Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,931 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #59

Nov 212014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 70,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving down a highway, my low tire pressure light came on and I could tell it was very low due to my ability to steer. I pulled in a gas station and tried to fill the tire with air, but it was blown out on the inside wall and remained flat. I put the spare tire on and when I began to pull away, I realized I had no power steering. Warning lights came on in succession for low tire pressure (still?), service power steering and service advancetrac. I was about 40 miles from home and had to drive in slow lanes as steering was very difficult. I read some message boards regarding an investigation into this issue, but can't find a common solution that has worked. Some say to just turn off and restart, others are saying they spend $1500+. I am worried that I will spend the money and the problem may still exist as it sounds like many have experienced. I have cleaned the battery, disconnected it as some have said also. Still the same for now, will have to take it in.

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #58

Sep 222014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
I had 2 wheel studs break on the car, just a few months after delivery. Ford did a recall and all wheel studs were replaced in 2011. I believe that 4 more studs have broken since that replacement. They seem to break every 6 months or so. This is a safety defect that Ford should correct (the 1st fix didn't correct the problem).

- Amelia, OH, USA

problem #57

Nov 042013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 74,500 miles
When traveling home from work on November 4th, 2013. Vehicle's advancetrac system failed.this made it difficult to turn car as it made the steering wheel very stiff. This caused an accident when entering a parking lot. I took the vehicle to the dealership and was notified that the vehicle just became "out of warranty" at 75,000 miles. The estimated cost of repair was $1762 having the vehicle without its power steering has also affected my tires. Which needed to be constantly replaced.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #56

Sep 292014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had this car for 2 years now. I first had issues with the throttle body and my car shutting off at intersections and had that replaced within a year of buying the car. I have been having issues with the transmission slipping between 1st and 2nd gear for almost a year now. I first had seals replaced. The second time I had my cv joint boots replaced and found out they are wearing out the seals that are causing transmission leaks. The car is in the shop for the 3rd time because of the same transmission leaks and difficult shifting between 1st and 2nd gear and will most likely be getting a new transmission because the cv joints and seals have failed again within the 3 months of being replaced.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #55

May 182012

Fusion

  • 43,500 miles
NHTSA campaign number 11V574000 needs to be expanded. My 2010 Ford Fusion had a front wheel stud break off on the drivers side at approx. 43,500 miles. The dealer and Ford customer care told me it wasn't under the recall but replaced it in "good faith" since the car was already at the dealer for a non-related recall. At 63,688 a stud broke off of each of the front wheels. Dealer and Ford again told me it wasn't covered under the recall. This cost me $267.58. After much complaining Ford decided to reimburse me for $167.58 and charge me a $100 deductible. Now at 81,000 miles yet another wheel stud broke off of the drivers side front wheel and again the dealer and Ford tell me I'm not covered under the recall. The recall was for 2010 Fusion, with steel wheels built at the hermosillo plant - which mine was. The recall date range was December 1, 2009 through November 13, 2010. My vehicle build date November 28, 2009 (which was a Saturday) just 2 days prior to the begin date. This vehicle was built at the plant in question and is experiencing the problem as specified in the recall (a total of 4 lug studs have broken off with a possibility of 6 more breaking) but because of 2 days (which could very possibly be a back-date for an accounting or a production report) Ford claims it's not covered by the recall. This is Ford's way of ignoring their responsibility to a very dangerous situation. There are numerous claims on this site regarding this situation. NHTSA should expand the recall and require Ford to replace all lug studs (not just those that are broken at the time) on the entire 2010 production of Fusion built in hermosillo with steel wheels. This is not about the cost of repair, this is to prevent serious injury that Ford could prevent.

- Mascoutah, IL, USA

problem #54

Jul 032014

Fusion

  • 66,105 miles
The wheel stud broke on the passenger front wheel causing the front end to vibrate.. this is the fifth time this has been repaired on this vehicle. I contacted Ford today and was told since the recall was performed on this issue there is nothing that can do at this point..

