Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,942 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Escape drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 5 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #149

Oct 182013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


Today on nearby interstate highway, suddenly my throttle pedal acted useless with no power, engine idled down. Throttle pedal useless in any position. Engine outline light came on as well a open end wrench. Wrench warning light in listed in owners manual as "throttle control / powertrain fault, please contact dealer." I called the Ford dealer service department, he knew pretty quickly the defect I was describing. He informed me that my 2011 Ford Escape is a couple thousand miles over the 3yr 36,000 mile warranty. But he also said I may be covered under an extended emissions warranty. My car is just over 2 years old. This is a dangerous defect in the car which is documented as being under investigation in these websites. Please raise the status of this defect to be an official recall before someone dies.

- Berkeley Heights, NJ, USA

problem #148

Sep 232013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 39,500 miles
On 9/23/13 I was driving from houston tx to hendersonville nc. Outside mobile al just before dusk, it felt like the transmission fell out. I left exxon after fueling. At a traffic light, engine suddenly gushed and paused. Wrench light came on. Engine light came on. I applied gas, but engine wouldn't respond. Put car in park, turned off engine. Turned back on, wrench light gone. Check engine light still on. Drove across intersection, pulled into parking lot. Car seemed fine except for check engine light. Drove out, entered freeway, went one mile, car repeated problem: Suddenly gushed, paused, regardless of amount of pressure to gas. Wrench light on. Pulled off freeway, turned off car, turned back on. Check engine light appeared. Drove one more mile on side of freeway. Now full dark, no other place for me but edge of road or ditch. Pulled into truck weigh station, called Ford. Ford representative and I determined car was drivable, so drove to montgomery al, planning to visit Ford dealer. Next morning when I started car, no lights on dash. Continued trip. Thought it was issued with gas capless system, perhaps not completely sealed when finished gassing. I discussed with Ford rep, he said there had been reports similar, but he did not go into detail about throttle body. If he had, I would have accepted his offer of tow immediately. Never would I have continued to drive, especially at night (and as a woman by myself).

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #147

Oct 062013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 71,540 miles
At highway speed, vehicle's 'maintenance required' light came on and the throttle pedal became unresponsive. Engine held steady at approx. 1000rpm. Pulled off to the side of the road and turned the vehicle off. Restarted vehicle and throttle was responsive again. This incident has occurred an additional three times since the initial occurrence. Each time, turning the vehicle off and restarting has temporarily fixed the problem.

- Timberlake, NC, USA

problem #146

Oct 062013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 60,827 miles


Throttle quit working.would only idle and check engine light and wrench light came on.pulled off on the side of the road and had to cut engine off and back on to get throttle working. Happened again one week later.just lucky was not on interstate in heavy traffic doing 70 mph. Both times engine code was P2111, throttle actuator stuck open. Vehicle has 60000 miles on it and dealer said throttle body was not under power train and was only covered under the 3/36 warranty. Purchased new throttle body at dealer and parts manager said it was the fourth revision to the part number. Hope they got it right this time, it could put you in a very dangerous situation.

- Dublin, VA, USA

problem #145

Oct 132013


  • 83,000 miles
Had just stopped at an exit and was pulling back out on the interstate when suddenly my car quit accelerating. Thankfully, I wasn't going full speed yet and could pull over on the side of the interstate out of traffic. Had I been going full speed, this could have been really bad, even fatal. My wrench and engine lights came on. After some time of sitting, the car drove fine and I was able to get to a repair shop that performed a diagnostic test and the error came up "throttle body stuck closed". after researching, I've found this seems to be a common problem and is very dangerous. I've also had times where after stopping and then pressing the gas to go, the car would accelerate forward suddenly. Because of this defective part, my son and I were stranded for several hours and were traveling home so we were about 4 hours from home. We had to depend on strangers to help us. Ford needs to take responsibility for this and fix this. We do not have several hundred dollars to fix this.

