Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,500 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Apr 012015

Escape 4WD 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles


For the first time the engine completely shut off while driving, I was turning left onto my mother's street, going approximately 20/25 mph. There was no warning, the vehicle just shut off while driving. I was able to turn the car off, put the vehicle in park, and restart the car without a problem. It happened again about 4 weeks later and again, I was going slow as I was in my parking garage at work, approximately 15/20 mph when my car shut off while driving without any warning signs. I put the car in park, restarted and started driving again. As I was approaching another level in the parking garage, the same thing happened-the car shut off. I was able to put it in park and start driving. This is a huge safety issue as cars have almost rear ended me and I drive with my 2 young sons in the car. Previous to these incidences I took my car to Ford for recalls regarding the throttle body, which can apparently cause this problem to occur.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #31

Jun 012014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
While making a left turn, the vehicle stalled and went into limp mode. Turned ignition off, waited 10 minutes, then cranked vehicle, and it ran normally...updated 12/04/14

- Horn Lake, MS, USA

problem #30

Nov 062014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Immediately after having two items fixed that were recalled on my vehicle, (throttle body etc), the check engine light came on. I thought it was something done while fixing recall items; however, the Ford dealership service dept advised me that it was not due to the recall items fixed. Also it would cost $527 to fix, as the flap inside the nozzle/flex fuel pipe was not closing properly. I showed my anger and disappointment - which at that point, the service manager advised that my car had a white funnel that they would use to try to undo the flap. It worked. Why in the world did they try to get me to pay $527 without first trying the funnel. Another client in the service dept advised me to do the funnel thing before the service guy did. He has had the same issues. As of this morning, however, the check engine light is on again. I am going to try the funnel first, before I take it to my personal mechanic. I feel assured that I am not the first Ford Escape 2010 owner that has experienced this issue. Please check into recalling this problem. Thank you very much.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #29

May 252014


  • 59,000 miles


I was driving on a highway and the wrench symbol appeared on the dash. Then power was cut to the engine and I coasted to the side of the road. Restarting the car removed the wrench and I was able to drive home. The exact same incident occurred again four days later on 5/29/14.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #28

Feb 182014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Vehicle loses power while going down the highway. It stalls out and when you make a turn it cuts off with no warning. It surges while traveling.

- Trinity, NC, USA

problem #27

Jan 022014


  • 55,000 miles
My 2010 Ford Escape began stalling out from a stopped position around the beginning of February. This was after driving approximately 65 mph on the highway and coming to a stop at the exit ramp light. This has, thus far, occurred twice off the highway. (and once in a very quick, crowded, dangerous off ramp intersection.) other incidents include multiple times stalling from a complete stop after driving a period of time (approximately 10-15 minutes), and multiple times stalling out at approximately 3-5 mph while in a parking lot. I now have to keep my foot on the pedal while idling at a light. Another problem is that the Escape is surging when slowing before a stop. The first incident occurred in the beginning of January 2014 and has progressively increased.

- Maumee, OH, USA

problem #26

Dec 042013


  • 21,300 miles


Vehicle failed, as it stopped an alarm lit up, showing a wrench, diagnostic showed a trottle failure. It has happened (5) times since Dec 04, 2013. Last time, it failed after seventeen (17) miles run. When vehicle is turned off, the alarm light goes off and the vehicle runs again.

- Humacao, PR, USA

problem #25

Jan 072014


  • 40,120 miles
While driving down the interstate my Escape suddenly lost power and slowed to around 5 mph. I pulled to the shoulder, placed the car in park, shut it off, waited a few minutes, then started it and continued on my way. This has happened two more times since, both while traveling 30 mph in town. I followed the same procedure and was able to continue on my way. I believe this to be an issue with the throttle body, as I have consulted my local mechanic. He confirmed that he has seen a few Escapes with the same issue.

- Lincoln, IL, USA

problem #24

Jun 232013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 38,906 miles
Engine simply stopped operating in midst of traffic and immediately decelerated....then resumed operation but vehicle unable to move faster than a crawl....then stopped again....then resumed again. Was able to exit freeway and reach gas station. Turned off vehicle and called aaa for emergency road assistance. Vehicle was towed to Ford dealership. Ford replaced the throttle body and motor asy which was on backorder for 2 weeks. Today, December 26 2013 the symptom has resurfaced. The engine simply stopped in the midst of traffic. Was able to pull out of the flow of traffic. Car restarted and was able to continue driving home.

- Sanford, FL, USA

problem #23

May 032013


  • 34,646 miles
First incident: 05/03/2013: Ac stopped working properly. Car sputtered. Stopped. Would not accelerate. Dash lights came on: Battery, wrench, etc. Lost power. Then would accelerate. Pulled over and had towed. Dealer Ford service department inspected. Replaced bad floor actuator motor - CC42.. fixed under warranty as owner was only 3 weeks out of 3 year warranty, with a mileage of only 34,646 miles. (invoice receipt: Test codes performed by dealer: P2111, P2112, monitor pids. Oasis-ssm 32170. Replaced throttle body, reset kam, CC42.) second incident: 11/17/2013: Similar to 05/03/2013 incident. Ac stopped cooling. Turned off car. Tried to start and dash lights came on. Car acted like it would start, sputtered and would not start back up. Waited 30 minutes. Car started back up. Left parked, as felt dangerous situation if were to occur on interstate. Will have towed to my mechanic for inspection. Why, if dealer replaced actuator motor 6 months earlier would same situation occur? there must be another issue causing the actuator motor failure other than the actual motor failure.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #22

Nov 022013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 57,750 miles


I was traveling West on I-10 from tallahassee, fl intending to go to pensacola, fl. I was driving the 70 mph posted speed limit. As I neared exit 192 @ quincy, fl I heard a noise from under the hood that sounded like a clunk. The car's engine dropped below 1000 RPM and gradually slowed down. I pulled off to the emergency lane. The Escape was towed to havana Ford in havana, fl on sat., Nov. 2, 2013. The service dept. Opened Monday and I was informed that the throttle body broke. I had the throttle body and gasket replaced.

