Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
55,338 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 3 of 20)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #342

Nov 042015

Fusion

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Last year I had the throttle body recalibrate and cleaned. After receiving the extended warranty, Ford replaced the part at no cost. It has been not even a year yet and my car is experiencing the same problems. I was at a stop light and my vehicle stalled our and the wrench light came on as well as some other lights. The light turned green and from what I remember from the other 1000 posts, they said to turn the car off and restart it. That's exactly what I did. It obviously occurred a few more times as well. I took it to the dealer and my bill was 1,000 dollars. They changed a purge valve which was stuck open. Therefore, allowing the gas to flow directly to the canister. They also mentioned how dirty the engine was and recommended that I get a flush done on the vehicle. I declined because I knew that carbon was coming from the throttle body. Anyways, the vehicle is very unstable and unsafe. When I step on the gas pedal, it takes a good 7 seconds to accelerate and therefore possibly causing a crash, especially trying to merge on the parkway. I went through this a year ago and ever since spent over 6,000 dollars in repairs. Not to mention the motor mounts which break pretty often. It looks as though the transmission is going to jump out of the vehicle. I called Ford and explained that my car was experiencing throttle body issues again and they said that once it's fixed, the warranty is up and I have to pay out of pocket. This is ridiculous! their cars are unsafe. What if I was one of the victims where the car stalled while driving? I know this has happened. Please look into this vehicle, it is not a safe car.

- Coraopolis, PA, USA

problem #341

Oct 192015

Fusion

  • 93,000 miles
I smelled gasoline every time I filled up. I took the car to a Ford dealer and they found the gas tank had a crack on the top. It was actually dripping gas near the exhaust system. Dealer said tank needed to be replaced. Quoted a price of $1200 just for the tank. Dealer found a used tank. Total cost was $638. Dealer refused to call Ford to see if they would cover part of the cost. Car had 93,000 miles on it.

- Mifflintown, PA, USA

problem #340

Oct 102015

Fusion

  • miles
I started smelling gasoline every time I would get out of my car or walk towards it. I was under the impression I had "spilled some". I proceeded to smell it and noticed it was gasoline. So I looked under my car and realized that it had a gas leak. I took my card to a Ford dealership and the found my fuel tank seal has cracked. This problem needs to be looked into for the safely of the consumer.

- Hawley, MN, USA

problem #339

Apr 012015

Fusion

  • 103,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving at a low speeds, the steering wheel seized. In addition, the contact stated that while in park, the check engine warning light illuminated and the "check fuel valve inlet" was displayed across the message board. The failure with the steering wheel recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the steering rack needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 103,000. Updated 02/10/16

- Mcleansboro, IL, USA

problem #338

Jul 312015

Fusion

  • 120,000 miles
The check engine light came on several times and was returned to dealer for service. Kept being told was a dirty flap in the capless fuel neck. Quit taking it since warranty ran out and cost $100 per issue without issue being fixed. Drove with check engine light on until I smelled gas while parked in garage and saw gas leak under the car between back seat area and trunk. Took to Ford dealer and they told me the gas tank was crack and had to replace at a cost of $1600 after tank was replaced the check engine light has stayed off. Found out that many of the 2010 Fusion have had the same issue and the 2013 Fusion are under recall.

- Griffin, GA, USA

problem #337

Oct 122015

Fusion

  • 94,000 miles
This has happened sporadically since July 2015. There's no warning, no check engine light. You're driving the car and all the sudden the power to the engine is cut. It maintains a very rough idle as you attempt to maneuver to a shoulder in traffic and once stopped the car shakes violently. When this issue occurs the "wrench" on the dash electronics illuminates. Once you shut the car off and restart the car, it sometimes runs fine for a while, other times this issue occurs again. We've had the car into the shop twice, but because there's no check engine light sourcing the problem is incredibly hard. This is extremely unsafe, especially if it occurs on the interstate or other congested areas. Ford needs to be held liable for such and should issue a mandatory recall. I attached a picture of numerous complaints about the same issue and some say it's the throttle bodies which had an extended warranty for a little bit, but one should not have to have this occur before getting it fixed.

- Millbrook, IL, USA

problem #336

Oct 122015

Fusion

  • 112,609 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was affected by the throttle body thing. I got it fixed at jim click Ford in tucson. I've been experiencing heavy acceleration and throttle response problems since. I had my trams fluid leak from the cap. No leaks in any of my hoses. My rpms stay between 1700-2700 regardless of what speed I'm going. I took it back to jim click, even tho showing no errors. And it's always whining, my engine. I don't know what's causing this, but I definitely take care of my car. And Fusion been having a lot of problems. And people tell my my car makes really loud noise when turning. I've never heard it or felt it, but I've been told by multiple people.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #335

Sep 062015

Fusion

  • 100,421 miles
Daughter was driving on fm road on coming vehicle on wrong side struck daughter car head on. Daughters car caught on fire, seat belts locked or froze passenger unable to unlock seat belt. Daughter died passenger received burns to hands.daughters car was in motion.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #334

Oct 022015

Fusion

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel system failed. The vehicle was repaired. The contact stated that shortly after the repairs, the vehicle was refueled and fuel started to leak from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel tank needed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000. The VIN was not available.

