but after investor I found in the internet very similar behavior with other Ford Escapes and it said that at the end it was the electronic throttle body needed to be replaced I waited after 3 days with my car at the dealership and called them and told them to check the throttle body. They confirm that it needed to be replace, but I told them and yet I had to pay for diagnostics and the replacement of the throttle at my expense as it was not under warranty. This engine stall issue occurred 08/17/2013 to 08/19/2013 ( 5 times).

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #266

Jul 062013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
When driving I loss all acceleration. The acceleration pedal has no effect while depressing. A red wrench icon illuminates on the far left end of the display console. Once in awhile the engine light would illuminate. The owners manual icon description reads "throttle control/power train. This occurs unexpectedly on several occasions. I activate the hazard lights and pull over to the roadside. The SUV will shake, but will not shutoff. I will shutoff the SUV and then would have no problem restarting.

- Portsmouth, VA, USA

problem #265

Aug 182013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Car stalled while I was driving over the railroad track. After barely got it to go over the railroad (luckly train didn't come while I was barely moving) pulled over to side and shut the car off and started back up. Wrench looking light and engine check light came on while it was trying to stall, it happened 2more times while trying to make it back home. After few checking around it is caused by the faulty throttle body.

- Centralia, IL, USA

problem #264

Jul 302013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 60,985 miles
Vehicle was moving. The gas pedal lost control for acceleration and the car came down to an idle and it's thrusting itself forward to move. The gas pedal would not react. The yellow wrench light came on.

- Champaign, IL, USA

problem #263

Aug 152013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 65,064 miles
While traveling on the interstate at 70 mph, the throttle control stopped. The engine maintained running but there was no throttle control. I was forced to cut across traffic while losing speed to reach the shoulder. After stopping, turning off the car and restarting all control returned. I took car to Ford dealer and upon a diagnostic was determined that code P2112 and the etb failed.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?