Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,196 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #24

Mar 172012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The throttle body assembly failed after 70,000 miles. The vehicle would stall at speed, have to be pulled over, stopped, engine turned off and completely restarted. The vehicle had multiple incidences of this nature, and I have been told the problem is a common problem with this year/make/model, that being the throttle body assembly which required replacement.

- Mebane, NC, USA

problem #23

Mar 082012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 22,781 miles
I was in a parking lot turning into a marked parking space, with my foot off of the accelerator, when the accelerator moved forward abruptly. The engine roared as the car accelerated forward, the car jumped the curb and moved forward striking a column supporting the front corner of an office building. The column fell forward coming to rest on my car, inches above my head. I applied the brakes from the moment I first realized what was taking place, but the brakes had no effect. The cost of repairs to my car was over $3000, plus the cost to repair the building. I took the car to the dealership where I had purchased it new. The dealer's employees stated that the computer disclosed no problem. They contacted Ford engineers who ordered the dealer not to attempt any repairs. Ford claimed no knowledge of such a problem ever occurring.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #22

Dec 232011

Fusion

  • 51,000 miles
I have a 2010 Ford Fusion S, I was driving home for christmas break when my car shut off and had no throttle response. I didn't drive the vehicle for like five days and the car was fine but it started back up in janurary and again in the beginning of March. It has a code of P211 which is the throttle body issue. I have done some research on the problem and multiple Ford Fusion's are having the same issues as I am. For some reason Ford is trying to avoid hearing the issue on the fact that they have faulty throttle bodies. It is a saftey issue when you are traveling down the highway or interstate at 60-70 mph and all of sudden your car no longer has a throttle response. You have to pull off the road shut your car off and restart it. This doesn't fix the problem it just does it all over again within the next mile or two. Ford should realize the issue and make a recall for the throttle body. There are people throughout the United States that are paying between $400-$600 out of their pocket if their car is no longer under warranty to fix a common problem that people are having with Ford Fusion.

- Albany , GA, USA

problem #21

Feb 172012

Fusion

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First happened setting at a red light, light changed I took off and car stalled in intersection and lucky I was moving fast enough to get out of the way and off the road. Second time I was going 60mph down road and car stalled losing power and the ability to brake and steer properly. Car stalls and when restarted its rpms are very random, up and down, car shakes etc. Then stalls again. Took to Ford and they cant find anything. This is a very unsafe problem that is occurring, and I have found dozens of people with the same problem on online forums...

- Proctorville, OH, USA

problem #20

Feb 092011

Fusion

  • 20 miles
I have a Ford Fusion with about 30000 miles. I first noticed a hard shift at 10K miles and thought maybe its just a simple fix. I took it in and they reprogrammed the transmission and the service supervisor said that this transmission adapts to the owners driving habits. Well 3K miles later its worse so I take it back and the tech said all the clutches were replaced and two other things were done! I have taken it back four more times and have not had it fixed. It appears that Ford admitted there was a problem with a transmission code that fixes the problem. However, the problem was not fixed and I am left with a vehicle that also had a window motor replaced, some pulleys that were making a whistling noise, and a battery and taillight that went out changed. I don't know if its a lemon, but I smell disaster in the next couple of years! wish Ford would do the right thing and stand by its product.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #19

Sep 062011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
Since I purchased my Ford Fusion in 2010, I have had nothing but problems. Not only mechanical but, also with the dealership. My car shuts off while driving all the time. Additionally, it shakes and jerks. The dealership initially was responsive to my calls and concerns. For the last few months, that has not been the case. The car has been in the shop five different times, to include today " all for the same thing as listed above. Each time, I was told they had fixed the issue. In addition, they said they would wash/fill up the gas to where I left it. This was done correct once. At one point, my car was in the shop for a month. They decided the transmission needed to be replaced ? which they would do free of charge. On the day this repair was to be made, they all of a sudden changed their minds and reneged on that commitment - claiming they had found the real issue which, as it turns, out they did not. When I had come to pick up my vehicle, I found a pack of cigarettes in my middle console all half smoked. Obviously, someone was smoking in my car which should not be allowed. Since I was getting nowhere, the service manager suggested I file a claim with the Ford replacement car program. I was told by dj, koon" sales manager, the replacement process should take only a week. He even suggested that I should not make another payment on my vehicle. I started this claim process on December 1, 2011. I was finally sent a breakdown worksheet from corporate, in particular, jeff terrell, on February 3, 2012. He stated I would need to pay nearly $6,000 up front for the used miles on my car. Also, he said in order for them to set me up with a replacement vehicle, I would have to take out another loan. I wrote him back immediately on February 3, 2012 and again today, February 7, asking how he came to that amount. I have yet to hear back from him.

