CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford changed a lot of things for its 3rd generation, just none of them were a good idea.

The transmission tends to hesitate and jerk when accelerating. The new electronically-driven power steering can fail suddenly and without warning. Even Ford's SYNC can be a headache. Actually, scratch that last one --- it's always been a headache.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,569 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Focus drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 27)

problem #523

Apr 252015

Focus

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car has been in 4 times for transmission problems.tcm and PCM replaced and reprogrammed.car was bought 4/25/15 and was in shop 4/27/15 and 3 consecutive mondays after with engine lights and jerking..as of 01/01/17 my steering assist went out with no warning in a snow storm.almost wrecked..very disapointed.all probs while driving and in motion.steering assist went out in mid right hand turn and for abt a week wld petiodically be functional then harden up steering again..

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #522

Jan 172017

Focus

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Focus. The vehicle was repaired per a recall for the transmission and the computer was reprogrammed. The vehicle received another recall repair regarding the transmission; however, the contact was unable to remember the recall repair. The contact stated that the transmission failed to shift properly without depressing the accelerator pedal with immense force. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The dealer did not indicate a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 68,000.

- Jamestown, KY, USA

problem #521

Nov 042015

Focus

  • 15,000 miles
My car is involved in recall 14M01, the current millage is 31100 mile the problem is a power lose and a sever vibration when the car is stopped in a red traffic light. This issue is getting worst every day and the car was fixed 4 times for two different Ford dealers in which the tcm was replaced, reprogramed, changed the transmission oil, the gasket and clutch, in the past the shudder was just in low velocity and now the shudder and power of lost is at any velocity or gear change. I been involved two times in a sever risk of crash when I was driving in a highway @ around 40 miles suddenly the car in front stopped, I had to change my line to not crash, I check the side mirror, push the gas change my line and then the car do not response and the car behind of me had to push the brake and almost crash on the back of my car. My car is now again with a dealer to try to fix the issue but I can, T accept again a change of the tcm when it didn't work in the last three times. If we take in a continues time frame my car was more than 5 months in a Ford garage. The 2nd issue is an excessive consumption of gasoline and high emission of co my car is in Mexico city, it's tested every 6 months to check the gases emission it didn't pass the test 4 times in 7 months, the dealer tried to fix 4 times too w/O answer as the diagnostic of the car was wrong in booth issue cases (power loss-vibration and inefficient combustion) I request by phone get all the information to the dealer in regard of the test for the diagnostic and codes from the ids and they service manager told me they can't because is confidential" and I say I'm the owner and driver an I need to know what is happening because I'm in a risk of crash and they can't hide me this information I just check the tsb 15-0120 procedure in your web site to know what they will do and they refuse my request.

- Searcy, AR, USA

problem #520

Oct 082015

Focus

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission causes car to studder when accelerating and going up hills. There was a recall in 2015 to remedy this, but did not fix the issue.

- Carnegie, PA, USA

problem #519

Dec 252016

Focus

  • 68,000 miles
While driving down the highway the vehicle transmission down shifted when it should have up shifted, rpms were in 4500-5000. Could not get to speed limit of 45 mph. Check engine light come on and we stopped to have it checked but store was not open. Put car in reverse and car would not move when given gas, only coasted back due to slope. Had to drive car in this condition another 8 miles on major highways before we reached our destination. Check engine light remained on.

- Carthage, MS, USA

problem #518

Jan 132017

Focus

  • 17,336 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Focus. While driving at various speeds and depressing the accelerator pedal, the vehicle jerked without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the automatic gear shift clutch needed replacement. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact mentioned that the vehicle had been to the dealer for the same issues multiple times and was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 17,336.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #517

Dec 152016

Focus

  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Erratic and unpredictable behavior from transmission. Sometimes takes off quick and sometimes slow all with the same input. Shudders and searches for gears especially on hills and in turns resulting in loss of control. Most recently it had not been able to find a gear and not be able to make it uphill and had to back down a busy street to the bottom of the hill and get a running start to make it up. Ford has repeatedly attempted to repair the problem but have been unable to do so. The car is unpredictable and unsafe.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #516

Dec 302016

Focus

  • miles
Transmission jerks.,hesitates, slips revs up, stalls out, module for transmission reprogrammed, replaced, clutches replaced, still same problem.they cannot repair, will sit parked in driveway.

