Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,472 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 12 of 27)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #319

Aug 152013


  • 48,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle lost acceleration power while driving at various speeds. The wrench warning icon illuminated after the failure occurred. The vehicle resumed normal function after the engine was turned off for a moment. The vehicle was taken to the local mechanic where a diagnostic was performed, which located the failure at the throttle body. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 48,000.

- Greensboro , NC, USA

problem #318

Aug 212013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
Driving the vehicle normally when suddenly lost all power (limp mode) the lady in the vehicle behind me almost hit me then she went off the road herself. I had to pull over I shut the engine off and went to check on the lady in the other vehicle and luckily her and her vehicle were fine, unfortunately I did not get her name or number. When I restarted the vehicle it operated normally, the throttle was responsive again. I drove about 3 more miles and it happened again as I was making a left hand turn. Again shut the engine off and restarted again operated normally. I later took the vehicle to a local car parts store and had them check the codes. The codes they got were P2111 and P2112 throttle body stuck open, stuck closed respectively. I contacted a Ford service center and they informed me that they can schedule service next week but they have so many of these bad that the parts are on back order. Since this caused a near miss I felt compelled to report it as well as it seems to be a pretty sizable issue since the parts are difficult for Ford to get.

- New Lexington, OH, USA

problem #317

Aug 142013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 36,600 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. While driving 58 mph, the vehicle would not increase speed despite the contact depressing the accelerator pedal. The vehicle was merged to the shoulder and the engine was restarted. The vehicle was diagnosed by the dealer as having throttle assembly failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 36,600. The VIN was not available. Updated 9/19/13 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 09/24/13

- Berkely, CA, USA

problem #316

Aug 202013


  • 67,650 miles


Driving on the highway at a maintained speed, my vehicle illuminated a maintenance light, and within seconds the gas pedal was not working. I was on a slight hill at the time so I still had some momentum, enough to pull over out of the traffic. The steering, brakes, and everything else were working fine, but nothing happened when I pressed the gas. When I put the car in park there was some stuttering, almost like it was stalling out, coming from under the hood. I turned the vehicle off and waited a few moments. When I turned it back on, it took an extra 2-3 seconds to start up, but seemed to be running fine, and I drove to work, then right to the dealer after work for repairs. They told me it was the electronic throttle body, and that it is now running fine since they replaced the throttle body, and I am going to pick it up after work today.

- Derry, NH, USA

problem #315

Aug 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I bought vehicle 2010 Ford Escape in August of 2011. In February of 2011 I was driving down a city road going about 30 mph and my Escape starting stalling out would not accelerate wrench light came on. I pulled into a parking lot and it was idling rough like it was going to stall out. I put my Escape into park pushed slightly on gas pedal it made no difference with my foot on the brake I switched it into gear made no difference. I put car back into park and turned it off. Waited a few minutes started it. It started right up with no problems. I ran fuel cleaner through it. I did not have anymore problems until Thursday Aug 15th 2013. I was driving down city road going about 30 mph it did the same thing again. Started stalling out would not pick up acceleration running rough wrench light came on pulled into parking lot barley idling sputtering like it was going to stall I put car into park turned engine off waited a few minutes. Turned back on. My car started fine ran fine like nothing happened again. So today 8/20/13 im going down busy traffic country two lane road no where to pull car off on side safely. And again all of a sudden going about 35 mph I loose acceleration car starts sputtering I cant accelerate running rough wrench light came on I coasted up to stop sign as I had nowhere to safely pull car off road and put car in park turn off engine started engine right back up car ran fine. This is a safety issue. I thought at first my fuel filter may be the problem but as im reading the 2010 Ford Escapes have a guaranteed lifetime fuel filter inside the fuel tank cannot replace it. So as I was reading more in depth I see a lot of people having the same problem as I am with their 2010 Escapes. I now see the problem is a throttle body issue defect and an investigation is going on. Ford needs to do something about this before people wind up in crashes over this.

