Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,917 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Expedition engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Expedition:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Expedition Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #42

Oct 122011

Expedition

  • 168,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact was driving 20 mph the vehicle stalled with the illumination of the check engine fail safe light. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to be diagnosed or repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 168,000.

- Alto Loma, CA, USA

problem #41

Oct 012010

Expedition

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that the engine fail safe mode warning light illuminated, causing the vehicle to stall. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The current mileage was 46,000 and the approximate failure mileage was 39,000.

- Port Charlotte, FL, USA

problem #40

Sep 262011

Expedition 8-cyl

  • 94,680 miles
Took my 2006 Ford Expedition limited to the dealership for a tune-up and was told of an issue that the 5.4L engines have. They mentioned that some 2004-2008 F-150, 2006-2008 mark lt, 2005-2008 F-Super Duty, Expedition, and Navigator, with 5.4L 3-V engine; 2005-2008 mustang, 2006-2008 Explorer, Mountaineer, and 2007-2008 Explorer Sport Trac with 4.6L 3-V engine; 2005-2008 F-Super Duty, 2006-2008 and F-stripped chassis, with 6.8L 3-V engine may experience difficulty with spark plug removal. This may cause damage to the spark plug and leave part of the spark plug in the cylinder head. Affected engine build dates are as follows: 5.4L 3-V and 6.8L 3-V before 10/9/07, 4.6L 3-V before 11/30/07. Ford apperantly knows about this since they published a technical bullitin (tsb 08-7-6) to the dealerships. Now the consumer, who was never told about this when they purchase the vehicle has to pay an additional cost for a standard tune-up. When asked why, the service department mentioned that the cost is for the removal of broken plugs that they know they will break. Why would I have to pay additional money for damage done by the service department for an issue created by Ford Motor Co. If the plugs are defective and Ford knows about this, they should be responsable or a recall should be issued. This to me is fraud by having the costumer pay for their mistakes.

- Converse, TX, USA

problem #39

Aug 232011

Expedition

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact was driving 45 mph when the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted after the failure but was not taken to the dealer for inspection or repairs. The manufacturer was contacted but provided no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure and current mileages were 80,000.

- Fairburn, GA, USA

problem #38

Jul 212010

Expedition

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that the engine fail safe mode activated without warning while the vehicle was being driven, causing the vehicle to stall. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer three times and they had not been able to duplicate the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000 and the current mileage was 77,000.

- Manchester, MD, USA

problem #37

Feb 162011

Expedition

  • 36,849 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure was experienced on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who located a failure within the throttle body. The local mechanic cleaned the fuel system and replaced the throttle sensor. The failure continued. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired a second time. The failure mileage was 36,849 and the current mileage was 92,000.

- Fort Walton Beach , FL, USA

problem #36

Mar 242011

Expedition

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that the spark plugs was causing damage to the engine. The dealer advised the contact to have the spark plugs removed and replaced with a different model spark plug. The manufacturer was aware of the failure. No repairs were performed. The current and failure mileages were 45,000.

- Danville, CA, USA

problem #35

Jun 142011

Expedition

  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that carbon built up around the spark plugs and he was unable to remove it since one of the spark plugs fractured in half and the other part was stuck in the vehicle; however, if he were to remove them it would cause serious damage to the engine. The dealer advised the contact to bring the vehicle in for service. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was aware of the failure. The current and failure mileage was 104,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Petal , MS, USA

problem #34

Mar 042011

Expedition

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact stated the coolant hose in the vehicle was leaking into the vehicle. The failure caused the radiator to malfunction. The contact took the vehicle dealer to have the hose replaced, the dealer stated the hose was no longer available. The contact stated the vehicle would shut off intermittently due to the faulty hose. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Auburn, NY, USA

