Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

5.8

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,609 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #83

Jun 052013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am having an issue with my 2010 Ford Fusion (V-6 engine). First the car began idling rough, with the engine occasionally surging gears shift (automatic transmission). On a second incident, the engine shut off while sitting at idle, and the check engine light came on. I took the car to the dealer, who was unable to identify a problem but cleaned the throttle body. On a third incident the car lost throttle while traveling at approximately 50 miles per hour. Dealer indicated (based on computer codes) the need for a replacement of the throttle body.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #82

Feb 192013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle would not respond to acceleration attempts and stalled with the illumination of an unknown warning light. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 37,000. Updated 03/20/13

- Wolcott, CT, USA

problem #81

Jan 102010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2010 Ford Fusion sel. Customer writes in regards to continued transmission problems. The consumer stated the transmission would slip harshly and hesitate on acceleration. The recall repair did not correct the transmission problems. It was determined that the valve body and solenoid body were defective. Also, one of the tires was leaking air, there was an issue with the traction and brakes. There were noises coming from the front of the vehicle. The steering wheel would not lock into place, the cd player did not work at times, the driver side visor did not stay in place, the gas over flow tube was inoperative, the vehicle would pull hard when the brake was applied. The rear driver's side door had to be slammed extremely hard, in order to close it. The driver's side seat belt was backwards. The passenger side windshield wiper dragged on the windshield and the vehicle would sometimes surge on its own. Each time the consumer went to the dealer about certain problems, she was told no problems were found.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #80

Feb 152012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 12,750 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought the car with 12000 miles on it and under warranty. At 12750 miles the transmission began to flare from 2nd to 3rd gear and 4th to 5th gear. I took it to the dealer and the transmission was reprogrammed and I was told to drive it apx. 250 miles and it would correct itself. At 13150 miles the problem was worse than before so I took it back in. The dealer checked it and said nothing was wrong and that the cold transmission flare was" normal". I know that the transmission was not designed to flare until it gets warm. After viewing several hundred complaints on line, all for the same problem, it seems you would required Ford to fix this problem. It is a big time safety hazard when the car looses power and forward motion in traffic. This defect is a major accident and probably deaths waiting to happen. Please do something to help all of us since it is evident that Ford does not care and will not take it on it's to fix the problem or stand behind their product.

- Alabaster, AL, USA

problem #79

Apr 262011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 21,194 miles
Transmission slip into neutral and revs past 4000rpm, 1-2 & 2-3, also severe hesitation when slow down then try to speed up again (I.e. stop & go traffic). Has put me in unsafe situations requiring defensive driving to avoid an accident. Has been in for service 4+ times and each time only "calibration". service dept is very helpful but hindered by Ford Motor Company's inability to solve defect. Also, was given print out of Ford advising service that the 2-3 hesitation is " deemed normal and it meets design intent at this time".100% unsafe to drive, especially with children in car as the gear slipping and or hesitation followed by suddenly engaging then speeding up puts the driver in unpredictable conditions. Has put me in numerous near accidents (specifically when merging or changing lanes and yielding to turn left). Most recent "fix" was 2/2/12 and transmission still slipping, hesitating, slamming into gear. Have filed with BBB auto line. Ford Motor Co. Needs to seriously address this from safety standpoint.

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #78

Jan 292010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 2,635 miles
Vehicle has problem shifting gears, slows down, then it starts to go. I have taken it into Ford 3 separate times, a recall was done on the vehicle for a computer chip, again had the vehicle into service in 09/2011 for the same issue. The vehicle has 34,000 miles on it and attempt to replace the rear brakes...driver rear side had no pad left, checked the three other brakes plenty of pad. Surburban Ford service desk told me because my car was green metallic, not covered in latest recall. I looked at the recall notices and it is absolutely the same problem I've been complaining about from the first month I purchased this vehicle!

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

problem #77

Nov 162011

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1 bought a Ford Fusion in Aug. 2011 used w/15,000 miles on it no problems with it until after I reached 32,000 miles the transmission slips and the wheels sound like its going to fall off, it somes seam to jump out of gear while driving and starting and stopping. I took if to a Ford dealer for oil change told service tech about this he said nothing wrong with car never took for test drive. I did some looking on-line there are a lot of people saying same thing. I read about a re-call on transmission called dealer brought car from said they didn't get notice. Sent E-mail to Ford no reply. Can not get answers from no-one. I have young children I don't want to be driving down the road and have wheels fall off or transmission fall out. This seams to be getting worst.

