Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 18
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,697 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Ford Expedition engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Ford Expedition:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Ford Expedition Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Oct 282007

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 180,000 miles


The contact owns a 1998 Ford Expedition. The vehicle caught fire while idling and was completely destroyed. An investigator from fire forensics stated that the fire originated from the cruise control switch. Ford stated that they sent the recall notice to the original owner and could not provide her with any further assistance. A police report was filed. The contact filed a formal complaint with the manufacturer. She still has possession of the vehicle. The powertrain and recall number were unknown. The failure and current mileages were 180,000.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #27

Jan 112007

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford Expedition. The contact is displeased because he has been unable to have his vehicle speed control replaced or removed. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 130,000.

- Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #26

Sep 032007

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that the vehicle caught fire under the hood. The insurance investigator stated that a cruise control device caused the failure. There is a recall for the vehicle speed control (NHTSA campaign id # 00V422000). The contact felt that his vehicle should be included. As of October 9, 2007, the dealer had not inspected the vehicle. The current and failure mileages were 125,000.

- Riverside , CA, USA

problem #25

Aug 212007


  • miles


I left work on Tuesday August the 21st and went to a local restaurant about 4 minutes away for my job. I park the car outside and after just about 5 minutes I see a big smoke come out the engine of my car. The front mirror splashed all inside the car. The the whole engine was on fire for about 20 minutes until the fire department showed up.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #24

Jan 052007

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
- the contact received a recall 05V38800) in the mail. Regarding vehicle speed control:cruise control. The recall was honored at the dealer. The contact believed that it was Ford's responsibility to warn the consumers that the brake fluid could be lost through a defective switch, which could cause a crash. The consumer stated the cruise control switch was never replaced under recall, only a fuse line was added to the switch. The consumer was never told that the brake fluid could leak through the defective switch. Updated 03/19/07.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #23

Jul 272006


  • miles
When vehicle was in cruise control, it could not be deactivated by brake pedal. This occurred after the "cruise control" recall work was performed on the vehicle. Additionally, the brake lamp lights are now out and the vehicle cannot be shifted out of park. (this appears to be the same defect as the recall for the 2001 Ford Taurus, but does not seem to apply to the 1998 Ford Expedition).

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #22

Mar 162006

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles


: the contact stated the vehicle caught fire while parked in the driveway. The fire was coming from under the hood area. The fire spread to the garage and damage was sustained. The fire department extinguished the fire. The vehicle was towed to the insurance company. The manufacturer was alerted. There is a recall for the vehicle speed control the NHTSA campaign id# 05V388000. This vehicle was included in the recall but the contact was never notified. The Ford manufacturer had the vehicle inspected.

- Dimondale, MI, USA

problem #21

Jan 012006

Expedition 4WD

  • 79,000 miles
1998 Expedition cruise control was disconnected. When it was reconnected there was a sudden vibration. The consumer was informed of a recall on the cruise control in September 2005 and had it disconnected while waiting to have it fixed. On December 28, 2005 the cruise control was reconnected but wasn't use until January 2006. When it was finally used there was a vibration. The vehicle was parked and the consumer observed fluid leaking onto the driveway. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that there was no was that the vibration was connected to the recall work. The vehicle was taken to the consumer's regular mechanic who determined that the transfer case bushing was damaged along with the driveline and transfer case. All parts had to be replaced.

- San Mateo, CA, USA

problem #20

Mar 022006


  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,812 miles
: the contact stated there is currently not a problem with the vehicle. However, there is a NHTSA recall, #05V388000 on the vehicle regarding the vehicle speed control cruise control. The parts needed to repair their vehicle are not available at their local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts are not available. The manufacturer was alerted.

- Gadsden, AL, USA

problem #19

Oct 062005

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Just arrived home in my 1998 Ford Expedition from work on October 6, 2005 around 5:50 pm ran in to change clothes. We were in the house no more than 5-8 minutes when we heard a strange sound. Ran to the front door and noticed smoke and fire coming out from under the hood of my vehicle. My neighbor ran for the water hose & put water on the fire until the fire department arrived to help. If this had happened just a few minutes before we would have been still in the vehicle and could have lost our lives in the fire. Just a few days before this incident Ford choose to send out recall notices in September 2005 on this year\ make\model regarding the speed control wiring. Not only that I had just taken my vehicle into Ford service at a local dealership for a problem with my air conditioner and the rear end. They should have corrected this defect at that time but did not. Ford should have sent out recall notices a couple of years ago due to this defect when people were having problems then. If it had been done I would still have my vehicle up to this day.