problem #33

Jan 082009

Expedition

  • 81,200 miles
1/8/09 while driving at 65 mph on highway vehicle's "engine fail safe mode" alarm sounded & message flashed on panel. Vehicle immediately lost power. I was able to coast to shoulder of road. Turned off vehicle, restarted and was able to drive approximately 1 1/2 miles. I was in turn lane, started to turn left, alarm sounded, message flashed and all power was gone. I quickly turned vehicle off and back on to try and get out of path of oncoming tractor trailer. I was able to get just off roadway after 15 mins started vehicle, drove 4 miles failed again. It was towed to mechanic. After calls to Ford and further testing the electronic throttle body assembly was replaced. On 1/30/10, 35 miles from home, driving on highway at 55 mph when "engine fail safe mode" alarm sounded & message flashed on panel. Again I was able to safely pull to shoulder of road to avoid accident. I called Ford dealer located in that town, had vehicle again towed to shop and they replaced an additional part. I called Ford after 2nd event, I was told by Ford that they are aware of the problem, however since they don't have a solution to it they do not have a recall on this. On 4/20/11 while driving home from work on highway at 60 mph the "engine fail safe mode" alarm & message flashing on panel. I was in far right lane so again was able to coast to shoulder before steering locked from no power. If I had been in left lane I would not have been able to get off roadway. (on 4/19/11 I had vehicle inspected, in nys, no codes were on this vehicle). Towed to shop, after running tests and calls to Ford they have again replaced the electronic throttle body assembly as it had failed. Still no recall. This is extreme safety issue. I have avoided accidents 3 times, if I had been in left lanes I would not have been so lucky. This happens with no advance warning. Ford knows there is a problem.

- Pavilion, NY, USA

problem #32

Jan 082009

Expedition

  • 81,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1/8/09 while driving at 65 mph on highway vehicle's "engine fail safe mode" alarm sounded & message flashed on panel. Vehicle immediately lost power. I was able to coast to shoulder of road. Turned off vehicle, restarted and was able to drive approximately 1 1/2 miles. I was in turn lane, started to turn left, alarm sounded, message flashed and all power was gone. I quickly turned vehicle off and back on to try and get out of path of oncoming tractor trailer. I was able to get just off roadway after 15 mins started vehicle, drove 4 miles failed again. It was towed to mechanic. After calls to Ford and further testing the electronic throttle body assembly was replaced. On 1/30/10, 35 miles from home, driving on highway at 55 mph when "engine fail safe mode" alarm sounded & message flashed on panel. Again I was able to safely pull to shoulder of road to avoid accident. I called Ford dealer located in that town, had vehicle again towed to shop and they replaced an additional part. I called Ford after 2nd event, I was told by Ford that they are aware of the problem, however since they don't have a solution to it they do not have a recall on this. On 4/20/11 while driving home from work on highway at 60 mph the "engine fail safe mode" alarm & message flashing on panel. I was in far right lane so again was able to coast to shoulder before steering locked from no power. If I had been in left lane I would not have been able to get off roadway. (on 4/19/11 I had vehicle inspected, in nys, no codes were on this vehicle). Towed to shop, after running tests and calls to Ford they have again replaced the electronic throttle body assembly as it had failed. Still no recall. This is extreme safety issue. I have avoided accidents 3 times, if I had been in left lanes I would not have been so lucky. This happens with no advance warning. Ford knows there is a problem.

- Pavilion, NY, USA

problem #31

Feb 112011

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
I was driving my 2006 Ford Expedition & the fail safe engine light came on & that stops the gas pedal from working. You then coast over to the side of the road & turn the truck off & restart it like nothing happened. This has happened 2 times about 3 months apart. I had the truck check by bob boyd Ford & they said it needed the throttle body & gas pedal sensor replaced, I called Ford & filed a complaint of how dangerous this is, especially if you are making a left turn in on coming traffic( my Ford case number [xxx]) I then went on a Ford truck forum & found that many others had the same problem with Ford F-150 & Expedition all 2006 models. A person recommended that I replace the throttle position sensor, so I did at bob boyd Ford for $196.58. I also kept the old part.the new part is different in size & has metal key holes instead of plastic. The fail safe engine is only suppose to come on if the engine coolant is very low according to the Ford owners manual, there was no reason for it to come on at any time in my SUV truck. Ford wrote me & the Ohio attorney generals office & said that I have fixed the problem by replacing the throttle position sensor on my own & me paying for it ( case closed). Ford never said any thing to me about replacing the throttle position sensor to fix this problem. Again they said it was the throttle body & gas pedal sensor. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Nelsonville, OH, USA

problem #30

Apr 032011

Expedition

  • 76,000 miles
Vehicle has been sputtering when accelerating at about 40mph. Spark plugs are "seered" and Ford mechanic tells us its a known problem, but not covered under the warranty because spark plugs are considered maintenance. The manual says we the scheduled maintenance is 100,000 miles and we are only at 76,000. If they are known to be faulty and we are not near the scheduled/recommended mainteance then shouldn't this be a warranty issue? I think Ford is milking its customers with faulty parts as I had the same issue with my brakes. It feels as if I am landing a plane when I come to a stop with all the shaknig an rattling. I was told this is a known issue with the Ford brakes - they just warp.

