Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,472 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 23 of 27)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #99

May 012013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


Vehicle surges and then dies when stopping at a red light or stop sign. Vehicle will instantly restart after placing it in park. After first incident vehicle has constantly gotten worse. Dealer stated throttle body was defective and ordered new part which is on back order. Unable to drive the car since it is subject to die at anytime.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #98

Apr 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
Vehicle suddenly lost power while traveling at highway speed. I was able to steer to the side of the road and stop. Vehicle restarted and had the same issue two more times in a 40 mile trip. Vehicle has continued to have the same problem intermittently both at surface street speed and highway speeds.

- Bay City, TX, USA

problem #97

Jun 102013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 69,500 miles
It was taken to dealership for repair and I was told they have zero throttle bodies for this car for 4 to 6 months maybe longer. And in researching this there are alot of people with the same problem I'm having and they don't seem to care about resolving the issue. Just keep making your payments on the car and rent you another so you can get back and forth to work to pay for it. Even tho I have warranty coverage still cannot get a loaner car till they can get the parts to fix this thing.

- Santa Fe, TX, USA

problem #96

Jun 082013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 21,610 miles


While making left hand turn vehicle abruptly stalled, yellow warning light showed fault with powertrain. Vehicle was towed to dealer on 6/10/2013 still waiting for throttle body assembly three days.

- Palatine, IL, USA

problem #95

Apr 102013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 41,500 miles
Vehicle cut off while traveling in traffic at about 45 mph, wrench light came on. The engine cranked back up, continue on my way. 2nd incident happen while traveling to work, engine kept running but, could not give engine gas, coast to a stop. Wrench light came on, engine was idling rough, turn vehicle off, engine cranked back up. 3rd incident engine surged and cut off after taking off from stop light. Another incident engine cut off while traveling about 40 mph, engine surged, stumble. Wrench light came on. Engine cut off, wrench light and service engine light came on, and stayed on for two days and then went off. Vehicle is out of warranty. Dealer thinks throttle body.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #94

May 222013


  • 57,000 miles
In a 35 mph zone, when accelerating after slowing to allow vehicle in front to turn, throttle stuck open & car lost power. Was able to get to side of road and restart car and proceed. Same thing happened 4 additional times that day at various speeds accelerating to speed following a stop or using an on-ramp to highway speed. Have experienced "surging" previously but dealer ignored reports as "intermittent". car was towed to dealer on 22 may and is still there awaiting a new throttle control body. Shipment of new part is estimated as 17 June. Dealer is not providing loaner or rental car as the part is not considered part of the powertrain & is therefore approx. 6 months out of warranty. Since the car cannot "go" without the throttle control body - why is it considered part of the emission system vice the powertrain? with so many cars down for this part, it should be a recall.

- Bremerton, WA, USA

problem #93

Jun 102013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 30,350 miles


I was stopped at a red light preparing to turn right. While at a complete stop, the vehicle jolted forward momentarily and again came to a stop. I turned right and immediately my accelerator failed and the car would only move forward at a speed less than 5 miles per hour. I coasted into a parking lot where I turned off the vehicle and restarted it. It accelerated normally for a moment before failing again. The warning light that appeared was correlated with the power train, per the vehicle's instruction manual. When inspected by a Ford dealership, the mechanic said the throttle system had failed and needed to be replaced. All inspections and services related to the vehicle were up-to-date and there were no other problems detected. No one was injured.

- Marion, IA, USA

problem #92

Jun 102013


  • 56,000 miles
Three time within 5 miles the vehicle stopped accelerating and giving it more gas did nothing. I would have to coast to the side of the road and hope no one hit me in traffic. I took the car to a mechanic and he said the throttle body was faulty.

- Lockport, NY, USA

problem #91

Jun 082013


  • 59,555 miles
I bought our car brand new on April of 2010. On 06/08/13 (3pm) we were in turnpike running 70 mph when suddenly the car slowly lost speed eventually we stopped on the side and at the same time the engine lights symbol came on. We turn it back on and drove approx 10 miles and it happened again. Everytime the engine turned off we can always turn it back on and drive few miles. We decided, for us to at least get home (6pm) we have to drive on city limit 45 mph, and it never game us a problem. Because on those incidents on the same day we decided to send our car the next day to the Ford service center. After 24 hrs 06/10/13 they called that it is the throttle body that they need to replace. Until now we are still waiting on the parts and of course pay an estimate of $582.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #90

May 172013


  • 32,000 miles
5/17 while starting from a red light stopped, the vehicle accelerated but suddenly lost acceleration. Wrench light came on. I was able to move the vehicle to a parking lot and call for a tow. The technician said the issue was with the fuel line and I had my vehicle back. 6/7 similar deceleration happened and this time the vehicle starting knocking a lot at low speeds. Wrench and engine light came one. After turning off and starting again, the vehicle drove fine. I brought it home and one Monday (6/10) started it again to take it to the dealer. The vehicle drove fine for half a mile before exhibiting the same behavior or deceleration and frequent knocking. I pulled the vehicle over and called the tow. I have been told by the mechanic that the throttle body needs replacing and it is back ordered nationally.