- Alvin, TX, USA

problem #18

Oct 052005

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles


98 Ford Expedition under hood fire I received the recall notice on Tuesday and on Wednesday the car caught fire. The vehicle had not been driven in over 24 hrs. Ford has been unresponsive to repeated calls!

- Austin , TX, USA

problem #17

Oct 172005

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,700 miles
The contact states received NHTSA recall notice 05V017000. Vehicle is a 1998 Ford Expedition. The contact called local dealership and tried to arrange for recall work to be done. The dealership said that Ford would be sending him another letter, to wait for the part to come in around November. The dealership would not make an attempt to put the contact on the call list for the part. The contact has been on the phone with Ford Motor Company, they said that there was no additional letters coming in the mail. Ford said that he should wait for the dealer to contact him, then, hung up on the contact. No one was interested in fixing the recall part. Luckily he knew that was to be disconnected, so he did himself. The problem seemed to be getting the contact on the waiting list for the part. The contact was on the phone trying to get through to Ford cruise control switch task force, and the number for Ford kept repeating the options for the contact. The contact tried to get through for almost twenty minutes. Then the contact called back three different times.

- Odenville, AL, USA

problem #16

Aug 252005

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Owner's vehicle caught on fire while sitting in the driveway on Thursday for about 5-10 minutes. The owner heard the horn honking and went outside to see that the vehicle was in flames. The fire was more concentrated in the driver's side near the windshield in the engine compartment. The owner called 911 and by the time the fire department got there the truck was engulfed in flames. The fire took about 10 minutes to extinguish. The vehicle was totaled. There was a fire investigation and the fire investigator said he knew what caused the fire, and that he was still preparing the report. There was no police report. The fire investigator said the fire was caused by the cruise control switch. There was damage to a pop up camper that was located next to vehicle. Also, there was damage to the siding on the house and the gutters. There was some damage to the landscape timbers and some mulch and flowers were burned as well. The driveway was full of debris. The vehicle was towed to a towing company. The insurance company will come and take it to their Agency storage location. The insurance company has been contacted, but the owner was unaware of whether the insurance company will conduct an investigation. The owner did not have the address, but did have the dealer's identification number which was listed in dealer information.

- Noblesville, IN, USA

problem #15

Jun 042005

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 161,000 miles
Dt June 4th, 2005 the vehicle burned to the ground. The fire dept came out and extinguished the fire. Two investigators came out and said the fire started from the cruise control switch. The deck burned on the side of the house and it also burned a tree. The vehicle had been sitting for 3 days before it caught fire.

- Issaquah, WA, USA

problem #14

Mar 012005

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The vehicle has a problem with the cruise control switch.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #13

Jun 132005

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer states that he is having problem with his 1998 Ford Expedition. There is a recall 05V017000 for the same problem. The dealership stated that the problem was cruise control. The cruise control switch quit working and melted the wiring harness.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #12

May 152005

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles
On Sunday 5-15-05, I had just returned home from visiting my brother in the hosp. From a gun shot wound to the face. I sat down in my front home and I have a glass storm door, so I could see outside. Not 5-min. After I was in the house I could see a lot of smoke outside. I said oh my god something is on fire. My husband and I went out with the fire extinguisher and raised the hood on the vehicle, there was no actual flames to be seen at that time, only smoke and melted wires.

- Prince George, VA, USA

problem #11

Jan 152005

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 101,000 miles
The cruise controls stuck and the car went up to 8,000 rpms. I could not stop the engine from racing, and I had to turn off the engine, and take out the key from the ignition to shut down the engine.

- Amherst, NH, USA

problem #10

Mar 292005

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
The consumer parked the vehicle for approximately 10 minutes, and upon her return, smoke was coming from under the hood. The consumer checked the vehicle, and the fire smoldered itself out. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, and the wire harness was burned. The problem was caused by the cruise control sensor/switch. Ford stated that there was nothing they could do. The air suspension control module malfunctioned also the indicator for the gear shift had broken and were replaced.

- Benton, AR, USA

problem #9

Mar 262005

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 118,999 miles
The vehicle was parked for a few minutes when all of a sudden it caught on fire. Results showed that there was S short within the cruise control switch.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?