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #314

Aug 182013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Vehicle stalled upon acceleration from stop, and lost all throttle function. Surges at idle, and intermittently stalls. Throttle failed the next day at highway speed. Same symptoms as the failed throttle body sensor issue that was fixed by October 2009, but my Escape was built in December '09 after the problem was supposedly fixed.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #313

Aug 152013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 86,000 miles


In August rush-hour morning traffic at approximately 60mph the vehicle suddenly without warning went into 'limp mode', the engine RPM decreased to under 1000rpm and I was able to fight thru several lanes of traffic while coasting the vehicle to the side of the road. No throttle inputs affected the engine, it remained under 1000rpm and ran very rough as if it was going to stall. I shut the car completely off, waited a minute, then restarted the engine and was able to continue to the workplace. Two days later on a short trip to a restaurant, the engine again went into 'limp mode'. I shutoff the vehicle and restarted and continued on my way. About 1/4 mile later the engine went into 'limp mode' again. The vehicle would go into 'limp mode' after every 1/4 - 1/2 mile for a total of 4 times on the short trip. I then took the vehicle to the dealership, where it is now. This 2010 Ford Escape has 86K miles. The dealership says it is a bad throttle body. I called Ford customer relations and they will not do anything to help because of the mileage and no recall has been issued due to NHTSA action number: PE13003 as of yet (still in investigation since February). I cannot safely drive this vehicle.

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #312

Aug 162013


  • miles
I was driving down the road when my gas pedal stopped working and my car would not accelerate. After turning the car off and back on, the problem recurred four times before I finally called a tow truck. The repair shop diagnosed the problem as the throttle body stuck in an open position. The part is now on national back order. It is an expensive and, due to the back order, long repair.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #311

Jul 122013


  • miles
On multiple occasions, our newly bought used vehicle (a 2010 Ford Escape with less than 60,000 miles, ) had stalled on my party while driving. When the vehicle is in drive the car loses the ability to accelerate. Some of the times all we had to do was restart the vehicle and it would get us back home. The occurrences of the problem happened more frequently when driving on a freeway or highway.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #310

Jul 092013


  • 63,000 miles
Driving down the road and everything seemed fine. Suddenly, the engine shuddered, hesitated, and lost power. Luckily, traffic was light and I was able to get off the road. All fluids ok, battery ok, fuel ok, etc. After checking options, I tried restarting the car. It started fine -like there was no problem. Since then it has been happening more often, but not on at any predictable time or event. Engine cool or hot, slow or high speed, smooth or bumpy road -just whenever it seems to feel like it. I've been reading online that this seems to be a common problem with the throttle body on these vehicles. I'm now looking for a replacement and am wondering how much this is going to cost. Since it is a widespread issue, will Ford reimburse for the expense?

- Centerville, OH, USA

problem #309

Jul 112012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles


The first incident, the engine stalled as I slowed down to make a turn. The second incident, while driving the engine nearly killed and was in a low speed like it was in neutral, just stayed in one spot like it was stalled. Had vehicle towed to dealership where they replaced the throttle body.

- Chalmette, LA, USA

problem #308

Jul 302013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 60,985 miles
Vehicle was moving. The gas pedal lost control for acceleration and the car came down to an idle and it's thrusting itself forward to move. The gas pedal would not react. The yellow wrench light came on.

- Champaign, IL, USA

problem #307

Aug 142013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
While driving to work, the engine suddenly lost power. Stepping on the gas produced no effect. Driving slowly to the side of the road I restarted the engine, and proceeded to work. This was a daily occurrence both going to work in the morning, and returning in the evening. Took the car to a mechanic and was told that it was the throttle body.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #306

Aug 162013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
P2111 code (throttle body stuck open); accelerator pedal stops working; vehicle goes into a limp home mode. Cycle the ignition key and everything starts working again. Problem keeps repeating itself. Suspect the throttle body is malfunctioning.

- Belleville, MI, USA

problem #305

Jul 242013


  • 94,013 miles
Just driving along one day and upon crossing an intersection of a busy street the call stalled. I pushed the gas pedal and couldnt accelerate. Luckily I was able to pull of on a side street without holding up traffic. When I got to the side street I shut the car off and started it again and after taking awhile it finally started back up only to do the same thing a block later. The problem seemed to have gone away for a couple weeks but has came back recently and is ever more frequent. When it sets over night or for long periods of time it is driveable but after a few miles it starts to stall again. Driving under 30 mph or accelerating super slow seems to help some times but not always. Still probably not very safe to drive it like that especially pulling onto a busy street or out into a busy intersection.

