Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 17
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,241 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Expedition engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Expedition:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Expedition Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #39

Oct 202012


  • 150,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that while parked for over 20 hours the vehicle caught on fire. The vehicle had not been diagnosed by a mechanic. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 150,000.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #38

Sep 032012

Expedition 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
In March 2012 mother was pulling into a parking lot in waco. Car suddenly accelerated and ran through the parking lot eventually hitting a parked car. Car was fixed and mother told them to check this issue out. Again on 9/3/12, she was pulling into a parking space the car squealed, suddenly accelerated, did almost a U turn and ran into the wall at walgreens. Thankfully, no pedestrian was walking out of the store or they would have been seriously injured.

- Copeville, TX, USA

problem #37

Apr 092012


  • 171,297 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that the vehicle was parked and shut off when it caught on fire. The contact was able to extinguish the fire and the vehicle was towed to the dealer. The dealer confirmed that the cruise control and master control sensors needed to be replaced as per the instructions of NHTSA recall campaign id number: 05V388000 (vehicle speed control). The contact spoke with the manufacturer and was advised that the vehicle would not be repaired under the recall because the contact was sent notice of the recall and never responded in order to have the vehicle repaired. The contact stated that he never received notification of the recall. The failure and the current mileages were 171,297.

- Brentwood, TN, USA

problem #36

Apr 092012

Expedition 8-cyl

  • miles


Small fire extinguished prior to fire department arrival. Fire occurred on a sensor attached to the brake fluid reservoir. Fire appears to be consistent with speed control deactivation switch as previously recalled. No damage outside of vehicle.

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #35

Jan 032012

Expedition 8-cyl

  • miles
The Ford Expedition was parked at walmart and just caught on fire it also burnt two other vehicles before the fire department was able to put it out, the Ford was fully engulfed and the cavalier beside it was also burning and was completely burnt on the passenger side and the Honda in front of it was also damaged.

- Valley, AL, USA

problem #34

Sep 232011


  • 31,300 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 05V388000 (vehicle speed control). After the repairs were completed, the horn and speed control were still inoperable. The manufacturer was notified and advised the contact to take the vehicle back to the dealer. The approximate failure mileage was 31,300 and the current mileage was 31,400. Consumer is unhappy with dealer. Has turned the whole matter over to legal counsel. Updated 11/16/2011

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #33

Aug 282009

Expedition 4WD 6-cyl

  • 58,123 miles


My Ford Expedition 2002 was recalled for fire hazard due to the cruise control. I had the repair done at mccoy mills Ford in fullerton ca. And a few weeks later my car burst into flames in my driveway while parked. The car was totaled and now I do not have a car and can not buy any thing comparable for the 12,000 the insurance paid. I believe Ford owes me the difference because I followed the rules and had the car "repaired" by them. What should I do now?

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #32

Apr 092010

Expedition 8-cyl

  • 148,782 miles
My vehicle was functioning fine. I ran an errand, came home, parked my 2002 Ford Expedition under the parking shed and went into the house. Not over 45 minutes later my younger sister came and told me that my car was sparking and smoking. When I went to check on my truck I could see smoke and flames. I ran into the house to get the fire extinguisher and used it to put the fire out. I am fearful of driving this vehicle again but my insurance company feels that it can be repaired but can they assure me that this car won't experience the same sort of malfunction" what should I do? I want to drive a Ford Expedition but I don't want to drive this one anymore. I had to undo the battery later because sounds of sparks and the smell of burnt wire was still coming from the vehicle. What if this issue creates a chain reaction to my electrical system" I need a reliable car not a scary one. I checked the recall list for my car but am not sure if the recall is the cause for the fire but when I entered my VIN number recall #05S28 came back. It indicated there was a recall regarding the speed control system. I don't know what that means and really don't care to but I want my truck. I don't want that truck fixed or repaired and if it is, give it to somebody else that can drive around in it not have experiencing what I did in it. Please, thankyou

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #31

Oct 082008


  • miles
I have owned two Ford Expedition, both of which were wrecked when it rained. My concern is that the vehicle becomes very loose in the rear when it rains and that is the problem that has lead to me having my accidents.

- Ellenwood, GA, USA

problem #30

Mar 092010

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
2002 Ford Expedition, sticking throttle or accelerator causes sudden acceleration and is quite dangerous, has happened several times and almost drove into a building. Almost feels like the cruise control is engaged but is not, this has happened just sitting at a stop light and happened when trying to pull into a parking spot and has happened a few times while driving.

