Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,609 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #63

Jul 122011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 24,000 miles


Transmission is acting very erratic. The transmission "flares" causing rpms to go up quickly regardless of throttle position. It also shudders while driving highway speeds, almost as if searching between gears while maintaining a steady speed. Also, it shifts very roughly, comparable to an inexperienced driver operating a manual transmission, and these abrupt shifts cause the car to want to accelerate. I have heard reports of people having the transmission completely fail while cruising at highway speeds, and being a father of two little ones, want to see to it this problem gets fixed. Ford denies there are any problems, yet a bit of research shows there are multiple lemon law suits against the 2010 Ford Fusion. I have not yet taken it to a dealership as I have heard there really is no solution to the problems, and those who have have not seen any improvement. In fact, many have reported complete transmission failure from the so-called "fixes".

- Elgin, IL, USA

problem #62

Jul 122011


  • miles
2010 Ford Fusion transmission slip. Had software up date done diden't fix it. Had valvabody replaced diden't fix it after the third attempt at a repair I wanted Ford to replace the complete transmission they would not. They rebuilt it, it was better but not like I thought it should be. Now it is making a noise again and the Ford tech can't hear it. Ford needs to make good on their product my Fusion is about to be out of warrantee then what will I do I don't have money for a new transmission every 6mo.

- Ga, GA, USA

problem #61

Jun 012011


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2010 Ford Fusion. Consumer states issues with Ford's G speed auto trans found in Fusion 2010 model the consumer stated the transmission popped out of gear on four occasions while driving on the freeway. There was also a bearing noise coming from the vehicle and a throttle hesitation which the dealer couldn't identify.

- Redlands, CA, USA

problem #60

May 252011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • miles


I have a 2010 Ford Fusion that I bought in June 2009. Since day one I have had transmission problem. Transmission would slip going to second to third. Upon hard acceleration like merging onto a highway the transmission would slip and the rpms would go to redline. The car would not move. This was a very dangerous situation. Car was brought to dealer on 11/13/2009 and the dealer said it was a computer problem. They reprogrammed it. On 2/23/2010 car was brought back for same problemdealer replaced transmission. 6/2010 received a recall notice from Ford saying there was a computer problem with the transmission. Reprogrammed again. Went back to the dealer numerous times after new transmission was installed with the same problems as mentioned before.on 5/24/2011 dealer rebuilt the new transmission. On 5/25/2011 complained to dealer saying I have the same problem.5/31/2011 car is back at dealer transmission will not shift. This car is extremely dangerous especially merging onto the highway.

- Barneveld, NY, USA

problem #59

May 102011


  • 27,000 miles
I bought my 2010 Ford Fusion approximately 18 months ago, have had the transmission broken down, rebuilt reprogrammed and am now being told they can find nothing wrong with my car. However, seeing how I am the one who has narrowly escaped several highly dangerous collisions on both streets and highways I find it really hard to believe nothing is wrong with my transmission. While driving the transmission will get stuck while shifting from one gear to the next, usually but not limited to 2nd, 3rd & 4th gear and will sometime slip gears when transitioning from reverse to drive. I have taken my car in four times now and am continually told they can find nothing wrong with the transmission. These highly dangerous transmission misfires happen every day I drive my car, no matter the driving condition.

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #58

Mar 272011


  • 20,400 miles
TL-the driver owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The driver stated the vehicle would shake violently while accelerating from a stop and rpms would also increase. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 20,400. Sm.

- Centerville, SD, USA

problem #57

Aug 012010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 6,000 miles


Transmission failure and issue persists. Occasionally, when accelerating from a stop or a low speed, the transmission will slip and catch violently. The whole car surges and jerks forward causing the tires to chirp. If this were to happen on a day with inclement weather, the car could lose control and cause an accident. Ford rebuilt the transmission in summer of 2010 after finding burnt clutch plates. Ford has not repaired the original issue after taking the vehicle in 7 times. Also, every time the transmission jerks, burning transmission fluid is smelled inside the car through the ac vents. Ford claims it is leftover fluid from previous repairs, but after 6 months, the smell is still there.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #56

Apr 062011


  • 19,500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact was braking from approximately 5 mph when the engine exhibited an abnormal increase in engine rpms and the transmission became unresponsive. The contact was able to resume driving yet the failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was awaiting diagnosis of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 19,500.