- Alcoa, TN, USA

problem #144

Oct 102013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 43,741 miles
At 65 mph in rush hour traffic my vehicle transmission disengaged and my vehicle started coasting. I could not accelerate, the engine vibrated roughly when I tried to accelerate, and I had to pull over to the side of the road. It is my understanding the throttle body stopped working and caused this to occur. The same thing happened 3 more times on this same day. Once at 10 mph, once at 45 mph, and once at 55 mph. Each time I was able to pull over, shut off the vehicle and restart it. The transmission would re-engage and I could continue on my way.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #143

Jun 182013


  • 45,559 miles


I was taking my father to the emergency room when my vehicle stared to slow down. When I tried to accelerate it wouldn't move. The wrench light came on. I turned the ignition off, restarted the engine, the wrench light was gone, and started driving again. Same thing happened and I had to coast to a nearby parking lot to avoid getting into a wreck. It had to be towed to the nearest Ford dealership where I was told, after having it for several days, they thought it was the throttle body and of course was not covered as the warranty had run out. They didn't have the part and had to order it. It was in the shop for eight days waiting for the part so it could be fixed. I had to rent a vehicle because I couldn't drive the Escape and that cost a fortune not to mention the $406 I paid to have the throttle body and motor assembly replaced. Ever since the replacement my Escape has not been the same. I was told there would be a recall and I would be reimbursed, but of course that hasn't happened yet.

- Lenoir City, TN, USA

problem #142

Oct 022013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
I was driving down the hwy and my truck just abruptly slowed to 10 or less mile per hour. I had to cost over two lanes of traffic to the shoulder. This was very dangerous as the cars around me had no idea that I was having car troubles and just whizzed by at hwy speeds. Once I made it to the shoulder I was able to turn the truck off and restart it and get it to the dealership without a tow. Once at the dealership, they said there was no codes on the computer so there was nothing they could do until they had a code. This has happened four times and I still have not been able to get it fixed.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #141

Oct 042013


  • 45,000 miles
The transmission failed totally while my daughter and I were traveling at highway speeds in the middle lane!! as our truck began to slow, semi trucks began flying past us both on the left and the right and all we could do was wait for and pray for an opening to our right and hope we made it over to the shoulder before traffic slammed into us. Remember - our gas pedal didn't work at all so we had to coast over to the shoulder with no control over how quickly we'd get there. I chose the hazards over the left turn signal to attempt this. The way to get moving again was to stop, put in park, turn off the engine, take out the key, put the key back in, restart it, then the gas pedal would sometimes work. We made our way home on the shoulder of the highway with our hazards on and had to restart 3 more time in the next 5 miles.

- Kernersville, NC, USA

problem #140

Sep 192013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 36,966 miles
As I was driving down the road, all the sudden without notice, the vehicle went to 1 RPM and 5 miles per hour. Tried to accelerate and it would not, then the wrench light came on. I put on my flashers immediately so I would not get rear ended by cars coming fast behind me. Then, the vehicle stalled out. The check engine light never came on. Sat there in the rain for a few minutes. Then, started the vehicle back up again, to get it home. Then, I was afraid to drive it, called the Ford dealer to get my vehicle in, they could not look at it until Monday of the next week, so had vehicle towed on Saturday to dealer---extra cost involved on a 2 year old vehicle. The service department looked at it, they could not duplicate the problem. I pick up the vehicle on 9/25/2013. Drove the vehicle for 4 days, then happened again on 9/29/13 and it had been raining. Then, drove the next day 9/30/13, again threw the wrench symbol after going to 1 RPM and 2 to 5 miles per hour and bucking, could not accelerate at all. It was dry on this day. Again, put my flashers on this time was going 30 mph on a narrow two lane road. Remember the service engine light never came on, but they were able to find a code this time. They said it was the throttle body, so I began asking more questions as to why Ford has not recalled this since so many across the usa are having issues. No one knows, so as a consumer on a tight budget --like many of us these days....gets to figure out all the money pieces. I guess I will need a third job just for vehicle repairs on a two year old vehicle. This was a very scary experience and Ford needs to do something about this before anyone else is seriously injured or killed. This problem should not be happening with a two year old maintained vehicle. Now because it is over the 36,000 miles more money out of pocket....geez.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #139

Oct 042013


  • 53,000 miles


Throttle body needs replaced. Ford will not cover it even though this is a common complaint. I was almost rear ended twice when I lost power and it cut out. I have read this is a common issue and needs to be addressed by Ford before someone gets killed. Recall is needed on this!

