Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,271 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 25 of 32)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #142

May 152013

Fusion

  • 50,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At highway speed the vehicle losses all power check engine and wrench light comes on. Dealer claims it is a on going issue with the throttle body assembly. It must be a wide spread problem since the parts are back ordered for weeks. I hope someone does not get killed before they admit it is a safety problem.

- Havre De Grace , MD, USA

problem #141

May 252013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
While driving down, a busy intersection at 30mph.my 2010 Ford Fusion just stopped, rpms went down wrench came on and car started shaking bad, thank god no one was behind me could of been hit from behind this has happened about 5 times this month alone...Ford should recall these Fusion before they get hit with a law suit...am grateful was by myself...I usually have my grandchildren...Ford needs to look into this back up your name...

- Victoria, TX, USA

problem #140

May 232013

Fusion

  • 39,900 miles
Traveling at approximately 30 mph when vehicle abruptly stopped moving forward. Engine was still running, but when accelerator was pushed the vehicle would not move. Put vehicle in park and the engine started to shake violently. Turned ignition off and immediately turned hazard lights on. Vehicles behind me had to swerve to miss me. I then turned the ignition and car started. Put car in drive and vehicle repeated the same process as described above. Had to have car towed to dealer. Dealer examined vehicle and determined that the throttle body was defective. It is my understanding that there have been numerous complaints regarding this issue. I felt that my life was endangered due to this issue. I believe that there should be a recall on all affected vehicles before someone is seriously injured or killed.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #139

May 202013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car's engine cut off at 70 mph going down the interstate. Luckily no one was harmed as I was able to drift with my flashers to the side of the road. I called my local Ford dealership, and they stated this was a common problem in the Fusion. My car has cut off several times while driving around town also. It's extremely scary and dangerous to have no acceleration in 65 mph traffic.

- Tuscumbia, AL, USA

problem #138

May 222013

Fusion

  • 46,000 miles
The first incident occurred a month ago. As I was accelerating from a stopped position at a stop light, the car's engine seemed to lose power and wrench (throttle control/transmission) light came on. I rolled to a stop at the corner of the intersection, and put the vehicle in park. In park, the engine began to shake so, I turned the vehicle off. After a minute I turned the vehicle back on, the car seemed to run fine afterwards with no check engine light. I called the service center at the Ford dealership to find out if I should have this checked out and was told no since the light was no longer on. Today(5/22/13), the car stalled again. This time I was going 50 mph and had to pull promptly to shoulder to avoid being hit by the unsuspecting driver behind me. I turned off the engine and restarted the car. I was able to go a few feet before the car stalled again. This time the check engine light came on, and I again pulled over and turned the car off again. This continued to happen several more times on my drive home. I am having the car towed to a Ford dealership tomorrow to find out the cause. This is very dangerous and there were several times that I had to quickly put my hazards on and get to the shoulder, luckily never causing an accident. ## VIN failed ##

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #137

May 202013

Fusion

  • 47,500 miles
Driving on the highway when the wrench light came on, the car began to decelerate, and the gas pedal did nothing. Luckily, I was in the outside lane and was able to get to the shoulder. I let the car rest for a minute, then restarted the car and drove with no problem. My experience appears identical to those who have had issues with the throttle body. The part is on back order, and Ford dealers charge 3 times as much as independent mechanics to fix it. It would seem like if the problem is so pervasive that the part is unavailable because it is used so much, this should be the subject of a recall.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #136

May 212013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving to work, our 2010 Ford Fusion sputtered and stalled. After restarting, the car continued to sputter and we brought it into the nearest Ford dealership. We were informed that the throttle body had degraded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle has been serviced at Ford dealerships regularly and on-time. We replaced the battery last month. Our problem appears to reflect the NHTSA's ongoing investigation of Ford electronic throttle body failures. Ref: www.ncconsumer.org/news%20articles/NHTSA%20opens%20investigation%20into%202005-2012%20ford%20escape%20vehicles%20following%20petition%20from%20nccc.html.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #135

May 202013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 21,240 miles
While driving at a steady speed of approximately 45 mph the vehicle lost power and would not accelerate when I pressed the gas pedal. I turned on my emergency flashers and coasted into the turn lane, turned the vehicle off and then restarted the vehicle. After restarting the vehicle, I drove another 3 miles and had stopped to make a left hand turn and as I began to accelerate into the turn, the vehicle lost power again. I took the vehicle to the dealership and they diagnosed a problem with the throttle body. I believe this is a very serious safety issue. The vehicle loses power with no warning whatsoever and very little time to maneuver the vehicle into a safe place.