- Salina, KS, USA

problem #304

Feb 282013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
I purchased a 2010 Ford Escape XLT, used on Feb 28, 2012 from a Ford dealer, northeast phila. It had 52,000 miles. I purchased an extended 3year 36,000mile bumper to bumper extended warranty from date of purchase. Upon driving off the lot, I noticed high idle at rest, low acceleration and shifting by itself when accelerating and trying to slow to stop. I immediately took the vehicle back to the dealer, a couple of days later. Service mgr. Said that he took my vehicle home, drove it, found nothing wrong. I showed him service bulletins from Ford documenting vehicle accidents, similar complaints, as a result of the main computer program of the vehicle, wrong coding, codes not being read correctly, etc. Service manager denied seeing this information, despite me giving him copies. It is now August 16, 2013, vehicle is worse, idling at rest 3000 RPM, 10-20 mph idles at 4,000-5,000 RPM, louder than the radio. Vehicle shifting itself, hesitating, when trying to accelerate onto a highway ramp, or going up a hill. Vehicle shifting, and jerking while trying to slow to a stop. Took vehicle to Ford dealer route 1 langhorne, pa, closer to my home. Was told by service rep that computer codes from vehicle not being picked up by service diagnostic computer. "we had to clear your vehicle computer and reprogram it. Not covered under manufacturer or extended warranty. Therefore you pay the $90 diagnostic fee". it is routine maintenance". I said how is a computer malfunction in the vehicle, requiring a complete wipe and reprogram routine maintenance? they refused to return my $90. Vehicle still same problem, slightly less, a little more quieter, still running 4000 RPM on mild acceleration. I am afraid, because it was shifting up when I was trying to slow to a stop.

- Levittown, PA, USA

problem #303

Aug 152013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 37,741 miles
While driving with cruise control set, 60mph on I-64 @ I-170 the vehicle stopped forward motion. It coasted to a stop but the engine did not stop. The accelerator did not work and the RPM stayed between 750 and 1000. The ignition was tuned off then back on in about 2 minutes and the accelerator worked. Ford dealer replaced the throttle body unit.

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #302

Aug 092013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
When coming to a stop and then trying to accelerate from and idle position the vehicle will loose power. By this I mean the vehicle stays on, lights on dash remain on, motor is still running, but the accelerator pedal has no effect on the vehicle. The vehicle has shutter to it. Pressing the gas pedal has no effect no matter how much you try or how much time passes. You have to coast to the side of the road, turn off the vehicle, and restart the vehicle to get the gas pedal working again. This is a very very dangerous flaw in the vehicle as this has happened to me three times in busy los angeles intersections. I fear it will cause an accident. The Ford dealer wants to charge me $800 to replace the throttle body which has hundreds of thousands of complaints online about this exact issue. They refused to acknowledge this recurring and very prominent flaw in their vehicle and say even the extended warranty I purchased for $2,200 will not cover this particular part. This is very frustrating. Hopefully you guys can bring some justice to the hundreds of thousands of people dealing with this exact issue. Thank you for your time.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #301

Aug 132013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 104,328 miles
Driving down street, engine shut off. This would sporadically happen at different speeds and in different parts of town. Error code P2112. Engine would either shut off completely or would idle low and rough and not move, when accelerator was depressed, no increase in RPM.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #300

Aug 152013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 51,230 miles
Was driving family back to out cabin in pigeon fodge tn, all of sudden in three lanes of traffic our SUV made a sudden surge and lost forward motion speed dropped and it would not go above 1 grand on tachometer. It would crawl but barley. Traffic behind me started blowing their horns. I hit the emergency lights. And started to getus off the parkway. We made it. The yellow wrench appeared on the dash and the SUV idled very ruff. I turned it off. Waited looked under the dash. Got the family out because it was hot outside. Then did not learn anything from hood up. Started the SUV back up and it ran. Got the family back in the SUV and went back to cabin. Thanks that is all I know. We have to go back home in morning so I hope I can make it 3 hour trip.

- Holden, WV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?