- Camby, IN, USA

problem #138

Oct 012013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 27,106 miles
Traveling on interstate 57 in Illinois that feeds directly into interstate 94 at 60mph, 6am and still dark outside. Just feet away from the intersection of 57 going into 94, the car began to decelerate and within literally seconds 50-40-30-20...0, the car stopped. The "wrench" sign was showing on the dashboard. Luckily, I was next to the shoulder, and with on response to the gas pedal, pulled over. I ended up in the middle of the intersection of both interstates - 57 and 94 on the shoulder they shared. The person behind me pulled sharply over into the next lane to avoid me. Sitting there nervously, cars were whizzing by me. I called the non-emergency number and connected to the state police who asked my location and assured me a tow truck would come. As I sat there nervously praying that oncoming traffic saw my hazard lights, I wondered how something like this could happen so rapidly and without warning. Luckily, the tow truck came within 10 minutes and with the assistance of a state police car navigated through 3 lanes of oncoming, fast going traffic to get me to a safe area on the other side of 94. After turning the car off from neutral and restarting the car responded normally. I was able to drive to the dealership without incident where the throttle was replaced after 45 minutes of work. I ask the Ford representative would this be reported to Ford, he stated it would. I ask could this happen again, he said most likely not. He state they get "lots of Escapes with this problem and there will probably be a recall." This was one of the most scarious situations I have been in!!! there would have been a major accident if the car had stopped minutes later. Does someone have to die for Ford to issue a recall!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #137

Sep 272013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 37,401 miles
At highway speed, engine and drive train became totally unresponsive on congested dallas freeway. Wrench light came on, no other indications. Vehicle lost all speed and was forced to cross traffic lanes with no motive power to safety lane very nearly causing three different traffic accidents with other vehicles. Totally limp. Once parked, shut off motor and restarted. Engine started and drive train engaged again. Wrench light no longer appeared, no other indicating lamps or errors. Returned to roadway and within 5 minutes same thing recurred. Pulled over, restarted engine, drive train reengaged, returned to roadway and exited to side roads to home. Once on the side road, same thing happened again in front of a semi coming up from behind and narrowly escaped getting hit from behind before pulling over again. Same routine occurred 4 more times before I could get it into the dealership. Last occurrence in addition to the wrench light coming on and off, the engine light came on and stayed on. Vehicle condition is known, reported multiple times and has been investigated by the nthsb already without a recall. This known condition is extremely dangerous to the operators of affected vehicles and to other unsuspecting motorist and the general public. Pressure needs to be applied to Ford Motor Company to address this matter and notify affected owners and operators of affected vehicles. Today the vehicle is at the dealership and with just a thousand or so miles over warranty, dealer says it is not covered and the estimated $600 repair is my issue.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #136

Sep 302013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 60,400 miles
As I was traveling on interstate 10 @ 70 mph over lake pontchartrain near new orleans, my 2011 Ford Escape stalled; I lost all power. Accelerator was unresponsive. I managed to pull over and turned off the engine. I restarted and it started up, running normally again for about 2 miles, when the problem recurred. The wrench symbol appeared with the stall and then disappeared once I restarted, though the engine light came on and remained on when I restarted. I also noticed at times I had to really hold down the brake to prevent the vehicle from surging forward on its own. The problem kept occurring every few miles, and I repeated the same procedure. I elected to keep attempting travel; the problem was intermittent and I was in an unsavory section of eastern new orleans. Sometimes the car would go 5 miles, sometimes 5 blocks, sometimes 5 feet. I nervously managed to get home, and after researching online I found numerous complaints from others with Ford Escapes, as recently as 2 days ago (Sep. 28, 2013), detailing the exact same problem. Some people who had these identical issues resolved said the Ford service departments claimed it was the "throttle body." I have only ever taken this vehicle for all service, always on time, to the Ford dealer where it was purchased in mandeville, la. Apparently this "throttle body" issue is common and currently under investigation by the NHTSA. These vehicles should all immediately be recalled. It is only a matter of time until a fatal crash occurs because of this problem. The automatic surge problem is absolutely lethal. I'm going to a Ford service center in the morning, but am prepared to be served with the $600-$1200 "throttle body" repair bill. I found the following website: search "throttle body" & you'll find numerous complaints about this very same issue.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #135