- Spring Valley, CA, USA

problem #333

Sep 012015

Fusion

  • 69,000 miles
Last month my 2010 Ford Fusion went into "limp mode" while driving twice in the same day - engine still runs but no power other than idling - very dangerous. Took my vehicle to the local Ford dealer who replaced the throttle body as part of a customer satisfaction program at no cost. The vehicle has gone into "limp mode" one more time since then. I do not trust this vehicle.

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #332

Aug 122015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While in park, the contact noticed strong fuel fumes emitting from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the fuel tank was corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 85,000. Updated 11/18/15 updated 1/14/2015

- Massillon, OH, USA

problem #331

Sep 172015

Fusion

  • 66,700 miles
I was accelerating from a stop light. I have a 2010 Ford Fusion manual transmission 4-cylinder engine. I had just shifted into 2nd gear and was at about 15 mph when the car suddenly stopped accelerating. The powertrain warning light came on the dash. The engine was idling - but I was unable to accelerate the car. Fortunately, there was no one behind me, and traffic was not impeded. I pulled to the side of the road and verified electrical systems were working. The engine felt rough. I turned off the ignition and let the car sit for about 15 seconds. I started the car back up, and it ran without issue. I searched online, and found similar complaints on other Fusion. I took the car to a Ford dealership and they replaced the throttle body as well as the fuel valve. Leading up to this, I had noticed some symptoms of shuddering, but, it coincided with a new tank of fuel. I planned to put a new tank of fuel in and see if the problem persisted. The car died prior to a new tank. This is a serious safety issue given that it can easily result in being rear-ended.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #330

Sep 132015

Fusion

  • 65,000 miles
Noticed a strong fuel odor coming from car. Upon further inspection, noticed that there was a puddle under the gas tank, coming from the rear passanger side, towards the top. As I took a closer look, I found that it was leaking from the seam where the two halves of the tank were put together. It was a steady drip, loosing about a half gallon of fuel in a 24 hour period. Had the car towed to the dealer and they confirmed it was leaking from the seam. Quoted me at $1500 for the fix. Filed a claim with Ford and waiting to hear back from them........updated10/27/15

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #329

Sep 112015

Fusion

  • 80,155 miles
I was driving down the interstate when all of sudden I loss power and the car seems like it does not want to take gas so lucky I was in the right lane and was able to get in to emergency lane before I got hit from behind by a tractor trailer. I have had the car looked at and told that there is a problem with the vacuum system on this car. It has to do the the filler neck on the gas tank. My mechanic tells me this is a common problem with Ford Fusion and this model. I think this should be looked in to before someone else is in the smae boat and gets killed or cause one serious problem.

- Ricmond, VA, USA

problem #328

May 012015

Fusion

  • 85,000 miles
I believe this car is also affected by the electronic throttle body issues plaguing Ford. I was driving the vehicle when it suddenly loses power and the "wrench" light appears. The vehicle lost speed and did not respond to the gas pedal. I was able to pull over and restart the vehicle with temporary resolution of the problem. This has been a gradually worsening problem.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #327

Aug 252015

Fusion

  • 70,000 miles
8/24/2015 had the charcoal canister and vapor control valve replaced in my 2010 Ford Fusion by dealership. Took car filled up tank, drove car, noticed a smell and gas running out from underneath car near the rear passenger tire. Called dealership back took car back in and was told on 8/25/2015 that there was/is a break in weld of gas tank. Over $1600 later I had to pay, out of pocket for repairs. I have found on numerous web site (I.e. repair pal and safercar.gov to name a few) that this is a known/ongoing issue....updated10/27/15

- Puyallup, WA, USA

problem #326

Aug 072015

Fusion

  • 91,500 miles
The car will suddenly lose acceleration and come to stop, engine sputters and car shakes. After turning the car off for a minute and restarting, you can continue on. This happens sporadically and without warning and is a very hazardous situation in busy traffic. Research indicates that the problem is associated to the throttle body and seems to be electronic in nature.

- Floyds Knobs, IN, USA

problem #325

Mar 152015

Fusion

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the fuel inlet warning light illuminated. The contact also stated that the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel tank failed. The vehicle was not repaired. While driving approximately 5 mph, the steering wheel seized and required excessive force. The contact stated that the power steering assist fault message appeared on the dashboard. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 82,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #324

Aug 082015

Fusion

  • 83,000 miles
Car cut out and went to limp mode. Code P2111 - actuator control system open this is a very serious safety issue!!!! my entire family was in the car. If I had not been a experienced driver an accident could have result from shutting down on the interstate

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #323

Jul 202015

Fusion

  • 118,000 miles
While highway driving at speed, the car lost power without warning. Engine check or wrench light came on. Being on a highway without power seem to put me and the vehicle in jeopardy of being in a collision. I was able to turn the key off and back on to clear the problem temporarily. Since then the engine speed seems to surge. While this has not been officially diagnosed symptoms indicates a throttle body failure.

- Red Lion, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?