- Annandale, VA, USA

problem #18

Sep 202011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 27,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This has happened a number of times since it started a few months ago, but soon after starting and driving down the road, the Fusion suddenly loses power, the wrench light comes on the dash, and the idle is very rough. There is no acceleration possible. We have to coast to a stop, turn off the engine, then restart the car. This seems to reset the problem and things get back to normal. We've had the dealer look at it twice now. They suspect a throttle body problem. Fortunately for us, we are still under warranty, but it is very disconcerting and a bit dangerous for this to happen. One time I was driving on the highway around 60 mph and it happened. I had to coast to the emergency lane while multiple cars passed me and swerved around me. This problem occurred yesterday three times in one 30 minute period. The dealer said that Ford has given them no help in solving the problem. We almost bought a Toyota Camry instead of the Fusion. I guess we should have done that.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #17

Dec 012011

Fusion

  • miles
Bought my Fusion in April 2011. Began having problems immediately. Usually happens when the engine is cold, upon accelerating the car would lurch terribly and hesitate. First the dealer could find nothing wrong. Then they decided it was the transmission. Put new transmission in. Kept happening. Finally, it happened when the service manager drove it. Said Ford would put new computer in the car. Six weeks later since we heard nothing back, took the car to the sales rep and he said don't come get it until we fix it. Today my husband is back at the dealer to get me another car. They act like I am imagining all this. I am ready for an arbitrator!

- Millbrook, AL, USA

problem #16

Dec 012011

Fusion

  • 31,118 miles
While driving down a major highway at 69 mph with the cruise control on, the car just lost power. I first noticed the headlights went out, then saw the anti theft light illuminate. I tried depressing the gas pedal, but got nothing. Thankfully, I was able to coast out of the passing lane, into the right lane, and eventually to the side of the road without any tragedy. Once along the roadside, I put the car in park and turned the key to shut off mode. I then turned it back on, car started up fine. I took it to my regular mechanic, his code reader found nothing. Took it to the dealership I bought it from, they found nothing. It is now at a Ford dealership, but my guess is they will find nothing. I am on the road at least 4 out of 5 days a week on major highways. I cannot afford for this to happen again. I may not be so lucky next time.

- Wind Gap, PA, USA

problem #15

Nov 022011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
When driving the vehicle the throttle body fails putting the car into "limp mode". acceleration is impossible and the car will stall while attempting to safely pull off the road. After a single search online for "Ford Fusion throttle body" numerous instances of similar failures appear beginning in approximately 2005. The vehicle will lose all ability to accelerate but maintain electrical power until the vehicle stalls. This occurred to me while traveling on the highway at 75 mph and is extremely unsafe. The problem is so widespread that the local Ford dealers maintain a stock of throttle body units to replace. The risk of an accident very high because of the possibility of stalling out and losing control of the vehicle.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #14

Sep 012010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 701 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission keeps on lurching forward and dealership cannot do anything about it now. It's a safety issue for me as I almost got into an accident on the street due to huge jump. Transmission keeps on acting up and dealer keeps saying everything is fine and cannot duplicate the other since the time they rebuilt the transmission on my vehicle.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #13

Nov 032011

Fusion

  • miles
I was pulling out from a red light when the car lost power and started to idle hard. I was able to pull to the turn lane to avoid being hit. When all power was lost and the car died the wrench light and battery light came on. The car did not seem to be getting any gas. After turning the car off and sitting a few minutes the car started back and I was able to pull to a parking lot. Fortunately I was not on the interstate as I had been previously before this. My husband followed me to the dealership and after inspecting the car I was told it was the throttle body. The cost of the repair was $465 which I just considered one of those things that happens until I discovered there have been many similar complaints. Four days later the car did the same thing on the highway. My husband was able to get off to the side of the road. The dealership checked it the next day and stated all the wiring. I will say the service department told us they were on the phone with Ford that day and found no additional problems, but did state that if this problem happened again the computer system would be replaced. Of course my biggest concern is if and when might this happen again, hopefully not on the interstate. I have enjoyed my Fusion but Ford should take some responsiblilty for this before a deadly situtaion happens.

- Maynardville, TN, USA

problem #12

Oct 112011

Fusion

  • 31,586 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact was driving 40 mph when the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the dealer was unable to diagnose the problem. The contact stated that the stalling recurred twice afterward. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer and after a second diagnostic test the dealer advised the contact that a cylinder was misfiring. The dealer replaced the coil wire to the cylinder but the failure recurred after repairs. The dealer was unable to locate any further problems with the vehicle. There were no further repairs. The failure mileage was 31,586.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #11

Oct 182011

Fusion

  • 24,500 miles
I own a V6 2010 Ford Fusion and on two separate occasions, while driving on the highway at approximate speeds of 65 mph the engine has stalled without warming. At the time the engine stalls, a service light will come on and the car completely shuts down. In both instances, the car could be restarted, and the service light disappeared upon restart. We have taken it to the dealership after both incidents, and they are unable to identify a fix as the service code is not being stored in events of engine failure (and the light is not staying on after restart). This is an extremely dangerous situation as it has happened without warning, while traveling on major highways at high speeds. I have seen entries from other owners on both the NHTSA site and other blogs sitting the same problem, yet Ford is unwilling to accept that this is a pervasive problem and is not working to find a solution. We have escalated from the dealership up to the corporate Ford customer service department with no success.