- Sun City, AZ, USA

problem #53

Jun 122014

Fusion

  • 104,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took my Fusion in for oil change and tire rotation. Technician notified me they cannot rotate tires without damaging lug nuts. Ford used sleeved lug nuts (chrome sleeve over steel lug nut) so when the lug nut corrodes underneath the sleeve either falls off (reducing the diameter of the nut so the wrench rounds off the lug nut) or it swells (increasing the diameter of the lug nut so the wrench will not properly fit onto the lug nut). This is a serious safety issue. How do you properly rotate your tires at the recommended intervals if the factory lug wrench will not fit the lug nuts" and if you had a flat in a remote area how could you change your tire and drive to safety" when I called Ford Motor Co. They tell me this is not covered under any warranty or recall so they will not remedy the situation. Very disappointing that Ford would put their customers at risk and not stand behind their product for such a basic yet crucial component of the vehicle.

- Batavia, OH, USA

problem #52

Apr 092014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 47,800 miles
Car has heavy vibration during highway driving. Car has been in for service twice in thirty days with a four wheel alignment and tires being rebalanced, brakes have also been check. Vibration still there 1000 miles later. Looking for some answers before concrete wall is coming at me at 65 mph!

- Eastpointe, MI, USA

problem #51

May 022011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 18,050 miles
In May 2011, noticed one of the right front "studs" had broken off. Took to local garage to have "stud" replaced. Then in November 2011, when rotating wheels, one "stud" on the left front wheel broke off when removing the wheel. Again took to local garage to have "stud" replaced. Then in January 2012, a recall from Ford notified me of the problem with lug nuts. Took car to Ford dealer to have the recall work performed. Only in the shop for one hour. Suppose they only changed the lug nuts if anything and not the "studs". now in February 2014, a right front "stud" broke off again while having the tires rotated. For the safety of my family, I had all the "studs" replaced by my local shop that I trust. My local shop advised me there was a new part # for replacement "studs". safety recall notice 11S23 should have required all "studs" replaced, not just the nuts and studs checked. It sounds like metal fatigue in the "studs" not the nuts. I spent $258.29 of my hard earned money to fix a safety defect and still have the old defective parts to show for it. I hope this complaint prevents anyone else from being hurt.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #50

Jun 062012

Fusion

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that studs and lug nuts were detaching from the front passenger's side wheel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician confirmed that the studs were fractured. No repairs were made to the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 77,000 and the current mileage was 100,000.

- Hiawassee, GA, USA

problem #49

Apr 102014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While rotating the tires, I noticed that two of the wheel studs had sheared off the front left wheel. There is a recall on this model of Fusion but my car has manufactured on 3/28/2009 and the recall only covers vehicles manufactured from 4/1/2009 through 4/30/2009. Since my failure is identical to what the recall addresses, I submit that there are some vehicles that failed to get covered by the recall and the danger of them having wheel bolt failures should be addressed by Ford and a remedy offered. I have contacted my local dealer and he is unable to offer a solution. I also contacted Ford (case #cas4265584) and they refused to take any action. Neither of those contacted could offer a solution and I am left wondering if this vehicle is safe to drive.

- Mount Vernon, IL, USA

problem #48

Feb 262014

Fusion

  • 2 miles
My wife was driving to a appointment and about 2 miles away from the house, the advance trac light came on then the car steering locked up and the car lost control, she was able to pull up against the side walk safe, but it scared her really bad thinking it was going to be a serious and that her and the baby she carrying would be hurt, why is their not a recall on this problem, so many people has had the same problem with the Ford Fusion it should be.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #47

Feb 202014

Fusion

  • miles
TL- the contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact checked the vehicle and noticed that the tire had two missing wheel studs. The studs had been stripped. He contacted the authorized dealer and they stated he is not included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V574000 (wheels). The manufacturer was notified. There was no failure. Dyd

