Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,042 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Explorer wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Explorer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Explorer Owner Comments

problem #16

Jun 062013


  • 93,765 miles


Tire pressure and sensor warning keeps popping on. When car is put in reverse there is a jolt that happens from time to time. Especially when parked. RPM's rile up but car seems not to be able to move. Takes about 3 tries.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #15

Aug 172011


  • 25,000 miles
Driving 40 mph when low pressure warning came on. Check tire in one the pressure was 25 psi. This has happen over 7 times on the tires. It has cost me oer $250 to fix all tires. Nobody seems to know why. I bought the fortera triplethread tire seeming there were the best. Now I have 30000 miles on tires and the tire place saus I have about a year on them. To this day I am still having low pressure warnings come up monthly. The tire place where I went said to put extra air in tires an keep doing that till I get new tires.don't know what to do?..... [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #14

Jul 142009

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
This vehicle consistently had issues with air pressure in the tires. It had a auto detect system, but on a regular basis the warning light would come on for low air. This happened every couple of months for the life of the vehicle. The vehicle also had extreme tire wear. Tires were rotated every 6,000 miles as recommended and replacement tires were purchased far too often due to uneven wear.

- Northfield Falls, VT, USA

problem #13

Jan 072009

Explorer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Ford Explorer. The contact was driving approximately 45 mph when the contact noticed that the vehicle road performance was extremely poor. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they were unable to determine the cause of failure. The dealer replaced the four tires at the manufactures expense. Recently, the contact stated that the tires exhibited premature wear and stated that the tires would need to be replaced again after only riding on them for eighteen months. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000. The consumer has purchased three sets of tires. Updated 04/29/11

- The Villages , FL, USA

problem #12

Nov 282010

Explorer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,200 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Explorer Sport Trac XLT with difinity Dakota A/T tires, line size P235/70/R16. The contact was driving approximately 75 mph when the rear driver side left quarter tire shredded. The tires were replaced. The manufacturer was informed of the failure but offered no assistance to the contact. The contact purchased the vehicle used two months prior to the failure and was unsure if the tires were the originals or replacement tires. There were no recalls or warranties for the tires. The current and failure mileage was approximately 43,200. Updated 12/14/2011 updated 12/01/2011

- Palm Desert, CA, USA

problem #11

Oct 272010


  • 56,000 miles
Have had three sets of Goodyear fortera tires - rapid wear - 60,000 mile warranty and wearing out at 15-18000 miles. Company indicated that the tires are made of soft rubber and made to wear out early.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #10

Sep 072009


  • miles


I have a 2007 Ford Explorer (eddie bauer) and I am having a tire problem. I have Michelin tires on the car with 13000 miles and the tires are worn past the wear bars. I have rotated the tires every 6000 miles. This is a lease car and I can't pass the lease inspection with these bad tires. Michelin(on their website) says these tires should last 6yrs 65,000 miles. The car is not safe to drive in the rain.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #9

Oct 032007


  • 63,292 miles
Tire inspection revealed significant side wall deterioration at the bead. The tire was still holding air, however, the condition of the side wall & bead indicated catastrophic failure was imminent. The tire was removed from service. This is the third tire to exhibit bead & side wall deterioration for this vehicle, tire brand/model, and dot number. The tire carcass has been retained for inspection until June 30 2009. Tires: Goodyear fortera hl P235/70R16 photos may be downloaded at:

- Norton, OH, USA

problem #8

Oct 012008


  • 62,200 miles
While traveling at highway speed of 70-mph on smooth pavement I experienced a tire blowout. No road hazard was noted. The tire exhibited significant side wall deterioration at the bead and the perpendicular site wall separation. The side wall separated from the bead for approximately one quarter of the diameter. This is the second incident for this vehicle, tire brand/model, and dot number. The tire carcass has been retained for inspection until June 30 2009. Tires: Goodyear fortera hl P235/70R16 photos may be downloaded at:

- Norton, OH, USA

problem #7

Jul 032008


  • 54,200 miles
While traveling at about 30-mph on smooth pavement I experienced tire failure. No road hazard was noted. When I removed the failed tire I was shocked by the extent of side wall deterioration at the bead and the perpendicular site wall separation. The side wall separated from the bead for approximately one quarter of the diameter. Tires: Goodyear fortera hl P235/70R16 photos may be downloaded at:

- Norton, OH, USA

problem #6

Sep 042008


  • 17,517 miles


While driving tire went suddenly flat and tire shredded (2nd time one of my Ford Explorer went flat or low pressure). Took tire to a dealer was not notified of any recalls or known valve stem problems. Wanted to charge too much for replacement, so took tire to 3rd party vendor and had it replaced for $204.50. They also did not inform me any stem issues at the 3rd date 12/03/08 had another low pressure signal went straight to the closest tire shop. It was there they informed me of a known Ford valve problem cracking. Replaced 3 stems which 2 were cracked the 3rd one was not. The forth I left alone due to being replaced already by 3rd party vendor back in September.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #5

