Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2013 Ford Escape has been in the news quite a bit and for all the wrong reasons. Within a few months of its release the SUV was recalled three times, twice because of engine fires.

In July 2012, due to a fuel line that could split and leak, Ford told owners to park their cars because even driving to the dealership for repairs was deemed too dangerous. Instead, in a somewhat unprecedented move, Ford sent tow trucks to pick up the affected vehicles and handed out rental cars while the owners waited for repairs.

A few months later the Escape was recalled again because antifreeze could leak out onto the engine due to a freeze plug becoming dislodged. As the coolant hit the hot engine there was, once again, a threat for fire.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,231 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Escape fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Escape Owner Comments

problem #13

Oct 082015

Escape 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that a strong odor of fuel emitted inside and outside of the vehicle continuously; however, there was no fuel visible on the ground. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the fuel line damper would need to be replaced. In 2014, the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V584000 (fuel system, gasoline), but the failure recurred recently. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Hartford, CT, USA

problem #12

Apr 012015


  • miles
2013 Ford Escape. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle poor mileage issues. The consumer was informed to wait until the vehicle reached 8-10,000 miles and it would improve.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #11

Jul 022014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 13,182 miles
Vehicle towed to Ford on 7/3/14 for fuel leak. Also told Ford that fuel range consumption gauge was not working right. Ford was unable to verify fuel leak concern but did the 13S12 overheating and 14S03 handle recalls. On 7/19/14 low coolant light came on. Called Ford and they said that it was an air pocket in the coolant system and to add distilled water and drive it to Ford. The dealership drained the coolant, added coolant and pressurized to check the system. Explained to Ford that our daughter was taking the car on a 500 mile road trip that afternoon. They reassured us it was fixed and that she would not have an issue, but if she did, simply add distilled water again to resolve. Later on 7/19/14, after driving 150 miles of the trip, the temperature gauge rapidly jumped from normal to hot and the engine overheated. Roadside assist. Towed to the closest Ford dealership. This new dealership said the vehicle had so many problems that they were going to have someone from Ford to come look at it. The new dealership faxed us the list of what was wrong with our vehicle: Leaking water pump, leaking turbo coolant tube, turbo coolant banjo bolt loose, hose clamp on turbo coolant tube not released, coolant stand pipe not bolted, engine harness taped but not secured to engine cover, coolant stand pipe harness not properly secured, battery cable rerouting not performed, foam protection not applied to coolant level module, active grill shutters not removed at all, thermostat housing bolts loose, cv boot ripped, bolts on oil deflector not tight to specs. Ford says they repaired the vehicle but we told them we could not risk our lives any more with this defective vehicle. On 7/29/14 we explained everything to Ford, sent them the list, got a case number and requested that Ford buy back the vehicle. On 8/8/14 Ford denied our request. We are too scared to pick up the vehicle.

- Brentwood, TN, USA

problem #10

Oct 152013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 18,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at 25 mph, the engine stalled and the engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle failed to restart. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, who replaced the tire wiring for the map return signal and the tcbp return. The contact stated that five months after the repairs the failure recurred. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the engine warning light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed and was diagnosed that the fuel pump control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 14,383. Updated 09/30/14 updated 02/27/2015

- Nevada City, CA, USA

problem #9

Apr 222014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 15,500 miles
Vehicle sputtered and shut off while in traffic at approx. 35 mph. This has happened 3 more times, it is now at the dealer for the 4th time in attempt to repair. Ford has so far been unable to provide the dealer with an adequate explanation or fix. The dealer has been more than cooperative but is at the mercy of Ford. A vehicle shutting off for no apparent reason and without warning could lead to serious injuries.

- Southampton, PA, USA

problem #8

Oct 262012

Escape 4-cyl

  • 980 miles
:the first time experienced a problem, I was driving a stretch of level road, approx 40 mph, and heard a pop sound, I called the Ford dealership service and I was told if no warning light came on.. not to worry and just let them know if the light comes on. It was okay to drive. I already had very low gas mileage, but was informed that I needed to give it 5-10K miles to break in"... however, I soon noticed a drop in miles after pop, but was continued to be told to not worry about it.. "needs 5-10K miles to break in" then told "it's a big engine, it needs up to 20K miles to brake in", etc...). I have taken the car in several times to be checked and they keep saying that they checked everything and cannot find anything wrong with it. The mileage continues to be extremely poor (currently 11.4-15mpg in city and hwy... on a really long straight non-stop drive I might peak at 21mpg- this car is suppose to get 22 city and 30 highway). Last year I spoke with regional rep at Ford who concurred that the mileage was bad and said they would find out what was wrong and fix it. No follow through on their part. Several attempts to contact resulted in no call back. *: the other issue is the lack of pick up power. There is a delay that is a safety concern for me.... as I have had near misses as not being able to get out of the way of a merging truck... because the car hesitates briefly when you push on the gas... then lurches forward. I got the larger engine (2.0L 14 gtdi titanium eco boost) because I wanted to make sure that I had enough power to move when I need to. This hesitation happens a lot. But again, the dealer service dept say that they cannot replicate it, nor find anything wrong. The mechanic informed me that the delay is just the way all the new cars are now because the gas pedal goes through a relay system now, not directly connected to the fuel.