- Hoffman Estates, IL, USA

problem #55

Dec 282010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 20,015 miles
2010 Ford Fusion transmission flares and hard shifts. Have had the car in twice for the same problems including leaking trans fluid from the left front half-shaft. Recently the wrench light cam on at the end of a 900 mile trip but went off a day later. I have had a half shaft, clutch, related seals and bushings (took 10 days to repair) replaced before the car reached 21,000 miles. There is a wide spread problem with eh 6F35 transmission used in multiple Ford cars and trucks. Ford covered the cost of repairs under warranty and only paid for a rental because I bought an extended warranty at purchase. Ford is at a loss how to fix these 6F35 transmission problems and is deliberately vague when questioned. I spent $25,000 on this car and am worried about it's safety and durability. I think Ford is hoping the warranty runs out before the transmission completely fails. The 6F35 transmissions need replaced. Not more computer PCM flashes. I read that on some of the 6F35 transmissions had bore holes manufactured incorrectly. I think Ford is trying to cover up this problems and trying cheap fixes that don't resolve the issue. Owners all over the internet are having similar issues.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #54

Mar 072011


  • 28,000 miles
I bought a slightly used (it was a dealer auto) 2010 Ford Fusion sel. Since I first purchased in February 2010, I have experienced very jerky and uneven shifting. I even brought the car back after owning it for about 1 week, but the dealer monaco Ford in ct talked me into keeping the car, saying that it is different type of engine (6 cylinder) than I was used to. But it felt wrong and always has. Then, I got a recall notice in the mail or service notice notifying me of transmission problems with the make/model of my car. It came from Ford and I was instructed to bring the car in for service. I did, but nothing changed. I learned to live with it, but over the past month, the car has become worse and worse - shifting has become so jerky that I experienced severe jolts and whiplash about 5 times. I brought the car in on March 7, 2011 and the transmission is damaged due to a broken front axle seal - I looked online and this seems to be related to the problems with my make/type of vehicle. I need help - I can't afford to keep a car that is not safe. The dealer told me it is not safe to drive and all reports I have read state that these problems are often not fixable - with one problem after another recurring with the transmissions in the affected vehicles. As I bought the car slightly used, I don't think I can sue through the lemon law. I need help!

- Glastonbury, CT, USA

problem #53

Dec 032010


  • 20,000 miles


Transmission had to be rebuilt around 20,000 miles. After it was rebuilt the car had no power so they reprogrammed it for the 6th time with the third different program. Now drives worse than ever. Routinely shifts between 5000 and 6000 RPM. Gas mileage has decreased. I was told the new program is designed to make the car shift higher so the clutch doesn't burn out again.

- Gladstone, MO, USA

problem #52

Jul 112010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
I have a transmission problem where it slip into neutral for a few seconds between 1-2 and 2-3 causing an acceleration delay while in traffic. The engine just revs and then a shuttered lurch when the transmission slams into the next gear. I have had the car in for repair, was told the transmission was fine and all it needed was a reprogram. Now I still have the issue, IżM taking the car back in and IżM dismayed to hear that even if they now rebuild the trans, Iżll still have to deal with the problem as Ford doesnżT know how to fix it. And I have been told by the dealership żyou can bring it in and weżll check it out but I donżT think we can fix it.ż NHTSA has to step in, Ford owners are in jeopardy.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #51

Jan 072011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 3,500 miles
2010 Ford Fusion 6000 miles experiencing transmission shifting issues since 3000 miles. Dealer says they don't notice anything and no tsb's but there are tons of web posts about defective transmissions and recalls noting the same issues, hard shifting, delays, etc.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #50

Jan 142011


  • 12,000 miles
Transmission shifting problems in 2010 Ford Fusion, 4 cyl, 6 speed automatic transmission. Transmission replaced at 12,000 miles by Ford under warranty. Vehicle now has 36,000 miles and shifts erratically on a random basis. Typically vehicle must be driven at least 8 miles before problems occurs. Common problem involves 1-2 shift and 2-3 shift. Transmission will shift hard or will shift into neutral. Ford diagnostic computers indicate transmission is operating properly. Internet search reveals that this is a common problem. Dangerous condition presented when vehicle driven in traffic, up hills, and when entering interstate system.