Nov 022008


  • 1,780 miles
I have an 2007 Explorer that on three different occassions( fir=St two were not put into computer as being done by Ford dealership and big ten tires and they didn't charge me), last tire that has had valve stem needing to be replaced (total of three different tires on my car),replaced at big ten tire and I had told the person how strange it was that three of my four tires had to have valve stem replacements. I want Ford to step up and recall the tires so we can get these replaced for free and get money back for last time I had to get it replaced. No injuries or blow outs but its just a matter of time and I take my 2yr old granddaughter and 10 yr old daughter in this car, I worry about what might happen. How many deaths and crashes from these defective valve stems from china have to cause major damage to families before they do something about them?

- Conyers, GA, USA

problem #4

Apr 012008


  • 11,000 miles
The valve stems on my tires are causing constant low tire pressure, to the point that one of my tires now has a hole in the side wall. The dealership will not help, and I have under 12K miles on it. I've been there 4 times for this problem and it has not been resolved!

- Oldsmar, FL, USA

problem #3

Aug 082008


  • 34,700 miles
2007 Ford Explorer with original factory tires. Approximately may or early June 2008 my vehicle low tire pressure light came on. I discovered a cracked valve stem causing leak. Dealer repaired and attempted to file road hazard claim. No paperwork, exact date or mileage available. Approximately Aug 08, 2008 low pressure indicator again came on. Discovered another cracked stem leaking air on a different tire. Vehicle mileage was approximately 34,700. Repaired at dealer on Aug 09 2008 for a fee. Invoice available. On Sept 30, 2008 I read news report about dill valve stem issue (NHTSA action number : PE08036). Inspected tires - and discovered same splitting of valve stems as depicted in news article and dill air controls web site on the other two remaining original equipment tires. Dealer replaced both valve stems and replaced for a fee. Removed valve stems with no additional damage and returned to me. Invoice available as well as defective valve stems. Spare tire visually inspected and found no visible defects on stem. Spare is mounted under vehicle with valve facing up against underbody protecting stem from elements. Ford statement to news media indicates that Ford's position is that their original equipment is not subject to same issue. I believe they have the same issue. I find that all 4 original equipment valve stems exhibited same cracking defect as dill recall. Stems replaced on Oct 01,2008 show 07 TR414 030 and 08 TR414 018 and both have a triangular logo. As all 4 stems were replaced, the only original valve cap I have came from the spare tire and displays "topseal",the numbers 317 and 630 and what appears to be the same triangular logo as is on the valve stems. I have the two most recent replaced valve stems and the cap from the factory spare in my possession as well as photos of both (numbers and damage) that can be forwarded electronically if needed.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #2

Aug 202008


  • 32,000 miles
Within approximately one week in August, I've had two faulty tire valve stems cause low tire pressure and necessitate a trip to the dealer for repairs. These were on the same side of the car (right front and right rear). I park in a carport and the right side of my car is the more exposed side. The mechanic identified the problem by pressing sideways on the tire stem and hearing the air hiss as it escaped. This seems to be the cracking problem that I've read about in consumer reports magazine. I approached the dealer about fixing the others so that I would not have a crisis later. They pulled up a report based on the VIN and since there were no official recalls, they would not fix them. I called Ford customer relations on September 10, 2008 to file a complaint. I spoke to a representative who identified herself as jamie. Her response was even more frustrating as she appeared to be giving me scripted answers: No recalls on my car, we don't fix things that aren't broke. Apparently safety issues are not a consideration. I returned to the dealer who sold me the car and he fixed rest of my tires at no charge to me.

- Four Oaks, NC, USA

problem #1

Apr 022007

Explorer 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Explorer. The contact originally owned a 2004 Ford Explorer. The contact stated that the better business bureau, under the lemon law, informed Ford to replace the vehicle with the 2007 model. The vehicle has a feature called iron man with 18 inch Michelin tires, however, the spare tire is a smaller 17 inch Goodyear mud and snow tire. The vehicle has the rsc feature which makes the vehicle unstable. Ford stated that they can do as they please. This occurred April 2, 2007. The vehicle arrived straight from the factory and the sticker stated that the vehicle has to have a specific tire, but Ford disagrees. The contact stated that Ford has been unstable since the beginning and needs to be reported. He stated that Ford only installs certain tires on vehicles for emergency situations and he feels that this is an emergency situation. The engine size was unknown. The current mileage is 2,000 and failure mileage was 25. The consumer stated that the dealer after being contacted by NHTSA that they would in fact replace the tire for the correct type and size as the others on the vehicle. The consumer stated on 06/07/07 a replacement tire was provided. Updated 06/26/07

- Livingston, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?