Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,012 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Expedition windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Expedition:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Expedition Owner Comments

problem #19

Jul 102009


  • 99,750 miles


I have experienced a windshield leak on my 2001 Ford Expedition. This has lead to unwanted electrical activity when the vehicle is unattended. This has included the radio coming on or the blower motor running and even the starter engaging with the key removed. I am very concerned about a possible fire!

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #18

Sep 092008


  • 70,000 miles
Windshield leaking water causing erratic and unpredictable intermittent electrical failures in a 2001 Ford Expedition. This is dangerous.

- Cuba, NY, USA

problem #17

Feb 202008

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,500 miles
Water leak in the front windshield (following a few consecutive rainy days), causing electrical failure of the dome light, wipers, radio and gear selector. Ford service advised replacing the fuse box and GEM module for $1,100. This is my family vehicle and I am deeply concerned that this may cause an electrical fire or unwnated electrical activity when the car is unattended. My car is just under 80K miles. I have done some research and can see that there are many others that are experiencing similar problems. This is a safety concern that should should be attended to immediately. I hope this can be resolved without taking legal action.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #16

Feb 162008

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles


In the last few months, I have noticed that when it rains, my blower motor will run on high-speed and my lights will flicker after I turn the vehicle off. At first it would stop after a few seconds, however this last time, it ran for about 10 minutes and finally shut off. I have a co-worker who has the exact same Expedition and asked him if he's had this happen too him, which he stated yes and has been going on for around 6 months. I called Ford Motor Co to inquire about a recall, since this is very unique in nature, and (of course) they have no record nor keep any data on anything (according too the rep). Not quite sure what their job is! so I called the local dealer and they were 'familiar' with my problem and had a 'few' fixed. Well, after doing some research on the internet, it turns out there's more than just a 'few' incidents.. there are several!!! the problem appears too start with a water leak in the windshield, going to the fuse box and gemodule which in turn sends electrical currents to the ABS module which cause all sorts of problems. Now if this isn't a Ford manufacturers defect versus normal wear and tear, than I guess my college education means nothing. From my research and the local dealers quote, the cost of this repair starts a $1000.!! as of today, I have not fixed it, I'm deciding it I want to get a diff vehicle.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #15

Jan 182008

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
After rain or heavy fog we experienced many electrical issues on our 01 Expedition incl. Horn not working normal, front & rear wipers not working or coming on by themselves, door locks locking/unlocking while driving, interior & exterior lights not working, alarm system going off while SUV was being driven, fan blower on after SUV was turned off, radio working intermittently, etc. The latest occurred 1/16/08 after heavy rains the prior night. SUV wouldn't start in the morning and had to be jumped. It was driven that day with only issue being interior lights coming on themselves. On 1/17/08 SUV wouldn't turn over and again was jumped. There was clicking noise from engine compartment that seemed to be coming from kelsey hayes black box. We immediately took SUV to dealership and asked for tech to witness issue. Tech confirmed noise coming from the K-H ABS module, said problem was probably due to windshield leak into fuse box & GEM module which was sending current to ABS module and also causing interior lights to turn on/off by themselves. On 1/18/08 dealership said tech did pressure test on windshield and it leaked and needed to be resealed. Fuse box and GEM module would also need replaced. Since problems were caused by water leak Ford ext.warranty won't cover repairs. I spoke to srv mgr, who said he would call zone mgr.and get back to me. I called Ford customer relations (crc) to document issues. Called dealership on 1/21/08 and srv. Mgr. Said zone mgr. Said nothing could be done to resolve situation and we were responsible for repairs. Due to ongoing electric issues with SUV we fear other safety features may malfunction compromising our safety. Ford issued ssm 15773 on 4/05/02 to dealerships addressing unusual electrical issues after rain or snow resulting from a windshield water leak. The ssm included actions to be taken in that situation. Our vehicle was back to dealership many times after release of ssm for electrical issues and ssm work was never done.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #14

Jan 152007

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 159,900 miles
After a rain and ice storm water leaked around the windshield causing electrical failures, including but not limited to the windshield wipers and the headlamps. Water entered the engine of the vehicle through an improperly sealed windshield causing the power distribution box and the generic electronic module to get wet. These components control various electrical systems in the vehicle. This caused the vehicle to stop running. Electrical damage had to be repaired and a new windshield had to be installed. This caused the owner to pay over $2000 in out of pocket expenses.

- Bastrop, TX, USA

problem #13

Jul 232006

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles


My windshield on my 201 Ford Expedition is leaking and has caused my GEM module to act up. Most notably windshield wipers not working, radio on and off.

- Dunkirk, MD, USA

problem #12

Jun 142006

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
: the contact stated the front windshield leaked rainwater into the vehicle and the dash panel area. Afterwards, the power and electrical features did not work. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who determined due to the heavy rain the windshield seal leaked and the water caused an electrical failure of the central junction box.

- Martinez, GA, USA

problem #11

Mar 012006

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 109,375 miles
Windshield on 2001 Expedition leaks and GEM module has shorted out.

- St. Louis , MO, USA

problem #10

Mar 302005


  • miles
Ford Expedition 2001 windshield leaking through hand holds on right and left side. Diagnosed as windshield sealant failure between the hand and the glass over approximately 75% of the sealant band area. Solution: Remove glass, strip all sealants, prime body, prime glass, replace glass (broken during removal).

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #9

Dec 092005

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles


Leaky windshield caused electrical failure of the general electronic module, causing most systems in vehicle to malfunction, including transfer case switching, transmission shifting. Ford, nor advantage warranty company would stand behind the cost of this failure brought on by poor quality in manufacturing.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #8

Jan 182006

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
2001 Ford Expedition windshield leaking into fuse box and GEM module, causing electrical problems and shorts.

- Centerburg, OH, USA

problem #7

Sep 052005

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,110 miles
My windshield on my 2001 Expedition is leaking water in the driver side lower corner. It's seeping into the floor boards and into the engine electrical compartment under the hood.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #6

Jun 152005

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Contact states the windshield is leaking, causing the computer in the fuse panel to short out. The stereo, windshield wipers, and the air conditioner come on when the vehicle was not in use. Windshield was replaced. Warranty expired, and electronic panel had not been replaced. Ford manufacturer has been contacted.

- Miami Shores, FL, USA

problem #5

Jun 202004

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,600 miles
2001 Ford Expedition (eddie bauer) has had repeated water leaks in front windshield. I've had the window replaced once and repaired 2 more times, so far in the past 2 years. It caused my automatic head-light control switch to fail. Also my rear-winshield wipers failed once, but I'm not sure if it was related to a windshield leak.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #4

Dec 162002

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
There is a leak through the windshield, enabling water to run down through the electronic module. This is causing the dashboard lights to turn on intermittently, and causing the vehicle to shut off. Dealer will repair for the second time at consumer's expense.

- Stockton, NJ, USA

problem #3

Jun 202002


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While backing up, driver's side window busted, causing injuries to driver.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #2

Sep 012001

Expedition 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When there is a glare there are a ton of spots on windshield and it disturbs consumer when driving. Contacted dealer who could not find cause. Dealer replaced the windshield, however the replacement also has spots which are only seen during the early morning and evening, the dealer is willing to replace with another brand of glass, however the Ford rep declined payment.

- Joplin, MO, USA

problem #1

Jan 232002


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving at 66 mph vehicle vibrates and shakes, consumer took the vehicle the to dealer, cause unknown. Consumer states cv boots failed causing front-end to squeak, the seat belt hold strap fell off, drivers window does not close properly and it makes noise and the passenger side mirror shakes while driving.

- Folsom, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?