- Havana, FL, USA

problem #21

Nov 052013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 76,800 miles
The car stalled while driving. The first time it stalled I was driving 65 mph with children in the car with me. After I came to a stop, the car restarted and after driving 2 more minutes it stalled again at 45 mph. After the second stall the engine light came on. I had a diagnostic report done and the report said "throttle actuator control system-stuck closed" and "detected the throttle plate is at a lower angle than commanded." I hope this is resolved quickly. It is not covered under my warranty.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #20

Oct 032013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 82,113 miles
I was traveling @ about 40 mph when it sounded & felt like the engine quit. There was a wide shoulder so, I pulled to the side of the road. The engine was still running but running poorly and wouldn't rev up over about 1000 RPM. The check engine light came on along with an orange "wrench" light. I switched the engine off, restarted it, and it ran fine for about 1/2 mile. Then, the same thing happened again, and again, and again. In the next 2 miles the same thing had happened 3 more times. After almost getting rear-ended by a Ram truck the last time it quit, I pulled into a parking lot and called my mechanic who came and towed it to his garage. Almost $400 later, my mechanic had replaced the electronic throttle assembly. He told me the Ford dealer parts person said he knew the part number by heart because they had replaced so many of these parts.

- Selma, NC, USA

problem #19

Aug 152012


  • miles
As I was driving, the engine just stopped, I tried to give it gas, but it wouldn't go. The vehicle slowed down and I had to pull over. The wrench indicator light was on. I turned the vehicle off, then on again, and the wrench light was off, and the vehicle was fine. This has happened about a dozen times since the initial incident.

- Graham, WA, USA

problem #18

Aug 222013


  • 30,800 miles
This is the second time this has happened. I came to a stop. The car shuts off completely on its own and was unable to start it up for a period of time in either park or drive. This also happened at approx. 7000 miles. Each time I take it to the shop, they are unable to replicate or find any errors within the system, so they refuse to correct or try further diagnostics to replicate the issue.

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #17

Aug 182013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
Vehicle stalls at any speed. After shutdown, vehicle restarts and runs fine for a minute or two and then stalls again.

- Friendship, WI, USA

problem #16

Dec 232012


  • 36,250 miles
While driving on the parkway in traffic the vehicle lost propulsion. I was able to coast to the shoulder of the road before being hit by cars able to travel the speed limit. This has now happened several times both on the parkway and other roads.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #15

Jul 092013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 49,523 miles
The problem started on July 09, 2013. My wife was dropping our kids off at daycare and a summer program when the car just lost all power couldn't accelerate or anything. The vehicle could just coast. We have never had any problems with the vehicle before, so I told her to try and shut down the vehicle to restart it. There were no warning lights and it worked fine. Then after dropping the kids off it happened to more times to her on her way to work. After I got off of work, I picked up the vehicle and drove it around non-busy roadways to see if it could happen to me, and it did. I immediately dropped it off at a service center close by. I am extremely concerned about these incidents after looking online and finding out that this is not a random incident. It is happening to many people. Something in the throttle body goes bad causing the vehicle to go into something that people are calling "limp mode". my wife was driving at highway speeds with vehicles behind her and my children in the car. This situation could have been devastating and I am glad that it wasn't. I do not want it to be devastating for anyone else either though. I believe it should be looked at closely. After talking to the parts department of a Ford dealer, it seems that Ford has recognized the problem by changing the part. The problem is that it only helps if you change the part. I believe that Ford should be doing something about this to ensure nobody is injured badly or worse.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #14

Jun 262013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 71,194 miles
6/26/13 - driving in the right lane on interstate 81 in Pennsylvania at approximately 65 miles per hour and engine completely lost power. A large truck was behind me and I immediately put my four way flashers on. Luckily there were no vehicles in the left lane and the truck changed lanes. Additional vehicles were coming upon my vehicle quickly so I pulled over on the berm at about 40 mph and applied the brakes and stopped. Turned off the car and restarted and problem went away and continued on trip. Problem happened again the next day 6/27/13 driving on interstate 81 at approximately 65 mph. Same problem where engine completely lost power. I put on my four way flashers and approaching traffic started moving to the left lane. Pulled over to the berm and shut the car off. Restarted and tried to pull out. Problem happened again. Shutoff and restarted and was then able to pull out and finish trip. This is the fourth time in less than a month that this has occurred. After the first time I contacted Ford and ordered a new throttle body. Part is on back order and keep being told next week. Ford made me give them a credit card to order the part and has charged my account but has not given me the part.

- Carlisle, PA, USA

problem #13

Jun 042013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
My 2010 Ford Escape nearly stalled (slowed all the way down) and I was able to pull over and shut it off. It happened 5 times in two days. I called the dealership and my car is not under warranty and there is no recall. During those 5 instances, I was driving at various speeds when my car slowed to a near stop. A couple times it happened in the parking lot (slow) and three times on the road between 45 and 55 miles an hour. All I know is I'm too scared to drive it as it is unsafe and I have kids. Not safe!!!

- Ijamsville, MD, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?