Sep 272013


  • 44,000 miles
Wrench light came on while my wife was driving her 2011 Escape in traffic on the highway and the car went into "limp mode". if you are not expecting the issue (and who would be) it is difficult to maneuver a failing vehicle to the shoulder while on the highway. After the car was turned off and restarted the issue cleared. Investigating this am I see that there are numerous complaints about the same issue with the throttle body. The car has not been taken to the repair shop to confirm the problem yet. If this is the same issue and Ford is obviously aware, they should be ashamed of themselves. This is a major safety concern.

- Perkiomenville, PA, USA

problem #134

Sep 202013


  • 40,200 miles
While driving on the highway, my SUV jerked slightly and then just decelerated, and I could not maintain speed. I had to cross over 3 lanes to the side of the road and turned the SUV off. There was no warning, and I had not applied the break. I noticed the wrench light came on the dashboard. I waited a minute and turned the SUV on again. I was able to get to my destination, however, during this trip, the SUV jerked slightly again, but this time there was a slight acceleration. I was able to maintain a safe speed for the remainder of the trip, as it only lasted for a couple seconds. I contacted the service department of the dealership where I purchased the car and where I regularly take the car for maintenance. The serviceman knew exactly what the problem was when I described the problems I was having. He suggested I bring the car in for service as soon as possible. The car was towed to the dealership, and they replaced the electronic throttle. I was told it was not covered under warranty, but since I had an extended warranty, they would only charge me $100. When I picked up the car, I actually paid $106, and I was never informed that this was a recalled part. I should not have been charged anything, as Ford was well aware that this part was defective and have been for many months now.

- Blue Bell, PA, USA

problem #133

Sep 132013


  • 25,000 miles
I was backing out of a parking place. The engine began to cut out. Pressing on the accelerator had no effect. Even though the engine was still on, the car would not move forward. I was able to get back into the parking space and turned the car off. In a few minutes, I tried to start it again and it started right up. I was very low on gas at the time so I assumed that was the problem. I filled up with gas and it ran okay for another 5 days. On 9/18, I was driving down a 4-lane street and it suddenly began to slow down and would not respond to acceleration. I was able to coast to the side of the road. Cut it off, restarted it and was able to drive back to my office parking lot. I had the car towed to the dealership and they replaced the throttle body which made all the difference in the way the car drives. I realized this problem had been affecting the performance of the car for awhile before it finally got bad enough to get my attention.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #132

Mar 172011


  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, the vehicle jerked and then accelerated rapidly. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer a few months later because the transmissions warning light had illuminated. The dealer stated that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 2,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Sylvester, GA, USA

problem #131

Sep 072013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
First time, driving vehicle no faster than 40mph when it suddenly stops working, wrench light on dash appears. No power to vehicle. Coast to pull over, restart vehicle. Happened on freeway two days later. Driving about 65mph, car stops working, all power lost. Wrench light appears. Coast to pull over, restart vehicle. No codes appear to be listed in vehicle "brain" that Ford was able to retrieve. Dealer unable to replicate issue. Have seen many others having very same issue. Ford unable to fix.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #130

Sep 112013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 42,525 miles
While driving on the interstate to work, my 2011 Ford just stopped on me without any warning. Thank god I was in the right lane, because I was able to maneuver my way into the emergency lane, and out of danger. Had I been in a middle lane, I probably wouldn't be making a complaint right now. It was really a scary feeling. After getting my composure back, I noticed that the throttle control/powertrain light was on, and when I started the car back up, the light went off.

- Decatur, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?