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #134

May 172013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
As I was driving southbound outer drive barely crossing pelham my Fusion lost power as described by all other thottle body failures I have read. I was almost rearended by a truck behind me that was trying to make the light. Currently, there is a backorder on the throttle body assmblies and I am out of a vehicle until they deliver..

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #133

May 182013

Fusion

  • 67,000 miles
When driving my car on the interstate, it would shake really bad anytime we got above 60 mphs. At 65, it would shut off. The engine was still running the rpms would not go above 1000. We could put the car in neutral and restart the car - no go. To get driving again, we had to stop the car completely. Wait 5 minutes. And start again. This happened 5 times. The Ford dealer found a problem with the electronic throttle body and is replacing it. The car is out of warranty though...

- Brunswick, GA, USA

problem #132

May 132013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 59,993 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On May 13, 2013, at approximatley 8:30am, on I-40 westbound at 70mph the engine suddenly completly lost power/thrust and the "wrench" light (throttle body indicator). All electrical components were still on, but the gas pedal would not respond. The engine was sputtering and seemed to be "choking". I put on the hazard indicators, pulled over to the side of the road and immediately turned the car off. I checked my owners manual and it stated that if the light remained on I had an issue with the throttle body. I turned the car on and the light did not come on or demonstrate any indication of trouble, so I continued driving to my destination. Upon reaching my destination, I contacted the local dealership in the area, explained what happened and dropped it off for them to diagnose. After leaving it with the dealership for two days, the dealership could not replicate the problem but stated that it was the throttle body and that specific part was back-ordered unti June. With no options available, I paid the diagnostic fee of $130.71 and decided to try to drive it home. On May 16th, 2013, at approximately 10:30am, on I-81 southbound at 70mph the same exact issue occured again. I put on the hazard indicators, pulled over to the side of the road and immediately turned the car off. This time when I turned the car back on, the "engine" light came on (no "wrench" light). Leaving the car running, I checked my owners manual and it stated to drive it to the closes dealership. Upon reaching the dealership, I explained the repeated trouble I had had, what the previous delaership had stated and that the car was still running so they could diagnise it without having to replicate the problem. The dagnostic indicated code P2111 (throttle body stuck open-replace throttle body). They installed it, I paid the total service fee of $381.91 and drove the rest of the way home.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #131

Apr 122013

Fusion

  • 48,000 miles
This has happened several times. As I am driving down the road both accelerating or at a constant speed, the wrench light will come on and the vehicle with no longer have throttle abilities. I have to pull off to the shoulder of the road because nothing works. As the vehicle stops and I shift into neutral, the vehicle shakes excessively. I shut the vehicle off, wait a minute, turn it back on and the wrench is gone and the vehicle runs properly until the next occurrence. Ford has been notified about this for years and refuses to put out a recall on the throttle body which is the problem.

- Rockford, MI, USA

problem #130

Apr 172012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 44,655 miles
Vehicle was travelling approximately 20-25 mph when power was abruptly reduced and the engine went into a rough idle. The wrench light on the dash illuminated. There was no response from the accelerator pedal. Power steering and power brakes were not affected. I pulled over to the side of the road and turned off the engine. Upon restarting, the car ran fine and I proceeded home without incident. The next morning, the car started fine, but a half mile later the car's power was again reduced with a rough idle. The wrench light illuminated again. I stopped safely and turned off the engine. I restarted the car several times; each time power was reduced and the car was shaking and shuddering. I limped back home and called a tow company to tow the car to the dealer. The diagnosis was a failed throttle body. Dealership replaced throttle body.