- Dundalk, MD, USA

problem #76

Dec 012011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle decelerated abnormally. The contact stopped the vehicle and shifted into park as the vehicle began to shake vigorously and stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics and stalled a second time on while in route. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure because the computer was not providing a failure code. The failure recurred three times. The third time, the vehicle was towed to the dealer and the technician advised that the computer was not reading a failure code but the electronic throttle body would likely have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 43,000. Updated 03/02/12 the consumer stated the rear window, weather stripping on the doors, and door handles had to be replaced. The consumer stated there have been numerous problems with the transmission. Updated 03/08/12

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #75

Nov 022011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
When driving the vehicle the throttle body fails putting the car into "limp mode". acceleration is impossible and the car will stall while attempting to safely pull off the road. After a single search online for "Ford Fusion throttle body" numerous instances of similar failures appear beginning in approximately 2005. The vehicle will lose all ability to accelerate but maintain electrical power until the vehicle stalls. This occurred to me while traveling on the highway at 75 mph and is extremely unsafe. The problem is so widespread that the local Ford dealers maintain a stock of throttle body units to replace. The risk of an accident very high because of the possibility of stalling out and losing control of the vehicle.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #74

Oct 122011

Fusion

  • 35,265 miles
While driving down the interstate in rush hour traffic, my 2010 Fusion (35,265 mi) lost acceleration. Jerked car into the median and put into park, it immediately began idling very rough and almost sputtering to cut off. The wrench light displayed. I cut the car off and let it sit for a moment and then cut the car back on. I pressed the gas and the cars RPM shot up to over 5000 RPM. It then idled normally and I merged back in traffic just hoping to get it to my office. I made it another 2-3 miles and it did it again, this time both the engine light and wrench lit up. I immediately cut it off, restarted it and it seemed fine. I decided to get off at the exit I was close too and park the car as I knew I was going to cause a major accident if I did not get it off the road. I came to the top of the exit ramp and sat in traffic for a few minutes, the car seemed okay, no rough idle nothing strange except the engine light was still displayed. I merged into traffic off the ramp and in the middle of the road same thing occurred, no acceleration, I had my foot to the floor. I got it into a parking lot and called the dealership. I had the car towed in got a loaner to drive into work. The Ford dealership called about an hour later and said the car is fixed and I can come get it. They said their was an issue in my electronic throttle body and they have replaced the throttle body. I love this car but at 35,000 miles I should not have already had a bad battery and now this issue. I am starting to not trust the car. I hope the issue is fixed, but I am almost scared to go pick it up tonight. I had no idea of these issues until I looked it up online after the this morning.

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #73

Apr 012010

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission slips and shifts hard in low gears. Ford has replaced several transmission components but the problem still persists. I fear I may crash into the rear of another car when this occurs. Recently a new problem has developed at high speeds where the transmission does not shift and runs at 4500 RPM for 20-30 seconds. Ford says nothing is wrong despite me sending a video of the console when this happens.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #72

Aug 302011

Fusion

  • 45,000 miles
The automatic transmission in my 2010 Fusion SE shifts erratically in the low gears. The vehicle is still under warranty so I took it to the Ford stealership. I had pulled the transmission dipstick and noticed that the fluid was greyish black colored. They told me that the fluid was supposed to be that color. I asked them to get a brand new quart of the mercon lv fluid, and proved it was a dark red. I talked them in to replacing the transmission fluid for free. I swear the dealerships lie through their teeth to keep from doing anything for free under warranty. The vehicle still shifts funny; in the first two gears it feels like it slips even though it really isn't slipping. Its just a choppy shift of gears. They said the way it shifts is normal, however, when I asked them to put that in writing and sign it, they wouldn't do it. The response was "it has a 60K mile power train warranty." Way to change the subject! appears to me that Ford and its crooked dealerships are quick to sell you a car, but slow to take care of you after the sale. (if they take care of you at all that is.) I think mike rowe should tell people this on the Ford tv commercials.

- Janesville, WI, USA

problem #71

Aug 252011

Fusion

  • 56,500 miles
Ford 6F35 transmission has "dead spots", jerkiness and hard shifting since I owned the car. At 56,500 miles, transmission fluid was found to be leaking from the drive shaft axle and that had to be replaced under warranty. The transmission in this car is defective and should be replaced.