- Goodyear, AZ, USA

problem #29

Dec 212009


  • 104,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Ford Expedition. While at work his vehicle caught on fire while parked at home. The fire department was able to extinguish the fire. The vehicle was completely destroyed. The cause of the failure was unknown. The failure mileage was 104,000.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #28

Jan 102009


  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Expedition. While driving less than 60 mph, the vehicle jumped as if the accelerator pedal had suddenly been depressed. The contact also smelled a burning odor. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the parts needed for the repair were on backorder. The cruise control switch was disconnected and the dealer stated that the fluid was leaking from the cruise control, which burned components of the speed control sensor and the connector. Both components needed to be replaced. She found NHTSA campaign id number 05V388000 (vehicle speed control), which stated that the manufacturer would disconnect the cruise control due to the possibility of a fire. The VIN was included in the recall; however, Ford refused to assume any liability for the additional failures due to the initial recall. The failure and current mileages were less than 140,000.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #27

Oct 082008


  • miles
Vehicle had no mechanical issues up to the date of the incident. The vehicle was driven on a daily basis to and from work. The vehicle caught fire while parked in the driveway. After researching online what may have caused the sudden fire, we found it was due to a recall for the speed control deactivation switch.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #26

Oct 242008


  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that the cruise control switch was inoperative. Through online research, he found recalls listed for the same year, make, and model of his vehicle, but was unsure if they pertained specifically to his vehicle. The failure and current mileages were 140,000.

- Moultrie, GA, USA

problem #25

Oct 152008


  • 125,000 miles
2002 Ford Expedition spontaneously combusted. Last drove 8 hours prior to fire. Dealer disconnected cruise control switch on 11/30/05 (as per recall) and my documentation from dealer shows this service was done. Have never been notified by dealer of new part availability. So what cause the fire? did have a fuse blow about 6 days prior. This is the fuse that includes control of the shift lock. Truck is totaled.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #24

Jun 232008


  • 155,000 miles
I bought my Ford Expedition (2002) brand new, have always been the registered owner and have never received a recall notice for the vehicle. My Ford Expedition caught fire at our family medical facility (rancho bernardo) after an hour of being off and parked. The medical facility announced a car on fire with description and I ran outside and called 911 but fire department responded as I was still on the phone. Thanks to the lightning speed of rb fire there was no damage to anything except my vehicle. The firefighters on the scene told me that they suspected the cruise control switch. It only burned inside the engine compartment - in front of the driver side. An independent fire investigator determined after completing his investigation that the vehicle fire was due to a faulty cruise control switch and brake fluid had leaked into the electrical circuit that is always on for the cruise control. The vehicle was still declared a total loss by my insurance company due to high repair estimates. On 8/5/2008 my insurance company purchased the vehicle from me for a little over the kbb private party value due to recent vehicle add-ons I provided receipts for. My insurance company waived the deductible. My family (3 people) was down to 1 car for a little over a month and we all work and go to school. On several days I had to get a rental car and did not have insurance to cover these costs and have not been reimbursed for the days I had to rent a car.

- San Marcos, CA, USA

problem #23

May 012006


  • 57,000 miles
I have received letters from Ford stating that there is a defect in my cruise control system on my 2002 Ford Expedition. I have been receiving such letters for over two years. I have on at least six occasions attempted to schedule an appointment to get this repaired at one of several local Ford dealerships. I am constantly informed that there is a shortage of parts and they cannot schedule the repairs. If this is a serious safety concern, Ford needs to make it a priority to make the parts available. My most recent letter is dated May 20th, 2008.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #22

Mar 142008

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I received a letter from Ford stating that there is a safety defect with speed control deactivation switch for my vehicle. In this letter I've been instructed to contact my local Ford dealer to set up a time/ date for repairs. I've been told by the dealer that "they don't have the part in" and would "call me" when it arrives. Its been almost a month and nothing has been done. What my next recourse of action?

- Louisvlle, KY, USA

problem #21

Oct 222007

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The cruise control switch that was under recall caused my 2002 Expedition to catch fire in my driveway. I had gone down when the recall was first announced, but the part was not available and no one ever called me to let me know that the part was available.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #20

Sep 192007

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Ford Expedition I purchased 6 days ago caught on fire in my front yard. The vehicle was not running it was just sitting in my yard. I informed the seller when I purchased the vehicle that the cruise control did not work and a few other things were wrong. I was told to bring the vehicle back on the day that it caught on fire. Before I left my house, I was informed by a neighbor that it was on fire. I do have a police report of the incident. Received 12/12/07. 64200. Updated 12/12/07

- Clayton, NC, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?