Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
55,508 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 4 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #320

May 132015


  • 108,000 miles


Vehicle went into limp mode at 75 miles per hour. Existing NHTSA action number exists for this issue and model/year (PE13003) but Ford claims the vehicle is not affected by this issue. Requesting to reopen the investigation and create a recall for all affected vehicles, not just a partial list.

- Flower Mound, TX, USA

problem #319

May 182015


  • 73,500 miles
Driving down the high way and my car lost all accelerating capability and almost caused a serious accident. My car was previously taken in three months ago because it was stalling but I was told by Ford without any check engine light they couldn't do anything. I even did some online research before I went to Ford and suggested the throttle body position sensor and they said it wouldn't cause my car to do that.

- Broomfield , CO, USA

problem #318

May 112015


  • 85,000 miles
Gas tank rotted out on 2010 Ford Fusion. Caused major fuel leak.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #317

Apr 032015


  • 83,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. After filling up the vehicle with fuel, a strong fuel odor was present in the garage. The contact found a leak on the top of the fuel tank. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was repaired by the owner. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 83,000.

- Peosta, IA, USA

problem #316

May 202013


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving at 55 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to two independent mechanics who diagnosed that the vent canister kit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 6/3/15

- Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

problem #315

Apr 022014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 68,041 miles
One day I fill up tank and "check fuel inlet" comes on so I get out to check it and its cap less. We can not close the cap less because it is cap less. I suggest they lift the gas tank or add a cap because no one wants to keep having to get a smoke test done. For it to only tell you to change the canister purge solenoid.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #314

Feb 062015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 113,000 miles


Smell of gas on passenger side of car took it into body shop said it was a leak at the seam of the fuel tank talked to Ford said since we were out of warranty would not replace fuel is only 5 years old this is crazy for something to happen to fuel tank in just 5 years.

- Holland, OH, USA

problem #313

Jan 302015


  • 71,000 miles
I noticed that my car was not starting immediately after pumping gas. I drove it and the check engine light came on. It then went off and came back on the next day and has stayed on. The other night as I got off the interstate and came to a stop I noticed that my car was shaking horribly. I took my car to have the engine light tested and it stated code: P144A evap purge vapor line restricted/blocked. The other code was: P1450 unable to bleed up bleed fuel tank vacuum. I called Ford to complain and to let them know that this was the second time I had a problem with the fuel line. When I first purchased the car in 2012 I had a light about the fuel tank come on immediately. I took it back to Ford and they corrected it. Now I again am having problems with the fuel tank. When I called Ford to tell them there is obviously a defect in the car they were not helpful and basically told me there was nothing they could do. Explaining that now this is the second occurrence with a fuel tank on this car and that they should repair it I was told it wasn't under warranty and they are not responsible. Now if this was a one time thing it would be one thing but to have it happen again shows an obvious defect in the making of this car. Online I have seen many complaints about the same issues with Ford model cars.

- Atlanta , GA, USA

problem #312

Sep 292013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 35,575 miles
I filed an original complaint regarding sudden failure of my vehicle to move or produce any power back on 10-05-2013 under NHTSA id number 10546865. At that time I described the following: Summary: I was at a stop light. The light turned green and I began to accelerate to about 10 mph when the car suddenly began running rough and I could not increase speed. It slowed down to about 3 mph and the wrench light came on and no matter how far I pushed the pedal it would not move past 700 RPM. This repeated itself several times more that day. Did it again and it seemed it was increasing in frequency. Took the car to the dealership and they said the throttle body failed and that it is a common occurrence. It had an error code of P2111. Filed original complaint because I was informed that there was a large number of these failing prematurely and to document my vehicle. I paid the repair in October 2013 for exactly same symptoms P2111 and same conditions as all of the other vehicles in this investigation were experiencing. I kept track of NHTSA's investigation came to find out that Ford had issued a "customer service campaign" earlier this year that extended the warranty on the throttle body to 10 years/150K miles and a letter would be sent out. I never received one. Contacted my dealership who said they did not see anything under my VIN but would send the request to Ford. Ford says that NHTSA determines which vehicles fall under the issue. So just contacted NHTSA via telephone speaking to [xxx] who said that since I already filed a complaint with NHTSA that she could not help me but said for me to go online and update my complaint so that the NHTSA engineers would investigate further. In warranty database I found many 2010 Ford Fusion produced before and after mine (**/**) with the same problem. I would like a call from a NHTSA engineer please. Thank you. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #311

Jun 012014


  • 34,927 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While stopped, the vehicle failed to accelerate. The vehicle stalled and the check engine and service engine soon warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the fuel line and flap needed to be cleaned. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. In addition, while driving at an unknown speed, the brake pedal was depressed and failed to respond without warning. As a result, the vehicle struck a curb and the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was not filed and no injuries were sustained. The vehicle was towed to a dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 34,927.