- Mebane, NC, USA

problem #70

Jul 092011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 39,725 miles
The transmission slams into reverse when cold, slips between gears, seems to pop into neutral, RPM shoots to over 4000, slams back into gear so hard you'd swear the car has been rear-ended. The "wrench" warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer performed tsb to replace the PCM computer--didn't help. The car did the same thing as I drove it home from the dealer. This is in no way a complaint about our dealer. This service department always gives us great service, and are willing to do anything they can to help us, but what are they supposed to do" they didn't design or build this monstrosity. They are in contact with Ford factory engineers to try to solve this problem, but no answers are forthcoming. We are afraid to stray far from home with this Fusion. If we can't just go anywhere we want with the car, what good is it to us? the internet is awash with horror stories about this defective transmission. This is a known issue. As of this writing, there are over 60 complaints on this NHTSA site about this exact problem. How many more are needed before the Agency takes some action"

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #69

Aug 082010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
I have a 2010 Ford Fusion 4cyl automatic with 20K miles. I have had transmission issues since I purchased this car in 2010. I am experiencing choppy and jerky shifting. When driving at low speeds in traffic the car will shift and jerk forward. Also, when shifting from reverse to forward, the car will sometimes violently jerk forward. I took the car in about 8 months ago and the technician couldn't get the issues to repeat and told me there was nothing wrong. I am now complaining since I noticed this is a well known issue and Ford is ignoring it.

- Palatine, IL, USA

problem #68

Jul 272011

Fusion

  • 45,000 miles
Throttle body went bad on my 2010 Ford Fusion V6 after only having 45,000 miles on it. On vehicle not even 2 years old; a part this important shouldn't fail.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #67

Jul 262011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 31,035 miles
The wrench warning light comes on in my 2010 Ford Fusion most of the time it is after it has been driven for awhile then shut off and restarted soon after but yesterday it happened as I was driving the car loses power will only go about 35 mph no matter how far you push the accelerator when trying to ascend a steep hill it would only go 10 miles per hour.

- Georgetown, OH, USA

problem #66

Jul 252011

Fusion

  • 29,690 miles
While driving on the highway, my car suddenly slipped gears on its own and started to slow down and the wrench light was illuminated. I was nearly rear ended and I had my children in the car with me. I managed to make it to the emergency lane and at that point the car thrusted forward and jerked. I put it in park and turned it off and back on and light was gone. The next day while driving to work on highway again, same problem. I took it to local Ford that evening only to get a phone call that they cant duplicate the problem. I told them of the numerous complaints I found online about this problem and that I didn't feel safe leaving the lot. They said they haven't heard of any complaints nor any tsbs on this car! I sent them a link to this website and told them to read it. Currently they have not called me back with an answer. I bought this car with about 25,000 miles on it 3 months ago and currently I am at 29,700. I surely didn't expect to have a major issue like this. I own another Ford which has lasted well over 200K miles but I have never been placed in danger with any vehicle like this. The dealership told me when the car does that it goes into limp mode for "safety' reasons. I don't see how safe that can be if you cause a pile up on the freeway. My question I am waiting to ask them is even if they drove my car and got the same issue, if the read out on machine doesn't tell them what's wrong, how are they to fix it" will they still say nothing was wrong because they computer can't duplicate it? or do they think I like being without a vehicle and wasting everyone's time"

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #65

Apr 192011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
Erratic shifting. Slipping clutches. Holds onto gears with no shift. Acceleration hesitation. Extreme at times. Twice, while attempting to accelerate and merge onto expressway, the engine dropped to almost idle for over a second. When the engine did catch it went to red line so quickly had to let up on the accelerator. This further confused the trans. Nearly got rear ended but was not only because of the quick reaction of the other drivers. Software has been reloaded twice. Not any better. Ford keeps promising a fix is coming. Been waiting over a year.

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #64

Feb 152011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 8,843 miles
I have had several issues with my 2010 Ford Fusion transmission sel V6. I've taken it to the dealership several times. They finally did a reprogram Dec 09, 2010 with 8K miles. Then complete transmission rebuild 2/15/11 with 11K miles on it. Now I'm experiencing the same problems yet again at 16K. I have to take it right back to the dealership. They always tell me nothing is wrong. The trans has to adapt to my driving again. Why is the car shutting off? transmission surging gears, not picking up, car bucking in the morning when going from park to drive. It's been terrible. I hate driving in rush hour because I never know what my car is going to do. Every time I take it to the dealership they say nothing is wrong. I'm sick of paying $30 a day for repeated transmission issues. It's out of hand and unsafe. I have a toddler in my car. This is the whole reason I buy new cars...so that I never worry about being stranded and I feel safe with my baby in the car. This is the worst car I've ever owned.

- Oak Park, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?