- Los Altos, CA, USA

problem #89

Dec 262012


  • 51,000 miles


This is the 2nd time I have taken my 2010 Ford Escape in for losing acceleration, stalling. The engine still runs but I am unable to accelerate. The car basically won't run, but will start up again. This is a major hazard if this were to happen on the freeway, or with a higher speed. It generally happens around 30 miles per hour. Back in December, 2012 I took it in to bill brown Ford and they could not figure out the problem, and returned the car to me, saying it didn't happen to them. After experiencing the problem on a daily basis all last week I took it in today to bil brown Ford on Plymouth rd in livonia, mi. They told me because I no longer have a warranty anything they do find I will have to pay for. It seems like with a safety concern like this they would fix it free of charge. Someone could very well run into me from behind when I lose acceleration and cannot run the car. Please I hope you can help and help others experiencing this problem. I hope they are able to diagnose the problem today and won't charge me for it. I didn't do anything to this car. It is not normal wear and tear. It should be fixed by Ford before a crash happens. Also of notation in case this helps I used regular gas only from December, (after this happened the first time), until last week when gas prices went up I switched to E-85. Wondering if this might be the problem? I tried to run the gas tank down before filling up with regular unleaded this week as I heard.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #88

Jun 082013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled as the battery and mil check engine warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic throttle body needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the parts where not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 44,000.

- Mount Pleasent , SC, USA

problem #87

May 212013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 69,900 miles
The first time I had just left a stop light and was accelerating and suddenly the vehicle lost acceleration and even with my foot pushing the gas pedal to the floor, it would not accelerate. I pulled over, let the car sit for a few minutes, cranked it back up and it drove fine for 2-3 weeks. (6/7/13) then after driving for 4 hours at highway speeds, this problem occurred again. It occurred three times before I got to my destination, all within a 30 minute timeframe. Each time it was able to be corrected by turning it off and restarting. Upon arrival at my destination I let the car sit for about 15 minutes then we took the car out again. It de-celerated one time at highway speed and one time at approximately 45 miles an hour. In this last set of occurrences the emission/check engine light symbol came on as well as the wrench symbol. Both times it was again able to be restarted - the two times in this round of occurrences happened within 10 minutes of each other. The car then sat overnight (6/8/13) and as I pulled out of the driveway to take it to a mechanic yet another occurrence happened. Again it was able to be restarted and I was able to drive to the mechanic and back (round trip of about 30 miles). While at the mechanic shop they ran a diagnostic and it came up as a problem with the throttle actuator control system. I do not have the error numbers at this time to notate.

- Woodford, VA, USA

problem #86

Jun 302012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
I was driving my 2010 Ford Escape and all of a sudden it started bolting forward but at the same time completely lost acceleration.. I pulled over and put my flashers on and not knowing what was wrong I started car again and it sounded fine so I started out again.. got about a block down the road and the same thing happened again..I had it towed in to the Ford dealership and after they checked it out they told me it was the throttle that they were having problems with on some of the Escapes.. so they have had my car at the Ford dealership now for 9 days waiting on the part! and from what I understand there are several people like me waiting on the part.. even one car has been at shop for three weeks... also wanted to note that this problem came right out of the blue! no warning at all! thank goodness I was on a side street and not going very fast! I can see where this could be very dangerous in the right situations!! the dealer kept the vehicle for four weeks.

- Scroggins, TX, USA

problem #85

May 232013


  • 32,000 miles
While driving coming to complete stop to make turn press gas pedal engine lose all power and wrench indicator came of dashboard. Pulled over to side of road out of traffic. Turn engine off then turn engine back on wrench was gone & power return. Problem existed 2 more times after this date. Call Ford service & took Escape in for service for problem to be throttle body valve sticking as of 060613 still waiting on new part for Escape. Escape is at dealership since 06/03/13.

- Glen Burnie, MD, USA

problem #84

Jun 072013


  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle but the vehicle continued to stall. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer. The dealer stated that the electric throttle body was defective and needed to be replaced. The contact did not have the throttle body replaced. The failure mileage was 64,000.

- Culpeper, VA, USA

problem #83

Jun 062013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 19,200 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle decelerated independently. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated that the electronic throttle body would have to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 19,200.

- King Of Preussia, PA, USA

problem #82

May 162013


  • miles
While driving at approx 45mph, vehicle started to decrease in speed. Pressing the gas pedal the rpms continued to decrease and car slowed to a stop without stalling. Vehicle began sputtering and "wrench" light appeared on dash.

- Downingtown, PA, USA

problem #81

Jun 032013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
Car suddenly has no gas, engine is running but no control over acceleration.

- Moore, SC, USA

problem #80

Jun 032013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
While driving, the vehicle stalled out 1 time today, 1 time yesterday, and 1 time about 3 weeks ago. No sign of a problem until the engine stopped accelerating suddenly. Called the Ford dealer today, and they say it is a known problem with this make/model/year. He said the throttle body is bad and will have to be replaced. However, these parts are on about a 2 week wait because they are on "national backorder". obviously a bigger problem than Ford can keep up with. This stalling is dangerous because it happens at highway speeds. The car can be doing 45+ and suddenly slow down to a stop, risking injury to the people in the car and other motorists. Ford needs to announce a recall to keep someone from getting hurt.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?