- Elkhorn, NE, USA

problem #310

Nov 062014


  • 88,952 miles


While driving down I-495 (DC beltway) my vehicle loss power almost causing an accident between me and the commercial truck behind and on the passenger side of me. The car then began to creep in some limbo gear. Because I was in the middle lane I had to navigate my way through fast moving traffic with my kids in the car. I crept at <1 mph until I hit the first service station (shell). My concern is that this will happen again, but my familiy and I won't be so lucky the next time. I know its not my transmission, because after stopping at the shell for 15 minutes, I started the car and it was fine. So it may be computer related. I remember something like this happening in the older automatic international trucks my company use to own.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #309

Jun 022014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
After a fill-up a smelt gas, once I checked under the vehicle I could see fuel leaking from the passenger side of the gas tank. My mechanic has removed the tank and found corrosion and a split in the top of the tank. I bought the vehicle brand new from a dealership in orlando, Florida, and as far as I know it has never been submerged in water.

- Powder Springs, GA, USA

problem #308

Apr 012013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Since this vehicle was made with no gas cap my engine light is always on. Any little bit of dirt I drive yet gets into the seal of the gas tank so my engine light pops on and states there is some sort of leak in the system. I can't afford to keep taking it in to pay and arm and a leg for the dealership just to blow out the seal. So my engine light is always on. This is a very dangerous problem because you never know if there is an actual problem with the vehicle or if it's just that dirt in the seal of the gas tank. Big mistake by Ford and they should fix it or they will definitely lose my business...which I've been Ford loyal since I was old enough to drive. I will also deter anyone else I know from buying for just for the capless gas tank feature!!!!!

- Medford, WI, USA

problem #307

Sep 282014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
Twice the vehicle ran properly and was parked. Upon starting the vehicle, it ran fine for some seconds. As I pulled into traffic, the vehicle inexplicably lost nearly all power. The engine ran extremely rough and the car would barely move at all. I could barely get off the road because of the extreme loss of power and very rough idling. The wrench indicator light came on both times, but the service engine light did not come on either time. After shutting off the car and restarting it, the car operated normally.

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #306

Sep 262014


  • 84,632 miles
Throttle body failed and required replacement. This is a known issue and there is an extended warranty on the part, but because the repair was done at a private service center and not a Ford dealership, Ford refuses to pay for the repair. Guess I won't be buying a Ford ever again!

- Ephrata, PA, USA

problem #305

Sep 292014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I have had this car for 2 years now. I first had issues with the throttle body and my car shutting off at intersections and had that replaced within a year of buying the car. I have been having issues with the transmission slipping between 1st and 2nd gear for almost a year now. I first had seals replaced. The second time I had my cv joint boots replaced and found out they are wearing out the seals that are causing transmission leaks. The car is in the shop for the 3rd time because of the same transmission leaks and difficult shifting between 1st and 2nd gear and will most likely be getting a new transmission because the cv joints and seals have failed again within the 3 months of being replaced.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #304

Sep 212014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
Sudden loss of throttle response at 30mph driving speed. Vehicle soon stalled losing engine power. Check engine light illuminated. Ford obd code P2111, throttle actuator stuck open. Replaced faulty throttle body with new to remedy situation. Erased obd codes. No further problems. This complaint will also be forwarded to Ford consumer relations.

- Lake Zurich, IL, USA

problem #303

Aug 152014


  • 57,150 miles
On 8/15/14 car sputtered while driving at 30-35 mph and slowed to a stop. Would not re-start immediately but eventually did after 10 minutes. It then sputtered and stopped a couple times within a mile or two. The auto mechanic did not find any bad computer codes. He did clean the throttle body and replaced the air filter. The car ran well without any problem for 3 weeks and 1,100 miles. On 9/11/14 the car again sputtered and slowed to a stop. My wife was able to re-start it. The auto mechanic again found no bad computer codes. He could not explain the cause. Web search revealed many other drivers with similar issues with 2010 Ford Fusion fuel system. Definitely a dangerous condition.

- Mt. Prospect, IL, USA

problem #302

Sep 052014


  • 76,285 miles
My vehicle suffered the Ford customer satisfaction program for throttle body failure. The vehicle will idel rough there will be a surge and then the vehicle will go into "limp home mode". this happened while turning at lightfrom a stop. The vehicle accelerated then hesitated the a complete loss of power with the engine light coming on. Att hat point the car was in "limp home mode" the throttle position sensor inside the throttle body was the problem. Contacted Ford and my vehicle is not covered under their customer satisfaction program which extended the warranty on over 1 million for vehicles. I believe Ford needs to extend this "csp" to a larger range of VIN numbers and assembly plants.

- Lititz, PA, USA

problem #301

Dec 122013


  • 26,500 miles
Traveling on N.J. parkway...suddenly, engine just stopped working and I had no control of accelerator. Had been in middle lane at the time and as I tried to get to side of road cars had to swerve into around me because of the sudden loss of speed. I reported this to dealer, but service manger accredited the problem to water in gas line or dirt in filter. As of this writing, a recall was issued from throttle body problems, had it repaired 2 weeks ago, but today, same problem has recurred.

- Belford, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?