- Braintree, MA, USA

problem #10

Nov 022011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 53,425 miles
I was stopped at a traffic light, it turned green and stepped on the gas pedal and the car immediately started to rough idle, the wrench indicator lit up and would not move forward. There was minimal response to throttle input. I was able to pull off the road out of traffic to a safe spot. I left the car running to see what was going on. The tachometer was fluctuating mainly downward as it idled rough. After about two minutes I turned off the motor. I made a few phone calls and while calling roadside assist decided to try and start the car. It started and I went straight to the dealership. As fate would have it, the dealership could not duplicate the concern and was not able to pinpoint the cause. They were kind enough to suggest replacing the throttle body and motor assembly. It cost me $512.38. Needlessto say I am not at all happy with this issue. This issue could have occurred in a more dynamic setting, heavy traffic, lane change or merging, etc, potentially causing threat to my life and that of others. This issue needs to be addressed by the manufacturer in my opinion.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #9

Oct 142011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 15,391 miles
When I was driving my 2010 Ford Fusion the wrench light came on and the car lost all power and stalled out. Luckily I wasn't in front of a truck or on the freeway. Very scary my car only has 15391 miles on it. This car was also leaking oil. I am not happy with this car. When I took it to the dealer this problem didn't show up at first so the service person kept the car longer and finally it did the same thing and lost all power so they replaced the throttle body and replaced the the gasket that was leaking oil. Also a few months earlier one of the coils went bad and had to be replaced.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #8

Oct 122011

Fusion

  • 35,265 miles
While driving down the interstate in rush hour traffic, my 2010 Fusion (35,265 mi) lost acceleration. Jerked car into the median and put into park, it immediately began idling very rough and almost sputtering to cut off. The wrench light displayed. I cut the car off and let it sit for a moment and then cut the car back on. I pressed the gas and the cars RPM shot up to over 5000 RPM. It then idled normally and I merged back in traffic just hoping to get it to my office. I made it another 2-3 miles and it did it again, this time both the engine light and wrench lit up. I immediately cut it off, restarted it and it seemed fine. I decided to get off at the exit I was close too and park the car as I knew I was going to cause a major accident if I did not get it off the road. I came to the top of the exit ramp and sat in traffic for a few minutes, the car seemed okay, no rough idle nothing strange except the engine light was still displayed. I merged into traffic off the ramp and in the middle of the road same thing occurred, no acceleration, I had my foot to the floor. I got it into a parking lot and called the dealership. I had the car towed in got a loaner to drive into work. The Ford dealership called about an hour later and said the car is fixed and I can come get it. They said their was an issue in my electronic throttle body and they have replaced the throttle body. I love this car but at 35,000 miles I should not have already had a bad battery and now this issue. I am starting to not trust the car. I hope the issue is fixed, but I am almost scared to go pick it up tonight. I had no idea of these issues until I looked it up online after the this morning.

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #7

Apr 012011

Fusion

  • 6,000 miles
Vehicle slips/hesitates when shifting from 1st to 2nd gear. Transmission clutches were found 'burnt' and needed to be replaced. Problem persists and now I am told this is 'normal' operation. In addition, my wheels are now vibrating/wobbling. I will need additional service.

- Hillsborough, NJ, USA

problem #6

Mar 012011

Fusion

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact was driving 35 mph when the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure was experienced numerous times. The engine emission and mechanical attention light illuminated after the failure occurred. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who performed a diagnostic that located the failure at the throttle body. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer denied assistance with the repair. The failure mileage was 40,000 and the current mileage was 50,000.

- Irvine , CA, USA

problem #5

Sep 032011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
There was a recall on the 2010 Ford Fusion transmissions. I took the car in on 12/31/10 to automax Ford, killeen, tx. They told me that nothing was wrong with it and it is fine. On 3 August 2011 my car felt like it did a downshift while going down the highway. At this point my accelerator fails to work. The car is not in any gear and even when I give the car gas the engine will not rev. I then have to come to a complete stop and put the car in park. While in park the car idles really heavy like and stuttters to keep going so I have to turn the car off. When I turn the car back on it will turn over about 6 or 7 times before it starts. I have to do this process every time the car does this which has been about 6 times in the past two days. The incident happens on the highway and in regular city driving. I believe automax Ford has failed to do the inspection right and now the recall letter is expired as of April 2011. I was also deployed overseas during that time period of expiration.

- Fort Hood, TX, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?