Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 1998 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure, peeling paint, & subframe rust. We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 100,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000.

Peeling paint has also been a huge issue for these Accords. Most of the complaints are with darker paint colors -- especially green & blue.

Subframe rust near the front passenger side wheel has become a problem recently, due to the poorly positioned A/C drain hose directly above that area. Repair cost to the subframe is over $2,000.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,988 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Honda Accord miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Feb 092000

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In July 1998, I purchased a 1998 Honda Accord V6 ex. In February 2000 the first problem with the engine check and egr defect occurred. The problem was resolved with the replacement of the intake manifold and repositioning of the PCV valve and hose in accordance with Honda recall instructions and resetting the "check engine" light indicator at no cost to me. Service occurred at dealer. In April 2000, the second problem with the egr valve as manifested by the "check engine" light occurred. The problem was resolved by replacement of the PCV hose in accordance with Honda recall instructions and resetting the "check engine" light indicator at no cost to me. Service occurred at dealer. In October 2000, the third occurrence of the egr valve failure occurred. This problem was resolved by cleaning the egr port and valve. This was performed at a cost of $66 plus tax. Service occurred at dealer. In January 2001, a related occurrence of the egr problem occurred with an idle air controller (iac) motor failing. The egr port and valve were not checked, however the symptoms of the problem were resolved by replacement of the iac motor and clearing of the check engine light indicator. This resulted in a cost to me of $226.69. Service occurred at dealer. In November 2001, I was sent a notice by american Honda concerning the egr failures and extending the warranty to 80,000 miles. Service occurred at dealer. In May 2002, the fourth egr problem occurred with the check engine light indicating a problem. The problem was diagnosed to be the egr valve failure and the catalytic converter failure. This repair has been estimated to be $800. Honda?S district service manager has denied the claim, since the failure occurred at 81,000 miles, it has been considered to be out-of-warranty by Honda and therefore repairs would be at my cost. Service occurred at dealer in tucson, AZ. As a further point, Honda has denied all claims for work done under warranty.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #21

Jan 312002

(reported on)

Accord

  • miles
In January 2000, I took my Honda in to the tricket dealership to have a sticking gas pedal repair. The mileage at that time was 35, 187. The pedal would stick and require a hard punch with the foot to come loose. The dealer cleaned the throttle and told me it was caused by a Honda floor mat. This resolved the problem at that time. I removed the floor mat. On January 16, 2002 I took the Honda into the same dealership and reported my gas pedal was sticking again even though I used no floor mat on the drivers side. The dealership cleaned the throttle again with a charge to me of $35.18 which seemed to take care of the problem. When I asked why this element had failed twice, at first I was told it was bad gas, then the dealerrship admitted 98-99 Honda Accord had recurring problems with the gas pedal sticking. The dealership told me this was not dangerous because the gas pedal did not normally stick wide open. I guess dangerous is a matter of opinion. A gas pedal stuck half way down could potentially cause an accident. When I called the national Honda customer service, I was told to get the throttle cleaned as part of my normal maintenance. I would like to know if other Honda owners are experiencing this dilemma. It appears to me to be an obvious design flaw and Honda should be correcting it. I am also concerned about later model Honda Accord. I certainly don't want to purchase a new problem. Any assistance you could provide would be appreciated. By the way, my Honda is a "LX" model.

- Hermitage, TN, USA

problem #20

Jan 012000

Accord

  • miles
In January 2000, I took my Honda in to the tricket dealership to have a sticking gas pedal repaired. The mileage at that time was 35, 187. The pedal would stick and require a hard punch with the foot to come loose. The dealer cleaned the throttle and told me it was caused by a Honda floor mat. This resolved the problem at that time. I removed the floor mat. On January 16, 2002 I took the Honda into the same dealership and reported my gas pedal was sticking again even though I used no floor mat on the driver's side. The dealership cleaned the throttle again with a charge to me of $35.18 which seemed to take care of the problem. When I asked why this element had failed twice, at first I was told it was bad gas, then the dealership admitted 98-99 Honda Accord had recurring problems with the gas pedal sticking. The dealership told me this was not dangerous because the gas pedal did not normally stick wide open. I guess dangerous is a matter of opinion. A gas pedal stuck half way down could potentially cause an accident. When I called the national Honda customer service, I was told to get the throttle cleaned as part of my normal maintenance. I would like to know if other Honda owners are experiencing this dilemma. It appears to me to be an obvious design flaw and Honda should be correcting it. I am also concerned about later model Honda Accord. I certainly don't want to purchase a new problem. Any assistance you could provide would be appreciated. By the way, my Honda is a "LX" model.

- Hermitage, TN, USA

problem #19

Sep 012001

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine check light stays on after having recall done for egr valve. Consumer has taken vehicle into repair shop, and diagnostic reading showed no problem. Consumer has been advised to please attach a copy of recall information with complaint form.

- Hyattsville, MD, USA

problem #18

Jan 062001

Accord

  • miles
Engine check light continues to come on at more frequency than it should (7 times ) for emisssion failure.

- Mt. Juliet, TN, USA

problem #17

Dec 151999

Accord

  • miles
Vehicle accelerates uncontrollably; consumer pulled into driveway, had foot on brakes, and vehicle accelerated on its own. Driver had to swerve into a field. Sometimes had to put in neutral to slow vehicle down. Contacted dealer, and dealer stated it could be the floor mats. Please add VIN #.

- Wartz Creek, MI, USA

problem #16

Feb 011999

(reported on)

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel gauge is defective.

- Upland, CA, USA

problem #15

Nov 151999

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Engine check light will show up at all time on the dashboard, and light will stay on for long time.

- Huntersville, NC, USA

problem #14

Jan 251999

Accord

  • miles
Fuel sending unit failed twice causing gauge to read inaccurately

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #13

Feb 011999

(reported on)

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Interior and upholstery of a vehicle is loose.

- Upland, CA, USA

problem #12

Feb 011998

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Check engine light came on constantly.

- Yorba Linda, CA, USA

problem #11

Oct 311997

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Driver's side floor mat does not stay in place causing mat to move forward toward's the gas pedal which could cause an accident.

- Lanoka Har, NJ, USA

problem #10

May 011998

Accord

  • miles
Fuel meter, RPM gauge.

- Buena Park, CA, USA

problem #9

Feb 011999

(reported on)

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Instrument panel is difficult to read in daylight due to design. Mjs

- Arroyo Grande, CA, USA

problem #8

Jun 251999

(reported on)

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Factory installed floor mats continually slide forward and bunch under the brake/accelerator pedal. Nlm

- Greenfield, MA, USA

problem #7

Dec 011998

Accord

  • miles
Mat slides under gas pedal

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #6

Apr 261999

Accord

  • miles
Floor mat rolls up under the brake pedal and accelerator. Consumer has not contacted dealer.

- Wise, VA, USA

problem #5

Jan 301999

Accord

  • miles
No summary

- Riverview, FL, USA

problem #4

Oct 021998

(reported on)

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Driver side floormat bunches under the brake pedal.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #3

Jun 101998

(reported on)

Accord

  • miles
Consumer can not visibly see high beam indicator light during the daytime.

- Hendersonv, NC, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?