- Newport Beach, CA, USA

problem #7

Apr 142014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 15,500 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact mentioned that while driving 25 mph, the check engine warning lamp illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was repaired under recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V584000 ( fuel system, gasoline) and week later the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The manufacturer made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 15,500. Updated 7/8/14 MA also, the engine overheated.

- Clear Water, FL, USA

problem #6

Nov 142012

Escape 4-cyl

  • 10 miles
I purchased the car in November 2012, I had the car for 2 days before it was recalled and sat at the dealership for 17 days. I have had 2 more recalls for the same issue (fire from fuel system) and now having a recent recall that states I should not drive the car- I was told by the dealership that they can not fix my car for 3 weeks.

- Cherry Hill, NJ, USA

problem #5

Oct 132013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 6,258 miles
My 2013 Ford Escape stalled twice while going slow on a local road in July of this year. After the second stall (a week apart) I brought it in for service (levittown Ford) and they could not find nor recreate the problem (they had it 4 days). It stalled again twice on Sunday October 13, 2013, once going through the ez pass lane at the verrazano bridge and again about 45 mins later on a secondary road in NJ, again going slow (under 15 mph). We reported this to levittown Ford service and also to corporate. The service department told me that when it happens again we shouldn't restart the car and call for Ford roadside assistance. Corporate has not returned my call. We are concerned that we may get rear ended in a serious accident if the car stalls again and the car / truck behind us doesn't stop in time (e.g. harry chapin on the lie) I don't believe the break lights would go on since the car completely shuts off. We Transport our two grandchildren two days a week from school / nursery school and are extremely concerned. Is there anything we can do?

- Franklin Square, NY, USA

problem #4

Aug 072013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 6,171 miles
Was driving on manetto hill road in plainview, NY when vehicle stalled. No power to the accelerator. Kept pressing the gas, and the car didn't move. No warning chimes, no appearance of anything wrong-radio was playing, ac, etc. Was able to pull over (roll to the side of the road), put the car in park and restarted it. The computer then showed "engine fault service now" drove to a local gas station, though the car was bucking and difficult to drive. Car was then towed to dealership service station. Have learned that there are multiple tsb's issued for my car, but no recall. Parts are not available so the car remains at dealership service station. I was lucky I was not in rush hour traffic or on/getting on or off a highway when the car died. I shudder to think what would have happened then.

- Plainview, NY, USA

problem #3

Aug 032013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 7,400 miles


While driving the vehicle engine stalls. No lights, no warning, if gas is not accelerated I have lost engine 4 times. 3 times it wouldn't start while parked, and 4 additional times while driving the engine stalled completely, no warning on the expressway in Chicago. I drove straight to dealer and left it there, had to put car in neutral if I let off the gas in order to rev engine to keep from stalling a 5th time. This has happened over and over the last few weeks. The dealer (fair oaks Ford, naperville, il) is telling me there are no 'codes' showing anything is wrong. This vehicle is unsafe to drive and has 7,000 miles. I have brought vehicle in twice for the same issues, thus far to no avail. I cannot drive this vehicle in this condition. It's unsafe and there is no remedy.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #2

May 292013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
I pulled into the service station for fuel. The attendant placed the gas pump nozzle into my vehicles new style capless gas tank and began to fill the tank full of fuel. Once the tank reached the limit the nozzle shut off, when the attendant went to remove the nozzle it would not release from the car. For over 2 hours my car was attached to the nozzle, until the gas station owner came and had to use a screwdriver to pry it out. Good thing by law in NJ a attendant must be their when the station is open or I would have been stuck, their was no phone reception.

- Highland Lakes, NJ, USA

problem #1

Feb 012013

Escape 4-cyl

  • miles
2013 Ford Escape. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle throttle issues and consumer seeks reimbursement. The consumer stated the throttle response on the vehicle was horrible. The consumer stated there was an abnormal hesitation. The dealer claimed it had to with the new 1.6 no boost engine and the delayed response of the turbo. However, there was no fix for it. Also, the consumer noticed the clock would reset for not reason and the preset radio stations would randomly go blank. The dealer re-loaded the software for the display to fix the issue. However, a week later the radio went completely dead for one day, but came back on the next day. Also, the gas mileage was no where near where Ford indicated it should be ( 23 mpg city, 26 mpg combo, 33 mpg highway).

- San Diego, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?