Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002 Ford Explorer is hands-down our worst vehicle on record. "Avoid like the plague" is putting it lightly.

The 2002-2005 Explorer has a very well-established record of expensive transmission failure at under 100k miles. The Explorer has an enclosed transmission which is typically replaced with a rebuilt transmission at a cost of almost $3,000.

Another common problem for the 2002-2003 Explorer is wheel bearing failure at around 90k miles, with a typical repair bill of $500 to $1000 depending on how many wheel bearings failed.

Adding insult to injury, the 2002-2005 Explorer also has a massive problem with the rear panel cracking. While it's a minor annoyance compared to transmission failure, ironically the crack usually goes right through the Ford logo.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
42 / 0
Average Mileage:
30,565 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Explorer body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Explorer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Explorer Owner Comments (Page 4 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #106

Sep 012004

Explorer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear lift glass assembly. Shattered upon opening, lift glass support bracket twisted out of place, causing the failure. 2 injured, an adult and a child.

- Hazel Park, MI, USA

problem #105

Dec 302004

Explorer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
This started in October 2004 and we still on January 19th haven't gotten any repairs made to our vehicle. I have a written statement that wouldn't fit here that I would love to send you with all the details. Please allow me to fax or mail it in.

- Stapleton, GA, USA

problem #104

Jan 142005

Explorer 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
NHTSA campaign number 04V442000/rear liftgate glass. The consumer received notification from the manufacturer regarding the recall on the lift gate. Parts to repair the recall will not be available for at least 5 months. Now, the lift gate has crashed and broken and the dealer is telling the owner that the vehicle is 4000 miles out of warranty and the owner will have to pay out of pocket. Provide further details. The recall part was not available. The hatchback slammed down and broke the back panel.

- Lewistown, MT, USA

problem #103

Jan 132005

Explorer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall campaign: The consumer received a recall notice(04V442000) rear liftgate glass. No parts available.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #102

Jan 092005

Explorer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I own a 2002 Ford Explorer XLS bought new from the dealership. There was a recall issued in October 2004 for the rear lift glass hinge (04S20). I have been waiting over 2 months for parts to be available. It was finally repaired on 1/6/05 at keating Ford dealership. Today 1/9/05 my wife had driven to the gym and was called to the front desk. Crackling had been heard by fellow gym members prior to the rear glass shattering to pieces and metal frame is buckled. No evidence of vandalism was present. The new parts must have been defective or installed improperly. I have filed a claim with my insurance company, Liberty mutual. The representative stated she had a call a few days ago about a similar incident from another Ford Explorer owner. I have contacted my dealer and left a message but unfortunately, being a Sunday, it is closed.

- Stratford, CT, USA

problem #101

Oct 052004

Explorer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
NHTSA recall 04V442000 on the rear liftgate glass. Dealer refused to honor the recall because the computer showed that the VIN number was not part of the recall. However, consumer received the recall notice.

- Cicero, IL, USA

problem #100

Dec 222004

Explorer 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall 04V442000 concerning rear liftgate glass. After recall repairs were made the rear glass shattered while opening the liftgate. The vehicle is at the dealer.

- Severna Park, MD, USA

problem #99

Nov 302004

Explorer

  • miles
The parts to perform the rear liftgate glass recall 04V442000 weren't available on the dates indicated in the recall letter. The dealership nor the manufacturer had any indication on when the parts will be available.

- Shirley, NY, USA

problem #98

Dec 292004

Explorer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,896 miles
There is a crack in the plastic just under the liftgate glass down to the liftgate handle. It just appeared on a cold morning in New Jersey with nothing done to cause it. I know Ford makes vehicles that can withstand the cold without cracking, right? hopefully, this will not affect the sturdiness of the rear glass. Because the vehicle has 37000 miles on it, Ford would not fix it. Not the way to get return customers.

- Albany, GA, USA

problem #97

Sep 252004

Explorer 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,990 miles
While the vehicle was parked consumer was closing the rear hatch and the entire window shattered. Consumer contacted the manufacturer, and although the ball and socket joint to the hatch window was recalled, manufacturer refused to assist consumer unless a waiver was signed so that consumer will not sue the manufacturer. Consumer refused to sign waiver, but would only like to get the defect repaired. This occurred prior to consumer receiving notification not to open the hatch after this defect happened.

- Manitou Springs, CO, USA

problem #96

Nov 022004

Explorer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

No parts were available for recall 04S20 repairs concerning liftgate window. Dealership was contacted. Family Ford 973-347-5379. Recall campaign; NHTSA campaign id number : 04V442000.

- Budd Lake, NJ, USA

problem #95

Oct 152004

Explorer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
04 V 442 000/rear liftgate glass: The consumer was unable to get the dealer to honor the recall.

- Long Valley, NJ, USA

problem #94

Jan 032005

Explorer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
The parts have not come in for the liftgate rear glass brackett NHTSA recall 04V442000. Manufacturer does not know when the parts will be made available.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #93

Sep 012004

Explorer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer received a recall letter number 04V442000/rear liftgate glass. The consumer contacted the dealer to have the repair made, however the consumer has been waiting since September 2004; the parts have not come in as of yet. The dealer information is 3400 14th w, bradenton fl. 34205, 941-747-4411. Recall campaign: # 04S20 on vehicles built from job #1 2002 through March 10, 2002 at St. Louis assembly plant (slap) or through March 3, 2002 at louisville assembly plant ( lap).

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #92

Nov 262004

Explorer

  • 6,000 miles
No parts were available for recall 04V442000 concerning liftgate glass. Dealership was aware of the problem. Mallen, 440-442-8000.

- Chesterland, OH, USA

problem #91

Aug 172004

Explorer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles
Consumer received a recall for the rear hatch. The cylinder was defective. Dealer had no parts for the recall.

- Locust Grove, GA, USA

problem #90

May 232004

Explorer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,824 miles
Consumer received recall 04V442000 concerning rear liftgate glass. Dealer was unable to perform recall repairs because parts were not available......

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #89

Oct 292004

Explorer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My children and I went to the bowling alley and my son went to the back of the vehicle to get his bowling ball bag and when he went to close the liftgate it shifted to the left and exploded around him. I took vehicle to fritts Ford Saturday to have it looked at. The service manager told me that Ford was not responsible because the glue holding the hinge was still there and that there was damage on the panel and it had broken the glass inside the panel where we could not see it. The damage he "saw" was 2 superficial scrapes on the paint, there was not any dents, creases or bowing of any kind to the panel. Even though I had done my research on this site and knew that there was a problem with the struts, I could tell that this man would not listen to me and I would not get it repaired there. I have since taken my vehicle to raceway Ford and am waiting for the advisor to call me back. At raceway they acknowledged there was a recall and seem willing to help me.

- Perris, CA, USA

problem #88

Sep 082004

Explorer

  • 27,500 miles
When the vehicle was parked rear liftgate window shattered when it was opened. Dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem.

- Inglis, FL, USA

problem #87

Sep 192004

Explorer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
We own a Ford Explorer in my wife's name diana giraldo. On Sunday 9/19/2004 she opened the back liftgate and the hinge broke and the top half (glass ) of the liftgate almost came down on her. The SUV was brought back to fullerton Ford in somerville NJ where it was bought in may of this year. They charged us for repairs and the part also for a loaner car while they were repairing it. It turns out there is a recall on this which I found on your web site. Ford Motor Company was called and they said the recall letters haven't went out yet so we would have to pay. They only replaced the hinge and not the liftgate struts which was the parts in the recall also. Recall number 04V442000 on your site, Ford recall number 04S20

- Millington , NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?