- Brownstown, MI, USA

problem #46

Nov 132013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 49,580 miles
I own a 2010 Ford Fusion SE. Six weeks prior to November 13, 2013, the vehicle would sporadically shake or sometimes jerk! on the evening of November 13th, I was driving a short distance from home in the dark. I came to complete stop at a very busy intersection and the vehicle began to shake violently three times and then the engine stalled! I was stuck at a right turn lane with no place to pull over or to let any cars go by! in fact many drivers behind me were very impatient honking their horns and squeezing by around the corner! as I was panicking I noticed the battery and oil light on and did not noticed any other idiot lights on. I pressed on the accelerator and could not move, I noticed I could put the car in gear and luckily I was able to start the vehicle! I was able drive around the corner into the gas station, and all of a sudden the vehicle's transmission jerked and made a loud "clunk" noise while accelerating lightly, the vehicle "surged" thru the gas station, finding myself at a fast speed I had to slam on the brakes! that evening I went onto the internet and saw hundreds of complaints on the "electronic throttle body!" all of these customers had the same experience or very similar to mine! I was very scared to drive the car twenty miles to a local dealership. Fortunately the vehicle made it there without stalling. The technicians ran a test on the "electronic throttle body"and to my surprise the vehicle passed with flying colors. Also one of the technicians took the car home to see if it would happen again so the extended warranty would cover this expense with a rental car! for the safety of myself and others the "electronic throttle body" was replaced at my expense of $430. I knew the problem would not disappear or go away or improve and nobody's life is worth a few hundred dollars!

- Uoland, CA, USA

problem #45

Sep 252013

Fusion

  • 59,880 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while the vehicle was at the dealer for a brake inspection, she was advised that the wheels lug nuts were corroded. In addition, the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 11V574000 (wheels). The vehicle was repaired and the lug nuts were replaced. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 59,880.

- Whitehouse, OH, USA

problem #44

Oct 152012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the lug nuts had become bent and out of shape. The contact changed from summer to winter tires and all of the lug nuts were found to be warped. The contact spoke to the manufacturer regarding NHTSA campaign id number: 11V574000 (wheels) and was told that the vehicle was not included in the recall campaign. The contact could not tighten the lug nuts because the lug nuts were bent, cracked and no longer fitting the lug wrench that was supplied in the vehicle by the manufacturer. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown and current mileage was 42,000.

- Wurtsboro, NY, USA

problem #43

May 192013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
During approximately the first year of having my 2010 Ford Fusion, 32 Ford in batavia Ohio rotated tires and broke a wheel stud. They replaced it under warranty. Since then, every time I have my vehicle serviced every 5,000 miles by a Ford dealer, a wheel stud gets broken. Today, 5/19/13 while washing my car, I noticed a lug nut missing. This did not happen during a service, it must of happened during normal driving conditions. Again, another wheel stud is broke off. I have had about 5 wheel studs replaced. I am concerned about the safety of the car and if a wheel may fall off. I know there has been a recall on the wheel studs. A Ford dealer checked my vehicle regarding this recall (recall id #94246) and indicated my wheel studs were fine. Obviously not! concerned about the safety and cost of repair on my vehicle.

- Batavia, OH, USA

problem #42

Apr 262011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
More detail on complain 10496424. A fractured lug nut or stud was detected on the front passenger side wheel on April 26, 2011. Vehicle was at 49000 miles. A new lug nut/stud was installed. On February 4, 2013 three lug nuts/studs were found missing on the same wheel. In addition, another lug nut/stud is missing on the driver side front wheel. Vehicle's VIN is not included in related recalls.

- Cleburne, TX, USA

problem #41

Feb 042013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
Lug nuts have been repeatedly fractured.

- Cleburne, TX, USA

problem #40

Jan 022013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 45,387 miles
In March 2012 I had the car serviced for a recall for defective wheel studs. At the time I had discovered a broken off wheel stud on the front passenger side wheel. I had it repaired per the recall notice at perry Ford in poway, ca which was supposed to solve the problem by replacing the lug nuts. Now in January of 2013 I have another wheel stud broken off on the same wheel which had been serviced. The recall was supposed to remedy the problem on all wheels by replacing the lug nuts. It has not resolved the problem as I now have another wheel bolt completely sheared off at the wheel for no apparent reason. It seems replacing the lug nuts is not a solution and this is a very dangerous condition as I have now had two of five bolts broken off on one wheel. Clearly the wheel studs not the nuts are defective and replacing lug nuts does not resolve the problem.

- Poway, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?