- Monroe, WA, USA

problem #29

Mar 102011

Expedition

  • 69,000 miles
The vehicle enters engine fail safe mode. At this point, the vehicle will shut off and you will lose engine power and steering capabilities. This is particularly dangerous when driving 70 miles per hour on the highway. It will eventually kill someone if it has not already. Ford has dropped the ball on this one. The repair is a $600 - $800 throttle body assembly. Ford should be eating this cost.

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #28

Feb 242011

Expedition 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
For the fourth time in the past 2 years the SUV has shut down while driving the vehicle. The dashboad lights up, the steering wheel locks up, and completely shuts down while in traffic. No warning. Have taken the vehicle in twice, but no codes have shown up on the diagnostics. This is extremelty unsafe and could result in a an accident harming my family, another family or both.

- Evans, GA, USA

problem #27

Dec 242010

Expedition

  • 84,000 miles
I am filing a complaint due to my 2006 Ford Expedition. Over the few years that I have owned the S.U.V., for no apparent reason the vehicle just quits running, enters a fail safe mode, and all power is lost to the vehicle. This has happened now on many occasions and without any warning. Its happened on interstates, bridges, as well as crossing multiple laned highways. This is a tremendous safety issue that needs to be addressed. At first I thought my case might be isolated, but then after some research, I found that thousands are having the same problem with their Expedition as well. I feel Ford should find the problem and fix it before lives are destroyed. My wife and children are in this vehicle everyday. Please if there's anything you can do.....help us!!

- Oberlin, LA, USA

problem #26

Dec 182010

Expedition

  • 93,500 miles
Complaint filed regarding a personally owned 2006 Ford Expedition XLT, owned from 2/2010 to present (12/2010)> three separate instances when driving the vehicle when the "failsafe mode" warning lights and all loss of vehicle control:steering, brakes, acceleration, etc. Occurred/ randomly during this period of ownership with no apparent reason. Vehicle restarted immediately. All instances of the condition occurred when outside temperature was below freezing (winter months) into a right or left turn. No evidence of loss of antifreeze, engine overheating, coolant leaks, etc. Mechanic assessment could not find a reason for the engine fail safe activation. This is a significant, potential safety problem for the driver/passengers of 2006 Ford Expedition experiencing the random occurring engine failure attributable to the failsafe feature of this vehicle.

- Renfrew, PA, USA

problem #25

Jun 142007

Expedition

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact stated the vehicle stalls without warning. The vehicle will then start without any problems. This failure has occurred randomly over the four years the contact has owned the vehicle. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer a week ago and nothing was found to be wrong with the vehicle. The VIN was rejected from the system. The failure mileage was 25000 and the current mileage 74000.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #24

Aug 152010

Expedition

  • 55,000 miles
With no warning, my 2006 Ford Expedition will lose all power while driving. The light on the control panel comes on saying "engine fail safe mode." After coasting to the side of the road, I restart the car and all is fine. I have taken it to two mechanics and they say there is nothing wrong with the car. It has happened twice so far.

- Bellaire, TX, USA

problem #23

Aug 052010

Expedition

  • 61,408 miles
My family (me, wife and two children) were on our way home from a restaurant. We normally take the highway but decided to take the side road home and thank god. Driving 45 mph the "engine fail safe mode" came on and it completely shut off. I pulled over to the side of the road and turned the engine off. After a few minutes, I restarted the vehicle and it started fine and no warning signs.this is the first time it occurred but I do not want this to happen again. The vehicle is inside the garage and I'm calling the dealership tomorrow to make an appointment. This is a family car and we are always on the highway. This is a fatal fail that needs to be corrected. This failure occurred at 61,408 miles. I checked the Ford website and there is no recall. However, there are numerous complaints on the internet for the same issue. I'm afraid for my wife and children while they are operating this vehicle.

- Atlantic Beach, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?