- Santa Clarita, CA, USA

problem #49

Jan 302011


  • miles
2010 Fusion SE L2.5L fwd-transmission leaks oil at the driver side half shaft seal. Its zero out and & the grove box manual has no sub freezing procedure to check the atf. After 2 days of ownership I contacted Ford service and they were unaware of any tsb's for this problem. After some googling I found 6 or so tsb's on this 6F35 transmission and many customer complaints chronicled in forums. Even Ford own Fusion forum has more negative than positive about this transmission.

- Bloomington, MN, USA

problem #48

Jan 082011


  • 31,000 miles
Ford Fusion 2010 - automatic transmission failure - can not trust this car to work properly - hard shifting - lurching forward - transmission tripping over itself like a 13 year old car at 1 month - 2 months acceleration problems - 3 months lurching forward and not moving when put into reverse - 6 months out of the blue violent shaking of the vehicle as if a wheel was about to fall off. At 6 months old that car is behaving mechanically worse than a 13 year old car - this car is unsafe - seriously thinking about dumping it back at the dealership as it is a lease. 31,000 km is when the violent shaking at higher speeds began (out of the blue).

- Brampton, 00, USA

problem #47

Jan 052011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 9,800 miles
I am experiencing chronic shifting problems with the 6F35 transmission. This transmission suffers from slipping gears, shift flares, harsh shifting, and funny shifting that will be followed by an uncontrollable forward lurch. The dealership determined that my valve body failed at 3,744 miles and proceeded to replace the valve body and solenoid assembly. Then at 4,526 miles I had the recall 10B15 powertrain control module reprogramming performed on my car. Next, at 4,727 miles the dealer informed me that my car passed the transmission load test. At 9,181 miles the dealership verified my shift flaring problem. They reflashed my PCM with an updated software program. Trans tech drove vehicle and the trans continued to flare. The dealer then removed my transmission and mounted to the bench for overhaul. The dealer discovered that my valve body had 3 melted bolts, my valve body was damaged, and that my clutches had burned out. The dealer proceeded to install a new valve body, forward clutch, overdrive clutch, piston, seals, and gaskets. At 9,702 miles my car returned to the dealership for shifting problems and poor overall transmission operation. I was told by the dealership that everything was normal at this time. I believe that I was told this because there are no more repairs available at this time. I am sick and tired of Ford giving everyone the run around on these transmissions. They need to man up and let people know what is really going on. My transmission continues to experience shift flaring, violent downshift slams, erratic shifting, delayed shifting, forward lurches, and struggles on takeoff. With every repair attempt the overall performance of this transmission worsens every time. It shifts as though it was designed by a bunch of amateur's. I no longer feel safe driving my car due to the uncontrollable forward lurches and extended delayed shift where the car won't move for a few seconds. Please fix this before someone gets killed or injured!

- Beverly Hills, MI, USA

problem #46

Jun 012010


  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 70 mph, the contact stated that the transmission disengaged from the engine, causing loss of all power without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who reprogrammed the computer in June 2010; however, the problem occurred again in January 2011. The contact did not inform the manufacturer nor was the vehicle repaired. The current mileage was approximately 34,000. The failure mileage was approximately 23,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Hellrung, VA, USA

problem #45

Dec 182010


  • 13,900 miles
I have a 2010 Ford Fusion with 13K miles on it, that has been providing me with tremendous amount of heartache. The vehicle will automatically slip into random gears while driving, even to the extent of shifting from 6 gear all the way down to 1st. I was driving down I-17 in Arizona doing the speed limit of 75mph when for the second time it slipped all the way in to 1st gear. Both times this occurred it nearly caused an accident because my speed decreased so suddenly I was almost rear end at 75mph. I am actually fearful for my wife, who primarily drives it, and my son safely. I have brought the vehicle in before and they canżT find anything wrong with it, but yet there are numerous customers with the same complaint. A simple online search will reveal that. Ford is aware of this problem, but individual dealers are only treating the symptoms and not actually fixing the problem. This has to be corrected before someone dies.

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #44

Dec 162010


  • 13,400 miles
Transmission slips between 2nd and 3rd gear every day when the engine is cold. Three times has caused violent shaking of the vehicle. I was close to being T boned due to the slippage once as the car wouldn't continue on the proper acceleration path.

- Elkhart, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?