- Whittier, CA, USA

problem #515

May 132015

Focus

  • miles
I had already begun noticing the shuddering and lurches when I was notified of the recall. I immediately brought it to my local dealership in May 2015. During this first visit the service department replaced the clutches, clutch assembly, seal, and fluids as allowed by the recall. I brought the vehicle back to service in October 2015 at which time I was told this problem would never be fixed, but the car was ¿repaired per recall 15B22B¿. on the third visit, in December 2015, I was told by the service man that ¿Ford created a bad transmission, but all they could do was re-flash the control module and the car would need to re-learn my driving habits¿. according to the service invoice the vehicle was rechecked for the transmission shudder, passed test, and was reprogrammed. During the fourth visit in May 2016, I was told the car was operating as designed and that if I would read my owner's manual, I would know that. At that time I asked to speak with the service manager because of the way I was being treated. The service invoice states the ¿transmission is passing transmission operational testing criteria¿. I have now been told there is nothing more they can do. I have researched online and have come across this reasoning for the problem: ¿transmission fluid is leaking someplace inside and getting on one or two of the clutches, the oily clutch is what's causing the vehicle to have the harsh shift¿. I¿ve also read that after nineteen technical service bulletins, a recent bulletin allows the dealership service department to open the transmission, find the area that leaks transmission fluid on the clutch, and fix it. Yet I'm still being told there is nothing more they can do.

- Indian Mound, TN, USA

problem #514

Dec 262014

Focus

  • 49,067 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Focus. While accelerating the vehicle from a stop or while in reverse, the vehicle shuttered without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission clutch failed. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred six times. The vehicle was service per a technical service bulletin for the transmission clutch failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 49,067.

- St James, LA, USA

problem #513

Dec 192016

Focus

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2013 Ford Focus shudders, hesitates and surges when shifting. Today it is in Ford's dealership getting the fifth auto trans dual clutch installed. I do not feel safe when accelerating from a stop sign. Yesterday the car shifted hard 1-2 and again shifted hard 2-3 and then would not come out of 3rd gear.

- South Lyon, MI, USA

problem #512

Dec 202016

Focus

  • 18,209 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Focus. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle shifted independently to a lower gear without warning. On several occasions, the vehicle failed to shift out of second gear while the accelerator was depressed. The vehicle was taken to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the PCM needed to be reprogrammed. The PCM was reprogrammed; however, the failure recurred. The contact also stated that the clutch was replaced, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 18,209.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #511

Jun 132013

Focus

  • 5,000 miles
Transmission makes noise, delayed acceleration, hard shifts. Vehicle has been taken to the dealership for software updates but no attempts to fix have been satisfactory.

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #510

Nov 152016

Focus

  • 55,540 miles
The fuse that controls the instrument panel in front of the steering wheel will not stay in. It does not "blow" and when this happens you have no speedometer, heat or gas gauge, turn signals, ect. I believe this to be a valid safety issue. When this fuse does not allow the current to get to the instrument cluster then the mpg readout returns to 30.7 in lieu of what was being shown at the time of the failure. Anytime your signal lights will not work that is a recallable situation. I believ fomoco knows about this. Also the sticker on the door jamb in regards to tire pressure reads 30 psi. Right now I have 30 psi in my tires and the "low tire" light is constantly on.when I contacted my dealer he said to put 35 psi in each tire to eliminate the problem. If the tire manufacturers wanted more than 30psi in their tires then why does the door sticker not say so and also the tire booklet.

- Bristol, VA, USA

problem #509

Apr 092015

Focus

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Focus. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced shuddering and then stalled while being operated at a low speed. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission control module was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 14,000.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #508

Dec 102016

Focus

  • 70,000 miles
Was driving down the road and suddenly transmission stops working engine revs up then it engages again. Continued down the road and it continued to do this repeatedly. Pulled off road only to find out no reverse as well. Almost caused me to lose control of the vehicle as I live in a rural area with small rolling hills and it is wintertime.

- Greencastle, IN, USA

problem #507

Dec 092016

Focus

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Focus. While driving approximately 65 mph, the service transmission warning indicator illuminated. The dealer diagnosed that the part that held the clutch to the transmission fractured and needed replacement. The contact also stated that the vehicle was previously repaired twice for power train failures. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 68,000.

- Compton, CA, USA

problem #506

Aug 012014

Focus

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Focus. The contact stated that the transmission slipped while accelerating. The dealer did not find any issues with the transmission. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 8,000.

- South Lyon, MI, USA

problem #505

Nov 092016

Focus

  • 37,100 miles
Vehicle does not start with warning parking aid fault. After several attempts, it starts but then stops. Vehicle shudders from start, gears make noises and down shifts unexpectedly.

- Burlingame, CA, USA

problem #504

May 052015

Focus

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Focus. While driving various speeds, usually between 20-30 mph, the vehicle jerked and a loud noise was heard under the vehicle. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed seals and the shaft needed to be replaced. The repairs were completed, but the issue persisted. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the clutch was replaced twice and there were two software updates. The failures continued. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?