- Bonaire, GA, USA

problem #129

May 082013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 61,400 miles
Traveling approximately 70-75 mph on us highway vehicle lost power and entered into a limited power "limp home" mode, dropping engine to idle speed and causing a wrench light to activate on the dash and activation of "check engine" light. Vehicle losing power nearly resulted in motor vehicle collision with other vehicles. After moving to shoulder of roadway and shutting off vehicle and turning it back on the problem corrected for approximately 2 miles where issue occurred again, this time at speeds approximately 60 mph. After shutting off and powering back on vehicle the problem again corrected for less than a mile. Vehicle continued same problem after shutdown another 8 times within 5 miles. Only roadside correction to issue was to remove negative battery cable to reset computer. After completing this task vehicle would run normally for approximately 10 miles where issue would return. Vehicle was taken to shop where a diagnostic computer showed codes of P2112 and P2111, throttle actuator stuck open and throttle actuator stuck closed. Required repair appears to be complete removal and replacement of electronic throttle body assembly.

- Sedalia, MO, USA

problem #128

Apr 302013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 500,000 miles
First incident happed as I was leaving my sub-division, I slowed down to make turn and the car lost power, no acceleration. I pulled over to the side of the road turn the ignition off and restarted car and went on my way with no further issues. Second time it happen I was taking the car to the Ford dealership to see if there was an issue with my car and why is was losing power. I started to pull away from light and the car jurked then lost power. I had to turn off car and restart the engine. Ford dealership replace throttle body assembly said that was the issue.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #127

May 052013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 60,700 miles
I was traveling at 65mph down the freeway when there was a sudden jolt and the accelerator pedal stopped responding and the engine idled at 500-600 RPM. The engine and wrench lights came on. I slowly pulled over to the side of the road. The car was shaking badly. I turned the car off and restarted again and the problem went away. I took off but in less than 2 minutes it happened again. I had to tow the car to the dealer. Turns out it's the electronic throttle body (part# ds7Z9E926A) and they charged me $380 to replace it. This is a known issue with this make and model vehicle. I'm surprised Ford issued a recall on "suspected" faulty wheel studs but not an issue as big as throttle body with numerous complaints. This is a very dangerous problem especially if it happens in heavy traffic or in the middle of an intersection.

- Canoga Park, CA, USA

problem #126

May 052013

Fusion

  • 68,000 miles
Driving at low speed on residential street. Engine stuttered, wrench light illuminated and throttle response became nonexistent. Error code shown was for stuck open/ closed throttle body.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #125

May 032013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
Vehicle seemed to stall, wrench warning light came on and then went off, shut off vehicle and restarted. Could not get vehicle up to speed, seeming to stall again. Called tow truck.

- Downingtown, PA, USA

problem #124

Nov 062012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
I was traveling down the freeway at approx 70 mph and there was a sudden shuttering of the engine/car and loss of power. The"wrench" light turned on. I seemed as though the engine was still on but when I pushed on the accelerator nothing happened. This happened in the middle of a 4 lane freeway. Thank god I was traveling down hill so I was able to get over to the shoulder. I turned the car off, waited a moment and tried to restart. It started back up and drove for another month or two when it did the exact same thing. Seems like this is happening to quite a few people who own Ford Fusion. I've taken it in and it is the throttle body, same as many other peoples complaints with the exact same story. Very dangerous problem.

- La Mesa, CA, USA

problem #123

Apr 302013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
The first incident occurred a few months ago. As I was accelerating from a stopped position at a stop light, the car's engine seemed to lose power and wrench light came on. I rolled to a stop at the corner of the intersection, and put the vehicle in park. In park, the engine began to shake so, I turned the vehicle off. After a minute I turned the vehicle back on, the car seemed to run fine afterwards with no check engine light. Yesterday (4/30/13), the car stalled again. This time I was going 40 mph and had to pull promptly to shoulder to avoid being hit by the unsuspecting driver behind me. I turned off the engine and restarted the car. I was able to go a few feet before the car stalled again. This time the check engine light came on, and I was unable to operate the vehicle above 900 rpms. I had the car towed to a Ford dealership who said I needed a new throttle body assembly. The car had around 38,000 miles at the time of incident. Upon research, I discovered this is a know problem, and Ford has yet to issue a recall to prevent future crashes and injury. Something needs to be done!!

- Thibodaux , LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?